DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasuga (JP 2021-050050).
Regarding claim 16, Kasuga discloses an image forming apparatus, comprising: an image forming device 3a to form an image on a sheet; a sheet stacking portion 15 disposed above the image forming device to stack the sheet on which the image has been formed by the image forming device; a blower fan 20 to take in air; and a duct 25 through which the air taken in flows, wherein the blower fan has an inlet for taking in air and an outlet for blowing the air, and the inlet and the outlet are opposed to each other, the outlet of the blower fan and a wall of the duct are opposed to each other, the wall of the duct includes: a first wall opposed to the outlet of the blower fan; and a second wall located outside the first wall, the second wall not being opposed to the outlet of the blower fan, and the air blown out from the outlet of the blower fan collides with the wall of the duct and is exhausted from an exhaust port 21a via the second wall. See Fig. 6, shown below with annotations.
Regarding claim 17, Kasuga discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the air taken in from the inlet of the blower fan and blown out from the outlet is exhausted in a direction intersecting the sheet ejection direction. See Fig. 5 – the direction (F1) of air blown out from the outlet intersects with the direction of sheets exiting sheet discharge port 11.
Regarding claim 18, Kasuga discloses the image forming apparatus according to claim 16, wherein a distance from the outlet of the blower fan to the first wall of the duct is shorter than a distance from the second wall to the exhaust port 21a. See Fig. 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the nearest prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. For example, Sakagami (US 11,447,357) does not disclose everything claimed, including the first and second air-intake ports as claimed, in combination with the rest of the claimed elements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Kasuga does not disclose a wall of the duct that includes a first wall opposed to the outlet of the blower fan and a second wall located outside the first wall and not opposed to the outlet of the blower fan. Remarks, p. 9. The Examiner respectfully disagrees, as explained in the rejection of claim 16, above.
Conclusion
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759