DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Simmonds (US 7907342 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Simmonds discloses an optical system (Figs. 2 and 3) comprising:
(a) a slab lightguide (8) formed from transparent material (plainly, since the device of Fig. 3 propagates images therein) and having a pair of mutually parallel major surfaces (front and back with respect to user eye 6) for supporting propagation of image light within the slab lightguide by two-fold internal reflection at said major surfaces (Fig. 2);
(b) a rectangular cross-section lightguide (7) formed from transparent material (plainly, since the device of Fig. 3 propagates images therein) and having first and second pairs of mutually parallel faces (Fig. 3), said first pair of faces being perpendicular to said second pair of faces (Fig. 3, square cross-section), said rectangular cross-section lightguide supporting propagation of image light along a length of said rectangular cross- section lightguide by four-fold internal reflection at said first and second pairs of faces (Claim 1, “rod-like waveguide to direct said image bearing light to propagate internally along the rod-like waveguide reflecting from each of the four sides of the waveguide in turn”); and
(c) an image projector (10) optically coupled to said rectangular cross-section lightguide (Fig. 3) and configured to inject image light corresponding to a collimated image into said rectangular cross-section lightguide (C. 3, ll. 29-53, “The optical means 11 is operable to collimate light received from the image generating light source 10 and inject the collimated image bearing light into the rod-like waveguide 7 through the first side 9 thereof.”) at a first range of angles (Fig. 3, projector 10 injecting at an angle, see C. 3, ll. 62 – C. 4, ll. 15, “the rod-like waveguide 7 includes an input means such as an input reflection hologram 12 provided on or in the rod-like waveguide 7 adjacent one end 13 thereof at a second side 14 opposite to and spaced from the first side 9 to reflect and multiply the image bearing light received from the optical means 11 internally along the rod-like waveguide 7. In effect, the light impinging on the hologram 12 diffracts therefrom such that the incidence angle of the light of the internal surfaces of the rod-like waveguide 7 is greater than the critical angle for the material such as glass from which the waveguide 7 is made. Preferably the spatial frequency of the reflection hologram 12 is such as to constrain the required angular range beyond the critical angle of the material such as glass from which the waveguide 7 is made.”) so as to propagate along a length of said rectangular cross-section lightguide by four-fold internal reflection at said first and second pairs of faces (Claim 1), wherein said rectangular cross-section lightguide is deployed with one of said first pair of faces juxtaposed to part of one of said major surfaces of said slab lightguide (Fig. 3) at an angularly-selective reflecting interface (the interface between 7 and 8, which each operate by TIR i.e. critical angle condition) such that the image light propagating within said rectangular cross-section lightguide does not leak into said slab lightguide (lest the device be inoperable for the purpose of pupil expansion of the projector 10’s collimated image), and wherein said rectangular cross-section lightguide includes a coupling-out arrangement (15) deployed to progressively couple out the image light propagating within said rectangular cross- section lightguide so as to traverse said angularly-selective reflecting interface into said slab lightguide (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2 and 9, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said angularly-selective reflecting interface (between 21 and 23 in Fig. 3, an air gap) is implemented as a layer (of air) between said rectangular cross-section lightguide and said slab lightguide having a refractive index (index = 1 for air) lower than a refractive index of said rectangular cross-section lightguide (index > 1 for glass) so as to support total internal reflection (TIR) of image light propagating at said first range of angles within said rectangular cross-section lightguide (C. 4, ll. 52 – 56, “The plate-like waveguide 8 is located with an edge surface 23 thereof adjacent to and in line with the third side 19 of the waveguide 7 to receive the image bearing light therefrom. The edge surface 23 is located adjacent and close to, but not touching, the third side 19 of the waveguide 7.”; as they are not touching, the medium is presumed to be air having a refractive index of 1 compared to that of the glass waveguides which inherently exhibit index > 1).
Regarding claim 3, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 2, and further discloses wherein said coupling-out arrangement is configured to redirect the image light (out of the rectangular cross-section waveguide) so as to impinge on said layer (between 21 and 23 in Fig. 2, an air gap) at a second range of angles that do not undergo TIR (i.e. coupled out toward the slab waveguide) between said rectangular cross-section lightguide and said layer (C. 4, ll. 16 – 37, “The rod-like waveguide 7 also includes therein a series of semi-reflecting parallel surfaces or holographic layers 15 located substantially perpendicularly to the first and second sides 9 and 14 as can be seen in FIG. 3 of the accompanying drawings. The surfaces or layers 15 are operable to split each impinging ray of the injected image bearing light into two parts at each interaction to improve display uniformity at an output grating and to multiply the image bearing light. The net result is that for each ray of light inputting the region of the surfaces or layers 15 many rays exit.” i.e. do not undergo TIR since they’ve been coupled out).
Regarding claim 4, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 3, and further discloses wherein said second range of angles (thus coupled out of 7) and a refractive index of said slab lightguide are such that the image light entering said slab lightguide undergoes TIR at said major surfaces of said slab lightguide (each waveguide operating by TIR for pupil expansion as discussed supra, since the condition is met in the slab waveguide the limitation must be satisfied lest the device be inoperable for its intended pupil expansion purpose).
Regarding claim 6, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 1, and further discloses wherein said second pair of faces of said rectangular cross-section lightguide are provided with a reflective coating (Fig. 3, reflective coating 21 on the second pair surface, i.e. not juxtaposed to the slab waveguide).
Regarding claim 7, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the reflective coating (21) on one of said second pair of faces is coplanar with a reflective edge surface of said slab lightguide (23) (Fig. 3, coated surface 21 aligned with the slab edge surface 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmonds as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Travis (US 6847488 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 1, and explicitly shows wherein said coupling-out arrangement comprises a series of mutually parallel partial reflectors internal to said rectangular cross-section lightguide angled to said first pair of faces (C. 4, ll. 16 – 37, “The rod-like waveguide 7 also includes therein a series of semi-reflecting parallel surfaces or holographic layers 15 located substantially perpendicularly to the first and second sides 9 and 14 as can be seen in FIG. 3 of the accompanying drawings. The surfaces or layers 15 are operable to split each impinging ray of the injected image bearing light into two parts at each interaction to improve display uniformity at an output grating and to multiply the image bearing light. The net result is that for each ray of light inputting the region of the surfaces or layers 15 many rays exit.”).
Simmonds does not explicitly show the surfaces are obliquely angled.
Travis drawn to an analogous pupil expansion device explicitly shows the surfaces are obliquely angled (Fig. 2, rod waveguide 2 showing the obliquely angled reflectors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the coupling out structure of Travis for the of Simmonds and obtained a predictably similar coupling out result toward pupil expansion of the propagated image.
Regarding claim 10 and 12, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 1, but does not explicitly show further comprising an oblique reflecting surface associated with said slab lightguide and oblique to said pair of major surfaces, said oblique reflecting surface deployed to couple in the image light so as to propagate within the slab lightguide by internal reflection at said pair of major surfaces.
Travis drawn to an analogous pupil expansion device explicitly shows the device further comprising an oblique reflecting surface associated with said slab lightguide and oblique to said pair of major surfaces (Fig. 2, the mutually parallel coupling out reflectors at oblique angles to the major surfaces), said oblique reflecting surface deployed to couple in the image light so as to propagate within the slab lightguide by internal reflection at said pair of major surfaces (Figs. 5 and 6, showing the user viewing the major surface from which the images are coupled out for viewing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the couplers of Travis with that of Simmonds and thus obtained a predictable coupling out of the propagating image toward achieving pupil expansion and comfortable viewing by the user.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simmonds as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Abovitz (US 20150241705 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein said slab lightguide has a reflective edge surface perpendicular to said major surfaces of said slab lightguide.
Abovitz drawn to an analogous pupil expansion device explicitly shows provision of reflective surfaces (1102a, 1102b) at the edge of waveguides (Fig. 11, ¶180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have rendered the edge surface of Simmonds as reflective according to the teachings of Abovitz for the purpose of recycling light and improving brightness of the display.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 11, Simmonds discloses the optical system of claim 10, but does not explicitly show wherein said oblique reflecting surface is provided at a tapered edge of said slab lightguide.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20090190222 A1 discloses a pupil expansion configuration having first narrow rectangular and second rectangular waveguides
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872