DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to papers filed on 2025-01-13. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 20 is/are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 1 (pre-AIA ) because the specification, while being enabling for 'storing, by the computer system, [an identifier of] the first data source . . . in the security database', does not reasonably provide enablement for "storing, by the computer system, the first data source . . . in the security database". The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to practice the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
A determination as to nonenablement is based on consideration of all the evidence as a whole. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737, 740 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (relevant factors include (A) The breadth of the claims; (B) The nature of the invention; (C) The state of the prior art; (D) The level of one of ordinary skill; (E) The level of predictability in the art; (F) The amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) The existence of working examples; and (H) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure). See also MPEP § 2164.01(a) and § 2164.04.
Here, it is unclear how a data source, which is likely to be a system of servers and networking equipment could be stored in a database, which is a data structure. The Specification gives no guidance as to how this could be do, leaving a person having ordinary skill in the art to attempt to invent such a thing for themselves. While the applicability of other factors for and against subject-matter eligibility has been considered, the weight of the factor(s) described above compels this conclusion.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(d) / 35 U.S.C. § 112 ¶ 4 (pre-AIA ) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
In particular, claim 15 requires that "the operations further comprise: normalizing", while claim 16 merely states "the operations further comprise steps for normalizing" (emphasis added). Normalizing is a process of reformatting data that necessarily must be carried out by steps. Thus, claim 16 adds no new limitations.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Summary of Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
The following table summarizes the rejections set forth in detail below of the claims over the prior art.
Claim No.
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050
1
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
2
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
3
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
4
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
5
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
6
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
7
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
8
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
9
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
10
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
11
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
12
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
13
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
14
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
15
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
16
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
17
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
18
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
19
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
20
[Wingdings font/0xFC]
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication 20230350953 to Bruso et al. (hereinafter "Bruso '953") in view of U.S. Publication 20200279050 to Endler (hereinafter "Endler '050"). Bruso '953 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2). Endler '050 is prior art to the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Per claim 1 (independent):
Bruso '953 discloses a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations (processor(s), memory, computer readable media, storage, executable instructions [Bruso '953 ¶ 0068-0074])
Bruso '953 discloses individually hashing, by a computer system and according to a first hashing algorithm, each file of a first plurality of files included in a first data asset to obtain a first plurality of hash values (hashes files and stores hash in file signature [Bruso '953 Fig. 4A, 4C, ¶ 0039-0041, 0047])
Bruso '953 discloses sorting, by the computer system and according to a sorting algorithm, each hash value of the first plurality of hash values in a first ordered list of hash values (ordered list of file hashes [Bruso '953 Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056]; fixed order for directory hashes is implied by fact that two hashes of the same unaltered directory match [Bruso '953 ¶ Fig. 15, 0087])
Bruso '953 discloses concatenating, by the computer system, the first plurality of hash values in the first ordered list of hash values to generate a first string (directory signature includes hash of concatenated file signatures, each which containing hash of the file [Bruso '953 Fig. 15, ¶ 0086-0087; Fig. 13, ¶ 0082, 0061; Fig. 6, ¶ 0051-0054; Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056])
Bruso '953 discloses hashing, by the computer system and according to a second hashing algorithm, the first string to generate a first data asset identifier representing the first data asset (directory signature includes hash of concatenated file signatures, each which containing hash of the file [Bruso '953 Fig. 15, ¶ 0086-0087; Fig. 13, ¶ 0082, 0061; Fig. 6, ¶ 0051-0054; Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056])
Bruso '953 does not disclose storing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier in a security database
However, Bruso '953 discloses storing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier in a storage (storing directory signature secures directory and its contents against alteration [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079, 0085])
Further:
Endler '050 discloses storing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier in a security database (stores acquired compromised user credential data and metadata and identifier in security database [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
storing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier in a security database
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because applying the hashing techniques of Bruso '953 to the compromised user credential files of Endler '050 would have provided a fast and reliable technique for matching new data against existing entries in Endler '050 's security database. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to combine them at least because Endler '050 teaches [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080] modifying a fast file content matching scheme for data security [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079, 0085] such as that of Bruso '953 to arrive at the claimed invention; because Endler '050 and Bruso '953 are in the same field of endeavor, viz. rapidly determining matches or non-matches between large numbers of electronic files; because doing so constitutes use of a known technique (security database of compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]) to improve similar devices and/or methods (fast file content matching scheme for data security [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079, 0085]) in the same way; because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (security database of compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]) to known devices and/or methods (fast file content matching scheme for data security [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079, 0085]) ready for improvement to yield predictable results; and because the modification amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Here, (1) the prior art included each element (as detailed above); (2) one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and in this combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately (fast file content matching scheme for data security [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079, 0085] identifies identical data entries in security database of compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]); (3) one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable; and (4) other considerations do not overcome this conclusion.
Per claim 2 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not explicitly disclose storing, by the computer system, the first data asset in the security database
However, Bruso '953 discloses storing, by the computer system, the first data asset in the secure storage (stores directory signature and directory and its contents [Bruso '953 ¶ 0078-0079])
Further:
Endler '050 discloses storing, by the computer system, the first data asset in the security database (stores acquired compromised user credential data and metadata and identifier in security database [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
storing, by the computer system, the first data asset in the security database
Per claim 3 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose individually hashing, by the computer system and according to the first hashing algorithm, each file of a second plurality of files included in a second data asset to obtain a second plurality of hash values
However, Bruso '953 discloses individually hashing, by the computer system and according to the first hashing algorithm, each file of a plurality of files included in a data asset to obtain a second plurality of hash values (hashes files and stores hash in file signature [Bruso '953 Fig. 4A, 4C, ¶ 0039-0041, 0047])
Bruso '953 discloses sorting, by the computer system and according to the sorting algorithm, each hash value of the second plurality of hash values in a second ordered list of hash values (ordered list of file hashes [Bruso '953 Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056]; fixed order for directory hashes is implied by fact that two hashes of the same unaltered directory match [Bruso '953 ¶ Fig. 15, 0087])
Bruso '953 discloses concatenating, by the computer system, the second plurality of hash values to generate a second string (directory signature includes hash of concatenated file signatures, each which containing hash of the file [Bruso '953 Fig. 15, ¶ 0086-0087; Fig. 13, ¶ 0082, 0061; Fig. 6, ¶ 0051-0054; Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056])
Bruso '953 discloses hashing, by the computer system and according to the second hashing algorithm, the second string to generate a second data asset identifier representing the second data asset (directory signature includes hash of concatenated file signatures, each which containing hash of the file [Bruso '953 Fig. 15, ¶ 0086-0087; Fig. 13, ¶ 0082, 0061; Fig. 6, ¶ 0051-0054; Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056])
Bruso '953 discloses comparing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier to the second data asset identifier to determine whether a hash collision has occurred (verifies that current directory is the same as previous directory by comparing respective directory hashes [Bruso '953 ¶ 0085; Fig. 14])
Further:
Endler '050 discloses hashing each file of a second plurality of files included in a second data asset (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
Endler '050 discloses the second plurality of hash values (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
Endler '050 discloses processing by the computer system, the second plurality of hash values to generate a second string (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
Endler '050 discloses processing, by the computer system the second string to generate a second data asset identifier representing the second data asset (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
Endler '050 discloses comparing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier to the second data asset identifier to determine whether a hash collision has occurred (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
individually hashing, by the computer system and according to the first hashing algorithm, each file of a second plurality of files included in a second data asset to obtain a second plurality of hash values
sorting, by the computer system and according to the sorting algorithm, each hash value of the second plurality of hash values in a second ordered list of hash values
concatenating, by the computer system, the second plurality of hash values to generate a second string
hashing, by the computer system and according to the second hashing algorithm, the second string to generate a second data asset identifier representing the second data asset
comparing, by the computer system, the first data asset identifier to the second data asset identifier to determine whether a hash collision has occurred
Per claim 4 (dependent on claim 3):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 3 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose discarding, by the computer system, the second data asset if a hash collision occurred
Further:
Endler '050 discloses discarding, by the computer system, the second data asset if a hash collision occurred (discards duplicates [Endler '050 ¶ 0062] using hashes of compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
discarding, by the computer system, the second data asset if a hash collision occurred
Per claim 5 (dependent on claim 4):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 4 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose determining, by the computer system, that a second source of the second data asset is different than a first source of the first data asset
Bruso '953 does not disclose logging, by the computer system, the second source with the first source in a data asset tracking library
Further:
Endler '050 discloses determining, by the computer system, that a second source of the second data asset is different than a first source of the first data asset (records metadata on different sources that have supplied duplicate compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0062-0064, 0097])
Endler '050 discloses logging, by the computer system, the second source with the first source in a data asset tracking library (records metadata on different sources that have supplied duplicate compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0062-0064, 0097])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
determining, by the computer system, that a second source of the second data asset is different than a first source of the first data asset
logging, by the computer system, the second source with the first source in a data asset tracking library
Per claim 6 (dependent on claim 3):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 3 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose not providing, by the computer system, an alert of the second data asset to a user associated with the second data asset if a hash collision occurred
Further:
Endler '050 discloses not providing, by the computer system, an alert of the second data asset to a user associated with the second data asset if a hash collision occurred (alerts only non-duplicative victims [Endler '050 ¶ 0104, 0133, 0067])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
not providing, by the computer system, an alert of the second data asset to a user associated with the second data asset if a hash collision occurred
Per claim 7 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose determining, by the computer system, that there is no hash collision of the first data asset identifier with a plurality of identifiers stored in the security database prior to storing the first data asset identifier
Further:
Endler '050 discloses determining, by the computer system, that there is no hash collision of the first data asset identifier with a plurality of identifiers stored in the security database prior to storing the first data asset identifier (ingests and stores new acquired compromised user credential data and metadata [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080]; checks whether 'new' compromised user credential data matches previously received and stored entry [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0090-0095]; hashes compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0140, 0046])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
determining, by the computer system, that there is no hash collision of the first data asset identifier with a plurality of identifiers stored in the security database prior to storing the first data asset identifier
Per claim 8 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose obtaining, by the computer system, the first data asset from a first data source
Further:
Endler '050 discloses obtaining, by the computer system, the first data asset from a first data source (multiple sources of compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0062-0064, 0097])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
obtaining, by the computer system, the first data asset from a first data source
Per claim 9 (dependent on claim 8):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 8 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose storing, by the computer system, the first data source and a incrementing a first data asset count for the first data asset in the security database
Further:
Endler '050 discloses storing, by the computer system, the first data source and a incrementing a first data asset count for the first data asset in the security database (records metadata on different sources that have supplied duplicate compromised user credential data [Endler '050 ¶ 0062-0064, 0097]; counts number of times a particular compromised user credential data is acquired [Endler '050 ¶ 0097, 0111-0113])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
storing, by the computer system, the first data source and a incrementing a first data asset count for the first data asset in the security database
Per claim 10 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 discloses the first hashing algorithm and the second hashing algorithm are the same (hash algorithm for directories, subdirectories, and files is selected from, e.g. SHA-1, SHA-256, MD5, and is the same or different [Bruso '953 ¶ 0047; Fig. 4A-H, Fig. 7]; hashes files and stores hash in file signature [Bruso '953 Fig. 4A, 4C, ¶ 0039-0041, 0047]; directory signature includes hash of concatenated file signatures, each which containing hash of the file [Bruso '953 Fig. 15, ¶ 0086-0087; Fig. 13, ¶ 0082, 0061; Fig. 6, ¶ 0051-0054; Fig. 7, ¶ 0055-0056])
Per claim 11 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose providing, by the computer system, an alert to a user associated with the first data asset
Further:
Endler '050 discloses providing, by the computer system, an alert to a user associated with the first data asset (alerts victims [Endler '050 ¶ 0104, 0133, 0067, 0037])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
providing, by the computer system, an alert to a user associated with the first data asset
Per claim 12 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose flagging one or more user accounts associated with the first data asset determined from the first plurality of files
Further:
Endler '050 discloses flagging one or more user accounts associated with the first data asset determined from the first plurality of files (flags compromised accounts [Endler '050 ¶ 0037, 0104, 0133, 0067])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
flagging one or more user accounts associated with the first data asset determined from the first plurality of files
Per claim 13 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose parsing, by the computer system, the first data asset
Further:
Endler discloses parsing, by the computer system, the first data asset (parsing and normalizing [Endler '050 ¶ 0061]; cleansing data [Endler '050 ¶ 0057; Fig. 3])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
parsing, by the computer system, the first data asset
Per claim 14 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose steps for cleansing the first data asset
Further:
Endler discloses steps for cleansing the first data asset (parsing and normalizing [Endler '050 ¶ 0061]; cleansing data [Endler '050 ¶ 0057; Fig. 3])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
steps for cleansing the first data asset
Per claim 15 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose normalizing, by the computer system, the first data asset
Further:
Endler discloses normalizing, by the computer system, the first data asset (parsing and normalizing [Endler '050 ¶ 0061]; cleansing data [Endler '050 ¶ 0057; Fig. 3])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
normalizing, by the computer system, the first data asset
Per claim 16 (dependent on claim 15):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 15 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose steps for normalizing the first data asset
Further:
Endler discloses steps for normalizing the first data asset (parsing and normalizing [Endler '050 ¶ 0061]; cleansing data [Endler '050 ¶ 0057; Fig. 3])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
steps for normalizing the first data asset
Per claim 17 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose the first data asset includes a log
Further:
Endler '050 discloses the first data asset includes a log (logs metadata concerning compromised user credential data in security database [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
the first data asset includes a log
Per claim 18 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 discloses the first hashing algorithm includes a secure hashing algorithm (SHA)-256 algorithm (hash algorithm for directories, subdirectories, and files is selected from, e.g. SHA-1, SHA-256, MD5, and is the same or different [Bruso '953 ¶ 0047])
Per claim 19 (dependent on claim 1):
Bruso '953 in view of Endler '050 discloses the elements detailed in the rejection of claim 1 above, incorporated herein by reference
Bruso '953 does not disclose steps for populating the security database
Further:
Endler '050 discloses steps for populating the security database (stores acquired compromised user credential data and metadata and identifier in security database [Endler '050 ¶ 0064-0065, 0046, 0078-0080])
For the reasons detailed above with respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (1) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and (2) before the invention was made to have modified Bruso '953 with the security database of compromised user credential data of Endler '050 to arrive at an apparatus, method, and product including:
steps for populating the security database
Per claim 20 (independent):
The remaining limitations of the claim(s) correspond(s) to features of claim(s) 1 and the claim(s) is/are rejected for the reasons detailed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
/THEODORE C PARSONS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494