DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 08/04/2026. Claims 1, and 3-8 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, and 4 were amended. Claim 2 was cancelled. Claims 5-8 were added.
Response to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10 of the Applicant's Remarks, 08/04/2026, with respect to the Double Patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6 of the Applicant's Remarks, 08/04/2026, with respect to the claim interpretations have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the interpretations have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7 of the Applicant's Remarks, 08/04/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a)/(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-10 of the Applicant's Remarks, 08/04/2026, with respect to the claim rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nishimura.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Nishimura, JP-6507775-B2, hereinafter referred to as Nishimura (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 1
Nishimura discloses [a] vehicle comprising (electric vehicle – Nishimura ¶7):
a vehicle body, the vehicle body including a vehicle body electric circuit (the leakage check of the high voltage circuit 4 is to detect the leakage – Nishimura ¶34);
an inverter electrically coupled to the vehicle body electric circuit (inverter 23 is connected to the positive electrode side and the negative electrode side of the battery 31 – Nishimura ¶31);
a first battery pack detachably coupled to the vehicle body, the first battery pack containing a first battery and a battery electric circuit (a high voltage circuit 4 including an inverter 23 is connected to the positive electrode side and the negative electrode side of the battery 31 – Nishimura ¶31);
a first switch configured to be in an electrically connected state that electrically connects the first battery to the inverter or in an electrically disconnected state that electrically disconnects the first battery from the inverter (a high voltage circuit 4 including an inverter 23, by controlling the open / close state of the main contactor 41, the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4 can be diagnosed individually – Nishimura ¶31 & ¶35);
a first detector, including a processor and a sensor, provided in the first battery pack and configured to detect whether an electric leakage has occurred, wherein (control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5 – Nishimura ¶33):
the first detector is configured to detect whether the electric leakage has occurred within the first battery pack while the first switch is in the electrically disconnected state (in the diagnosis of the battery 31, the control unit 6 controls so that all the main contactors 41 are opened. That is, the connection between the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4 is released. In this state, when the leak check by the leak detector 5 is performed, the leak in the battery 31 is checked – Nishimura ¶33);
after detecting that no electric leakage has occurred within the first battery pack, the first detector is configured to detect whether the electric leakage has occurred within the vehicle body electric circuit while the first switch is in the electrically connected (in the diagnosis of the battery 31, the control unit 6 controls so that all the main contactors 41 are opened. That is, the connection between the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4 is released. In this state, when the leak check by the leak detector 5 is performed, the leak in the battery 31 is checked…in the diagnosis on the high voltage circuit 4 side, the control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5., In the case where the battery 31 is in the leakage check, the leakage is not detected, and the leakage check of the high voltage circuit 4 is to detect the leakage – Nishimura ¶33 & ¶34);
a leakage designation is generated after detection that the electric leakage has occurred, the leakage designation indicating in which of the first battery pack and the vehicle body electric circuit the electric leakage has occurred (information indicating that a short circuit has been detected may be displayed, controlling the open / close state of the main contactor 41, the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4 can be diagnosed individually. – Nishimura ¶23 & ¶35).
As per claim 7
Nishimura further discloses wherein the sensor of the first detector is not electrically disposed between the first battery pack and the inverter (inverter 23 is connected to the positive electrode side and the negative electrode side of the battery 31, control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5 – Nishimura Fig 1 (5, 31, 33, 41) + ¶31 & ¶33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, as per claim 1, and further in view of Park et al., KR-101734725-B1, hereinafter referred to as Park (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 3
Nishimura further discloses [connect the battery] to the inverter, [disconnect the battery] from the inverter (inverter 23 is connected to the positive electrode side and the negative electrode side of the battery 31, the control unit 6 controls so that all the main contactors 41 are opened…control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5 – Nishimura Fig 1 (5, 31, 33, 41) + ¶31 & ¶33).
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein: the vehicle body is further configured such that a second battery pack is detachably coupled to the vehicle body, the second battery pack containing a second battery, a second battery electric circuit, and a second detector a second switch configured to be in an electrically connected state that electrically connects the second battery and in an electrically disconnected state that electrically disconnects the second battery; and while both the first switch and the second switch are in the electrically connected state, the first detector, the second detector, or both the first detector and the second detector detects whether the electric leakage has occurred.
However, Park teaches wherein: the vehicle body is further configured such that a second battery pack is detachably coupled to the vehicle body, the second battery pack containing a second battery, a second battery electric circuit, and a second detector a second switch configured to be in an electrically connected state that electrically connects the second battery and in an electrically disconnected state that electrically disconnects the second battery; and while both the first switch and the second switch are in the electrically connected state, the first detector, the second detector, or both the first detector and the second detector detects whether the electric leakage has occurred (first electrical leak detecting portion 102 controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 and controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 The first battery main voltage across both ends of the first battery Vs, first electrical leak detecting portion 102 outputs at least one of the electrical leak detecting operation completion signal or the insulation resistance value to the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 or the upper control portion 106 when the electrical leak detecting operation for the first battery Vs is completed, . When the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 completes the electrical leak detecting operation for the second battery Vb, the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 outputs at least one of the electrical leak detecting operation completion signal and the insulation resistance value to the first electrical leak detecting portion 102 or the upper control portion 106 Can be transmitted, second electrical leak detecting portion 104 controls the third switch SW3 and the fourth switch SW4 to perform the electrical leak detecting operation – Park Page 3 Lines 19-21 & Page 4 Lines 28-36 & Page 8 Lines 21-23).
Nishimura discloses an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result. Park teaches an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result, with an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success to precisely and accurately grasp whether a short circuit occurs in the vehicle body due to an abnormality in two or more power sources used in an electric vehicle with a simpler configuration, see Park Page 2 Lines 6-8 for details.
As per claim 4
Nishimura further discloses [connect the battery] to the inverter, [disconnect the battery] from the inverter (inverter 23 is connected to the positive electrode side and the negative electrode side of the battery 31, the control unit 6 controls so that all the main contactors 41 are opened…control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5 – Nishimura Fig 1 (5, 31, 33, 41) + ¶31 & ¶33);
[detecting battery leakage] before detecting whether electric leakage has occurred within the vehicle body electric circuit (in the diagnosis of the battery 31, the control unit 6 controls so that all the main contactors 41 are opened. That is, the connection between the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4 is released. In this state, when the leak check by the leak detector 5 is performed, the leak in the battery 31 is checked…in the diagnosis on the high voltage circuit 4 side, the control unit 6 closes the main contactor 41, connects the battery 31 and the high voltage circuit 4, and then checks the leakage by the leakage detector 5., In the case where the battery 31 is in the leakage check, the leakage is not detected, and the leakage check of the high voltage circuit 4 is to detect the leakage – Nishimura ¶33 & ¶34).
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein: the vehicle body is further configured such that a second battery pack is detachably coupled to the vehicle body, the second battery pack containing a second battery, a second battery electric circuit, and a second detector; a second switch configured to be in an electrically connected state that electrically connects the second battery, and in an electrically disconnected state that electrically disconnects the second battery; and after detecting that no electric leakage has occurred within the first battery while the first switch is in the electrically disconnected state, the second detector is configured to detect whether the electric leakage has occurred within the second battery pack while the second switch is in the electrically disconnected state; detecting whether electric leakage has occurred within the second battery pack occurs.
Nishimura discloses the examination of electrical leakage in the battery before checking the electric circuit. However, Park teaches wherein: the vehicle body is further configured such that a second battery pack is detachably coupled to the vehicle body, the second battery pack containing a second battery, a second battery electric circuit, and a second detector; a second switch configured to be in an electrically connected state that electrically connects the second battery, and in an electrically disconnected state that electrically disconnects the second battery; and after detecting that no electric leakage has occurred within the first battery while the first switch is in the electrically disconnected state, the second detector is configured to detect whether the electric leakage has occurred within the second battery pack while the second switch is in the electrically disconnected state; detecting whether electric leakage has occurred within the second battery pack occurs (first electrical leak detecting portion 102 controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 and controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 The first battery main voltage across both ends of the first battery Vs, first electrical leak detecting portion 102 outputs at least one of the electrical leak detecting operation completion signal or the insulation resistance value to the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 or the upper control portion 106 when the electrical leak detecting operation for the first battery Vs is completed, . When the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 completes the electrical leak detecting operation for the second battery Vb, the second electrical leak detecting portion 104 outputs at least one of the electrical leak detecting operation completion signal and the insulation resistance value to the first electrical leak detecting portion 102 or the upper control portion 106 Can be transmitted, second electrical leak detecting portion 104 controls the third switch SW3 and the fourth switch SW4 to perform the electrical leak detecting operation – Park Page 3 Lines 19-21 & Page 4 Lines 28-36 & Page 8 Lines 21-23).
Nishimura discloses an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result. Park teaches an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result, with an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success to precisely and accurately grasp whether a short circuit occurs in the vehicle body due to an abnormality in two or more power sources used in an electric vehicle with a simpler configuration, see Park Page 2 Lines 6-8 for details.
As per claim 6
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein the sensor of the first detector is electrically disposed between the first battery and the first switch.
However, Park teaches wherein the sensor of the first detector is electrically disposed between the first battery and the first switch (A first switch SW1 is connected between the first measuring resistor Rma and the first measuring power source Vdca. The second switch SW2 is connected in parallel with the first switch SW1 and the first measured power supply Vdca, first electrical leak detecting portion 102 controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 and controls the on / off states of the first switch SW1 and the second switch SW2 The first battery main voltage across both ends of the first battery Vs and the measurement voltage across both ends of the first measurement resistance Rma are measured – Park Page 2 Lines 35-37 & Page 3 Lines 19-22).
Nishimura discloses an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result. Park teaches an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result, with an apparatus for detecting a short circuit in an electric vehicle, as taught by Park, with a reasonable expectation of success to precisely and accurately grasp whether a short circuit occurs in the vehicle body due to an abnormality in two or more power sources used in an electric vehicle with a simpler configuration, see Park Page 2 Lines 6-8 for details.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, as per claim 1, and further in view of Amano et al., US-20040232881-A1, hereinafter referred to as Amano.
As per claim 5
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein: the vehicle body further comprises an electric converter electrically connected to the vehicle body electric circuit; the electric converter is not electrically disposed between the first battery and the inverter; the electric converter is configured to convert a first DC current from the first battery to an AC current or is configured to convert the first DC current from the first battery to a second DC current lower than the first DC current; and the electric converter does not include the first switch.
However, Amano teaches wherein: the vehicle body further comprises an electric converter electrically connected to the vehicle body electric circuit; the electric converter is not electrically disposed between the first battery and the inverter; the electric converter is configured to convert a first DC current from the first battery to an AC current or is configured to convert the first DC current from the first battery to a second DC current lower than the first DC current; and the electric converter does not include the first switch (main battery 1 via an inverter 4…main battery 1 via a DC/DC converter 5, power source control system 20 operates to prevent a reduction of the remaining capacities of the batteries 1 and 2 by shutting off switches 61, 62, 63 and 64 of the electrical loads, a current sensor 11 - Amano ¶29 & ¶31 & ¶32).
Nishimura discloses an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result. Amano teaches a control system for an automotive power source system suitable for controlling an automotive power source having a higher voltage and higher capacity battery than the conventional 14V system, such as 42V system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result, with a control system for an automotive power source system suitable for controlling an automotive power source having a higher voltage and higher capacity battery than the conventional 14V system, such as 42V system, as taught by Amano, with a reasonable expectation of success for reducing power loss and saving on the weight of a harness, and preventing lowering of the remaining capacity of the main battery, see Amano ¶4 & ¶7 for details.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura, as per claim 1, and further in view of Kitano, JP-5359241-B2, hereinafter referred to as Kitano (Translation by Espacenet).
As per claim 8
Nishimura does not specifically disclose wherein a second detector for detecting electric leakage is not electrically disposed between the first battery pack and the inverter.
However, Kitano teaches wherein a second detector for detecting electric leakage is not electrically disposed between the first battery pack and the inverter (first and second inverters when the leak detector detects a leak despite the fact that the first arm included in the third inverter is turned off, converter 12 boosts DC power from the voltage (VB) of the battery B1 and outputs the DC power to the inverters 14, 22, 26, and reduces DC power from at least one of the inverters 14, 22, 26, Battery B 1, connection portion 40, converter 12, inverters 14, 22 and 26, Control device 30 controls connection unit 40 and inverters 14, 22 and 26 and determines the presence or absence of a leakage based on voltage value Vk from leakage detector 42 - Kitano ¶10 & ¶33 & ¶45 & ¶52).
Nishimura discloses an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result. Kitano teaches an electric leakage detection system for electric vehicles, that accurately detects electric leakage in a vehicle including a drive unit containing a plurality of rotary electric machines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nishimura, an electric vehicle that makes a diagnosis for electrical leakage again at restart of a drive system after detection of electrical leakage and enables the restart to be controlled on the basis of the diagnosis result, with an electric leakage detection system for electric vehicles, that accurately detects electric leakage in a vehicle including a drive unit containing a plurality of rotary electric machines, as taught by Kitano, with a reasonable expectation of success to detect the electrical leakage in the vehicle provided with the drive device containing several rotary electric machines accurately, see Kitano ¶18 for details.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668