DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Jiang et al. teaches:
[0049] FIG. 3E further illustrates depositing a protective layer 304 to cover the top surface of the fingerprint sensor module 100. It should be noted that the protective layer 304 may comprise an encapsulant or a coating. The protective layer 301 may further comprise a plurality of layers, such as an adhesive, a pigment layer, a dielectric layer and a top surface coating. The fingerprint sensor module 100 may also comprise a protective plate in the form of a glass or ceramic plate. Thereby, the fingerprint sensor module 100 is completed and ready form arranging in a device such as a smartcard.
See especially figures 3A-E and 6A-C in Jiang et al.
Here it is seen that a protective layer directly covers both a fingerprint sensor and circuit elements in a thin system such as a card. In this much thinner construction, a protective, sealing layer goes directly on the active components from the wires/circuits to the sensor, for a simpler manufacture and a thinner construction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roessner (US 2022/0180142) in view of Lavin et al. (US 2019/0050623) and Jiang et al. (US 2020/0184173).
Re claim 1:
Roessner teaches (see figure 1) a card with a fingerprint sensor.
Roessner particularly teaches:
“[0122] Regarding the fingerprint sensor 46, it includes a first rectangular part 46P1 and a second rectangular part 46P2, which is attached to the first rectangular part 46P1, as seen in FIG. 1.
[0123] The first rectangular part 46P1 has a first surface and a second surface that is placed opposite the first surface. The first surface includes a plurality of external sensor contact pads. The second surface includes a plurality of inner sensor contact pads. The external sensor contact pads are adapted for contacting a finger of a user (not shown here) to sense and obtain fingerprint information of the finger.
[0124] The first rectangular part 46P1 is inserted in an opening of the first transparent PVC sheet 15, an opening of the first printed PVC sheet 17, and an opening of the first transparent overlay sheet 27. The insertion is done such that the first surface of the first rectangular part 46P1 is aligned essentially with the first major surface 15S1 of the first transparent PVC sheet 15 and that the second surface of the first rectangular part 46P1 is aligned essentially with the first major surface 29S1 of the antenna carrier sheet 29.
[0125] As seen in FIGS. 1 and 4, the sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP have a thickness that is about the same as the thickness of the antenna carrier sheet 29. The sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP are inserted in an opening of the antenna carrier sheet 29.
[0126] The insertion is done such that first ends 46CP1 of the sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP lie in a plane of the first major surface 29S1 of the antenna carrier sheet 29.
[0127] These first ends 46CP1 of the sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP are also placed next to the above-mentioned corresponding inner module contact pads. The sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP are also electrically connected to the inner sensor contact pads via an electrically conductive substance, such as an Anisotropic Conductive Film (ACF) adhesive.
[0128] Second ends 46CP2 of the sensor lead frame contact pads 46CP lie in a plane of the second major surface 29S2 of the antenna carrier sheet 29.
[0129] Referring to FIG. 1, one end of the second rectangular part 46P2 is attached to an inner part of the second surface of the first rectangular part 46P1.
[0130] The second rectangular part 46P2 is inserted in an opening of the antenna carrier sheet 29, an opening of the thickness compensation sheet 32, an opening of the second transparent overlay sheet 35, and a recess of the intermediate transparent PVC sheet 20. The insertion is done such that a first surface of the second rectangular part 46P2 is aligned essentially with the first major surface 29S1 of the antenna carrier sheet 29.”
Layer 29 in Roessner is a circuit board layer. It is clear that a recess for the fingerprint sensor 46, consisting of 46P1 and 46P2, must be made in the circuit board layer.
These recesses shown in Roessner would be made by milling. Milling is discussed at paragraphs 0176 to 0182.
As can be seen in figure 1 of Roessner, the layers above the circuit board layer 29 have an opening to accommodate the fingerprint sensing module.
Lacking in Roessner is a teaching of the claimed protective layer.
Lavin et al. teaches
“[0036] Advantageously, the fingerprint sensor assembly may further include a protective layer located on top of a sensing surface of the fingerprint sensor, the protective layer comprising a scratch resistant material. The two part enclosure may act to enclose and retain the protective layer in the same way as it encloses and retains the fingerprint sensor, and hence may also be used to hold the protective layer in place on the sensing surface of the fingerprint sensor. The use of a two part enclosure in combination with a protective layer ensures that the fingerprint sensor can be protected from damage to its surface as well as protected from torsion/bending forces when the fingerprint authentication device is in use and is bent or twisted. By having an inner casing and outer bezel that couple together the manufacture of the fingerprint sensor assembly is straightforward, and the protective layer can easily be secured in place with minimal risk of damage to the fingerprint sensor.
[0037] The use of an added protective layer in the fingerprint sensor assembly provides significant advantages in terms of prolonging the lifespan of the fingerprint sensor and protecting it from damage. Fingerprint sensors are normally manufactured with a hard and scratch resistant surface coating for this purpose. However, the current inventor has made the realisation that this surface is still susceptible to damage, especially in the case where the fingerprint authentication device may be used frequently, such as in the example of a smartcard that could be used many times each day. Consequently, it is highly advantageous to include an additional protective layer, which is in addition to or potentially a substitute for the normal protective coatings of the fingerprint sensor.”
Lavin et al. further discloses many properties of this protective layer.
Jiang et al. teaches:
[0049] FIG. 3E further illustrates depositing a protective layer 304 to cover the top surface of the fingerprint sensor module 100. It should be noted that the protective layer 304 may comprise an encapsulant or a coating. The protective layer 301 may further comprise a plurality of layers, such as an adhesive, a pigment layer, a dielectric layer and a top surface coating. The fingerprint sensor module 100 may also comprise a protective plate in the form of a glass or ceramic plate. Thereby, the fingerprint sensor module 100 is completed and ready form arranging in a device such as a smartcard.
See especially figures 3A-E and 6A-C in Jiang et al.
Here it is seen that a protective layer directly covers both a fingerprint sensor and circuit elements in a thin system such as a card. In this much thinner construction, a protective, sealing layer goes directly on the active components from the wires/circuits to the sensor, for a simpler manufacture and a thinner construction.
In view of the teachings of Lavin and Jiang et al. it would have been obvious to substitute the simpler construction of a protective layer directly that covers both a fingerprint sensor and circuit elements into the system of Roessner for the sake of thinner and easier construction for something that should be very thin, like a card. Lavin teaches many of the properties of such a protective layer.
Re claims 2-5: All three prior art references employ fingerprint sensors. These conventionally can be electrical (capacitive); optical, ultrasonic or thermal.
The protective layer of Lavin et al. and Jiang et al. would have to be penetrable for sensing purposes and the ranges of ‘thermal’, ‘optical’, ‘accoustic’ or ‘electric’ transparency suggested are normal for achieving this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand the need to make the protective layer transparent in this way, and Lavin et al. discusses that at length in the specification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL A HESS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876