DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,397,111. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 16, 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,397,111 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 14, of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,558. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 14, of U.S. Patent No. 12,220,558 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10, of U.S. Patent No. 11,213,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 10, of U.S. Patent No. 11,213,622 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, of U.S. Patent No. 8,597,274. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are arguably broader than claims 1, 3, of U.S. Patent No. 8,597,274 which encompasses the same metes, bounds and limitations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to eliminate the limitations of the narrower claims, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function and a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. See in re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to patent-ineligible subject matter.
Claim 1 is directed to the abstract idea of mathematical calculations (Step 2A Prong One). The claim does not integrate this abstract idea into a practical application because it merely recites calculations without controlling a device, administering insulin, or otherwise applying the calculations in a practical manner (Step 2A Prong Two).
The claim does not recite an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter, as the claim elements, considered individually and as an ordered combination, amount to no more than conventional calculation steps (Step 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Blomquist et al. (US 2014/0350371).
Regarding claim 1, Blomquist discloses a method for determining a bolus volume to be administered to make up for a cessation (adjust) of basal delivery of insulin (page 2, [0033-0034]) comprising: determining an amount of insulin remaining in a user's body such that insulin remaining
amount of insulin delivered before cessation ; (user's insulin action time minus the time since
insulin was last delivered ) (user's insulin action time) page 3, [0040-0046]); and calculating a bolus delivery to equal the amount of basal delivery lost (page 3, [0047-0050]).
Although, Blomquist discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to specify the basic mathematical operations such as equal =, multiplication *, division / in order to manage the blood glucose level to within a normal range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any skill artisan at the time the invention was first filed to provide the basic mathematical operations to manage the blood glucose level to within a normal range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Estes (US 2010/0174266) discloses infusion pump system and methods.
Itoh et al. (US 2001/0041647) discloses health maintenance system.
Mastrototaro et al. (US 5,951,521) discloses subcutaneous……insertion site.
Cruz (US 2004/0229810) discloses gastrin….preparation.
Naylor et al. (US 2010/0076787) discloses method….report.
DP
March 4, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685