DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to European Patent Application No. 24152269.7, filed January 16, 2024.
Status of the Claims
The Amendment filed on 08/25/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant patent application. Claims 1, 15 and 18 are amended. This Final Office Action is in response to the claims filed.
Response to Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. §101 rejections. The rejections remain pending and are updated and addressed below in light of the amendments and per guidelines for 101 analysis (PEG 2019).
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejections. The rejections remain pending and are updated and addressed below in light of the amendments and newly cited art.
Response to 35 U.S.C. §101 Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. §101 rejection of the claims have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that the claims are not directed to a judicial exception, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amendments as they are currently written, still recite abstract ideas with further detail provided below. Examiner further asserts that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and further do no recite significantly more. In analyzing the amendments, Examiner has determined that the use of AI is being used in its generic capacity performing their generic functions as intended. There are no improvements to the technology, technical field or computer shown in the claim language. In addition, Examiner has determined that the use of the elements in the claim language is just an attempt to generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular environment. Examiner respectfully reminds Applicant claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer; see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C). Examiner finds the pending claims recite similar limitations to claims the courts have indicated may not be sufficient in showing an improvement in computer-functionality, such as accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer, FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017), A commonplace business method being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 223, 110 USPQ2d at 1976; Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); Gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques and displaying the result, TLI Communications, 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48; see MPEP 2106.05(a)(I) and MPEP 2106.05(a)(II). Additionally, Examiner notes an example of a case identifying a mental process performed in a computer environment as an abstract idea is Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d at 1316-18, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. In this case, the Federal Circuit relied upon the specification when explaining that the claimed electronic post office, which recited limitations describing how the system would receive, screen and distribute email on a computer network, was analogous to how a person decides whether to read or dispose of a particular piece of mail and that "with the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper". 838 F.3d at 1318, 120 USPQ2d at 1360. Another example is FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., Inc., 839 F.3d 1089, 120 USPQ2d 1293 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The patentee in FairWarning claimed a system and method of detecting fraud and/or misuse in a computer environment, in which information regarding accesses of a patient’s personal health information was analyzed according to one of several rules (i.e., related to accesses in excess of a specific volume, accesses during a pre-determined time interval, or accesses by a specific user) to determine if the activity indicates improper access. 839 F.3d. at 1092, 120 USPQ2d at 1294. The court determined that these claims were directed to a mental process of detecting misuse, and that the claimed rules here were "the same questions (though perhaps phrased with different words) that humans in analogous situations detecting fraud have asked for decades, if not centuries." 839 F.3d. at 1094-95, 120 USPQ2d at 1296. Here, the computer is merely used as a tool to perform the instructions of the abstract idea. Examiner maintains the claims recite an abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding Claims 1-14, they are directed to a method, however the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Claims 1-14 are directed to the abstract idea of reporting the status of a plant.
Performing the Step 2A Prong 1 analysis while referring specifically to independent Claim 1, claim 1 recites receiving a query to generate a plant status report; determining at least one plant parameter status information of at least one plant parameter of interest based on the query, wherein the plant parameter status information comprises operational information of the plant parameter of interest; and generating the plant status report including the determined plant parameter status information; wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, an intent of the query; selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent; collecting status information for the selected one or more relevant plant parameters of interest from sensor-acquired current status information or sensor-acquired past status information
These claim limitations fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas for they are concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and/or with pen/paper. Furthermore, the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)).
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea and dependent claims 4-8, 10-11 and 13 further recite the abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claim recites the elements of an artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report. The artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report are merely generic computing devices and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With respect to 2B, the claims do not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 1-3, 9, 12 and 14 include various elements that are not directed to the abstract idea under 2A. These elements include an artificial intelligence module, user interface, sensors, a large language model, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report and the generic computing elements described in the Applicant's specification in at least Para 0075. These elements do not amount to more than the abstract idea because it is a generic computer performing generic functions.
Therefore, Claims 1-3, 9, 12 and 14, alone or in combination, are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding Claims 15-17, they are directed to a system, however the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Claims 15-17 are directed to the abstract idea of reporting the status of a plant.
Performing the Step 2A Prong 1 analysis while referring specifically to independent Claim 15, claim 15 recites receiving a query to generate a plant status report; determining at least one plant parameter status information of at least one plant parameter of interest based on the query, wherein the plant parameter status information comprises operational information of the plant parameter of interest; and generating the plant status report including the determined plant parameter status information; wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, an intent of the query; selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent; collecting status information for the selected one or more relevant plant parameters of interest from sensor-acquired current status information or sensor-acquired past status information.
These claim limitations fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas for they are concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and/or with pen/paper. Furthermore, the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)).
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claim recites the elements of an artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report. The artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report are merely generic computing devices and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With respect to 2B, the claims do not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claims 15-17 include various elements that are not directed to the abstract idea under 2A. These elements include an artificial intelligence module, one or more sensors, at least one user interface, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report and the generic computing elements described in the Applicant's specification in at least Para 0075. These elements do not amount to more than the abstract idea because it is a generic computer performing generic functions.
Therefore, Claims 15-17, alone or in combination, are not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 18, it is directed to a computer readable medium, however the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Claim 18 is directed to the abstract idea of reporting the status of a plant.
Performing the Step 2A Prong 1 analysis while referring specifically to independent Claim 18, claim 18 recites receiving a query to generate a plant status report; determining at least one plant parameter status information of at least one plant parameter of interest based on the query, wherein the plant parameter status information comprises operational information of the plant parameter of interest; and generating the plant status report including the determined plant parameter status information; wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, an intent of the query; selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent; collecting status information for the selected one or more relevant plant parameters of interest from sensor-acquired current status information or sensor-acquired past status information.
These claim limitations fall within the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas for they are concepts that can be practically performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) and/or with pen/paper. Furthermore, the courts have found claims requiring a generic computer or nominally reciting a generic computer may still recite a mental process even though the claim limitations are not performed entirely in the human mind (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)).
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Regarding Step 2A Prong 2 analysis, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claim recites the elements of an artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report. The artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report are merely generic computing devices and do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With respect to 2B, the claim does not include additional elements amounting to significantly more than the abstract idea. Claim 18 includes various elements that are not directed to the abstract idea under 2A. These elements include an artificial intelligence module, identifying module, providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module; generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report and the generic computing elements described in the Applicant's specification in at least Para 0075. These elements do not amount to more than the abstract idea because it is a generic computer performing generic functions.
Therefore, Claim 18 is not drawn to eligible subject matter as it is directed to abstract ideas without significantly more.
Response to 35 U.S.C. §103 Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of the claims have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments are moot in light of newly amended language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) further in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nalala teaches the limitations of Claim 1 which state
receiving by an artificial intelligence (AI) module a query to generate a plant status report (Nalala: Para 0019 via The custom query engine 112 further comprises a (ML/AI) algorithm for auto-generating custom queries and contextual information, as described in further detail below. The display 116 (i.e., visualization software application and/or an interactive bot) is configured to accept input data from a user 118 that is representative of system data that the user intends to access from a set of data tables, as described in further detail below);
determining by the AI module at least one plant parameter status information of at least one plant parameter of interest based on the query, wherein the plant parameter status information comprises operational information of the plant parameter of interest (Nalala: Para 0019, 0024 via The memory 108 is configured to store one more processor executable instructions 110, the processor-executable instructions further including a machine learning/artificial intelligence (ML/AI) custom query engine 112. The custom query engine 112 further comprises a (ML/AI) algorithm for auto-generating custom queries and contextual information, as described in further detail below. The display 116 (i.e., visualization software application and/or an interactive bot) is configured to accept input data from a user 118 that is representative of system data that the user intends to access from a set of data tables, as described in further detail below…The sources 104 are in communication with database 102, and are configured to transmit the system data to the database. In various embodiments of the current invention, the industrial parameters measured by sources 104 could comprise one or more of the following industrial automation control system data: key performance indicator templates, alarms, input/output, local variables, tag names, disabled points, hardware, library code, memory allocations, user privileges, audit management, timers, temperatures, molding parameters, work-in-process, inventory, backlog, through-put, cycle times, material properties, safety data, quality assurance, tracking data, customer data, or asset information, among other things…The situations in which the custom query engine with contextual analytics can be effective include, but are not limited to: 1) for weekly report on “Alarm floods>20 alarm rate in 10 minutes”, 2) weekly reports for “Most Frequent Alarms with Threshold Limit Alarm 50 Count”, 3) percentage contribution of top ten most frequent alarms to the overall alarm load, 4) priority information to give low priority alarms KPI, 5) update Master Alarm Database (MADB) for each control system block or compound, 6) comparison of the MADB set points limits against the block ranges, 7) for monthly “alarms per week period, with threshold limit 50”, or 8) for a controller modes report along with the tag details for <7 days and >7 days); and
generating the plant status report including the determined plant parameter status information (Nalala: Para 0024 via The situations in which the custom query engine with contextual analytics can be effective include, but are not limited to: 1) for weekly report on “Alarm floods>20 alarm rate in 10 minutes”, 2) weekly reports for “Most Frequent Alarms with Threshold Limit Alarm 50 Count”, 3) percentage contribution of top ten most frequent alarms to the overall alarm load, 4) priority information to give low priority alarms KPI, 5) update Master Alarm Database (MADB) for each control system block or compound, 6) comparison of the MADB set points limits against the block ranges, 7) for monthly “alarms per week period, with threshold limit 50”, or 8) for a controller modes report along with the tag details for <7 days and >7 days);
collecting status information for the selected one or more relevant plant parameters of interest from sensor-acquired current status information or sensor-acquired past status information (Nalala: Para 0019-0021 via the use of plant-data tables that are populated by sensor/measurement sources. Queries are then used to retrieve selected data).
However, Nalala does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 1 which state wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, by an intent identifying module of the Al module, an intent of the query; providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module.
Bailey though, with the teachings of Nalala, teaches of
wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, by an intent identifying module of the Al module, an intent of the query (Bailey: Para 0061-0062 via The (NLU) engine 1134 can interpret the spoken utterance (e.g., “could you provide some latest music?”) provided to the local interactive chatbot 113, to derive an intent (e.g., “play music” being the intent) of the user or a desired action by the user, as well as other relevant information. As a non-limiting example, the (NLU) engine 1134 can perform, using one or more NLU models and/or one or more grammar-based rules, natural language understanding on the textual representation (e.g., “where is Kentucky Derby for the year 2023”) recognized from the spoken utterance generated by the ASR engine 1131D, to generate a NLU output, i.e., one or more NLU hypotheses…the aforementioned one or more NLU models can be a long short-term memory (LSTM), a gated recurrent unit (GRU), or any other type of ML models capable of performing NLU. It's noted that the (NLU) engine 1134 may process any suitable textual representation, regardless of whether the textual representation is generated by the ASR engine 1131D or received via a keyboard, touch screen, or a search engine);
providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module (Bailey: Para 0046-0050, 0055, 0081-0082 via a trained LLM that receives selected sensor data to input into the LLM).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala with the teachings of Bailey in order to have wherein determining the at least one plant parameter status information comprises: extracting, by an intent identifying module of the Al module, an intent of the query; providing the collected status information as a context input to a pre-trained multimodal large language model (LLM) of the Al module. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of utilizing sensor information to supply to a trained LLM. Furthermore, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Furthermore, Nalala does not explicitly disclose the limitation of Claim 1 which states selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent.
Cohn though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey, teaches of
selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent (Cohn: Para 0049-0054, 0060 via sensor relevance which is associated with intents and concepts that are extracted. Irrelevant sensor classes are excluded and use of threshold limit selection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey with the teachings of Cohn in order to have selecting, based on the extracted intent, one or more relevant plant parameters of interest for a plant component or plant operation while disregarding one or more other plant parameters not relevant to the extracted intent. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of processing search queries using data from sensors and explicit data expulsion. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Furthermore, Nalala does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 1 which states generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report.
Linder though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn, teaches of
generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and
processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report (Linder: Para 0093-0098 via using the first-model summarization to feed the second-model analysis and outputs can include visual summaries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn with the teachings of Linder in order to have generating, by the LLM, an LLM output based on the context input; and processing, by a generative Al model of the Al module, the LLM output to generate the plant status report. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of the use of generative artificial intelligence (AI) to manage and control manufacturing processes. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 2 which state
wherein the query is generated by a user via a user interface that is adapted to receive user input (Nalala: Para 0020-0021 via the custom query engine receives input data representative of the system data that the user intends to access at display 116 in order to generate a custom query. The user input would be trained or retrained on the custom query engine based on the contextual information (e.g., analytics) to, for example, make the custom query engine more generalized. The custom query engine 112, using the training dataset, parses the input data for one or more keywords and identifies one or more tables associated with the keywords… The method then comprises receiving, from user 118, input data representative of the system data that the user intends to access in the data tables for generating a custom query…).
Regarding Claim 3, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 3 which state
further comprising sending the query from the user interface to the Al module; and after generating the plant status report, sending the generated plant status report to the user (Nalala: Para 0020-0021 via the custom query engine receives input data representative of the system data that the user intends to access at display 116 in order to generate a custom query. The user input would be trained or retrained on the custom query engine based on the contextual information (e.g., analytics) to, for example, make the custom query engine more generalized. The custom query engine 112, using the training dataset, parses the input data for one or more keywords and identifies one or more tables associated with the keywords… The method then comprises receiving, from user 118, input data representative of the system data that the user intends to access in the data tables for generating a custom query…Next, the method comprises outputting an output of best fit multiple custom queries executed, the output retrieving selected system data from the one or more data tables in response to the custom queries. Next, the method comprises generating a visualization, the visualization displaying information representative of the results of the executed custom query).
Regarding Claim 6, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 6 which state
wherein the plant status report comprises at least one of text information, image information, video information, audio information, statistical information, numerical values, tables, visualizations and/or figures (Nalala: Para 0021 via Next, the method comprises outputting an output of best fit multiple custom queries executed, the output retrieving selected system data from the one or more data tables in response to the custom queries. Next, the method comprises generating a visualization, the visualization displaying information representative of the results of the executed custom query).
Regarding Claim 8, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 8 which state
wherein the at least one plant parameter status information includes past status information comprising data of the at least one plant parameter of interest acquired at a past time instance or range (Nalala: Para 0019 via The sources 104 could be comprised of sensors, field equipment, or other system parameter measurement devices. The sources 104 can further include system configurations, engineering parameters, assets/inventory data, and historical or other relevant data from the entire control system employed in an industry or plant).
Regarding Claim 9, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 9 which state
wherein one or more of the data of the current status information or the past status information is detected by sensors adapted to acquire operational information of the at least one plant parameter of interest (Nalala: Para 0019 via The sources 104 could be comprised of sensors, field equipment, or other system parameter measurement devices. The sources 104 can further include system configurations, engineering parameters, assets/inventory data, and historical or other relevant data from the entire control system employed in an industry or plant).
Regarding Claim 10, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 10 which state
wherein the plant parameter status information includes or is based on information of historical documents (Nalala: Para 0019 via The sources 104 could be comprised of sensors, field equipment, or other system parameter measurement devices. The sources 104 can further include system configurations, engineering parameters, assets/inventory data, and historical or other relevant data from the entire control system employed in an industry or plant).
Regarding Claim 14, Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 14 which state
wherein the AI module comprises at least one of an intent identifying module adapted to identify an intent of the query, a large language model (LLM) module adapted to create an LLM output based on current, past or forecasted status information of the plant parameter of interest, and a generative Al module adapted to generate the plant status report (Nalala: Para 0019-0020 via The memory 108 is configured to store one more processor executable instructions 110, the processor-executable instructions further including a machine learning/artificial intelligence (ML/AI) custom query engine 112. The custom query engine 112 further comprises a (ML/AI) algorithm for auto-generating custom queries and contextual information, as described in further detail below. The display 116 (i.e., visualization software application and/or an interactive bot) is configured to accept input data from a user 118 that is representative of system data that the user intends to access from a set of data tables, as described in further detail below. The processor 106 is in communication with the display 116, the memory 108, and the database 102 in order to facilitate communication between the various components. In addition, the processor 106 is configured to execute custom query engine 112 such that the custom query engine performs specific operations… The user input would be trained or retrained on the custom query engine based on the contextual information (e.g., analytics) to, for example, make the custom query engine more generalized. The custom query engine 112, using the training dataset, parses the input data for one or more keywords and identifies one or more tables associated with the keywords).
Regarding Claim 15, it is analogous to Claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons (Nalala: Para 0029).
Regarding Claim 16, it is analogous in nature to Claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 17, it is analogous in nature to Claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 18, it is analogous to Claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons (Nalala: Para 0029).
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1) further in view of Narayan et al. (US 20250078007 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitation of Claim 4 which states further comprising determining control instructions for controlling one or more plant components based on the determined plant parameter status information.
Narayan though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder, teaches of
further comprising determining control instructions for controlling one or more plant components based on the determined plant parameter status information (Narayan: Para 0023 via The controller 18 is configured to train a KPI forecast model for each of the KPIs 22, 24 that are identified by the plurality of tags, wherein each of the KPI forecast models is trained based at least in part on the received historical values for at least some of the KPIs 22, 24 that are identified by the plurality of tags. Each of the KPI forecast models may be an Artificial Intelligence (AI) based model. In some cases, one or more of the KPI forecast models may be trained continuously using updated current and historical values for at least some of the KPIs 22, 24, and thus may continuously learn and track the characteristics of the industrial process. In other cases, one or more of the KPI forecast models may be trained during a training phase, and then the trained model is released for use during an operational phase. In either case, the controller 18 may be configured to generate a forecasted KPI value for each of the KPIs 22, 24 identified by the plurality of tags based at least in part on the corresponding KPI forecast model that corresponds to the respective KPI 22, 24. In some instances, the controller 18 may be configured to automatically adjust one or more parameters of the industrial process 12 based at least in part on one or more of the forecasted KPI values).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder with the teachings of Narayan in order to have further comprising determining control instructions for controlling one or more plant components based on the determined plant parameter status information. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of predicting KPI values, plant states and controlling processes in an industrial process as taught by Narayan. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 11, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitation of Claim 11 which states wherein the plant parameter status information includes information about at least one of a plant component, a key performance indicator (KPI) of the plant component and/or a process variable (29).
Narayan though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder, teaches of
wherein the plant parameter status information includes information about at least one of a plant component, a key performance indicator (KPI) of the plant component and/or a process variable (29) (Narayan: Para 0023 via The controller 18 is configured to receive via the I/O port 14 a plurality of tags that each identify a corresponding KPI 22, 24 of the industrial process 12. In some cases, the plurality of tags only tag certain KPIs of the industrial process 12 that are deemed critical to the operation and control of the industrial process 12. The controller 18 is configured to receive via the I/O port 14 historical values for the KPIs 22, 24 that are identified by the plurality of tags. The controller 18 is configured to train a KPI forecast model for each of the KPIs 22, 24 that are identified by the plurality of tags, wherein each of the KPI forecast models is trained based at least in part on the received historical values for at least some of the KPIs 22, 24 that are identified by the plurality of tags. Each of the KPI forecast models may be an Artificial Intelligence (AI) based model. In some cases, one or more of the KPI forecast models may be trained continuously using updated current and historical values for at least some of the KPIs 22, 24, and thus may continuously learn and track the characteristics of the industrial process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder with the teachings of Narayan in order to have wherein the plant parameter status information includes information about at least one of a plant component, a key performance indicator (KPI) of the plant component and/or a process variable (29). The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of predicting KPI values, plant states and controlling processes in an industrial process as taught by Narayan. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1) in view of Narayan et al. (US 20250078007 A1) further in view of Bhat (US 2022/0066425 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder/Narayan teaches the limitations of Claim 4, it does not explicitly disclose the limitation of Claim 5 which states generating the plant status report including the determined control instructions.
Bhat though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder/Narayan, teaches of
generating the plant status report including the determined control instructions (Bhat: Para 0017, 0032 via FIG. 1 shows a simplified diagram of a control room (100) in a process plant, in an embodiment an industrial plant or a power plant can be considered in place of the process plant. The foregoing disclosure is described with respect to the process plant. However, it should not be construed as a limitation. A person of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that aspects which are applicable to the industrial plant or power plant falls within the scope of this invention. The process plant can comprise a plurality of control rooms. The present disclosure is described with reference to one control room (100). The control room (100) comprises a plurality of display units (102A . . . 102N) to monitor plant parameters related to at least one process in the process plant. The display units (102A . . . 102N) can also display parameters related to a plurality of equipment in the process plant. For example, the display units (102A . . . 102N) can display a condition of the plurality of equipment. The control room (100) further comprises one or more imaging units (101A . . . 101N) for monitoring the control room (100), such as the display units (102A . . . 102N) and one or more control room operators (103). The one or more control room operators (103) can be experienced operators. The one or more control room operators (103) perform one or more control operations to control the at least one process. For example, the one or more control room operators (103) provide key inputs to maintain temperature of an ongoing process… Referring to FIG. 4, an example is provided to illustrate the working of the invention. As seen in FIG. 4, the display unit (102B) indicates a temperature warning in a process. The temperature warning could occur due to various reasons. The plurality of process parameters associated with the process are displayed on the display units (102A . . . 102N). Upon noticing the temperature warning, the control room operator may take various measures to contain the warning. For example, the control room operator may observe a first set of parameters in the display unit (102A) and vary a second set of parameters in the display unit (102N). The one or more imaging units (101) are configured to capture images/video of the control room operator as the operator performs the control operations to control the process).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder/Narayan with the teachings of Bhat, in order to have generating the plant status report including the determined control instructions. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of controlling processes in a process plant as taught by Bhat. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1) further in view of Bhat (US 2022/0066425 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 7 which state wherein the plant parameter status information includes current status information comprising data of the plant parameter of interest acquired at a current time instance.
Bhat though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder, teaches of
wherein the plant parameter status information includes current status information comprising data of the plant parameter of interest acquired at a current time instance (Bhat: Para 0028 via the availability is determined further based on one or more sensory parameters of the one or more control room operators (103). For example, if the one or more control room operators (103) are involved in controlling the at least one process, the computing unit (202) determines that the one or more control room operators (103) are unavailable. Further, the computing unit (202) obtains a status associated with the at least one process from the database (204) or can obtain the status in real-time using sensors (not shown) of the DCS (200)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder with the teachings of Bhat in order to have wherein the plant parameter status information includes current status information comprising data of the plant parameter of interest acquired at a current time instance. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of controlling processes in a process plant and obtaining status information as taught by Bhat. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1) further in view of Entzminger et al. (US 2021/0080941 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitation of Claim 12 which states further comprising determining by the AI module a forecast information about a forecasted future state of the plant parameter of interest based on the operational information of the plant parameter of interest, and generating the plant status report including the forecast information.
Entzminger though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder, teaches of
further comprising determining by the AI module a forecast information about a forecasted future state of the plant parameter of interest based on the operational information of the plant parameter of interest, and generating the plant status report including the forecast information (Entzminger: Para 0035-0036 via This bidirectional communication that may exist between the PLC and the models enables dynamic updates to component performance curve models, allowing for the machine learning aspects of the predictive and preventative models to make adjustments to the performance curves empirically and compensate for changes or declines in performance of various components over time. These adjustments to the performance curves and corresponding updates to the physical models of various industrial assets enables the machine learning models to be dynamically retrained over time to allow for new or changed behavior of the assets to be accounted for in the predictive analysis and preventative action recommendations. Additionally, the continual adjustments to the models to compensate for changes in performance of the various industrial assets over time may allow for the confidence level in the maintenance event predictions generated by the predictive and preventative models to be increased, since these determinations would be based on more accurate representations of the underlying assets. In some implementations, the maintenance event predictions may be presented along with their associated confidence levels to better enable a user to make a decision as to whether or not to take preventative action… FIG. 3 is a block diagram that illustrates an exemplary graphical display of computing system 300 in an exemplary implementation. Computing system 300 provides an example of computing system 101 of FIG. 1, although computing system 101 could use alternative configurations. In this example, computing system 300 includes display system 301 which provides a graphical user interface for an industrial automation application, which could comprise human-machine interface (HMI) software in some implementations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder with the teachings of Entzminger in order to have further comprising determining by the AI module a forecast information about a forecasted future state of the plant parameter of interest based on the operational information of the plant parameter of interest, and generating the plant status report including the forecast information. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of predictive maintenance for industrial assets in an industrial automation environment as taught by Entzminger. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nalala Pochaiah (US 2023/0169071 A1) in view of Bailey (US 2024/0205174 A1) in view of Cohn et al. (US 2018/0052925 A1) in view of Linder et al. (US 2026/0037566 A1) further in view of Qian et al. (US 2022/0058589 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, while Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder teaches the limitations of Claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose the limitations of Claim 13 which state wherein the plant status report comprises a shift handover report comprising information for a handover from a first shift of plant operators to a second shift of plant operators, wherein the shift handover report includes a summary of one or more plant parameters of interest for the second shift of plant operators.
Qian though, with the teachings of Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder, teaches of
wherein the plant status report comprises a shift handover report comprising information for a handover from a first shift of plant operators to a second shift of plant operators, wherein the shift handover report includes a summary of one or more plant parameters of interest for the second shift of plant operators (Qian: Para 0061, 0065 via System environment 900 includes a plant server platform 902 configured to interface with one or more operator devices/operator consoles 904a, 904b for receiving operator shift reports from outgoing and/or incoming shift operators 906a, 906b and for enabling editing/viewing/consolidating of such operator shift reports (for example in the form of work shift handover reports) by a shift supervisor or other incoming/outgoing shift operators 906a/906b. The plant server platform 902 may be configured to generate one or more work shift handover report(s) 908 based on data (in the form of operator shift reports) recorded and submitted by operators from an outgoing/concluding shift. The generated work shift handover report(s) 908 is generated based on selection of specific data records/data logs from one or more operator shift reports, supervisor logs and/or database records, and may be viewed by operators within one or more subsequent shifts for the purposes of executing shift related tasks…Step 1002 comprises receiving a plurality of operator shift reports. The plurality of operator shift reports may be received from one or more operator devices, client devices, or remote devices from which shift operators input or submit their individual operator shift reports. One or more of the received operator shift reports may include any of text based, image based, video based or audio based logs or notes or readings, or data records generated by an individual shift operator. In an embodiment, the plurality of operator shift reports may be stored in a central repository and receiving them at step 1002 may comprise receiving them from the central repository. In a particular embodiment, the plurality of operator shift reports are received at operations management server 9022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nalala/Bailey/Cohn/Linder with the teachings of Qian in order to have wherein the plant status report comprises a shift handover report comprising information for a handover from a first shift of plant operators to a second shift of plant operators, wherein the shift handover report includes a summary of one or more plant parameters of interest for the second shift of plant operators. The motivations behind this being to incorporate the teachings of management of work shift handover reports within industrial plants. Furthermore, in addition to being in the same CPC class, the teachings, suggestions, and motivations in this prior art would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3625
/BETH V BOSWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3625