DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin (US 2007/0201815) and further in view of Chau et al (US 2020/0082851).
For claim 1, Griffin teaches a method of caching a multi-source video to expedite video editing (e.g. abstract), the method comprising:
receiving a first multi-source video comprising a plurality of portions of video, each portion of video associated with one of a plurality of video streams, each video stream associated with one of a plurality of cameras (e.g. figures 1- 2, cameras 12, 14, 16 and 18, figure 3 paragraph 36: the video streams 102, 104, 106, 108 may correspond to the separate video streams recorded by the video cameras 12, 14, 16, 18 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2);
extracting one of a plurality of source identifiers from each of the plurality of portions of video, each source identifier associated with one of the plurality of video streams (e.g. figure 4, paragraph 22 synchronizing time stamp values associated with a plurality of individually recorded video streams OR paragraph 43: video segments from the different video streams 102, 104, 106, 108 having overlapping time stamps, indicating that the were recorded at substantially the same time, are recordings of the same event or play.)
automatically retrieving the plurality of portions of video in the first multi-source video based on the embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.);
receiving editing commands from a user, each editing command configured to modify at least one portion of video from the first multi-source video (e.g. paragraphs 34-35: a user may append additional information to the various files further identifying the video segments stored in each file. For example, for a video recording of a football game in which each play is stored in a separate video file, additional data appended to a file may include, additional data for each video file storing a video segment corresponding to a particular play might include information indicating which team had possession of the football during the play, the down and distance to go for a first down, the location of the line of scrimmage, and so forth. All such information stored with the various video files will help a video editor locate desired plays and retrieve and manipulate corresponding video clips for preparing customized video presentation or program.);
modifying at least one portion of video from the first multi-source video based on the editing commands (e.g. paragraphs 34-35: a user may append additional information to the various files further identifying the video segments stored in each file.); and
generating a second multi-source video based on the first multi-source video and the at least one modified portion of video (e.g. paragraph 35: All such information stored with the various video files will help a video editor locate desired plays and retrieve and manipulate corresponding video clips for preparing customized video presentation or program.).
Griffin does not further disclose wherein each of the plurality of source identifiers is displayed within an image frame. Chau et al teach each of the plurality of source identifiers is displayed within an image frame (e.g. paragraph 85, figures 6-7 shows camera identifier “2nd floor 001” is displayed within an image frame). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chau et al into the teaching of Griffin to allow user to efficiently identify person-of-interest within surveillance system (e.g. paragraph 3, Chau et al ).
For claim 7, Griffin teaches causing the multi-source video to pre-cache the selected portions of video based on the embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 32: The video editing system 20 includes a video processor 22, a large digital video data storage device 24 for storing both raw and edited digital video, and a user interface 26 allowing a user to interact with and control the video editing system 20) comprises:
providing a video editing program (e.g. paragraph 32: video editing system 20) ;
importing the multi-source video with embedded source identifiers into the editing program (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.);
reading the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the first multi-source video with the editing program (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.); and
automatically retrieving, using the editing program, the portions of video from each of the plurality of video streams based on the embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.).
For claim 2, Griffin teaches each of the plurality of source identifiers is embedded in at least one pixel in the first multi-source video (e.g. see figure 4 paragraph 45: The time stamps may be synchronized by previewing video segments stored in video files from the different video streams and visually identifying video segments corresponding to the same event or play. FIG. 4 shows an interface page 200 that may be used to synchronize the time stamp values associated with video segments from a plurality of video streams.).
Claims 10-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al (US 2003/0193616), in view of Griffin (US 2007/0201815) and further in view of Chau et al (US 2020/0082851).
For claim 10, Baker et al teach a system for generating a multi-source video to expedite video editing, the system comprising:
a video switch (e.g. first figure: camera switch 22) configured to:
a) receive a plurality of video streams, each video stream associated with one of a plurality of cameras (e.g. first figure, cam 1, Cam 2, Cam 3…etc ); and
b) select at least one portion of video from each of the plurality of video streams; a source identifier mapping module configured to generate a plurality of source identifiers, each source identifier associated with one of the plurality of video streams (e.g. paragraph 8: The camera switch 22 selects one of the source identified video signal);
a video watermarking module (e.g. first figure, paragraph 8: “watermark encoder”) configured to: embed, for each selected portion of video, one of the plurality of source identifiers in the portion of video; wherein the source identifier embedded in each selected portion of video corresponds to the video stream from which the portion of video was received (e.g. abstract or paragraph 4: “…The video signal from each video source has a source ID embedded in it, either in the form of vertical interval time code user bits or in the form of a watermark in the active video portion of the video signal, or both…”); and
Baker et al do not further disclose:
b) generate a multi-source video comprising the selected portions of video with embedded source identifier; and
a video editing processor comprising memory configured to a)pre-cache the selected portions of video in memory based on the multi-source video and embedded source identifiers; b)receiving editing commands from user, each editing command configured to modify at least one portion of video from the first multi-source video based on the editing commands; and c) generate a second multi-source video based on the first multi-source video and the at least one modified portion of video;
wherein each of the plurality of source identifiers is displayed within an image frame.
Griffin teaches:
b) generate a multi-source video comprising the selected portions of video with embedded source identifier (e.g. figure 2, paragraph 32: “The video processor 22 is adapted to receive raw unedited video streams from the various cameras 12, 14, 16, 18 used to record an event such as a football game. Preferably, the video streams received from the cameras are received in the form of a plurality of discrete digital video files. Preferably each digital video file contains a discrete video segment of the recorded the event, such as a video recording of an individual play executed during the football game.” Paragraph 34: “For example, each video stream may be identified by the name of the opponents playing in the recorded game, the date the video was recorded, and the viewing angle represented by the particular video stream. For example, the video stream received from camera 12 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Wide Angle." ”); and
a video editing processor comprising memory configured to
a) pre-cache the selected portions of video in memory based on the multi-source video and embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 32: “The video editing system 20 includes a video processor 22, a large digital video data storage device 24 for storing both raw and edited digital video”);
b)receiving editing commands from user, each editing command configured to modify at least one portion of video from the first multi-source video based on the editing commands (e.g. paragraphs 34-35: a user may append additional information to the various files further identifying the video segments stored in each file. For example, for a video recording of a football game in which each play is stored in a separate video file, additional data appended to a file may include, additional data for each video file storing a video segment corresponding to a particular play might include information indicating which team had possession of the football during the play, the down and distance to go for a first down, the location of the line of scrimmage, and so forth. All such information stored with the various video files will help a video editor locate desired plays and retrieve and manipulate corresponding video clips for preparing customized video presentation or program.); and
c) generate a second multi-source video based on the first multi-source video and the at least one modified portion of video(e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Griffin into the teaching of Baker et al to store plurality of video segments received from multiple source (e.g. Griffin, paragraph 15) to allow quick and easy access and control playback of video files (e.g. Griffin, paragraph 11).
Baker et al and Griffin do not further disclose wherein each of the plurality of source identifiers is displayed within an image frame. Chau et al teach each of the plurality of source identifiers is displayed within an image frame (e.g. paragraph 85, figures 6-7 shows camera identifier “2nd floor 001” is displayed within an image frame). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Chau et al into the teaching of Baker et al and Griffin to allow user to efficiently identify person-of-interest within surveillance system (e.g. paragraph 3, Chau et al ).
For claim 11, Griffin teaches each of the plurality of source identifiers is embedded in at least one pixel in the first multi-source video (e.g. see figure 4 paragraph 45: The time stamps may be synchronized by previewing video segments stored in video files from the different video streams and visually identifying video segments corresponding to the same event or play. FIG. 4 shows an interface page 200 that may be used to synchronize the time stamp values associated with video segments from a plurality of video streams.).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 10 above.
For claim 16, Griffin teaches causing the multi-source video to pre-cache the selected portions of video based on the embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 32: The video editing system 20 includes a video processor 22, a large digital video data storage device 24 for storing both raw and edited digital video, and a user interface 26 allowing a user to interact with and control the video editing system 20) comprises:
providing a video editing program (e.g. paragraph 32: video editing system 20) ;
importing the multi-source video with embedded source identifiers into the editing program (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.);
reading the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the first multi-source video with the editing program (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.); and
automatically retrieving, using the editing program, the portions of video from each of the plurality of video streams based on the embedded source identifiers (e.g. paragraph 43: Thus, time stamp information may be used to identify video files from different video streams storing video segments recoding the same event or play. Once video files containing common video segments have been identified, they may be aligned or grouped together, so that a video editor may select a particular video segment from one of the video streams that best illustrates an aspect of the play that the video editor wishes to highlight.).
The motivation for combining the references has been discussed in claim 10 above.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baker et al, Griffin and Chau et al, as applied to claims 10-11 and 16 above, and further in view of Suh (US 2005/0053353).
For claim 17, Baker et al, Griffin and Chau e al do not further disclose remove the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the second multi-source video. Suh teaches remove the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the second multi-source video (e.g. paragraph 37: the time stamp is removed from the transport stream; or paragraph 42: the upload control part 230 removes the time stamp from the stream). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suh into the teaching of Baker et al, Griffin and Chau e tal to remove time stamp after reading or decoding video stream on the basis of a time steam (e.g. paragraph 42, Suh) for improve storage efficiency.
For claim18, Baker et al do not further disclose generating a map consisting of a plurality of source identifiers and a plurality of sources of video, wherein the map associates each of the plurality of source identifiers with one of the plurality of sources of video. Griffin teaches generating a map consisting of a plurality of source identifiers and a plurality of sources of video, wherein the map associates each of the plurality of source identifiers with one of the plurality of sources of video (e.g. paragraph 34: For example, each video stream may be identified by the name of the opponents playing in the recorded game, the date the video was recorded, and the viewing angle represented by the particular video stream. For example, the video stream received from camera 12 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Wide Angle." The video received from the camera 14 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Tight Angle." The video stream from camera 16 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Reverse Angle." Finally, the video stream from camera 18 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 End Zone."). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Griffin into the teaching of Baker et al to store plurality of video segments received from multiple source (e.g. Griffin, paragraph 15) to allow quick and easy access and control playback of video files (e.g. Griffin, paragraph 11).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffin and Chau et al, as applied to claims 1-2 and 7 above, and further in view of Suh (US 2005/0053353).
For claim 8, Griffin and Chau et al not further disclose remove the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the second multi-source video. Suh teaches remove the plurality of source identifiers embedded in the second multi-source video (e.g. paragraph 37: the time stamp is removed from the transport stream; or paragraph 42: the upload control part 230 removes the time stamp from the stream). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Suh into the teaching of Griffin and Chau to remove time stamp after reading or decoding video stream on the basis of a time steam (e.g. paragraph 42, Suh) for improve storage efficiency.
For claim 9, Griffin teaches generating a map consisting of a plurality of source identifiers and a plurality of sources of video, wherein the map associates each of the plurality of source identifiers with one of the plurality of sources of video (e.g. paragraph 34: For example, each video stream may be identified by the name of the opponents playing in the recorded game, the date the video was recorded, and the viewing angle represented by the particular video stream. For example, the video stream received from camera 12 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Wide Angle." The video received from the camera 14 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Tight Angle." The video stream from camera 16 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 Reverse Angle." Finally, the video stream from camera 18 might be identified as "Wolverines v. Trojans Jan. 1, 2007 End Zone.").
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484