DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 01/14/25. The request for foreign priority to a corresponding DE application filed 01/23/24 has been received and is proper. Claims 1-20 are currently pending yet all are rejected as detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
JP Ref in view of Arosio
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4009444 (hereinafter “JP Ref”) in view of Arosio et al. (WO 2021/069712). JP Ref is directed to a method for manufacturing a disc brake pad for brakes of automobiles. See Abstract. Arosio is directed to a method to produce high corrosion and wear resistant cast iron component by water jet surface activation. See Abstract.
Claim 1: JP Ref discloses a method of manufacturing a brake pad having a backing plate and a friction lining [see Abstract], comprising: roughening at least part of the surface area of the backing plate with water emitted from a high-pressure water jet [see para. 0008, 0013 (“a wet blasting method, i.e., blasting together with an alkaline aqueous solution” for “surface roughening” of the back metal)]; and attaching the friction lining, with or without an intermediate layer between the backing plate and the friction lining, onto the roughened surface of the backing plate [see para. 0009-11 (“join the back metal and the friction material”)].
The JP Ref discloses all the limitations of this claim except for explicitly discussing the high-pressure water jet being “pulsed.” Arosio discloses a wet blasting method on a brake disc to achieve a surface roughness using a pulsed high-pressure water jet. See page 4, lines 10-18 (“using a water jet process, preferably a pulsed water jet process, in order to produce microstructures…comprising undercuts with sub surface roughness which increase the adhesion” of the component surface). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a pulsing wet blasting method to increase adhesion properties of the back plate surface to improve connectivity between the back plate and friction lining. Arosio is already concerned with the surface roughness of friction-engaging brake components.
Claim 2: Arosio discloses that the part of the surface area that is roughened is roughened to a surface roughness with a roughness depth of 50 to 500 micrometers. See page 7, line 12.
Claim 3: Arosio discloses that the part of the surface area that is roughened is roughened to a surface roughness with a roughness depth of 100 to 350 micrometers. See page 7, line 9.
Claim 4: It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to not use adhesive after roughening because the pulsed wet blasting method significantly increases adhesive properties of the back plate surface, thereby removing the need for an adhesive. Also, it would be obvious to try – either an adhesive is used or it is not, limited possibilities exist here.
Claim 5: Arosio discloses that the water jet has a water pressure of 600 to 850 bar. See page 6, line 18-27.
Claim 6: The JP ref discloses that the backing plate comprises aluminum or a metal alloy based on aluminum. See para. 0008 (“alumina abrasive grains”), 0036 (“metal powders such as…aluminum”). Arosio discloses high pressure for the water jet, and 200 to 400 bar would be an obvious range to use to achieve desired roughness properties. See page 6, lines 18-27.
Claim 7: Arosio discloses that the water jet has a pulsation range of 10,000 to 20,000 pulses/second. See page 6, lines 18-27 (10-50 kHz).
Claims 8-10: Arosio discloses a high speed for the water jet but not the specific range. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to consider the recited range to achieve similar pressure values and roughness values, which are disclosed in both the application and reference.
Claim 11: Arosio discloses that the water jet has an outlet nozzle and the outlet nozzle is moved at a distance of 15 mm to 50 mm from the surface of the backing plate to be roughened. See page 6, lines 18-27 (25-60 mm).
Claims 12-13: Arosio discloses that the water jet strikes the surface of the backing plate to be roughened at a vertical angle or an oblique angle. See page 3, lines 12-16 (80 to 100 degrees).
Claim 14: The JP Ref discloses that corrosion-inhibiting substances are added into the water of the water jet. See para. 0030 (“a surfactant, an antifoaming agent, an antirust agent, and the like can be appropriately added to the slurry blast solution”).
Claim 15: The JP Ref discloses that the backing plate comprises a material selected from the group consisting of: metal alloys based on Fe, Ti or aluminum, metal alloys with carbon fibers, glass fiber-reinforced plastics, and carbon fiber-reinforced plastics. See para. 0010 (“iron-based metal”), 0020, 0036 (“aluminum”).
Claims 16-20: see claim 1 above; para. 0001 (method of manufacturing a friction member, specifically a friction pad or back plate, used for brakes and clutches of automobiles and industrial machines).
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 October 23, 2026