DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 213/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, cited term of “…including a plurality of sub-pulse light beams shorter than one pulse of the pulse laser light….” (line 4) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear that the term of “shorter’ refers to what parameter of the pulse laser light; pulse length? period length? or light wavelength? For examination purpose, it assumes that claimed parameter is of period length.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakai et al (US 20210346984).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakai teaches a laser processing device (abstract; figs. 1-7), comprising:
a laser oscillator that oscillates pulse laser light (fig. 1, 1; ¶[0021], line 1-11, Light source 1 includes a laser oscillator that emits laser light 3. Power supply 1a supplies a current to light source 1. Deflection unit 2 includes optical element 21 that changes the amount of transmission of laser light 3);
a power source that supplies power to the laser oscillator (fig. 1, 1a);
an optical modulator (fig. 1, 2, 21) that switches an emission direction of the pulse laser light to either a first direction toward a target object or a second direction not toward the target object (fig. 1, 21, 23, 24; fig. 3A, 23, 24 to 51); and
a controller that generates a first control signal and a second control signal (fig. 1, 4, 41, 42; ¶[0021], line 1-11, Signal synchronization unit 4 controls a current supplied from power supply la to light source 1 in synchronization with a timing at which laser light 3 is deflected by optical element 21),
the first control signal being a signal for controlling supply of the power by the power source to generate at least one set of a power supply period and a power non-supply period (fig. 1, 4, 41, 1a; fig. 5, 41 waveform),
the second control signal being a signal for controlling change of the emission direction by the optical modulator (fig. 1, 4, 42, 22/21, 3/23, 3/24) to cause the power supply period to include a plurality of first periods in which the emission direction is the first direction (fig. 1, 21, 3, 23; fig. 4, 23 waveform).
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (US 2005027062).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson teaches a laser processing device (abstract; figs. 1-13), comprising:
a laser oscillator that oscillates pulse laser light (fig. 1, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 64a(laser optics); fig. 13, 64a);
a power source that supplies power to the laser oscillator (fig. 12, 110, 112);
an optical modulator (fig. 12, 60a—AOM) that switches an emission direction of the pulse laser light to either a first direction toward a target object (fig. 12, 72c to target workpiece 80) or a second direction not toward the target object (fig. 12, 72d to beam dump 94c; ¶[0078], line 1-13, AOM 60a is shown transmitting laser light along a working beam optical path 72c whenever AOM 60a is in an "OFF" state and diffracting light along a nonworking beam optical path 72d to a beam dump 94c whenever AOM 60a is in an "ON" state); and
a controller that generates a first control signal and a second control signal (fig. 12, 62),
the first control signal being a signal for controlling supply of the power by the power source to generate at least one set of a power supply period and a power non-supply period (fig. 1, 4, 14a, 6, 8, 10a; fig. 12, 110, 112),
the second control signal being a signal for controlling change of the emission direction by the optical modulator (fig. 12, 110, 66a—RF signal driver) to cause the power supply period to include a plurality of first periods in which the emission direction is the first direction (fig. 12, 110, 66a—RF signal driver; 72c to 80).
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson teaches the laser processing device according to Claim 1, wherein
the controller generates the second control signal to cause the plurality of first periods to have a plurality of temporal lengths in the power supply period (fig. 1, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 64a(laser optics); --laser beam comprising a plurality of q-switching pulses(- sub-pulse light beams); fig. 17, laser pulses; ---further, this portion of claim is of functional claim. In product and apparatus claims –when the structure and composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent, see MPEP § 2112.01. As the structure and materials provided by Johnson is same to that recited in the claims, then it is expected that signal functions provided by Johnson has same results as claimed. Since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977))).
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson teaches the laser processing device according to Claim 2, wherein
the controller generates the second control signal to cause a last one of the plurality of first periods to have a shorter temporal length than a first one of the plurality of first periods in the power supply period (fig. 1, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 64a(laser optics); --laser beam comprising a plurality of q-switching pulses(- sub-pulse light beams); fig. 17, laser pulses; ---further, this portion of claim is of functional claim. In product and apparatus claims –when the structure and composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent, see MPEP § 2112.01. As the structure and materials provided by Johnson is same to that recited in the claims, then it is expected that signal functions provided by Johnson has same results as claimed. Since where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977))).
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson teaches the laser processing device according to Claim 1,
wherein the controller generates the first control signal to cause an amplitude of the pulse laser light to be oscillated by the laser oscillator to be a constant value in the power supply period (fig. 17, amplitude of laser pulses).
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson teaches a control method of a laser processing device (abstract; figs. 1-13) that includes:
a power source that supplies power to a laser oscillator that oscillates pulse laser light (fig. 1, 14a, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 112, 64a(laser optics));
an optical modulator (fig. 12, 60a—AOM) that switches an emission direction of the pulse laser light to either a first direction toward a target object (fig. 12, 72c to target workpiece 80) or a second direction not toward the target object (fig. 12, 72d to beam dump 94c; ¶[0078], line 1-13, AOM 60a is shown transmitting laser light along a working beam optical path 72c whenever AOM 60a is in an "OFF" state and diffracting light along a nonworking beam optical path 72d to a beam dump 94c whenever AOM 60a is in an "ON" state); and
a controller that generates a control signal for the power source and the optical modulator (fig. 12, 62), the control method comprising:
generating, by the controller, a first control signal for controlling supply of the power to generate at least one set of a power supply period and a power non-supply period (fig. 1, 4, 14a, 6, 8, 10a; fig. 12, 62, 110, 112), and outputting the first control signal to the power source (fig, 12, 62, 110, 112); and
generating, by the controller (fig. 12, 62), a second control signal for controlling change of the emission direction (fig. 12, 110, 66a) to cause the power supply period to include a plurality of first periods in which the emission direction is the first direction (fig. 12, 110, 66a—RF signal driver; 72c to 80), and outputting the second control signal to the optical modulator (fig. 12, 110, 66a, 60a).
Regarding Claim 6, Johnson teaches a program executed by a computer of a laser processing device (abstract; figs. 1-13; fig. 3, digital controller) that includes:
a power source that supplies power to a laser oscillator that oscillates pulse laser light (fig. 1, 14a, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 112, 64a(laser optics));
an optical modulator (fig. 12, 60a—AOM) that switches an emission direction of the pulse laser light to either a first direction toward a target object (fig. 12, 72c to target workpiece 80) or a second direction not toward the target object (fig. 12, 72d to beam dump 94c; ¶[0078], line 1-13, AOM 60a is shown transmitting laser light along a working beam optical path 72c whenever AOM 60a is in an "OFF" state and diffracting light along a nonworking beam optical path 72d to a beam dump 94c whenever AOM 60a is in an "ON" state); and
a controller that generates a control signal for the power source and the optical modulator (fig. 12, 62), the program causing the computer to execute procedures of:
generating a first control signal for controlling supply of the power to generate at least one set of a power supply period and a power non-supply period (fig. 1, 4, 14a, 6, 8, 10a; fig. 12, 62, 110, 112), and outputting the first control signal to the power source (fig, 12, 62, 110, 112); and
generating a second control signal for controlling change of the emission direction (fig. 12, 110, 66a) to cause the power supply period to include a plurality of first periods in which the emission direction is the first direction (fig. 12, 110, 66a—RF signal driver; 72c to 80), and outputting the second control signal to the optical modulator (fig. 12, 110, 66a, 60a).
Regarding Claim 7, Johnson teaches a laser processing device (abstract; figs. 1-13), comprising:
a laser oscillator that emits pulse laser light (fig. 1, 14a, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 112, 64a(laser optics); fig. 13, 64a);
an optical modulator (fig. 12, 60a—AOM) that irradiates a target object (fig. 12, 72c to 80) with a pulse laser group including a plurality of sub-pulse light beams shorter than one pulse of the pulse laser light (fig. 1, 2(6, 8, 10a); fig. 12, 64a(laser optics); --laser beam comprising a plurality of q-switching pulses(- sub-pulse light beams)) by switching an emission direction of the pulse laser light (fig. 12, 60a, 72c, 72d); and
a controller that controls outputting of the pulse laser light by the laser oscillator and switching of the emission direction by the optical modulator (62, 110, 112, 66a, 60a).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872