Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends:
Examiner respectfully disagrees and cited on page 5 of the Office Action. Kim-2 expressly states, “[0016] Activation times of the first gate line through the (m+n−1)-th gate line can be varied depending on loads of the gate lines.”
Kim2 goes on to state: “[0156] With respect to the gate lines Gn+1˜Gm+n−1 of the third group GRC, as described with reference to FIGS. 3 and 7A, the loads of the gate lines are further increased because the vertical gate lines are added to connect the diagonal gate lined to the gate driver. The number of the pixel units connected commonly to one gate line can be decreased gradually as the number of the gate line is increased with respect to the gate lines Gn+1˜Gm+n−1 of the third group. The load of the gate line is decreased gradually and thus the charging time is required to be decreased gradually. As illustrated in FIG. 18B, the charging time is limited to a minimum time Tmin according to the data rate of the data driver.”
Examiner believes it takes more gate lines to connect but less loads. For example a 2x3 pixel layout requires 4 gate lines when the gate lines are laid out diagonally vs. 2 gate lines when laid horizontally.
VS
Applicant further states:
Kim-1 teaches an organic light emitting display includes an image display unit having a plurality of pixels, and first and second pixel power lines that receive pixel-driving voltages from first and second power supplies, respectively. The second pixel power lines are interleaved with the first pixel power lines. Adjacent pixels of the same color from among the plurality of pixels provided in the image display unit are coupled to pixel power lines corresponding to different power supplies. This is to solve or mitigate the problem of non-uniform brightness of the entire image display unit due to voltage drops in the pixel power lines.
Kim-2 as noted above [016, 156] runs the gate lines diagonally to decrease the loads. Examiner agrees with Applicant more gate lines will increase the length of some of the gate lines and certainly increase the length over all, but there will be less pixels on each gate line. Kim-2 does discuss a narrow bezel because of the single sided driving method [0048]. Examiner believes this to mean the data and gate drivers are placed on one side but this alone does not necessitate diagonal gate lines as the gate lines could have been run down and horizontal like more typical layouts.
Examiner does not believe multiple power line to address voltage drop and diagonal gate lines to reduce load on the gate lines are mutually exclusive and would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to combine for their respective advantages.
Applicant further contends:
As noted above, Examiner understand the diagonal gate lines, in Kim-2, to help reduce the load [16, 156] Kim-2. Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Examiner points out that Kim-2 is classified in CPC G09G 3/30 and the patent of Kim-1 is classified G09G 3/32, which is a sub-class of G09G3/30. Examiner believes the common grouping points to what would have been available to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2011/0128268) in view of Kim et al (2016/0217729) hereinafter, Kim2
In regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a light emitting device comprising (abstract):
An organic light emitting display includes an image display unit having a plurality of pixels, and first and second pixel power lines that receive pixel-driving voltages from first and second power supplies, respectively. The second pixel power lines are interleaved with the first pixel power lines. Adjacent pixels of the same color from among the plurality of pixels provided in the image display unit are coupled to pixel power lines corresponding to different power supplies. This is to solve or mitigate the problem of non-uniform brightness of the entire image display unit due to voltage drops in the pixel power lines.
a plurality of pixel circuits each including a light emitting element configured to emit light with a brightness corresponding to a pixel signal (fig. 2 and fig. 3 pixels));
a driving circuit configured to select, from the plurality of pixel circuits, a pixel circuit to write the pixel signal (fig. 2 (300/200)); and
a plurality of power supply lines configured to supply power supply voltages to the plurality of pixel circuits (fig. 2 (Vdds)), wherein
the plurality of power supply lines include a power supply line extending in a first direction in a portion overlapping a part of the plurality of pixel circuits (fig. 2 vertical)),
Kim fails to teach a number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at a first timing from two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along the first direction is not more than two, and
However, Kim2 teaches wherein a number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at a first timing from two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along the first direction is not more than two, and (fig. 1 s100-s400))(fig. 3 (diagonal gate lines)(fig. 9 sequential scanning)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim’s voltage drop prevention means, to further include a number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at a first timing from two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along the first direction is not more than two, as taught by Kim2, in order to vary loads on gate lines [0016]
Therefore, Kim in view of Kim2 teaches a wherein number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at a second timing from two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along a second direction orthogonal to the first direction is not more than two (fig. 3, diagonal pixels with sequential scanning one would provide for example in fig. 3 P11 and next P21/P12, next Pm../P22/P13) Kim2.
In regards to claim 2, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of power supply lines further include a power supply line extending in the second direction in a portion overlapping a part of the plurality of pixel circuits (fig. 2 VDD1 and VDD2 extending in vertical and horizontal directions) Kim.
In regards to claim 3, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches device according to claim 1, wherein the number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at the first timing from the two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along the first direction is not more than one, and the number of pixel circuits to be selected by the driving circuit at the second timing from the two or more pixel circuits, of the plurality of pixel circuits, arranged along the second direction is not more than one. (fig. 3, diagonal pixels with sequential scanning one would provide for example in fig. 3 P11 and next P21/P12, next Pm../P22/P13) Kim2.
In regards to claim 4, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches device according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of scanning lines configured to supply selection signals to the plurality of pixel circuits from the driving circuit, wherein at least one of the plurality of scanning lines includes a portion obliquely intersecting both the first direction and the second direction (fig. 3 G2 intersecting horizontal and vertical direction) Kim2.
In regards to claim 6, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged in rows and columns, and each of the rows is parallel to the first direction or each of the columns is parallel to the first direction (fig. 2 rows and columns in Kim ).
In regards to claim 7, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel circuits are arranged in rows and columns, and each of the rows and each of the columns obliquely intersect the first direction (fig. 2 rows and columns in Kim and (fig. 3 G2 intersecting horizontal and vertical direction) Kim2 ).
In regards to claim 8, Kim in view of Kim2, teaches display device comprising a light emitting device according to claim 1, and an active element connected to the light emitting device [0056] OLED Kim.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2011/0128268) in view of Kim et al (2016/0217729) hereinafter, Kim2 further in view of Wang (2018/0151140) hereinafter, Wang.
In regards to claim 5, Kim and Kim2 fail to teach the device according to claim 4, wherein the driving circuit supplies a selection signal with a higher driving force to a longer scanning line.
However, Wang teaches wherein the driving circuit supplies a selection signal with a higher driving force to a longer scanning line.(fig. 4 (line 1 and T_(N/2))).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim and Kim2 to further include wherein the driving circuit supplies a selection signal with a higher driving force to a longer scanning line as taught by Wang in order to optimize the overall quality performance (abstract)
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (2011/0128268) in view of Kim et al (2016/0217729) hereinafter, Kim2 further in view of Yamazaki et al (2013/0320337) hereinafter, Yamazaki
In regards to claim 9, Kim and Kim2, fail to teach a photoelectric conversion device comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes a light emitting device according to claim 1.
However, Yamazaki teaches a photoelectric conversion device comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes a light emitting device according to claim 1.(fig. 6e 3053,3054, 3055, 3056, 3057) [0212, 226].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Yamazaki to further include a photoelectric conversion device comprising an optical unit including a plurality of lenses, an image sensor configured to receive light having passed through the optical unit, and a display unit configured to display an image, wherein the display unit displays an image captured by the image sensor, and includes a light emitting device according to claim 1 as taught by Yamazaki in order to in order to combine elements that provide a display that is versatile, high-performance and reliable [0212-0214]
In regards to claim 10, Kim in view of Kim2, fails to teach an electronic apparatus comprising a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication, wherein the display unit includes a light emitting device according to claim 1.
However, Yamazaki an electronic apparatus comprising a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication, wherein the display unit includes a light emitting device according to claim 1.[0212].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Kim and Kim2 to further include an electronic apparatus comprising a housing provided with a display unit, and a communication unit provided in the housing and configured to perform external communication, wherein the display unit includes a light emitting device according to claim 1 as taught by Yamazaki in order to combine elements that provide a display that is versatile, high-performance and reliable [0212-0214]
In regards to claim 11, Kim and Kim2 in view of Yamazaki teaches, see rational of claim 10, an illumination device comprising a light source, and at least one of a light diffusing unit and an optical film, wherein the light source includes a light emitting device according to claim 1 [193] Yamazaki.
In regards to claim 12, Kim and Kim2 in view of Yamazaki teaches see rational of claim 10, moving body comprising a main body, and a lighting appliance provided in the main body, wherein the lighting appliance includes a light emitting device according to claim 1. [0212-0214] Yamazaki.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622