DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5-9, 11 and 13 have been amended. New Claims 16-20 have been added. Claims 1, 3 and 5-20 remain pending.
The previously raised 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections for Claims 1, 3 and 5-15 are withdrawn because the issues have been properly corrected.
Response to Arguments
On Pages 8-9 of Remarks, Applicant argues that, regarding amended Claim 1, the cited references do not teach the amended features of the partial tube-shaped dog elements in Claim 1, which is supported by Fig .77. As discussed below, one of the features has U.S.C. 112(a) issue, while Claim 1 with the other of the features and the dependent claims are allowable.
On Page 10 of Remarks, Applicant argues that, regarding amended Claim 13, reference Vetter 1 does not disclose “a single arrangement in which two inner tube flange connectors and two outer tube flange connectors occupy alternating circumferential positions around the longitudinal axis, with facing circumferential edges defining limited circumferential arc distances that act as rotational stops”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, in Vetter 1’s structure, the body portion 428 (containing 2 branches) and two tendon actuation tabs 469 are generated by laser cutting of a “stainless hypo-tube” (Para 0023; also see Fig. 2A), with the 2 branches of body portion 428 facing to each other (so that the 2 beaks on their distal end face to each other) and the 2 tendon actuation tabs 469 facing to each other (so that pulling force of each beak is applied on both sides of the beak); this structure is the same as the claimed “circumferentially interdigitated around the longitudinal axis”, or “four circumferentially alternating flange connectors” as phrased in Remarks. Second, Vetter 1, Para 0025 discloses “As shown in FIG. 2A, the work element may be, according to one embodiment, a monolithic structure formed from a single stainless steel hypo-tube, with laser cuts such as the kerf (created by a laser, for example) shown at 461 to define movable elements such as … a tendon actuation tab 469.” When the tendon actuation tab 469 is generated from a hypo-tube using laser cuts (or kerf shown at 461), the created circumferential space between the tab and the remaining structure of the hypo-tube (i.e. the body portion 428) is small, which is obviously displayed in Figs. 2 and 3 of Vetter 1 and agrees with “limited arc distance” of Application. For the same reason of being generated from cutting a same tube, the generated components maintain a same positional relationship with each other as in the original tube, so as to restrict each other’s relative rotation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5-12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, Lines 24-25, recites “in a fully telescoped condition, the elongate arcuate tubular walls together define a substantially complete hollow cylindrical tube around the longitudinal axis”. Specification of the structure of the partial tube-shaped dog elements mostly relies on Fig. 77. However, in Fig. 77, each of the partial tubes (141 and 143) as shown is not necessarily a half tube; in other words, on the rear side where our view is currently blocked, the two tubular walls may NOT meet each other, so that the two tubular walls may NOT form a complete hollow cylindrical tube.
Claims 3, 5-12 and 16-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) because they inherit the deficiencies of the claim(s) they respectively depend upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vetter et al (US 20160166240 A1; hereafter Vetter 1).
With regard to Claim 13, Vetter 1 discloses a tissue excisional device (Vetter 1, Abstract; “A device for soft tissue biopsy or excision …”), comprising:
a rigid distal work element (“work element 13”) formed from a single tube of material (“a monolithic structure formed from a single stainless steel hypo-tube”) comprising cuts that define voids (“laser cuts such as the kerf (created by a laser, for example) shown at 461”), the voids and remaining tube material defining first and second backbone portions (“a body portion 428”; Fig. 2A shows that body portion has two branches that are respectively connected to the beaks 452 and 454), first and second movable keystone portions (a tendon actuation tab 469, which connects to tendons 470, and another tendon actuation tab, which connects to tendons 468 on the opposite side of the work element in Fig. 2A), first and second articulable beaks (“tendons 470 connected to the beaks”) and tendons extending between the first and second movable keystone portions and the first and second beaks (“beaks 452 and 454”) (Vetter 1, Para 0025; “… the work element may be … a monolithic structure formed from a single stainless steel hypo-tube, with laser cuts such as the kerf (created by a laser, for example) shown at 461 to define movable elements such as one or more beaks 452 and 454, a living hinge or hinges 458, a body portion 428, tendons 470 connected to the beaks, and a tendon actuation tab 469”);
an inner tube (“flexible extension element 582”), the inner tube defining a longitudinal axis (Vetter 1, Fig. 3 shows that the flexible extension element 582 is a tube with longitudinal axis), a distal portion of the inner tube being attached to the first and second backbone portions (Vetter 1, Para 0033; “… an attached flexible extension element 582, which may simply be an elongation of the body portion 428.” This disclosure indicates that the element 582 and the body portion 428 are attached to each other);
an outer tube (“proximal sheath 584”) coaxially disposed over the inner tube (Vetter 1, Fig. 3 shows that the proximal sheath 584 is coaxially disposed over the flexible extension element 582), a distal portion of the outer tube being attached to the first and second movable keystone portions (Vetter, Para 0032; “the attachment of the proximal sheath 584 to both the body portion 428 and to tendon actuating tabs 469 of the work element 13”), such that movement of the outer tube relative to the inner tube parallel to the longitudinal axis is operative (Vetter, Para 0041; “… each of the dog elements 16, 17 comprises an extended half shaft … The full travel from extended position to fully closed axial position of the two half shafts define the distance necessary to move the tendon actuation tab 469 to open and close the beaks …”. As the dog elements connect to the tubes, the “travel … of the two half shafts” in this disclosure corresponds to travel of the tubes) to open and to close the first and second articulable beaks (“to open and close the beaks”);
the distal portion of the inner tube forms a first inner tube flange connector and a facing second inner tube flange connector, the first and second inner tube flange connectors being shaped as inner tube fingers that extend distally and that span facing curved segments of a circumference of the inner tube (see the cited Fig. 4 of Vetter 1), each of the first and second inner tube flange connectors being connected to a respective one of the first and second respective backbone portions (Vetter 1, Fig. 4 shows that flexible extension element 582 (corresponds to inner tube of Application; dashed-line box in the cited figure) connects to work element 13 in a manner that the extension element 582 does not connect to the tendon actuation tabs 469 (correspond to keystone portions of Application) of the work element 13, but connects to the two opposite portions (marked as “backbone portion 1” and “backbone portion 2” in the cited figure) of the work element 13, at two distal-end regions that can be interpreted as “inner tube flange connector 1” and “inner tube flange connector 2” (marked in the cited figure)),
the distal portion of the outer tube (“proximal sheath 584”) forms a first outer tube flange connector and a facing second outer tube flange connector (Vetter 1, Para 0032; “… at 587, 589, a proximal sheath 584 may be spot-welded to the work element 13”. The welding connections at points 587 and 589 act as two facing connectors), the first and second outer tube flange connectors being shaped as outer tube fingers that extend distally between the outer tube fingers and that span facing curved segments of the circumference of the outer tube (Vetter 1 discloses 2 embodiments: Fig. 3 in which a proximal sheath 584 is spot-welded to the work element 13 at points 587 and 589 (see Para 0032), thereby attaching to the tab 469; Fig. 4 and Fig. 5 in which outer sheath 330 can cause the movement of the tendon actuation tab 469 (Para 0033 and 0038). In both the embodiments, the tabs 469 form an extension of the outer sheath (either 584 or 330) and further connect the more distal tendons (470). In this regard, the tabs 469 can be interpreted as the outer tube flange connectors), each of the first and second inner tube flange connectors being connected to a respective one of the first and second keystone portions (Vetter 1, Para 0032; “… the attachment of the proximal sheath 584 … to tendon actuating tabs 469 of the work element 13 …”), and
the first and second inner tube flange connectors and the first and second outer tube flange connectors are circumferentially interdigitated around the longitudinal axis at a common axial region such that each of the inner tube flange connectors is disposed circumferentially between the outer tube flange connectors and each of the outer tube flange connectors is disposed circumferentially between the inner tube flange connectors, and wherein facing circumferential edges of adjacent ones of the inner and outer tube flange connectors define respective limited circumferential arc distances that restrict relative rotation between the inner and outer tube flange connectors, thereby limiting differential torsional stresses on the rigid distal work element and on the first and second beaks (Vetter 1, Fig. 3 shows that two facing parts of body portion 428 and two facing tendon actuation tabs 469 correspond to inner tube connectors and outer tube connectors, respectively. These different parts of the work element are formed by laser cuts of a hypo tube (Para 0023, Para 0025), so are disposed in an interleaved manner around longitudinal axis of the tube) (Vetter 1, Para 0023; “… cuts in the hypo tube may define one or more tendons configured to actuate the beak(s). The cuts in the hypo tube may also define one or more tendon actuation tabs that enable actuation (e.g., opening and closing) the beak(s) through the tendons and limit the travel thereof.”).
With regard to Claim 15, Vetter 1 discloses the tissue excisional device of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the first and second inner tube flange connectors and the first and second outer tube flange connectors together present a tapered profile, to reduce frictional drag of tissue as the device is forwarded through tissue to a target site (Vetter 1, Para 0038; “In one embodiment, a simple collar attached to the tendon actuation tab of the work element may be acted upon by the shoulder element 332 of the outer tube to actuate the beak or beaks …”. The disclosed “shoulder element 332” has a transition section between the two portions, which presents a tapered profile).
With regard to Claim 18, Vetter 1 discloses the tissue excisional device of Claim 13, and further discloses wherein the respective limited circumferential arc distances define a maximum arcuate travel of the first and second outer tube flange connectors relative to the first and second inner tube flange connectors during rotation of the rigid distal work element, such that the facing circumferential edges of adjacent ones of the inner and outer tube flange connectors abut one another when the maximum arcuate travel is reached (Vetter 1, Para 0025; “As shown in FIG. 2A, the work element may be, according to one embodiment, a monolithic structure formed from a single stainless steel hypo-tube, with laser cuts such as the kerf (created by a laser, for example) shown at 461 to define movable elements such as … a body portion 428, … and a tendon actuation tab 469.” The different components such as body portion 428 and tendon actuation tab 469 are cut from a single stainless steel tube with space of the kerf shown at 461, so circumferential distance between adjacent parts is small and the parts maintain the same relative position as in the original tube, both of which would restrict the parts’ relative movement in rotating the device).
With regard to Claim 19, Vetter 1 discloses the tissue excisional device of Claim 13, and further discloses wherein the first and second inner tube flange connectors and the first and second outer tube flange connectors are configured to slide axially past one another while the facing circumferential edges remain circumferentially adjacent to one another (Vetter 1, Para 0032; “… a proximal sheath 584 may be spot-welded to the work element 13 in such a manner as to enable differential motion of the body portion 428 of the work element 13 relative to the tendon actuating tabs 469 thereof …”), thereby maintaining the respective limited circumferential arc distances during opening and closing of the first and second articulable beaks (Vetter 1, Para 0032; “the attachment of the proximal sheath 584 to both the body portion 428 and to tendon actuating tabs 469 of the work element 13 results in substantially equal torque being imposed on the constituent elements of a work element under rotation, thereby maintaining the structural integrity of the work element 13as it is used and as first and second articulable beaks 602, 604 cut through variably dense, fibrous and/or vascularized tissues”).
With regard to Claim 20, Vetter 1 discloses the tissue excisional device of Claim 13, and further discloses wherein the first and second inner tube flange connectors and the first and second outer tube flange connectors are configured to maintain the adjacent ones of the inner and outer tube flange connectors in close proximity to one another during rotation of the rigid distal work element and during opening and closing of the first and second articulable beaks (Vetter 1, Para 0032; “the attachment of the proximal sheath 584 to both the body portion 428 and to tendon actuating tabs 469 of the work element 13 results in substantially equal torque being imposed on the constituent elements of a work element under rotation, thereby maintaining the structural integrity of the work element 13as it is used and as first and second articulable beaks 602, 604 cut through variably dense, fibrous and/or vascularized tissues”), thereby providing a mechanical twisting advantage, preserving rotational forces deliverable distally to the rigid distal work element, and limiting differential torsional stresses on the rigid distal work element and on the first and second articulable beaks (Vetter 1, Para 0043; “This twisting action or motion imparted to the work element 13 during beak closing may aid in parting off tissue to be excised.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vetter 1, in view of a different embodiment disclosed in Vetter 1.
With regard to Claim 14, Vetter 1 discloses the tissue excisional device of claim 13, and further discloses wherein each of the first and second outer tube flange connectors comprises a first portion having a radius of curvature that matches a radius of curvature of the outer tube (Vetter 1, Fig. 3: at the connection points 587 and 589, the radius of curvature of the connection region matches the radius of curvature of the proximal sheath 584, because obviously the proximal sheath 584 used in the figure is a tube with the same radius along longitudinal direction) and a second portion having a radius of curvature that matches a radius of curvature of the rigid distal work element (Vetter 1, Fig. 3: at the connection points 587 and 589, the radius of curvature of the connection region matches the radius of curvature of the work element 13).
Vetter 1 in the above disclosed embodiment does not explicitly and clearly disclose each of two outer tube flange connectors comprising a transition section thereby presenting a tapered profile.
Vetter 1 in a different embodiment discloses each of two outer tube flange connectors comprising a transition section thereby presenting a tapered profile (Vetter, Para 0038; “In one embodiment, a simple collar attached to the tendon actuation tab of the work element may be acted upon by the shoulder element 332 of the outer tube to actuate the beak or beaks …”. The disclosed “shoulder element 332”, which is at the location of tendon actuation tab for actuating beaks, comprises two ends with different radius of curvature, with the smaller radius matching that of the work element and therefore presenting a tapered profile). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify one embodiment of Vetter 1, as suggested by a different embodiment of Vetter 1, in order to include a transition portion in the outer tube thereby presenting a tapered profiled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification for the benefit of reducing the risk of tissue injury in advancing the device into patient’s body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 5-12 and 16-17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose nor reasonably suggest limitations set forth in the claims. Specifically, the prior art does not disclose a tissue excisional device, comprising:
a rigid distal work element formed from a single tube of material comprising cuts that define voids, the voids and remaining tube material defining first and second backbone portions, movable keystone portions, first and second articulable beaks and tendons extending between the movable keystone portions and the first and second beaks;
an inner tube, the inner tube defining a longitudinal axis, a distal portion of the inner tube being attached to the first and second backbone portions;
an outer tube coaxially disposed over the inner tube, a distal portion of the outer tube being attached to the keystone portions, and
a proximal driving and control assembly, coupled to a proximal portion of the inner tube and a proximal portion of the outer tube, and configured to drive the rigid distal work element in rotation and to selectively open and close the first and second beaks by differentially moving one of the inner and outer tubes relative to the other one of the inner and outer tubes along the longitudinal axis, wherein the proximal driving and control assembly further comprises a first partial tube-shaped dog element coupled to the proximal portion of the inner tube and a second partial tube-shaped dog element coupled to the proximal portion of the outer tube, each of the first and second partial tube-shaped dog elements being configured to enable the inner and outer tubes to move independently of one another, each of the first and second partial tube-shaped dog elements comprising an elongate arcuate tubular wall having an open side and a hollow interior, the first and second partial tube-shaped dog elements being further configured to slide axially past one another in overlapping relationship.
Conclusion
/L.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798