DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This communication is a First Office Action Non-Final Rejection on the merits.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5 – 6, and 8 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto et al (Hereinafter Otto) (US 2017/0334696 A1) in view of Lee et al. (Hereinafter Lee) (US 2016/0035607 A1).
As per claim 1, Otto teaches the limitations of:
an article transfer and storage apparatus (See at least figure 2) comprising:
a case (See at least figure 1);
a frame, the frame including at least a first shelf plate extending in a first horizontal direction (See at least figure 1), and
a plurality of storage ports arranged on the first shelf plate, each of the plurality of storage ports configured to accommodate a carrier (See at least figure 1 and figure 4), and
a storage port transport configured to move the storage ports in the first horizontal direction (See at least figure 4 – figure 5); and
a transfer robot comprising a transport base at a bottom of the transfer robot, the transfer robot configured to place the carrier in the case or take out the carrier from the case and move the carrier (See at least figure 2).
Otto teaches a case (see rejection above) but does not explicitly teach the limitations of:
a case installed in a semiconductor factory, and;
a semiconductor carrier.
Lee teaches the limitations of:
a case installed in a semiconductor factory (See at least figure 21 – 2b), and;
a semiconductor carrier (See at least figure 21 – 2b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a case installed in a semiconductor factory and a semiconductor carrier as taught by Lee in the system of Otto, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the storage port transport further comprises:
a guide rail fixed to the frame, the guide rail extending in the first horizontal direction, wherein each storage port of the plurality of storage ports is coupled to the guide rail and is configured to move along the guide rail (See at least paragraph 36 and figure 3 of Otto); and
a plurality of electromagnets, each electromagnet configured to provide a driving force to move a corresponding storage port of the plurality of storage ports in the first horizontal direction (See at least paragraph 54 and figure 3 – 6 of Otto).
As per claim 3, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein each storage port includes a first end and a second end opposite to the first end, wherein each electromagnet is disposed at the first end of the corresponding storage port, and wherein the case further comprises a magnetic material disposed at the second end of each storage port of the plurality of storage ports (See at least paragraph 54 and figure 3 – 6 of Otto).
As per claim 5, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the first shelf plate of the case comprises a spare space corresponding to a size of at least one of the plurality of storage ports (See at least figure 4 – 5 of Otto).
As per claim 6, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the first shelf plate is one of a plurality of shelf plates spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction (See at least figure 1 of Otto).
As per claim 8, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the case further comprises an identification device configured to recognize an ID of the semiconductor carrier transferred from the transfer robot (See at least paragraph 38 of Otto and abstract of Lee).
As per claim 9, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the transfer robot comprises a gripper configured to grip the semiconductor carrier and an extendable arm configured to move the gripper in a horizontal direction (See at least paragraph 54 of Otto and abstract of Lee).
As per claim 10, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the transfer robot further comprises a rotator configured to rotate the extendable arm in a horizontal direction (See at least paragraph 36 and 37 of Otto).
As per claim 11, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the transfer robot further comprises a lift configured to move the extendable arm in a vertical direction (See at least paragraph 27 of Otto).
As per claim 12, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the transfer robot further comprises a transfer shelf configured to support the semiconductor carrier and move a plurality of the semiconductor carriers (See at least figure 2 of Otto and abstract and Lee).
As per claim 13, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches the limitations of:
wherein the article transfer and storage apparatus comprises a plurality of the transfer robots and each of the plurality of transfer robots operates independently (See at least figure 1 of Otto and abstract and Lee).
Regarding claims 14 – 18:
Claims 14 – 18 are rejected using the same rationale, mutatis mutandis, applied to claims 1 – 3, 5 – 6 and 8 – 13 above, respectively.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto and Lee and in further view of Liu et al. (Hereinafter Liu) (WO 2022/156780 A1).
As per claim 4, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches all the limitations of claimed invention but does not teach the limitations of:
a damper coupled to one side of the magnetic material disposed at the second end of each storage port.
Liu teaches the limitations of:
a damper coupled to one side of the magnetic material disposed at the second end of each storage port (See at least page 23 paragraph 4),
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify wafer transfer and transporting apparatus of the combination of Otto and Lee, to include a damper coupled to one side of the magnetic material disposed at the second end of each storage port as taught by Liu in order to reduce vibration (See at least page 23 paragraph 4).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otto and Lee and in further view of Bonora et al. (Hereinafter Bonora) (CN 102460675 A).
As per claim 7, the combination of Otto and Lee teaches all the limitations of claimed invention but does not teach the limitations of:
wherein the case further comprises, at a bottom of the case, a plurality of wheels configured to move the case.
Bonora teaches the limitation of:
wherein the case further comprises, at a bottom of the case, a plurality of wheels configured to move the case (See at least paragraph 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include wherein the case further comprises, at a bottom of the case, a plurality of wheels configured to move the case as taught by Bonora in the system of the combination of Otto and Lee, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed over prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsujimoto et al. (US 7686559 B2) discloses article transport facility and a method of operating the facility.
IG T AN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3662
/IG T AN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662