DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the barcode or RFID must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 is objected to because it appears to inadvertently be missing claim to depend from. For the purpose of advancing prosecution, Examiner will assume Claim 2 depends from Claim 1 in order to align with proper antecedent basis set forth in Claim 2. Claim 20 is objected to because acronyms (e.g. RFID) should be defined at their first occurrence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 is rejected because the specification, as originally filed, fails to support the limitation of an algorithm in the optical shape sensing system to automatically derive from the interrogation where this hub is in space. The specification fails to disclose the algorithm in sufficient detail to show possession of the claimed invention. Claim 15 appears to have the same issue with respect to the processor automatically recognize a recognizable offset.
Claims 1-13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is rejected because it is unclear what hub “this hub” (line 9) is referring to. Claim 1 is also rejected because it is unclear if the algorithm is part of the claimed invention as it is inferentially set forth within the “longitudinal offset encoding system” (e.g. hub). Claim 1 is also rejected because it is unclear if the processor’s step to “automatically” recognize a recognizable offset is performing the aforementioned algorithm. Claim 10 is rejected because it is unclear if a hub is referring to the same hub in Claim 1. Claims 20-21 are rejected because it is unclear how the system reads the barcode/RFID information as it appears to be missing a barcode reader or RFID reader.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2012/029013 to Gutierrez et al. “Gutierrez” in view of U.S. Publication No. 2007/0282305 to Goldfarb or alternatively U.S. Publication No. 2007/0078437 to Borden et al. “Borden”, either Gutierrez and Goldfarb or Gutierrez and Borden in further view of U.S. Publication No. 2011/0202069 to Prisco et al. “Prisco”, WO 2013/019518 to Wong et al. “Wong” and U.S. Publication No. 2009/0292171 to Ito et al. “Ito”.
As for Claims 1, 5, 10 and 14-16, Gutierrez discloses an optical shape sensing system for use during minimally invasive catheter navigation procedures (Abstract). The system includes an optical guidewire for advancing a catheter to a target region (Abstract) by overlaying 3D shape information onto an image (Pages 1 and 7). Gutierrez explains that the optical guidewire includes multiple fiber-Bragg-gratings (FBG) integrated into along a length of the fiber to provide the 3D shape information (Pages 1 and 4) via a processing arrangement for processing the encoded optical signals to periodically reconstruct a portion or an entire shape of the optical guidewire (Pages 5-6; Figs. 3A, 3B, 3C and corresponding descriptions). Examiner notes that such descriptions are considered to read on “optically interrogating” the optical fiber in its broadest reasonable interpretation given that Appellant’s specification describes “optical interrogation” as using optical shape sensing elements by means of Fiber Bragg Gratings or Rayleigh based elements (Specification, Page 1). In addition, Applicant’s specification explains “It is to be understood that the OSS properties of the optical fiber can be obtained in various ways, as known by the skilled persons. E.g. the optical interrogation may make use of Rayleigh scattering, or make use of Fiber Bragg Gratings written into the fiber. The method for optical interrogation of the optical shape sensing properties may be performed in several ways, such as also known by the skilled person” (Specification, Page 5). Thus, according to the specification, optically interrogating an optical fiber is 1) well known and 2) accomplished, for example, using Fiber Bragg Gratings. While not specifically referenced, Figs. 3B and 3C appear to depict a hub at the proximal end of the catheter where multiple devices can be inserted into catheter at various angles.
However, Gutierrez does not expressly disclose where hub provides a known and trackable curvature of the guidewire and optical fiber therein at a proximal end of the catheter allowing automatic registration of the proximal end of the catheter to a longitudinal position of the fiber inside the guidewire as now claimed.
Goldfarb teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to medical devices to facilitate insertion and positioning of guidewires and various other apparatus within the body (Paragraph [0003]) wherein the device includes a handle (e.g. hub) with separate channels having a known curvature (Paragraph [0104]; see Figs. 3i, 5a and 5b and corresponding descriptions). Goldfarb explains that proximal portions of devices can be routed through the separate channels with the known curvature in order to make it easier to insert tools without interference (Paragraph [0104]).
Alternatively, Borden teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to catheter devices including a hub where one lumen of the catheter tube can include a deliberate bend (e.g. known curvature) so that connections to the hub can be spaced apart (Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]). Examiner notes that because the hub is molded over the catheter tubes, the hub would also include the deliberate bend. Borden also explains that a plurality of bends may be used for additional lumen configurations (Fig. 6 and corresponding descriptions).
Prisco teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to an optical shape sensing system and method for use during minimally invasive surgical procedures (Abstract; Paragraphs [0004]-[0011] and [0021]) where a pre-set perturbation allows an optical interrogator to determine pose information (Abstract; Paragraphs [0007], [0040]-[0042] Fig. 2E and corresponding descriptions). Prisco explains that the pre-set geometrical feature may be formed in a lumen through which the shape sensing segment passes (Paragraph [0010]) and may take the form of various shapes including an S-curve, a loop, a cusp, a semi-circle, etc. (Paragraph [0060]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the hub described by Gutierrez to include channel with a known, predetermined curvature in order to induce strain on the optical fiber to be recognized by the interrogator to determine a relative pose as described by Goldfarb/Borden and Prisco in order to enhance the accuracy of tracking the proximal portion of the optically interrogated guidewire. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Regarding the algorithm to “automatically” determine the hub’s location, Prisco explains that the processor computes the position and orientation of the reference frame (e.g. hub) at location L_0 (Paragraph [0038]) which is considered to read on automatically determining where the hub is in space in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Nonetheless, Wong teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to shape sensing systems and methods (Abstract) where an elongate instrument may include a registration fixture configured to hold the elongate instrument in known positions and orientations such that the data regarding the position or orientation of the fiber may be collected to calculate a transform between the coordinate system of the fiber and the coordinate system of the elongate instrument (Paragraphs [0020]-[0021]). Wong explains that shape algorithms are used to process shape, strain, etc. data for registration of the aforementioned coordinate systems (Paragraphs [0058], [0118]-[0119] and [0142]).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have implemented Wong’s registration algorithms (e.g. automatic recognition) in the modified device in order to automatically derive device locations in space to enhance the accuracy of the registration. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for a “recognizable longitudinal offset”, Examiner notes that the modified hub and registration algorithms as described above would appear to provide the claimed offset given that Applicant’s specification discloses
“There are generally several ways other ways to implement the longitudinal offset encoding system. Especially, the longitudinal offset encoding system may comprise at least one of: 1) a device arranged to induce strain at the optical fiber at a known position (e.g. as explained by mounting a hub with known curvature), ... 5) a system comprising an electronic device (e.g. comprising a mechanical potentiometer or an optical sensor, e.g., gradient sensor, discrete sensor...” (Paragraph [0021]).
In other words, a hub configured to induce strain at a known position would implement the longitudinal offset encoding system. However, the modified device does not appear to also include an encoder (e.g. electronic device, optical device) configured to calculate an offset.
Nonetheless, Ito teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to navigating medical devices within the body where lumen distances (e.g. channel 2F1) are known in order be used with advancement/retraction mechanisms configured with an encoder or optical detector to help determine the relative position of an inserted device within the lumen (Paragraph [0093]-[0094]).
Accordingly, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to have used pre-calculated lumen distances and encoders or optical sensors as described by Ito in order to calculate the inserted distance of the optical fiber within the catheter relative to the curved hub section. Such a calculation would provide a longitudinal offset between the catheter and the optical fiber in its broadest reasonable interpretation and would to enhance the navigation and requires nothing more than combining prior art techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
As for Claim 2, Examiner notes that the catheter as described above has a lumen for the guidewire to be inserted therein. Thus, the guidewire will follow a 3D shape of the catheter in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
As for Claim 3, Examiner notes the preset curve or angle would be provided to the system in order to automatically recognize the known curve/angle and used to visualize the shape of the device to the user in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
With respect to Claim 4, Examiner notes that absent any criticality or unexpected result, the particular size of the guidewire and catheter are considered to be an obvious design choice depending on the particular target within the body. In other words, any modification to the size or shape of the guidewire is considered to be obvious in the absence of showing any criticality or unexpected result (MPEP 2144.04).
As for Claims 6-7 and 17-18, Gutierrez discloses steps to acquire an image and to overlay the 3D shape of the optical guidewire on the image as described above. Examiner notes the shape of the fiber would be displayed as a graphical line where the pictured device appears to be.
With respect to Claim 8, Examiner notes that the modified system and method as described above uses a known distance of the catheter’s lumen in order to facilitate guidewire location. The known distance is may be considered a “model of a default shape” in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 9, Examiner notes that the modified system including the hub would induce strain at multiple points of the fiber (e.g. at predetermined curve) given that the optical fiber would follow the shape of the structure (e.g. hub) it was inserted into.
As for Claim 11, Examiner notes that the portion of the guidewire comprising the optical fiber extending through the hub with the pre-set curvature and catheter lumen following the pre-set curvature is considered to have a “predetermined curvature” in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Claim 12, Examiner notes that the system as described above allows the system to recognize a position of the proximal end of the longitudinal device with respect to the aforementioned fixed point(s) in the hub (e.g. entrance or exit of hub with respect to curved lumen).
With respect to Claim 13, Examiner notes that one skilled in the art would appreciate that various sized catheters are available to a user of the systems described by Gutierrez and Ito. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to make such plurality of catheters available to the user for the navigation as described above as such a modification merely involves a duplication of parts and changes in shape/size according to conventional techniques.
Claim(s) 3 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gutierrez, Goldfarb/Borden, Prisco, Wong and Ito as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,048,063 to Aeby et al. “Aeby”.
As for Claims 19-21, Gutierrez, Goldfarb/Borden, Prisco, Wong and Ito disclose an optical shape sensing system and method as described above. However, the art of record does not appear to disclose where the computer automatically receives device information based on an identification code (e.g. barcode/RFID).
Aeby teaches from within a similar field of endeavor with respect to catheter systems and methods where catheter manufacture information may be stored on an RFID tag to be read by the system controller (Column 7, Lines 45-55).
Accordingly, one skilled in the art would have been motivated to have modified the optical shape sensing system and method, particularly the catheter to include an RFID tag with manufacture specific information as described by Aeby in order to automatically identify device specific parameters. Such a modification merely involves combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143).
Alternatively regarding Claim 3, Examiner notes that the modified catheter with an RFID tag would provide type information to the processing means which may be used to visualize the shape of the device to the user in its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797