DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,428,882. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to a door assembly for a motor vehicle, comprising: a door mounted relative to an opening in a body of the motor vehicle such that the door is moveable between a fully closed position and a fully open position; and a fixed door handle projecting outward from an exterior surface of the door, and wherein the fixed door handle includes a switch assembly configured to generate an electric signal when pressed; and a method, comprising: activating one or both of a door presenter assembly and a latch assembly of a door in response to a signal generated by a switch assembly, wherein a fixed door handle projecting outward from an exterior surface of the door includes the switch assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harter (U.S. 9,156,335).
Regarding claim 1, Harter teaches a door assembly for a motor vehicle, comprising: a door (12) mounted relative to an opening in a body (24) of the motor vehicle (see fig 1) such that the door (12) is moveable between a fully closed position and a fully open position; and a fixed (column 3, lines 28-29) door handle (10) projecting outward from an exterior surface of the door (fig 1), and wherein the fixed (column 3, lines 28-29) door handle (10) includes a switch assembly (98) configured to generate an electric signal (to microswitch 102) when pressed (column 6, lines 61-66).
Regarding claim 2, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 1. Harter further teaches wherein: the door (12) includes trim (30), and the fixed door handle (10) projects outward from the trim (30, see fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 2. Harter further teaches wherein the trim (30) is a belt molding (column 3, line 3).
Regarding claim 14, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 1. Harter further teaches wherein the door (12) is free of pivotable exterior door handles (column 3, lines 28-32).
Regarding claim 15, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 1. Harter further teaches further comprising a latch assembly configured to selectively lock and unlock the door (12), wherein the latch assembly is configured to unlock the door in response to the electric signal (102, column 7, lines 7-14).
Regarding claim 19, Harter teaches a method comprising: activating one or both of a door presenter assembly and a latch assembly (described in column 7, lines 10-14) of a door (12) in response to a signal generated by a switch assembly (98), wherein a fixed door handle (10) projecting outward from an exterior surface of the door (see fig 1) includes the switch assembly (98, as seen in fig 8 and described in column 6 lines 89-61).
Regarding claim 20, Harter teaches the method of claim 19. Harter further teaches further comprising, after the activating step, manually moving the door to a fully open position (by user applying force F3 seen in fig 8) using the fixed door handle (10) by pulling on the fixed door handle (10) and by applying a force in a same location as in the activating step (to inside of handle 10).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witte (U.S. 2017/0260778).
Regarding claim 18, Witte teaches a door assembly for a motor vehicle, comprising: a door (1) mounted relative to an opening in a body of the motor vehicle (as seen in figs 1a and 1b, and described in [0038]) such that the door (1) is moveable between a fully closed position (as seen in fig 1a) and a fully open position (opening described in [0023]); and a fixed door handle (as seen in figs 1a and 2, described as fixed in [0005]) projecting outward from an exterior surface of the door (as seen in fig 1A and 2), and wherein the fixed door handle includes a switch assembly (7) configured to generate an electric signal when pressed (described in [0043]), wherein the fixed door handle includes a base section (on door-side of opening 4 as seen in fig 2) and a top section (2), and wherein a top of the base section includes a recess configured to receive the top section (as seen in fig 2, base section includes a recess for top section 2 to fit inside).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harter (U.S. 9,156,335) in view of Leonardi (U.S. 2020/0011096).
Regarding claim 16, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 1. While Harter teaches a door (12) and an electric signal (102), it is silent as to a door presenter assembly configured to move the door from a fully closed position to a partially open position in response to the electric signal.
Leonardi teaches a door presenter assembly (22’), configured to move the door from a fully closed position to a partially open position in response to an electric signal (as taught in [0055]).
Harter and Leonardi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle door handles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harter to incorporate the teachings of Leonardi and provide a door presenter assembly that moves the door from a fully closed position to a partially open position in response to an electric signal. Doing so would assist the user in opening the door by beginning the process for them, so less force will need to be applied to the door handle to fully open the door.
Regarding claim 17, Harter teaches the door assembly of claim 1. Harter further teaches wherein, in response to the signal from the switch assembly (98), the door (12) is configured to unlock (column 7, lines 10-14) the door. Harter is silent as to the door (12) being configured to move to a partially open position in response to the signal from the switch assembly (98).
Leonardi teaches a door presenter assembly (22’), configured to move the door to a partially open position in response to an electric signal (as taught in [0055]).
Harter and Leonardi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle door handles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Harter to incorporate the teachings of Leonardi and provide a door presenter assembly that moves the door from a fully closed position to a partially open position in response to an electric signal. Doing so would assist the user in opening the door by beginning the process for them, so less force will need to be applied to the door handle to fully open the door.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11,619,079, US 11,554,646, US 2022/0213722 (all of which teach fixed door handles for vehicles).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631