DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings filed January 14, 2025 are accepted.
Abstract
The Abstract filed January 14, 2025 is accepted.
Specification
The specification filed January 14, 2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harfouche (US 11,147,475).
With respect to claim 1, Harfouche discloses a tape measure (1) comprising a case (2); a measuring tape (3), wherein an opening (4) is arranged on the case (2), the measuring tape (3) is capable of being pulled out of the case or retracted within the case through the opening (See Figures 1 and 2), the measuring tape (3) has a first end that is limited to an inner side of the case and a second end that is limited to an outer side of the case; and a snap-fit assembly (C, 5), wherein the snap-fit assembly comprises a first fastener (5) and at least one second fastener (C), the first fastener (5) is fixedly connected to the second end of the measuring tape (3), the at least one second fastener (C) is arranged on the case (2), the first fastener (5) or the at least one second fastener (C) has magnetism (Column 6. Lines 8 – 14), and the first fastener (5) is capable of selectively and magnetically engage with the at least one second fastener (C).
Referring to claim 2, Harfouche sets forth a tape measure wherein the at least one second fastener (C) comprises a panel, the panel has one end that is arranged at an edge of the opening (4), and the first fastener (5) is adsorbed on the panel and fit to the panel in response to the first fastener (5) being engaged with the at least one second fastener (See Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (WO 2022250198 A1) in view of Harfouche (US 11,147,475).
With respect to claim 1, Park et al. discloses a tape measure (100) comprising a case (110); a measuring tape (140), wherein an opening (120-3) is arranged on the case (110), the measuring tape (140) is capable of being pulled out of the case or retracted within the case through the opening (See Figure 2), the measuring tape (140) has a first end that is limited to an inner side of the case and a second end that is limited to an outer side of the case; and a snap-fit assembly, wherein the snap-fit assembly comprises a first fastener (150) and at least one second fastener (120-5), the first fastener (150) is fixedly connected to the second end of the measuring tape (140), the at least one second fastener (120-5) is arranged on the case (110).
Park et al. does not disclose the snap-fit assembly comprising magnetism as recited in claim 1.
Harfouche discloses a tape measure comprising a snap fit assembly comprising a first fastener (5) and a second fastener (C), wherein the first fastener (5) or the at least one second fastener (C) has magnetism (See Column 6, lines 8 – 14), and the first fastener (5) is capable of selectively and magnetically engage with the at least one second fastener (C) in order to ensure an interlocking connection (See Column 6, lines 3 – 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Park et al. in order to ensure an interlocking connection (See Column 6, lines 3 – 14).
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Park et al. and Harfouche sets forth a tape measure wherein the at least one second fastener (120-5) comprises a panel, the panel has one end that is arranged at an edge of the opening (120-3), and the first fastener (150) is adsorbed on the panel and fit to the panel in response to the first fastener (150) being engaged with the at least one second fastener (See Figure 7).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Park et al. and Harfouche teaches a tape measure wherein the at least one second fastener (120-3) comprises a magnetic sheet (as modified by the explicit teachings of Harfouche in Column 6, lines 8 – 14), the magnetic sheet being arranged on one side of the panel and the side of the panel faces an interior of the case (120-5 as shown in figure 5 of Park et al.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park et al. and Harfouche shows a tape measure wherein one side of the panel (120-5) is provided with an accommodating cavity (See Figure 1 of Park et al.) which faces the interior of the case (110), and the magnetic sheet (as modified by Harfouche) is arranged within the accommodating cavity, or the panel is provided with an accommodating slot (120-5) that sinks toward the interior of the case (110), and the magnetic sheet (as modified by Harfouche) is disposed in the accommodating slot.
With regards to claim 5, the combination of Park et al. and Harfouche discloses a tape measure, wherein a first limiting member (i.e. hook 150) is arranged on one side of the first fastener, a second limiting member is arranged on the panel, and the first limiting member and the second limiting member is capable of selectively fitting with each other to define a position of the first fastener on the panel (See the specification below).
Referring to claim 6, the combination of Park et al. and Harfouche sets forth a tape measure, wherein the first limiting member comprises a limiting block (i.e. hook) that protrudes outward, and the second limiting member comprises a limiting slot (120-5) that sinks inward.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 – 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claims 7 - 9 are allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a tape measure wherein a first fastening member is arranged on one side of the first fastener, a second fastening member is arranged on the panel, and the first fastening member and the second fastening member are capable of selectively fitting with each other to limit the detachment of the first fastener from the panel; wherein the snap-fit slot is provided with a slope surface, the slope surface and the hook slot portion are arranged at opposite ends of the snap-fit slot, the slope surface extends along a slot opening of the snap-fit slot toward interiors of the snap- fit slot and the hook slot portion; the snap-fit is provided with a guide surface, the guide surface and the hook portion are arranged at opposite ends of the snap-fit, and the guide surface shares a slope gradient with the slope surface in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Claim 10 is allowable because the prior art fails to teach or suggest a tape measure wherein a surface of the panel is provided with a patch, the patch is configured to provide buffering when the first fastener is absorbed on the panel; or/and emit light to indicate a position of the panel in combination with the remaining limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are considered relevant but fail to teach the combination as claimed:
Wang (US 11,713,957) discloses a measuring tape provided with a snap fit arrangement stably inserted into a positioning hole during measurement and being automatically ejected out of the positioning hole after measurement, but fails to teach the fastening members mounted on a panel or the patch as claimed.
YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2855
October 14, 2026
/YARITZA GUADALUPE-MCCALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855