DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on August 12, 2026. Claims 1,2, 4-6, 8, and 10-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1-11 represents a device and claims 12-15 represents a method directed to interface-detection-based externally-connected protection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 14-15 of the Remarks, the applicant does not dispute that the identified module limitations involve 35 USC 112(f) (Remarks, 14-15) and identifies ¶¶ 42-54 of the specification as the corresponding structure. The examiner maintains the interpretation. The recitation that the device type detection module “comprises an electronic device having data processing capabilities” is itself a generic placeholder coupled with functional language and does not recite sufficient structure to perform the recited functions.
On pages 16-17 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that neither Soffer or Wentworth disclose taking over all external interfaces of the protected device through fixed one-to-one pairs switched without mutual transmission between pairs.
This argument is not persuasive.
Soffer’s Fig 4. Gateway has “two USB device ports through USB contacts 20a, 20b, and two USB host ports 43a and 43b” (Soffer, ¶ 234), each pair with its own switches on its own control line (Soffer, ¶ 238). As in Fig. 2, those switches either couple a qualified device to the host or “isolate the device 24 USB signals from connected host computers 10” (Soffer, ¶¶ 170-171). Soffer describes no path between the channels. Wentworth describes the takeover in which the firewalls upstream port “operatively connects to a downstream port 108 of the host 102” (Wentworth, ¶ 23), and Wentworth’s aim is that “only the downstream port or ports are accessible to the user” (Wentworth, ¶ 22). One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
On pages 15-17 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that neither reference discloses at least two external interfaces for external devices with different predetermined data transmission types supporting the same interface standard, or a comparison of the detected type with the type of the particular interface.
This argument is not persuasive.
Claim 1 no longer recites at least two external interfaces. As best understood, and as recited in claim 12, Wentworth configures port 806 “for use only with a USB mass storage device” port 808 “for use only with a USB mouse” and port 810 “for use only with a USB keyboard” (Wentworth, ¶ 50). Each port “only permits connection to peripheral devices of a predefined USB class/subclass” (Wentworth, 33), so the detected type is checked against the type of that particular port.
On page 17 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that amended claim 8 requires three USB external interfaces dedicated respectively to storage, HID, and non-storage non-HID devices.
This argument is not persuasive.
Wentworth configures each port for “a specific class of USB peripheral device”, including mass storage, mouse, and keyboard ports (Wentworth, ¶ 50). Soffer identifies non-storage, non-HID peripherals such as “scanner, camera, or other sensors” (Soffer, ¶ 347). Dedicating a third port to that class applies Wentworth’s per-port technique to a known class with predictable results.
On page 17 of the Remarks, the applicant argues that the combination would at most suggest USB filtering or port-based firewall rules and relies on hindsight.
This argument is not persuasive.
Soffer supplies the fixed on-to-one switched channels and Wentworth supplies the host-port takeover and per-port classes. Together they are the claimed structure as provided. The reason for their combination is taken from the references (Wenworth ¶ 33, Soffer ¶ 155) as set forth in the rejection and not from the Applicant’s disclosure.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on July 11, 2022. The examiner reminds the applicant, It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN202210807836.7 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed January 15, 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because of the following documents that fail to have English translations:
CN115203686
CN109522760
CN114595178
CN114186293
It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Drawings
The objection is withdrawn in view of the new drawings submitted on August 12, 2026.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in view of the amended specification submitted on August 12, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, the applicant capitalizes the words directly following the semicolon (i.e. Line 5, “The interface…”) should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses “external devices having different predetermined data transmission types and supporting a same interface standard”. The examiner is unclear on whether these external devices are the same external devices recited earlier in the claim.
Claim 2-11 are rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim 15 discloses “mirroring and storing the PASS-THROUGH data from external interfaces”. The term “the PASS-THROUGH data” lacks antecedent basis.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1 discloses “device type detection module…is configured to detect..” and “alarm module…is configured to perform…”
Claim 2 discloses a “device type detection module capable of…”
Claim 3 discloses a “content monitoring module capable of…”
Claim 4 discloses a “mirroring module…capable of…” and a “data analysis module”
Claims 5-9 utilize the same previously disclosed modules.
Claim 10 discloses a “firewall module…detecting..”
Claim 11 discloses a “plugged and unplugged detection module…detecting”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Soffer, Aviv (US 20180097629), hereinafter referred to as Soffer, in view of Wentworth et al. (WO 2016209203), hereinafter referred to as Wentworth.
An interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device (In the abstract, Soffer discloses “The USB security gateway device is used for protecting a USB port of a host computer against interaction with unauthorized USB device.”), comprising internal interfaces (B1~B3, D1, D2), external interfaces (A1~A3, Cl, C2) (In ¶ 234, Soffer discloses “This exemplary embodiment of the current invention is having two USB device ports through USB contacts 20a, 20b and two USB host ports 43a and 43b implemented as soldered pins that fits the standard USB jack footprint.”), and a switch module (130) (In ¶ 164, Soffer discloses “The mode select switch functions 9dm and 9dp are USB switches or multiplexers that are jointly controlled by the microcontroller function 32a through switch control line 13.”), wherein: The internal interfaces are used for connecting to a protected device (200) (In ¶ 234, Soffer discloses “two USB host ports 43a and 43b implemented as soldered pins” and further in ¶ 243 “System 200b thus comprises the USB device(s) 24x, the Secure USB Gateway device 52, and a host represented by motherboard 56b.”); The external interfaces are used for connecting to external devices that need to access the protected device (In ¶ 234, Soffer discloses “This exemplary embodiment of the current invention is having two USB device ports through USB contacts 20a, 20b” and further in ¶ 243 “System 200b thus comprises the USB device(s) 24x, the Secure USB Gateway device 52, and a host represented by motherboard 56b.”); The external interfaces (A1~A3, Cl, C2) are connected with one-to-one correspondence to the internal interfaces (B1~B3, Dl, D2) by means of the switch module (130) (In ¶ 238, Soffer discloses “Microcontroller function 32ab controls channel A USB switches 9adm and 9adp via line 13a and also control channel B USB switches 9bdm and 9bdp via line 13b.” and in ¶ 171 “the microcontroller function 32a commands the USB mode select switches 9dm and 9dp to change its position to couple the device 24 USB signals 16dm and 16dp via USB lines 5dm and 5dp respectively, to the connected computer 10 USB port.”); The type and quantity of the internal interfaces are compatible with the type and quantity of the external interfaces, (In ¶ 234, Soffer discloses “This exemplary embodiment of the current invention is having two USB device ports through USB contacts 20a, 20b and two USB host ports 43a and 43b implemented as soldered pins ”); The external interfaces and the internal interfaces have a determined one-to-one correspondence relationship, and the switch module (130) is configured to perform connecting-disconnecting control between each external interface and its corresponding internal interface without mutual transmission between different correspondence pairs (In ¶ 236, Soffer discloses “This exemplary embodiment of the current invention enables cost and size reduction by sharing some of the functions for the two ports (port or channel A and port or channel B)” and further in ¶ 238 “Microcontroller function 32ab controls channel A USB switches 9adm and 9adp via line 13a and also control channel B USB switches 9bdm and 9bdp via line 13b. ”); The externally-connected protection device further comprises a device type detection module (110) and an alarm module (140) (In ¶ 165, Soffer discloses “microcontroller 32a commands the mode select switches 9dm and 9dp via line 13 to route the USB lines 16dm and 16dp to the microcontroller function 32a USB port through USB lines 6dm and 6db respectively. This routing allows the microcontroller function 32a to emulate a host PC USB stack and enumerate the connected USB peripheral device 24. This process is called here Device pre-qualification.” and further discloses in ¶ 172 “Device status indicator, for example bi-color LED 42 which is coupled to the microcontroller function 32a provides essential user indications about the connected USB peripheral device 24 qualification status.”); The device type detection module (110) comprises an electronic device having data processing capabilities and is configured to detect the data transmission type of any external device connected to any external interface (In ¶ 165, Soffer discloses “This routing allows the microcontroller function 32a to emulate a host PC USB stack and enumerate the connected USB peripheral device 24. This process is called here Device pre-qualification.” And further in ¶ 152 “Field updateable profiles used to allow or block connection of specific or classes of devices. ”), send an alarm instruction to the alarm module (140) according to the detection result, (In ¶ 172, Soffer discloses “Device status indicator, for example bi-color LED 42 which is coupled to the microcontroller function 32a provides essential user indications about the connected USB peripheral device 24 qualification status.”), and instruct the switch module to connect or disconnect the external interface with the corresponding internal interface (In ¶ 170, Soffer discloses “If the connected USB peripheral device 24 does not match the predefined profile (it is not qualified) then the microcontroller 32a commands the USB mode select switches 9dm and 9dp via line 13 to remain in its initial position (as shown in FIG. 2) and thus isolate the device 24 USB signals from connected host computers 10.”); send an alarm instruction to the alarm module (140) according to the detection result, and instruct the switch module to connect or disconnect the external interface with the corresponding internal interface (In ¶ 170, Soffer discloses “If the connected USB peripheral device 24 does not match the predefined profile (it is not qualified) then the microcontroller 32a commands the USB mode select switches 9dm and 9dp via line 13 to remain in its initial position (as shown in FIG. 2) and thus isolate the device 24 USB signals from connected host computers 10.”); The alarm module (140) is configured to perform alarm operations according to the received alarm instruction (In ¶ 172, Soffer discloses “Device status indicator, for example bi-color LED 42 which is coupled to the microcontroller function 32a provides essential user indications about the connected USB peripheral device 24 qualification status.”).
However, Soffer does not explicitly disclose the different predetermined data transmission types.
Wentworth discloses:
external devices having different predetermined data transmission types and supporting a same interface standard (In ¶ 50, Wentworth discloses “Alternatively, each downstream port can be configured to operate with a specific class of USB peripheral device, which can be the same or different from the specific class of USB peripheral device of each other downstream port of the hub 800… downstream port 806 could be yellow and could be configured in the USB firewall rules for use only with a USB mass storage device; downstream port 808 could be red and could be configured in the USB firewall rules for use only with a USB mouse; and downstream port 810 could be green and could be configured in the firewall rules for use only with a USB keyboard.”); wherein each internal interface is used for one-to-one connection to all external interface of the protected device such that no external interface of the protected device remains untaken over (In ¶ 23, Wentworth discloses “The USB firewall device 100 includes at least one upstream port 106 that is operatively connects to a downstream port 108 of the host 102.” And further in ¶ 22 “Figures 1-4 and 8 illustrate USB firewall devices of the present technology as a separate device with its own housing that is separate from the host computer. However, a USB firewall device of the present technology could be incorporated into the housing of the host, so that only the downstream port or ports are accessible to the user.”); compare the detected data transmission type with the predetermined data transmission type of the external interface to which the external device is connected (In ¶ 33, Wentworth discloses “each of its one or more downstream ports only permits connection to peripheral devices of a predefined USB class/subclass. By establishing such a fixed configuration of the firewall, the firewall device, such as in the processor 412 of Figure 4, or the security enforcement component 340 of Figure 3, would only allow transmission of USB packets that are appropriate for the configured USB class.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soffer’s approach by utilizing Wentworth’s approach of class dedicated ports as the motivation would be to ensure only specific types of devices can connect to the USB firewall device to restrict malicious devices to be able to access and send commands associated with the ports (See Wentworth, ¶ 33).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 1, wherein the device type detection module (110) is further capable of: when the data transmission type of the detected external device is inconsistent with the predetermined data transmission type of the external interface to which the external device is connected, instructing the switch module to disconnect the connection between the external interface and the corresponding internal interface, and sending an alarm instruction to the alarm module (In ¶ 189, Soffer discloses “Similar to prequalification process, this captured data may be compared with the predefined profile to decide if device is qualified or not. In the case that device is not qualified; microcontroller function 32a may disconnect the USB peripheral device 24 from host by commanding USB switches 9x to revert to the original pre-qualification state.”); wherein, when the data transmission type of the detected external device matches the predetermined data transmission type of the external interface to which the external device is connected, the switch module is instructed to connect the external interface with the corresponding internal interface (In ¶ 171, Soffer discloses “Only if the connected USB peripheral device 24 matches the predefined profile (it is qualified), then the microcontroller function 32a commands the USB mode select switches 9dm and 9dp to change its position to couple the device 24 USB signals 16dm and 16dp via USB lines 5dm and 5dp respectively, to the connected computer 10 USB port.”).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 2, further comprising a content monitoring module (150) capable of auditing the data content from the external interface (In ¶ 30, Soffer discloses “Sniffing and monitoring data exchanged between the connected device and the host.”), and instructing the switch module to connect or disconnect the external interface with the corresponding internal interface according to the content auditing result (In ¶ 193, Soffer discloses “on detecting abnormal activity, the security server can perform at least one of: deactivate the gateway, block the suspicious communication, and alert system administrator.”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 3, wherein the content monitoring module (150) comprises a mirroring module and a data analysis module (In ¶ 193, Soffer discloses “a security server connected to ports 44 is used for monitoring the activity logs and alert messages from the gateway devices. Optionally, on detecting abnormal activity, the security server can perform at least one of: deactivate the gateway, block the suspicious communication, and alert system administrator.”), wherein the mirroring module is capable of mirroring and storing PASS-THROUGH data from the external interface (In ¶ 80, Soffer discloses “the security circuitry is capable of preparing and storing an event log file based on monitoring the activity of the secure serial communication gateway device, and transmitting said event log file via said programming port.”), and the data analysis module is used for data analysis of all data from the external interface and sending alarm instructions to the alarm module (140) according to the analysis results (In ¶ 193, Soffer discloses “Optionally, a security server connected to ports 44 is used for monitoring the activity logs and alert messages from the gateway devices. Optionally, on detecting abnormal activity, the security server can perform at least one of: deactivate the gateway, block the suspicious communication, and alert system administrator.”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 4, wherein the external interface comprises a TRANSFER- THROUGH (In ¶ 338, Soffer discloses “each of the inbound data stream 621a and outbound data stream 621b passes through the corresponding data direction enforcement diode 610x and switch 612x placed between host emulator 601 and device emulator 602.”) mode serial external interface and a PASS-THROUGH mode serial external interface (In ¶ 336, Soffer discloses “bidirectional data exchange 620 with peripheral device 24 is maintained (after qualification by microcontroller function 32d) by host emulator 601. Host emulator 601 split the data exchange to inbound data stream 621a and outbound data stream 621b.”), and the internal interface comprises a TRANSFER-THROUGH mode serial internal interface and a PASS-THROUGH mode serial internal interface corresponding one-to-one to the TRANSFER-THROUGH mode serial external interface and the PASS-THROUGH mode serial external interface (In ¶ 73, Soffer discloses “herein said table associates at least one peripheral device qualification and each of said host connector at least one of: unidirectional data flow from said peripheral device to the selected host computer; unidirectional data flow from the selected host computer to said peripheral device; bidirectional data flow between the selected host computer and said peripheral device;”); wherein, the data analysis module is used for analyzing data from the TRANSFER-THROUGH mode serial external interface, and sending alarm instructions to the alarm module (140) according to the analysis results (In ¶ 193, Soffer discloses “on detecting abnormal activity, the security server can perform at least one of: deactivate the gateway, block the suspicious communication, and alert system administrator.”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 5, wherein the mirroring module is capable of mirroring and storing the PASS-THROUGH data from the PASS-THROUGH mode serial external interface (In ¶ 80, Soffer discloses “the security circuitry is capable of preparing and storing an event log file based on monitoring the activity of the secure serial communication gateway device, and transmitting said event log file via said programming port.”); wherein, the data analysis module is also capable of analyzing the direct data of the PASS-THROUGH mode serial external interface, and sending alarm instructions to the alarm module (140) according to the analysis results (In ¶ 193, Soffer discloses “a security server connected to ports 44 is used for monitoring the activity logs and alert messages from the gateway devices. Optionally, on detecting abnormal activity, the security server can perform at least one of: deactivate the gateway, block the suspicious communication, and alert system administrator.”)
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 1, wherein the external interface comprises a USB external interface, and the internal interface comprises a USB internal interface corresponding one-to-one to the USB external interface (In ¶ 234, Soffer discloses “the current invention is having two USB device ports through USB contacts 20a, 20b and two USB host ports 43a and 43b implemented as soldered pins that fits the standard USB jack footprint.”),
However, Soffer does not explicitly disclose the different predetermined data transmission types.
Wentworth discloses:
and the predetermined data transmission type of each USB external interface is the same as the type of USB external interface of the protected device connected to the corresponding USB internal interface. (In ¶ 33, Wentworth discloses “The first level of protection can be accomplished by manufacturing the USB firewall device so that each of its one or more downstream ports only permits connection to peripheral devices of a predefined USB class/subclass.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soffer’s approach by utilizing Wentworth’s approach of class dedicated ports as the motivation would be to ensure only specific types of devices can connect to the USB firewall device to restrict malicious devices to be able to access and send commands associated with the ports (See Wentworth, ¶ 33).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 7, and a non-storage non-HID type USB external interface configured to connect non-storage non-HID USB external devices (In ¶ 39, Soffer discloses “Touch-screen, Audio devices, camera or other sensors, mass storage device or shared encrypted mass storage device, shared scanner, printer, etc.”).
However, Soffer does not explicitly disclose the different predetermined data transmission types.
Wentworth discloses:
wherein the USB external interface comprises at least three USB external interfaces respectively having different predetermined data transmission types including (In ¶ 50, Wentworth discloses “Alternatively, each downstream port can be configured to operate with a specific class of USB peripheral device, which can be the same or different from the specific class of USB peripheral device of each other downstream port of the hub 800.”): a storage type USB external interface configured to connect storage-type USB external devices (In ¶ 50, Wentworth discloses “ downstream port 806 could be yellow and could be configured in the USB firewall rules for use only with a USB mass storage device;”), a Human Interface Device (HID) type USB external interface configured to connect HID-type USB external devices (In ¶ 50, Wentworth discloses “downstream port 810 could be green and could be configured in the firewall rules for use only with a USB keyboard.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soffer’s approach by utilizing Wentworth’s approach of class dedicated ports as the motivation would be to ensure only specific types of devices can connect to the USB firewall device to restrict malicious devices to be able to access and send commands associated with the ports (See Wentworth, ¶ 33).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 1, wherein the external interface comprises a network external interface (In ¶ 161, Soffer discloses “USB peripheral device 24 is any user selected peripheral device that is attached to the Secure USB Gateway device 11 USB peripheral device port 18 through USB cable 22, and USB plug 4.”), and the internal interface comprises a network internal interface connected to the network external interface (In ¶ 165, Soffer discloses “USB plug 14 (which may also be termed “host port”) is connected to a host computer.”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose the limitations of Claim 9.
However, Soffer does not explicitly disclose a firewall program.
Wentworth discloses:
further comprising a firewall module configured to execute a firewall program (In ¶ 30, Wentworth discloses “ These components include a memory 410 that stores USB firewall security rules, and a processor 412 that executes the USB firewall security rules. When executing the firewall security rules, the processor 412 can analyze USB signal and data traffic, and/or the presence or absence of external security conditions, and can determine if an attempted access or communication is authorized by the USB firewall security rules.” and further in ¶ 25 “firewall security rules stored within the housing of the device that, when executed by the device cause the USB firewall device to determine whether the attempted access or communication is authorized”) to perform legality detection on data received from the network external interface before the data is sent to the network internal interface (In ¶ 35, Wentworth discloses “functions as a packet inspection point, and examines the packet for protocol non-compliance, viruses, spam, intrusions, or defined criteria to decide whether the packet may pass on normally or if a firewall protected action is required.”)
One in ordinary skill in the art of cryptography would have been motivated, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Soffer’s approach by utilizing Wentworth’s approach of implementing firewall rules as the motivation would be to inspect data before it reaches the host, since packet inspection is a form of computer network packet filtering commonly used in protecting against transmission of Internet viruses (See Wentworth, ¶ 33).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Soffer and Wentworth disclose:
The interface-detection-based externally-connected protection device according to Claim 1, further comprising a plugged and unplugged detection module (In ¶ 55, Soffer discloses “electromechanical switch capable of detecting disconnection of a plug from said serial communication peripheral device port”) capable of: detecting whether the data lines or devices connected to each external interface are unplugged (In ¶ 185, Soffer discloses “Detection of USB jack 18 mechanical state, using a sensor such as a small switch (not seen in this figure) that is capable of detecting the disconnection of valid peripheral device 24 and reporting the disconnection to controller 32a or active anti-tampering function 38”), detecting whether the data lines connected to the internal interface are unplugged, and detecting whether the data lines connected to the internal interface are unplugged from the external interface of the protected device (In ¶ 188, Soffer discloses “Optional USB enumeration and reset detector function 12 may be implemented using discrete circuitry, an ASIC a microcontroller, or FPGA device. USB enumeration and reset detector function 12 circuitry senses or sniff the USB lines 9x to detect changes in connection, re-enumeration or link reset states and to report these events to the microcontroller function 32a.”), and sending an alarm instruction to the alarm module after detecting the unplugged status (In ¶ 185, Soffer discloses “Detection of USB jack 18 mechanical state, using a sensor such as a small switch (not seen in this figure) that is capable of detecting the disconnection of valid peripheral device 24 and reporting the disconnection to controller 32a or active anti-tampering function”).
Claims 12-15 are directed to a method having functionality corresponding to the device of Claims 1-3 and 6, respectively, and are rejected by a similar rationale, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Appleboum et al. (US 20200226298) discloses a method for preventing attacks on at least one computer via its USB port.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHADI H KOBROSLI/Examiner, Art Unit 2492 /RUPAL DHARIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2492