DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10-12, 15, & 17-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 1 should read “according to claim 2”
Claim 11, line 1 should read “according to claim 10”
Claim 12, line 1 should read “according to claim 11”
Claim 15, line 1 should read “according to claim 2”
Claim 17, line 1 should read “according to claim 16, wherein the blower further comprises”
Claim 18, line 1 should read “according to claim 17”
Claim 19, line 1 should read “according to claim 18”
Claim 20, line 1 should read “according to claim 16”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ejection mechanism” in claims 1 & 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a first end of the elastic member abuts against the wind tube”; this limitation renders the claim indefinite because it appears to conflict with the depicted invention. In this case, while the claims recites an abutment between the elastic member and the wind tube, the supplied figures 51-55 clearly show that the end of the spring 920 actually abuts against mounting cover 930. Stated another way, the figures depict the end of the spring abutting indirectly against the wind tube, via the intermediate cover 930. This is not what the claim recites, and in fact, the claim appears to be implying directly abutment/contact between the spring and the wind tube. This conflict in scope between the disclosure and the claim renders the true scope of Claim 3 ambiguous, and thus, indefinite. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be discerned. For examination purposes herein, the examiner has interpreted the limitation in question as requiring indirect abutment between the spring and the wind tube (as is supported by the originally filed specification).
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the two ends of the elastic member are respectively in contact with the wind tube and the body”; this limitation renders the claim indefinite because it appears to conflict with the depicted invention. In this case, while the claims recites contact between the elastic member and the wind tube, the supplied figures 51-55 clearly show that the end of the spring 920 actually abuts against mounting cover 930. Stated another way, the figures depict the end of the spring abutting indirectly against the wind tube, via the intermediate cover 930. This is not what the claim recites, and in fact, the claim appears to be implying directly abutment/contact between the spring and the wind tube. This conflict in scope between the disclosure and the claim renders the true scope of Claim 13 ambiguous, and thus, indefinite. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be discerned. For examination purposes herein, the examiner has interpreted the limitation in question as requiring indirect contact between the spring and the wind tube (as is supported by the originally filed specification).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-12, & 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,560,078 to Toensing et al.
In regards to independent Claims 1 & 16, and with particular reference to Figures 1-5 & 24-27, Toensing et al. (Toensing) discloses:
1. A blower (Fig. 1), comprising: a body (1) comprising a fan assembly (39; Fig. 2), a motor (17; Fig. 2) driving the fan assembly to rotate about a fan axis (29; Fig. 2), and a housing (2) formed with a grip (4) for a user to hold (Figs. 1-2), wherein the fan assembly and the motor are arranged in the housing (Fig. 2); a wind tube (44; Fig. 24), detachably connected to the body (Fig. 24; col. 9, lines 54-55; “detachable”), through which air passes (col. 13, lines 1-14); and an ejection mechanism (45, 46), wherein the ejection mechanism applies an ejection force so that the wind tube tends to be separated from the body (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
16. A blower (Fig. 1), comprising: a body (1) comprising a fan assembly (39; Fig. 2), a motor (17; Fig. 2) driving the fan assembly to rotate about a fan axis (29; Fig. 2), and a housing (2; Fig. 2) formed with a grip (4; Fig. 2) for a user to hold, wherein the fan assembly and the motor are arranged in the housing (Fig. 2); a wind tube (44; Fig. 24), detachably connected to the body (Fig. 24; col. 9, lines 54-55; “detachable”), through which air passes (col. 13, lines 1-14); and an unlocking member (45, 46), wherein, when the unlocking member is pushed in a direction away from the body, the wind tube moves away from the body (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
In regards to Claim 2, the ejection mechanism comprises an elastic member (45), and the elastic member is arranged between the wind tube and the body (Fig. 24).
In regards to Claim 3, the body is circumferentially arranged with a mounting portion (28, 47, 53; Fig. 24), the elastic member is arranged in the mounting portion (“resilient tabs 45 of the blower tube 44 are inserted into the receptacles 47”), a first end (i.e. proximal end; see Fig. 24) of the elastic member abuts against the wind tube (Fig. 24), and a second end (i.e. distal lip 46; see Fig. 24) of the elastic member abuts against the mounting portion (Fig. 24; “the lips 46 of the tabs 45 engage the slots 50 of the receptacles 47, thus retaining the blower tube 44 onto the housing outlet 28”).
In regards to Claim 7, two elastic members (45) are provided (Figs. 27-28), and the two elastic members are arranged opposite to each other relative to the fan axis (Figs. 27-28).
In regards to Claim 8, two elastic members (45) are located on two sides of the body along the circumferential direction of the body (Figs. 27-28).
In regards to Claim 9, a centerline of the body (i.e. centerline of outlet portion 28) is parallel to the horizontal direction (as shown in Fig. 3), and two elastic members (45) are located on the upper and lower sides of the body (Figs. 27-28).
In regards to Claim 10, Toensing discloses an unlocking member (46) wherein, when the unlocking member is pushed in a direction away from the body, the wind tube moves away from the body (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
In regards to Claim 11, the unlocking member (46) is fixed to the outer side of the wind tube (via spring tab 45; see Figs. 24-28).
In regards to Claim 12, the surface of the unlocking member (46) is a non-slip surface (Fig. 27 shows a slanted surface of unlocking member 46, which prevents axial slippage of a user’s finger).
In regards to Claim 14, the ejection mechanism provides the ejection force to the wind tube so that the wind tube has a tendency to separate from the body (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
In regards to Claims 15 & 19, the elastic member (45) is a spring or a rubber ring (“resilient tab”; in other words, Toensing discloses spring tabs)
In regards to Claim 17, Toensing discloses an ejection mechanism (45, 46) applying an ejection force so that the wind tube tends to be separated from the body (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
In regards to Claim 18, the ejection mechanism comprises an elastic member (45), and the elastic member is arranged between the wind tube and the body (Fig. 24), and, when the unlocking member (46) is pushed, the elastic member (45) is elastically reset (“resilient tabs 45 are simply depressed which removes the lips 46 from the slots 50 and which allows the tabs 45 and the tube 44 to be pulled away from the housing outlet”; col. 10, lines 7-11).
In regards to Claim 20, the unlocking member (46) is fixed to the outer side of the wind tube (apparent in Figs. 24 & 27-28).
Claim(s) 1-6 & 10-11, & 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0099096 to Numata.
In regards to independent Claims 1 & 16, and with particular reference to Figures 1-12, Numata discloses:
1. A blower (1; Fig. 1), comprising: a body (8) comprising a fan assembly (885), a motor (881) driving the fan assembly to rotate about a fan axis (A0), and a housing (81, 83) formed with a grip (83) for a user to hold (Fig. 1), wherein the fan assembly and the motor are arranged in the housing (Fig. 1); a wind tube (4), detachably connected to the body (Fig. 1; paras. 65, 82, 103-114), through which air passes (Fig. 1; para. 75); and an ejection mechanism (9), wherein the ejection mechanism applies an ejection force (i.e. spring force from spring 95) so that the wind tube tends to be separated from the body (paras. 95-106; “When the user further pushes (moves) the nozzle 4 rearward, as shown in FIG. 11, the rear end surfaces 114 of the claws 112 abut on (come into contact with) the abutment surfaces 936 of the receiving recesses 935 of the slide sleeve 93, respectively, and move the slide sleeve 93 rearward relative to the lock sleeve 91 against the biasing force of the biasing spring 95”).
16. A blower (Fig. 1), comprising: a body (8) comprising a fan assembly (885), a motor (881) driving the fan assembly to rotate about a fan axis (A0), and a housing (81, 83) formed with a grip (83) for a user to hold, wherein the fan assembly and the motor are arranged in the housing (Fig. 1); a wind tube (4), detachably connected to the body (Fig. 1; paras. 65, 82, 103-114), through which air passes (Fig. 1; para. 75); and an unlocking member (93), wherein, when the unlocking member is pushed in a direction away from the body, the wind tube moves away from the body (para. 114; “the slide sleeve 93 is biased by the biasing spring 95 and moved to the front position (see FIG. 5) as the nozzle 4 is moved forward and separated from the air duster”).
In regards to Claim 2, the ejection mechanism comprises an elastic member (95), and the elastic member is arranged between the wind tube and the body (Fig. 1).
In regards to Claim 3, the body is circumferentially arranged with a mounting portion (813; Figs. 1 & 5), the elastic member (95) is arranged in the mounting portion (Fig. 5), a first end (i.e. left end) of the elastic member abuts (at least indirectly) against the wind tube (via intermediate sleeve 93; Fig. 12), and a second end (i.e. right end) of the elastic member abuts against the mounting portion (Fig. 5).
In regards to Claim 4, the ejection mechanism (9) further comprises a mounting cover (93) slidably connected to the mounting portion (Figs. 5 & 11-12), the first end of the elastic member abuts against the mounting cover (Figs. 5 & 12), and a side of the mounting cover facing away from the elastic member abuts against the wind tube (Figs. 1 & 11-12).
In regards to Claim 5, the mounting cover (93) extends out of the mounting portion (i.e. radially outward from, as seen best in Fig. 5), and the end surface of the wind tube abuts against the mounting cover (Figs. 11-12).
In regards to Claim 6, a limiting protrusion (931) protrudes along the circumference of the mounting cover (93) (Figs. 11-12), a retaining edge (814) is provided at a notch (i.e. groove) of the mounting portion (813) (Fig. 5), and the limiting protrusion (931) is limited to the retaining edge (Figs. 11-12).
In regards to Claim 10, Numata discloses an unlocking member (93) wherein, when the unlocking member is pushed in a direction away from the body, the wind tube moves away from the body (para. 114; “the slide sleeve 93 is biased by the biasing spring 95 and moved to the front position (see FIG. 5) as the nozzle 4 is moved forward and separated from the air duster”).
In regards to Claim 11, the unlocking member (93) is fixed to the outer side of the wind tube (as shown best in Fig. 12, member 93 is attached at 936 to the outer end/side 118 of the wind tube).
In regards to Claim 13, the elastic member (95) is annular (i.e. a coil spring; see Figs. 5 & 12) and is disposed on the wind tube or the body (Figs. 1 & 5), and the two ends of the elastic member are respectively in contact (at least indirectly) with the wind tube and the body (Fig. 12).
In regards to Claim 14, the ejection mechanism provides the ejection force to the wind tube so that the wind tube has a tendency to separate from the body (paras. 95-106; “When the user further pushes (moves) the nozzle 4 rearward, as shown in FIG. 11, the rear end surfaces 114 of the claws 112 abut on (come into contact with) the abutment surfaces 936 of the receiving recesses 935 of the slide sleeve 93, respectively, and move the slide sleeve 93 rearward relative to the lock sleeve 91 against the biasing force of the biasing spring 95”; para. 114; “the slide sleeve 93 is biased by the biasing spring 95 and moved to the front position (see FIG. 5) as the nozzle 4 is moved forward and separated from the air duster”).
In regards to Claims 15 & 19, the elastic member (95) is a spring or a rubber ring (“a biasing spring 95”; para. 95)
In regards to Claim 17, Numata discloses an ejection mechanism (9) applying an ejection force so that the wind tube tends to be separated from the body (paras. 95-106; “When the user further pushes (moves) the nozzle 4 rearward, as shown in FIG. 11, the rear end surfaces 114 of the claws 112 abut on (come into contact with) the abutment surfaces 936 of the receiving recesses 935 of the slide sleeve 93, respectively, and move the slide sleeve 93 rearward relative to the lock sleeve 91 against the biasing force of the biasing spring 95”; para. 114; “the slide sleeve 93 is biased by the biasing spring 95 and moved to the front position (see FIG. 5) as the nozzle 4 is moved forward and separated from the air duster”).
In regards to Claim 18, the ejection mechanism comprises an elastic member (95), and the elastic member is arranged between the wind tube and the body (Fig. 12), and, when the unlocking member (93) is pushed, the elastic member (95) is elastically reset (paras. 95-106; “When the user further pushes (moves) the nozzle 4 rearward, as shown in FIG. 11, the rear end surfaces 114 of the claws 112 abut on (come into contact with) the abutment surfaces 936 of the receiving recesses 935 of the slide sleeve 93, respectively, and move the slide sleeve 93 rearward relative to the lock sleeve 91 against the biasing force of the biasing spring 95”; para. 114; “the slide sleeve 93 is biased by the biasing spring 95 and moved to the front position (see FIG. 5) as the nozzle 4 is moved forward and separated from the air duster”).
In regards to Claim 20, the unlocking member (93) is fixed to the outer side of the wind tube (apparent in Fig. 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See also US 2022/0412364 to Takano et al., US 2016/0195097 to Patrick, and US 6,158,082 to Beckey et al., each of which discloses a handheld blower unit having a wind tube.
/ALEXANDER B COMLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
ABC