DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/520,513, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application provides no disclosure of determining an I2C communication protocol for an SDA when the least two significant bits of address bits are set to logic zero, but rather discloses only doing so when the least three significant bits of address bits are set to logic zero. Accordingly, Claim 9 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/520,513, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The prior-filed application provides no disclosure of any hardware description language design structures nor computer aided design systems. Accordingly, Claims 23-26 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when least two significant bits of address bits are set to logic zeros of Claim 9; and the hardware description language (HDL) design structure encoded on a machine-readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing of Claims 23-26 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 9 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when least two significant bits of address bits are set to logic zeros.”. Due to its status as a continuation of prior filed application 17/520,513, the instant application has an effective filing date of 5 November 2021, the same as that of the prior filed application. However, the use of the least two significant bits for determining an I2C communication protocol appears only in Claim 9 of the instant application, and does not appear in the specification or drawings of the instant application, nor anywhere in the prior filed application, which disclose the use of the least three significant bits. Thus, Claim 9 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification as of the effective filing date of the Application.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “A hardware description language (HDL) design structure encoded on a machine- readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing”. Due to its status as a continuation of prior filed application 17/520,513, the instant application has an effective filing date of 5 November 2021, the same as that of the prior filed application. However, the HDL design structure and related language appears only in Claims 23-26 of the instant application, and does not appear in the specification or drawings of the instant application, nor anywhere in the prior filed application. Thus, Claims 23-26 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification as of the effective filing date of the Application.
Dependent claims inherit the lack of written description of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a hybrid communication channel" in the last line. It is unclear as to whether this is intended to refer to the previously claimed “a hybrid communication channel” of Line 2. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the hybrid communication channel”.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) for optionally selecting one of multiple transmission modes” in Lines 4-5. The use of the term “optionally” renders it unclear as to whether the transmission mode selection must occur, as the claims further state “transmit information via the one of the multiple transmission modes” in Line 7, and it is unclear as to how the information could be transmitted via the one of the multiple transmission modes if the transmission mode selection is optional. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) for selecting one of multiple transmission modes”
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the master element is an external storage device…” in Line 1. The term “external” is a relative term, and it is unclear as to what the storage device is external to. It is noted that Claim 15, from which Claim 16 depends, recites the master element as being part of the configurable semiconductor device, and thus the master element cannot be external to the configurable semiconductor device while also being a part of it. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the master element is an external storage device…”.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) for optionally selecting one of multiple transmission modes” in Lines 7-8. The use of the term “optionally” renders it unclear as to whether the transmission mode selection must occur, as the claims further state “transmit information via the one of the multiple transmission modes” in Line 10, and it is unclear as to how the information could be transmitted via the one of the multiple transmission modes if the transmission mode selection is optional. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) for selecting one of multiple transmission modes”
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the PIC" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the PSE”.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the master element is an external storage device…” in Lines 1-2. The term “external” is a relative term, and it is unclear as to what the storage device is external to. It is noted that Claim 23, from which Claim 16 depends, recites the master element as being part of the HDL design structure, and thus the master element cannot be external to the HDL design structure while also being a part of it. For the purposes of evaluating prior art with respect to patentability, the Examiner has interpreted this limitation as “the master element is an external storage device…”.
Dependent claims inherit the indefiniteness of their parent claims and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0329837 to Mishra et al. (“Mishra”) and US Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0318981 to Jurski et al. (“Jurski”).
In reference to Claim 1, Mishra discloses a method for selectively transmitting information to one of multiple programmable slave elements (See Figure 2 Numbers 202 and 222, Figure 13, and Paragraphs 90-97 [slave elements may be FPGA’s, which are programmable; FPGA’s necessarily have configurable logic blocks ("LBs")]) via a hybrid communication channel (See Figure 2 Number 230 and Paragraph 50) comprising: identifying a first programmable slave element ("PSE") from a plurality of PSEs as a first destination (See Paragraphs 50 and 75); utilizing a first communication protocol of a plurality of possible communication protocols for a first transmission (See Paragraphs 50 and 75); entering the first PSE into an address portion of the first communication protocol (See Paragraphs 50 and 75); and transmitting a first stream of configuration data to the first PSE via the first communication protocol through the hybrid communication channel (See Paragraphs 50, 70, and 75). However, although Mishra discloses that the channel supports both I2C and I3C communications (See Paragraph 50), Mishra does not explicitly disclose determining a first communication protocol from a plurality of possible communication protocols for the first transmission. Jurski discloses determining a first communication protocol from a plurality of possible communication protocols for a first transmission (See Paragraph 270 and Paragraphs 291-297).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the communication protocol determination of Jurski in the device of Mishra, resulting in the invention of Claim 1, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the use of PSE’s that are compatible with both the I2C and I3C protocols (See Paragraph 270 of Jurski) , thus allowing them to also be used in systems that only support I2C or I3C without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski).
In reference to Claim 2, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses identifying a first memory destination within the first PSEs (See Figure 2 Numbers 206 and 224 and Paragraphs 49, 70, and 75).
In reference to Claim 3, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 2 above. Mishra further discloses encoding the first memory destination in the address frame of the first communication protocol (See Paragraphs 70 and 75).
In reference to Claim 4, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 2 above. Mishra further discloses identifying a first memory destination includes identifying one of a volatile memory storage (See Paragraphs 46 and 93 [RAM]) and a nonvolatile memory storage (See Paragraph 70 [register]) in a first field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") (See Paragraph 90).
In reference to Claim 5, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses that the identifying a first programmable slave element ("PSE") includes determining a first field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") (See Paragraph 90).
In reference to Claim 6, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes providing at least a portion of address bits presented on a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel (See Figure 2 Number 218 and Paragraph 75). Jurski further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes providing at least a portion of address bits presented on a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel (See Paragraph 270 [both I2C and I3C require an SDA line]).
In reference to Claim 7, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes providing clock signals presented on a serial clock line ("SCL") of the hybrid communication channel (See Figure 2 Number 216 and Paragraph 75). Jurski further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes providing clock signals presented on a serial clock line ("SCL") of the hybrid communication channel (See Paragraph 270 [both I2C and I3C require an SCL line]).
In reference to Claim 8, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses transmitting configuration data from a master element to a configuration storage in the first PSE via a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel (See Figure 2 Number 218 and Paragraph 75). Jurski further discloses transmitting configuration data from a master element to a configuration storage in the first PSE via a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel (See Paragraph 270 [both I2C and I3C require an SDA line]).
In reference to Claim 9, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Jurski further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when least two significant bits of address bits are set to logic zeros (See Paragraph 297 [I2C device addresses can include any combination of ones and zeros in any address bit, and thus include addresses with at least three significant bits set to logic zeros]).
In reference to Claim 10, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra further discloses that the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("13C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when sixth bit of least significant bits is set to logic one (See Paragraphs 266 and 295 [an address of 0x7e {01111110} has the sixth bit of least significant bits is set to logic one]).
In reference to Claim 15, Mishra discloses a configurable semiconductor device able to process information (See Figure 2 and Paragraph 90), comprising: a plurality of programmable slave elements ("PSEs"), having configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions (See Figure 2 Numbers 202 and 222, Figure 13, and Paragraphs 90-97 [slave elements may be FPGA’s, which are programmable; FPGA’s necessarily have configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions]), configured to include a controller for a transmission mode (See Figure 2 Numbers 210 and 212 and Paragraph 49); a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the controllers of the plurality of PSEs and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes (See Figure 2 Number 230 and Paragraph 50); and at least one master element coupled to the plurality of PSEs (See Figure 2 Number 220 and Paragraph 48) and configured to selectively communicate to at least one of the plurality of PSEs through information coded in address portion of the transmission mode (See Paragraphs 50 and 75). However, although Mishra discloses that the channel supports both I2C and I3C communications (See Paragraph 50), Mishra does not explicitly disclose that the controller of the PSE’s is a mutli-mode controller (“MMC”) for selecting one of multiple transmission modes. Jurski discloses a MMC for selecting one of multiple (I2C or I3C) transmission modes and a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the MMCs and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes (See Paragraph 270 and Paragraphs 291-297).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the MMC and selectable transmission modes of Jurski in the PSE’s of Mishra, resulting in the invention of Claim 15, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the use of PSE’s that are compatible with both the I2C and I3C protocols (See Paragraph 270 of Jurski) , thus allowing them to also be used in systems that only support I2C or I3C without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski).
In reference to Claim 16, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the master element is an external storage device configured to store configuration data received from a user (See Paragraphs 46-48).
In reference to Claim 17, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") (See Paragraph 50). Jurski further discloses that the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") (See Paragraph 270).
In reference to Claim 18, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that at least one of the PSEs is a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory (See Paragraph 90 [FPGA’s perform logic functions based on stored configuration data]).
In reference to Claim 19, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the SMC is a two-wire bus containing a bi-directional serial data line ("SDA") (See Figure 2 Number 218) and a serial clock line ("SCL") (See Figure 2 Number 216). Jurski further discloses that the SMC is a two-wire bus containing a bi-directional serial data line ("SDA") (See Paragraph 270 [both I2C and I3C require an SDA line]) and a serial clock line ("SCL") (See Paragraph 270 [both I2C and I3C require an SCL line]).
In reference to Claim 20, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the MMC is configured to be an Improved Inter- Integrated Circuit ("I3C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I3C protocol (See Paragraph 50). Jurski further discloses that the MMC is configured to be an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I3C protocol (See Paragraphs 270 and 296).
In reference to Claim 21, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the MMC is configured to be an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I2C protocol (See Paragraph 50). Jurski further discloses that the MMC is configured to be an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I2C protocol (See Paragraphs 270 and 296).
In reference to Claim 22, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 15 above. Mishra further discloses that the MMC is configured to forward received data to an embedded flash memory in the PSE via the SMC configured to be in an I3C mode (See Paragraphs 46 and 93).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra, Jurski, as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of “MachXO3 Programming and Configuration Usage Guide” by Lattice Semiconductor (“MachXO3”).
In reference to Claim 11, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra and Jurski silent as to the type FPGA slave elements used, and do not explicitly disclose that the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the first PSE via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of "1010000". MachXO3 discloses an FPGA utilizing an I2C interface to receive programming data (See Page 1 Paragraphs 1-2 and Page 24). MachXO3 further discloses that the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the FPGA via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a particular binary number (See Page 24 Page 24 Figure 13 ‘SRAM’ and Paragraphs 1 and 5 and Page 25 Table 16). However, MachXO3 does not explicitly disclose that the particular binary number of the address bits is "1010000". There are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address. In the case of I2C and I3C, which use 7-bit addresses, there are 27, or 128, possible address bit combinations, and utilizing different address bit combinations is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Neither MachXO3 nor the instant application disclose that the use of a particular address is necessary for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of Mishra and Jurski utilizing the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA, and using 1010000 as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 11, because the simple substitution of the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA of Mishra and Jurski would have yielded the predictable result of providing infinitely configurable and non-volatile capabilities and providing a rich set of features for programming and configuration of the FPGA (See Page 1 Paragraph 1 of MachXO3); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of MachXO3 using the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Mishra and Jurski, and using 1010000 as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 11, because the simple substitution of the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Jurski in place of the I2C interface of MachXO3 would have yielded the predictable result of providing compatibility with external devices that use the I2C protocol as well as external devices that use the I3C protocol without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
In reference to Claim 12, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra and Jurski silent as to the type FPGA slave elements used, and do not explicitly disclose that the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an embedded flash memory in the first PSE via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of "1011000". MachXO3 discloses an FPGA utilizing an I2C interface to receive programming data (See Page 1 Paragraphs 1-2 and Page 24). MachXO3 further discloses that the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an embedded flash memory in the FPGA via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a particular binary number (See Page 24 Page 24 Figure 13 ‘SRAM’ and Paragraphs 1 and 5 and Page 25 Table 16). However, MachXO3 does not explicitly disclose that the particular binary number of the address bits is "1011000". There are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address. In the case of I2C and I3C, which use 7-bit addresses, there are 27, or 128, possible address bit combinations, and utilizing different address bit combinations is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Neither MachXO3 nor the instant application disclose that the use of a particular address is necessary for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory in the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of Mishra and Jurski utilizing the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA, and using 1011000 as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory in the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 12, because the simple substitution of the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA of Mishra and Jurski would have yielded the predictable result of providing infinitely configurable and non-volatile capabilities and providing a rich set of features for programming and configuration of the FPGA (See Page 1 Paragraph 1 of MachXO3); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of MachXO3 using the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Mishra and Jurski, and using 1011000 as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory in the FPGA via the I2C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 12, because the simple substitution of the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Jurski in place of the I2C interface of MachXO3 would have yielded the predictable result of providing compatibility with external devices that use the I2C protocol as well as external devices that use the I3C protocol without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
In reference to Claim 13, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra and Jurski silent as to the type FPGA slave elements used, and do not explicitly disclose that the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the first PSE via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "010". MachXO3 discloses an FPGA utilizing an I2C interface to receive programming data (See Page 1 Paragraphs 1-2 and Page 24). MachXO3 further discloses that the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the FPGA via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when the address bits have a particular binary number (See Page 24 Page 24 Figure 13 ‘SRAM’ and Paragraphs 1 and 5 and Page 25 Table 16). However, MachXO3 does not explicitly disclose that the particular binary number of the address bits is when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "010". There are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address. In the case of I2C and I3C, which use 7-bit addresses, there are 27, or 128, possible address bit combinations, and utilizing different address bit combinations is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Neither MachXO3 nor the instant application disclose that the use of a particular address is necessary for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of Mishra and Jurski utilizing the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA, and using an address having the last three bits of "010" as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 13, because the simple substitution of the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA of Mishra and Jurski would have yielded the predictable result of providing infinitely configurable and non-volatile capabilities and providing a rich set of features for programming and configuration of the FPGA (See Page 1 Paragraph 1 of MachXO3); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of MachXO3 using the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Mishra and Jurski, and using an address having the last three bits of "010" as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the onboard SRAM within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 13, because the simple substitution of the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Jurski in place of the I2C interface of MachXO3 would have yielded the predictable result of providing compatibility with external devices that use the I2C protocol as well as external devices that use the I3C protocol without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
In reference to Claim 14, Mishra and Jurski disclose the limitaons as applied to Claim 1 above. Mishra and Jurski silent as to the type FPGA slave elements used, and do not explicitly disclose that the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an embedded flash memory within the first PSE via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "011". MachXO3 discloses an FPGA utilizing an I2C interface to receive programming data (See Page 1 Paragraphs 1-2 and Page 24). MachXO3 further discloses that the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an embedded flash memory within the FPGA via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when the address bits have a particular binary number (See Page 24 Page 24 Figure 13 ‘SRAM’ and Paragraphs 1 and 5 and Page 25 Table 16). However, MachXO3 does not explicitly disclose that the particular binary number of the address bits is when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "011". There are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address. In the case of I2C and I3C, which use 7-bit addresses, there are 27, or 128, possible address bit combinations, and utilizing different address bit combinations is well within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art. Neither MachXO3 nor the instant application disclose that the use of a particular address is necessary for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of Mishra and Jurski utilizing the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA, and using an address having the last three bits of "011" as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 14, because the simple substitution of the FPGA of MachXO3 as the FPGA of Mishra and Jurski would have yielded the predictable result of providing infinitely configurable and non-volatile capabilities and providing a rich set of features for programming and configuration of the FPGA (See Page 1 Paragraph 1 of MachXO3); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the device of MachXO3 using the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Mishra and Jurski, and using an address having the last three bits of "011" as the binary number of the address bits for transferring the configuration data from the external device to the embedded flash memory within the FPGA via the I3C communication protocol, resulting in the invention of Claim 14, because the simple substitution of the hybrid I2C/I3C interface of Jurski in place of the I2C interface of MachXO3 would have yielded the predictable result of providing compatibility with external devices that use the I2C protocol as well as external devices that use the I3C protocol without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski); and because there are a finite number of known possible combinations of binary address bits address bits for a fixed length address, and the particular address bit combination used would not affect the functionality of the device, and one of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within their technical grasp in an effort to provide an improve construction of the device of MachXO3, Mishra, and Jurski.
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra, Jurski, and knowledge commonly known in the art, as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication Number 2006/0005173 to Eng (“Eng”).
In reference to Claim 23, Mishra discloses a plurality of programmable slave elements ("PSEs"), having configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions (See Figure 2 Numbers 202 and 222, Figure 13, and Paragraphs 90-97 [slave elements may be FPGA’s, which are programmable; FPGA’s necessarily have configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions]), configured to include a controller for a transmission mode (See Figure 2 Numbers 210 and 212 and Paragraph 49); a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the controllers of the plurality of PSEs and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes (See Figure 2 Number 230 and Paragraph 50); and at least one master element coupled to the plurality of PSEs (See Figure 2 Number 220 and Paragraph 48) and configured to selectively communicate to at least one of the plurality of PSEs through information coded in address portion of the transmission mode (See Paragraphs 50 and 75). However, although Mishra discloses that the channel supports both I2C and I3C communications (See Paragraph 50), Mishra does not explicitly disclose that the controller of the PSE’s is a mutli-mode controller (“MMC”) for selecting one of multiple transmission modes. Jurski discloses a MMC for selecting one of multiple (I2C or I3C) transmission modes and a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the MMCs and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes (See Paragraph 270 and Paragraphs 291-297). Furthermore, Mishra and Jurski do not explicitly disclose a hardware description language (HDL) design structure encoded on a machine-readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing. Official Notice is taken that the use of an HDL design structure encoded on a machine-readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing is well known in the art, as evidenced by Eng (See Paragraphs 2-13 and 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the MMC and selectable transmission modes of Jurski in the PSE’s of Mishra, and to encode the device of Mishra and Jurski as a well-known HDL design structure, resulting in the invention of Claim 23, in order to yield the predictable result of allowing the use of PSE’s that are compatible with both the I2C and I3C protocols (See Paragraph 270 of Jurski) , thus allowing them to also be used in systems that only support I2C or I3C without loss of functionality (See Paragraphs 36 and 270 of Jurski); and because the use of HDLs is well known and commonly used in the art, and would have yielded the predictable result of providing a high productivity design media for designers to express the functionality of the system in an unambiguous form, which can then be simulated to verify the correctness of the design before reducing the design into hardware (See Paragraphs 2-3 of Eng).
In reference to Claim 24, Mishra, Jurski, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 23 above. Mishra further discloses that the master element is an external storage device configured to store configuration data received from a user (See Paragraphs 46-48).
In reference to Claim 25, Mishra, Jurski, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 23 above. Mishra further discloses that the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") (See Paragraph 50). Jurski further discloses that the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") (See Paragraph 270).
In reference to Claim 26, Mishra, Jurski, and knowledge commonly known in the art disclose the limitations as applied to Claim 23 above. Mishra further discloses that at least one of the PSEs is a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory (See Paragraph 90 [FPGA’s perform logic functions based on stored configuration data]).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,197,369 to Chopperla (“Chopperla”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of Chopperla recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the limitations of the aforementioned claims, as follows:
Claim 1 (Instant Application)
Claims 1, 2, and 3 (Chopperla)
A method for selectively transmitting information to one of multiple programmable slave elements via a hybrid communication channel comprising:
[Claim 1] A method for providing configuration data to a field-programmable gate array (“FPGA”) via a hybrid communication channel, the method comprising: coupling the FPGA to an external device via a bus containing a serial data line (“SDA”) and a serial clock line (“SCL”)… transmitting configuration data from the external device to a configuration storage in the FPGA via the SDA
[Claim 2] determining destination memory locations of the configuration storage based on address bits on the SDA
[Claim 3] the determining destination memory locations includes identifying an embedded flash memory as the destination memory location in response to least significant three (3) bits of the address bits on the SDA [as the flash memory is part of the FPGA, it is a programmable slave element in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term]
identifying a first programmable slave element ("PSE") from a plurality of PSEs as a first destination;
[Claim 3] the determining destination memory locations includes identifying an embedded flash memory as the destination memory location in response to least significant three (3) bits of the address bits on the SDA [as the flash memory is part of the FPGA and is determined as a destination, it is one of multiple programmable slave elements in accordance with the broadest reasonable interpretation of the term]
determining a first communication protocol from a plurality of possible communication protocols for a first transmission;
[Claim 1] identifying a first communication protocol by a controller located inside of the FPGA in accordance with least significant three (3) bits of address bits presented on the SDA
entering the first PSE into an address portion of the first communication protocol;
[Claim 3] the determining destination memory locations includes identifying an embedded flash memory as the destination memory location in response to least significant three (3) bits of the address bits on the SDA
and transmitting a first stream of configuration data to the first PSE via the first communication protocol through a hybrid communication channel.
[Claim 1] coupling the FPGA to an external device via a bus containing a serial data line (“SDA”)…transmitting configuration data from the external device to a configuration storage in the FPGA via the SDA
Claim 2 (Instant Application)
Claim 2 (Chopperla)
identifying a first memory destination within the first PSEs
determining destination memory locations of the configuration storage based on address bits on the SDA
Claim 3 (Instant Application)
Claim 2 (Chopperla)
encoding the first memory destination in the address frame of the first communication protocol.
determining destination memory locations of the configuration storage based on address bits on the SDA
Claim 4 (Instant Application)
Claims 3 and 4 (Chopperla)
identifying a first memory destination includes identifying one of a volatile memory storage and a nonvolatile memory storage in a first field- programmable gate array ("FPGA")
[Claim 3] the determining destination memory locations includes identifying an embedded flash memory as the destination memory location in response to least significant three (3) bits of the address bits on the SDA [flash is a nonvolatile memory storage]
[Claim 4] the determining destination memory locations includes identifying an embedded static random-access memory (“SRAM”) as the destination memory location in response to least significant three (3) bits of the address bits on the SDA [SRAM is a volatile memory storage]
Claim 5 (Instant Application)
Claims 1 and 2 (Chopperla)
the identifying a first programmable slave element ("PSE") includes determining a first field-programmable gate array ("FPGA")
[Claim 1] coupling the FPGA to an external device via a bus containing a serial data line (“SDA”) and a serial clock line (“SCL”)… transmitting configuration data from the external device to a configuration storage in the FPGA via the SDA
[Claim 2] determining destination memory locations of the configuration storage based on address bits on the SDA
Claim 6 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Chopperla)
the determining a first communication protocol includes providing at least a portion of address bits presented on a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel
identifying a first communication protocol by a controller located inside of the FPGA in accordance with least significant three (3) bits of address bits presented on the SDA
Claim 7 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Chopperla)
the determining a first communication protocol includes providing clock signals presented on a serial clock line ("SCL") of the hybrid communication channel
adjusting receiving clock signals of the FPGA to a first clock frequency in accordance with the first communication protocol and clock cycles presented on the SCL
Claim 8 (Instant Application)
Claim 1 (Chopperla)
transmitting configuration data from a master element to a configuration storage in the first PSE via a serial data line ("SDA") of the hybrid communication channel.
transmitting configuration data from the external device to a configuration storage in the FPGA via the SDA
Claim 9 (Instant Application)
Claim 5 (Chopperla)
the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when least two significant bits of address bits are set to logic zeros.
the identifying a first communication protocol includes determining an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) communication protocol for the SDA when least significant three (3) bits of the address bits are set to logic zeros.
Claim 10 (Instant Application)
Claim 6 (Chopperla)
the determining a first communication protocol includes determining an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("13C") communication protocol for a serial data line ("SDA") when sixth bit of least significant bits is set to logic one.
the identifying a first communication protocol includes determining an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”) communication protocol for the SDA when sixth bit from most significant bit of the address bits is set to logic one
Claim 11 (Instant Application)
Claim 7 (Chopperla)
the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the first PSE via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of "1010000".
the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an onboard static random-access memory (“SRAM”) within the FPGA via an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of “1010000”
Claim 12 (Instant Application)
Claim 8 (Chopperla)
the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an embedded flash memory in the first PSE via an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of "1011000".
the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an embedded flash memory in the FPGA via an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) communication protocol when the address bits have a binary number of “1011000”
Claim 13 (Instant Application)
Claim 9 (Chopperla)
the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an onboard static random-access memory ("SRAM") within the first PSE via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "010".
the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an onboard static random-access memory (“SRAM”) within the FPGA via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”) communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of “010”
Claim 14 (Instant Application)
Claim 10 (Chopperla)
the transmitting a first stream of configuration data includes transferring configuration data to an embedded flash memory in the first PSE via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C") communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of "011".
the transmitting configuration data includes transferring the configuration data from the external device to an embedded flash memory in the FPGA via an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”) communication protocol when last three bits of the address bits have a binary number of “011”
Claim(s) 15-22 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 11-18 of Chopperla in view of knowledge commonly known in the art.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of Chopperla recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the limitations of the aforementioned claims, as follows:
Claim 15 (Instant Application)
Claim 11 (Chopperla)
A configurable semiconductor device able to process information, comprising:
A configurable semiconductor device able to process information, comprising:
a programmable element ("PSE"), having configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions,
a programmable integrated circuit (“PIC”), having configurable logic blocks (“LBs”) and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions
configured to include a multi-mode controller ("MMC") for optionally selecting one of multiple transmission modes;
configured to include a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) coupled to the SMC for electing one mode from multiple modes for handling multiple communication protocols
a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the MMC of the PSE and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes;
a selectable multi-mode channel (“SMC”) containing a data wire and a clock wire coupled to the storage and configured to transmit information via one of multiple transmission modes
and at least one element coupled to the plurality of PSEs and configured to selectively communicate to the PSE through information coded in address portion of the one of multiple transmission modes.
a storage configured to store at least one version of configuration data provided by a user to perform user-defined logic functions…a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) coupled to the SMC for electing one mode from multiple modes for handling multiple communication protocols in response to mode information carried by least significant three (3) bits of the data wire
However, the aforementioned claims of Chopperla do not explicitly disclose a plurality of programmable elements, that the programmable elements are programmable slave elements, and that the at least one element is a master element. Official Notice is taken that the use of a master-slave control arrangement having multiple slaves connected to a master is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Chopperla using a master element and multiple programmable slave elements as the at least one element and the programmable elements, resulting in the claimed invention, because the simple substitution of a master element and multiple programmable slave elements as the at least one element and the programmable elements would have yielded the predictable results of simplifying system planning by directing all operations from a single point, providing predictable timing, improving fault tolerance by allowing for additional redundant programmable slave elements to be connected, and increasing the functionality of the device by allowing additional other programmable slave elements to be connected; and because it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)).
Claim 16 (Instant Application)
Claims 11 and 12 (Chopperla)
the master element is an external storage device configured to store configuration data received from a user.
[Claim 11] a storage configured to store at least one version of configuration data provided by a user
[Claim 12] the storage is an external device remotely coupled to the PIC
Claim 17 (Instant Application)
Claim 13 (Chopperla)
the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C")
the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”).
Claim 18 (Instant Application)
Claim 14 (Chopperla)
at least one of the PSEs is a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory.
the PIC is a field-programmable gate array (“FPGA”) capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory.
Claim 19 (Instant Application)
Claim 15 (Chopperla)
the SMC is a two-wire bus containing a bi- directional serial data line ("SDA") and a serial clock line ("SCL").
the SMC is a two-wire bus containing a bi-directional serial data line (“SDA”) and a serial clock line (“SCL”).
Claim 20 (Instant Application)
Claim 16 (Chopperla)
the MMC is configured to be an Improved Inter- Integrated Circuit ("I3C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I3C protocol
the MMC is configured to be an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”) bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I3C protocol.
Claim 21 (Instant Application)
Claim 17 (Chopperla)
the MMC is configured to be an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I2C protocol.
the MMC is configured to be an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) bus when address bits of the SDA indicate I2C protocol.
Claim 22 (Instant Application)
Claim 18 (Chopperla)
the MMC is configured to forward received data to an embedded flash memory in the PIC via the SMC configured to be in an I3C mode.
the MMC is configured to forward received data to an embedded flash memory in the PIC via the SMC which is capable of being set to an I3C mode
Claim(s) 23-26 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 11-14 of Chopperla in view of knowledge commonly known in the art and Eng.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of Chopperla recite, in substantially equivalent form, all of the limitations of the aforementioned claims, as follows:
Claim 23 (Instant Application)
Claim 11 (Chopperla)
a programmable element ("PSE"), having configurable logic blocks ("LBs") and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions,
a programmable integrated circuit (“PIC”), having configurable logic blocks (“LBs”) and a configuration memory for facilitating user-defined logic functions
configured to include a multi-mode controller ("MMC") for optionally selecting one of multiple transmission modes;
configured to include a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) coupled to the SMC for electing one mode from multiple modes for handling multiple communication protocols
a selectable multi-mode channel ("SMC") coupled to the MMC of the PSE and configured to transmit information via the one of multiple transmission modes;
a selectable multi-mode channel (“SMC”) containing a data wire and a clock wire coupled to the storage and configured to transmit information via one of multiple transmission modes
and at least one element coupled to the plurality of PSEs and configured to selectively communicate to the PSE through information coded in address portion of the one of multiple transmission modes.
a storage configured to store at least one version of configuration data provided by a user to perform user-defined logic functions…a multi-mode controller (“MMC”) coupled to the SMC for electing one mode from multiple modes for handling multiple communication protocols in response to mode information carried by least significant three (3) bits of the data wire
However, the aforementioned claims of Chopperla do not explicitly disclose a plurality of programmable elements, that the programmable elements are programmable slave elements, and that the at least one element is a master element. Official Notice is taken that the use of a master-slave control arrangement having multiple slaves connected to a master is well known in the art. Furthermore, the aforementioned claims of Chopperla do not explicitly disclose a hardware description language (HDL) design structure encoded on a machine-readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing. Official Notice is taken that the use of an HDL design structure encoded on a machine-readable data storage medium, the HDL design structure comprising elements that when processed in a computer-aided design system generates a machine-executable representation of data processing is well known in the art, as evidenced by Eng (See Paragraphs 2-13 and 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to construct the device of the aforementioned claims of Chopperla using a master element and multiple programmable slave elements as the at least one element and the programmable elements, and to encode the device of the aforementioned claims of Chopperla as a well-known HDL design structure, resulting in the claimed invention, because the simple substitution of a master element and multiple programmable slave elements as the at least one element and the programmable elements would have yielded the predictable results of simplifying system planning by directing all operations from a single point, providing predictable timing, improving fault tolerance by allowing for additional redundant programmable slave elements to be connected, and increasing the functionality of the device by allowing additional other programmable slave elements to be connected; and because it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)); and because the use of HDLs is well known and commonly used in the art, and would have yielded the predictable result of providing a high productivity design media for designers to express the functionality of the system in an unambiguous form, which can then be simulated to verify the correctness of the design before reducing the design into hardware (See Paragraphs 2-3 of Eng).
Claim 24 (Instant Application)
Claims 11 and 12 (Chopperla)
the master element is an external storage device configured to store configuration data received from a user.
[Claim 11] a storage configured to store at least one version of configuration data provided by a user
[Claim 12] the storage is an external device remotely coupled to the PIC
Claim 25 (Instant Application)
Claim 13 (Chopperla)
the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I2C") and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit ("I3C")
the SMC is able to switch a transmission protocol between an Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I2C”) and an Improved Inter-Integrated Circuit (“I3C”).
Claim 26 (Instant Application)
Claim 14 (Chopperla)
at least one of the PSEs is a field-programmable gate array ("FPGA") capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory.
the PIC is a field-programmable gate array (“FPGA”) capable of performing logic functions based on configuration data stored in the configuration memory.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS J. CLEARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175