DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202210989508.3, filed on 18th, Aug. 2022.
Claim Interpretation
3. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first acquisition module configured to capture a first gaze bitmap”,
“second acquisition module configured to capture a second gaze bitmap”, and
“image processing module, configured to respectively compare the first gaze bitmap with the second eye gaze bitmap” in Claims 13-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krueger (US Patent/PGPub. No. US 20190167095).
Regarding Claim 1,
Krueger teaches
a method of evaluating eye motion (Abstract, FIG. 1-15, i.e. method for measuring human ocular performance), comprising:
in a near-infrared light band of 700-1200 nm ([0469], FIG. 8, i.e. head tracker comprises … an 800-925 nm infrared LED; [0201], FIG. 8, i.e. head ocular performance measuring helmet 400), capturing a first gaze ([0232], FIG. 15, i.e. target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610) bitmap ([0423], FIG. 8, i.e. virtual retinal display (VRD), also known as a retinal scan display (RSD) or retinal projector (RP), is a display technology that draws a raster display, or bitmap, directly onto the retina of the eye) of an eye of a user ([0233], FIG. 15, i.e. The subject is asked to track a visual target element of interest by moving his/her eyes) looking straight ahead at a position in front of the user's eyes ([0232], FIG. 15, i.e. initially displayed centrally 610);
capturing a second eye gaze ([0245], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed to move the head … when a first cue is given, and to hold the head in this new position 622 (from FIG. 15, 622 “subject moves head about 20-250 to one side while looking at target”)) bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a third eye gaze ([0246], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed to move the head … when the second cue is given 624 (from FIG. 15, 624 “subject moves head about 20-250 to other side while looking at target”)) bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) of the eye of the user moving to a limit position ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. (from FIG. 15, “moves head about 20-250”)) a direction ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. (from FIG. 15, “one side”/“other side”)) to be measured ([0230], FIG. 15, i.e. measures the subject's eye movement 642); and
respectively comparing ([0237], FIG. 15, i.e. system then compares eye movement to timing and appearance/disappearance of visual elements on display, and the location of these visual elements to determine vestibulo-ocular performance 644) the first gaze bitmap with each of the second eye gaze bitmap and the third eye gaze bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to calculate an angle of ocular movement ([0293], FIG. 17, i.e. delay between the rotation of the head and the rotation of the eyes, which results in a phase lag, 703; [0430], FIG. 17, i.e. position on the retina where the eye focuses the spot is determined by the angle at which light enters the eye. This angle is determined by the scanners and is continually varying in a raster pattern).
Regarding Claim 2,
Krueger teaches
the method of evaluating eye motion of claim 1, wherein the direction (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to be measured includes a plurality of directions ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. (from FIG. 15, “one side”/“other side”)).
Regarding Claim 3,
Krueger teaches
the method of evaluating eye motion of claim 2, wherein the plurality of directions (i.e. please see above citation(s)) include upward, downward, inward, outward, inward up, outward up, inward down and outward down ([0117], FIG. 15, i.e. Vergence is the simultaneous movement of both eyes in opposite directions … Convergence is the simultaneous inward movement of both eyes toward each other …Vergence tracking occurs in the horizontal, vertical; Abstract, FIG. 15, i.e. device is configured for measuring … vergence … eye sensor comprises a video camera that senses vertical movement and horizontal movement of at least one eye).
Regarding Claim 11,
Krueger teaches
the method of evaluating eye motion of claim 1, wherein the second eye gaze bitmap is captured (FIG. 15, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 622 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 642 “Measure eye orientation changes”) when the eye of the user moves in a first direction ([0245], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed … to hold the head in this new position 622 (from figure “subject moves head about 20-250 to one side while looking at target”)), and the third eye gaze bitmap is captured (FIG. 15, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 624 [Wingdings font/0xE8] 642 “Measure eye orientation changes”) when the eye of the user moves in a second direction ([0246], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed to move the head … when the second cue is given 624 (from figure “subject moves head about 20-250 to other side while looking at target”)) different from the first direction ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. “one side” different from “other side”).
Regarding Claim 12,
Krueger teaches
the method of evaluating eye motion of claim 11, wherein the first direction is selected from upward, downward, inward, outward, inward up, outward up, inward down and outward down ([0117], FIG. 15, i.e. Vergence is the simultaneous movement of both eyes in opposite directions), and the second direction ([0117], FIG. 15, i.e. Convergence is the simultaneous inward movement of both eyes toward each other) is opposite from the first direction ([0117], FIG. 15, i.e. Vergence opposite direction Convergence).
Regarding Claim 13,
a system for evaluating eye motion (Abstract, FIG. 1-15, i.e. system … for measuring human ocular performance), it comprises:
a first acquisition module ([0202], FIG. 8, i.e. eye sensor camera 406 … or two cameras, one to monitor each eye (one of two cameras)), configured to capture a first gaze ([0232], FIG. 15, i.e. target visual element is initially displayed centrally 610) bitmap ([0423], FIG. 8, i.e. virtual retinal display (VRD), also known as a retinal scan display (RSD) or retinal projector (RP), is a display technology that draws a raster display, or bitmap, directly onto the retina of the eye) of an eye of a user ([0233], FIG. 15, i.e. The subject is asked to track a visual target element of interest by moving his/her eyes) looking straight ahead at a position in front of the user's eyes ([0232], FIG. 15, i.e. initially displayed centrally 610) in a near-infrared light band of 700-1200 nm ([0469], FIG. 8, i.e. head tracker comprises … an 800-925 nm infrared LED; [0201], FIG. 8, i.e. head ocular performance measuring helmet 400);
a second acquisition module ([0202], FIG. 8, i.e. eye sensor camera 406 … or two cameras, one to monitor each eye (another one of two cameras)), configured to capture a second eye gaze ([0245], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed to move the head … when a first cue is given, and to hold the head in this new position 622 (from FIG. 15, 622 “subject moves head about 20-250 to one side while looking at target”)) bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) and a third eye gaze ([0246], FIG. 15, i.e. subject is instructed to move the head … when the second cue is given 624 (from FIG. 15, 624 “subject moves head about 20-250 to other side while looking at target”)) bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) of the eye of the user moving to a limit position ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. (from FIG. 15, “moves head about 20-250”)) in a direction ([0245], [0246], FIG. 15, i.e. (from FIG. 15, “one side”/“other side”)) to be measured ([0230], FIG. 15, i.e. measures the subject's eye movement 642); and
an image processing module ([0211], FIG. 8, i.e. central processing unit 418 … to determine one of the ocular performance parameters), configured to respectively compare ([0237], FIG. 15, i.e. system then compares eye movement to timing and appearance/disappearance of visual elements on display, and the location of these visual elements to determine vestibulo-ocular performance 644) the first gaze bitmap with the second eye gaze bitmap and the third eye gaze bitmap (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to calculate an angle of ocular movement ([0293], FIG. 17, i.e. delay between the rotation of the head and the rotation of the eyes, which results in a phase lag, 703; [0430], FIG. 17, i.e. position on the retina where the eye focuses the spot is determined by the angle at which light enters the eye. This angle is determined by the scanners and is continually varying in a raster pattern).
Regarding Claim 14,
Krueger teaches
the system for evaluating eye motion of claim 13, wherein the first acquisition module and the second acquisition module (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprise a same camera ([0202], FIG. 8, i.e. There can be one eye sensor camera 406).
Regarding Claim 15,
Krueger teaches
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0445], FIG. 8, i.e. non-transitory computer readable medium), comprising at least one program code ([0445], FIG. 8, i.e. instructions) stored therein that is loaded and executed by a processor ([0445], FIG. 8, i.e. processor may execute instructions) to implement the method of evaluating of eye motion (Abstract, FIG. 1-15, i.e. method for measuring human ocular performance) as described in claim 1 (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim(s) 4-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Krueger (US Patent/PGPub. No. US 20190167095) teaches a system or method for measuring human ocular performance can be implemented using an eye sensor, a head orientation sensor, and an electronic circuit. The device is configured for measuring vestibulo-ocular reflex, pupillometry, saccades, visual pursuit tracking, vergence, eyelid closure, dynamic visual acuity, retinal image stability, foveal fixation stability, focused position of the eyes or visual fixation of the eyes at any given moment and nystagmus. The eye sensor comprises a video camera that senses vertical movement and horizontal movement of at least one eye. The head orientation sensor senses pitch and yaw in the range of frequencies between 0.01 Hertz and 15 Hertz. The system is implemented as part of an impact reduction helmet that comprises an inner frame having interior pads configured to rest against a person's head and one or more shock absorption elements attached between the inner frame and the spherical shell that couple the spherical shell to the inner frame. The spherical shell has a circular geometry, that when viewed horizontally at its horizontal midplane, includes a center point that is the rotational center of the spherical shell. The one or more shock absorption elements are sized to provide greater spacing between the inner frame and the spherical shell at the sides and rear of the spherical shell than at the front of the spherical shell. The one or more shock absorption elements are sized to configure the alignment of the rotational center of the spherical shell with the proximate rotational center of the wearer's head.
Lane et al. (US PGPUB./Pat. No. 20200029802) teach a vision screening system for testing the vision of a patient is described herein. The vision screening system may include a vision screening device configured to perform a number of vision screening tests. For example, the system may be configured to determine or generate a graphical representation for display to the patient, via the vision screening device, to evaluate the health of the patient's vision and/or detect abnormal vision behavior. The system may be configured to evaluate image/video data recorded by the vision screening device to determine measurements associated with the patient during the vision screening. The system may be configured to analyze the measurements to generate a diagnosis recommendation associated with the vision of the patient. The system may also be configured to display the recommendation and/or the measurements, along with additional screening data, to a tester conducting the vision test.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a device/method including
“…wherein comparing the first gaze bitmap with each of the second eye gaze bitmap and the third eye gaze bitmap comprises:
segmenting the pupil in the images of the first gaze bitmap, the second eye gaze bitmap and the third eye gaze bitmap;
taking a center C1 of the pupil in the first eye gaze bitmap and a center C2 of the pupil in either the second eye gaze bitmap or the third eye gaze bitmap, and connecting the center C1 and the center C2 with a first straight line;
finding edge points P1 and P2 at a same point on an edge of the pupil in the first eye gaze bitmap and either the second eye gaze bitmap or the third eye gaze bitmap along the first straight line;
connecting the edge points P1 and P2 to form a second straight line P1P2;
dividing the second line P1P2 into a third line A and a fourth line B by a fifth line perpendicular to the second straight line P1P2 and passing through the center C1; and
using a radius of the eye r, obtaining a first angle α corresponding to the third line A and a second angle β corresponding to the fourth line B, and obtaining the angle of ocular movement by adding the first angle α and the second angle β.” (Claim 4), in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628