DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “14A” has been used to designate two different components in Figure 2.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “10A”, “10B” (paragraph 0032).
The drawings are also objected to because line “2-2” in Figure 1 is not a straight line. In addition, it is unclear why Figure 1 indicates the “UP” direction when Figure 1 is a plan/overhead view.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. Examiner suggests the changes below:
“an disclosure” be changed to --a disclosure-- (paragraph 0003);
“line 1-1 of FIG. 2” be changed to --line 2-2 of FIG. 1-- (paragraph 0021).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Honda (JPS6382880A; page numbers pointed out below correspond to the attached translation from the EPO website). Honda discloses a vehicle front body reinforcement structure (strength member #7) comprising a vehicle body reinforcement portion (strut body #8) that includes:
(claim 1) a front reinforcement portion (front lateral portion of strut body #8 connecting strut towers #3) that connects upper portions of respective suspension tower portions (#3) to each other in a vehicle width direction (figure 1);
a rear reinforcement portion (rear lateral portion of strut body #8 that connects to airbox #10) that extends in the vehicle width direction and is disposed along a cowl portion (#10) positioned behind the suspension tower portions (#3) in a vehicle front rear direction, the rear reinforcement portion being connected to the cowl portion (figure 1);
a pair of outer reinforcement portions (opposite sides of strut body #8) integrally provided with the front reinforcement portion (front lateral portion of strut body #8) and the rear reinforcement portion (rear lateral portion of strut body #8) and connecting the front reinforcement portion and the rear reinforcement portion, the outer reinforcement portions being disposed spaced apart from each other in the vehicle width direction (figure 1);
(claim 5) wherein a cooling module is supported by the vehicle body reinforcement portion (including outside air intake duct #9 in first embodiment, or outside air intake duct #19 or heat exchange core #34 in alternative embodiments).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JPS6382880A; page numbers pointed out below correspond to the attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Kuroita et al. (US 7854473 B2). Honda discloses the vehicle body reinforcement portion (strut body #8) is made of a highly rigid metal plate (page 3), but does not specifically disclose a pressed steel plate. Kuroita et al. teaches a vehicle body reinforcement portion (stiffener #6) connecting suspension tower portions (damper housings #3) to a cowl portion (upper dashboard #5; figure 1), wherein the vehicle body reinforcement portion is formed of a pressed steel plate (column 4, lines 20-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle front body reinforcement structure of Honda to include the vehicle body reinforcement portion is formed of a pressed steel plate, as taught by Kuroita et al., so as to enhance strength and rigidity of the vehicle front body structure (discussed throughout Kuroita et al.). In addition, the method of forming the device, in this case pressing, is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself, and carries little patentable weight. Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material, in this case steel, on the basis of its suitability as a matter of obvious design choice (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JPS6382880A; page numbers pointed out below correspond to the attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Seksaria et al. (US 6755461 B2). Honda discloses the vehicle body reinforcement portion (strut body #8) is made of metal (page 3), but does not specifically disclose a metal cast product. Seksaria et al. teaches a vehicle body reinforcement portion (cross member #210) connecting suspension tower portions (support members #206, 208; figures 8, 10, 11), wherein the vehicle body reinforcement portion is formed of a metal cast product (column 10, lines 8-24). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle front body reinforcement structure of Honda to include the vehicle body reinforcement portion is formed of a metal cast product, as taught by Seksaria et al., so as to enhance strength and rigidity of the vehicle front body structure (discussed throughout Seksaria et al.). In addition, the method of forming the device, in this case casting, is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself, and carries little patentable weight.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda (JPS6382880A; page numbers pointed out below correspond to the attached translation from the EPO website) in view of Takeda et al. (JP 2017071232 A; paragraph numbers pointed out below correspond to the attached translation from the EPO website). Honda does not disclose connection to a support member of a steering device. Takeda et al. teaches a support member (steering hanger #21 including beam #25, hanger brackets #30, 40) of a steering device (including steering column #27, steering wheel #28) is connected to a connection portion with a cowl portion (including dashboard upper #18, windshield lower support #19) in a cross member reinforcement portion (cross member #24; figures 1-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle front body reinforcement structure of Honda to include the claimed connection with a support member of a steering device, as taught by Takeda et al., so as to increase the support rigidity of the steering device at the front of the vehicle (discussed throughout Takeda et al., including paragraphs 0020, 0022).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses vehicle front body reinforcement structures. In particular:
Leanza et al. (US 8128160 B2) discloses a vehicle front body reinforcement structure comprising a vehicle body reinforcement portion that includes a front reinforcement portion that connects upper portions of respective suspension tower portions to each other in a vehicle width direction, a rear reinforcement portion that extends in the vehicle width direction and is disposed along a cowl portion positioned behind the suspension tower portions in a vehicle front rear direction, the rear reinforcement portion being connected to the cowl portion, and a pair of outer reinforcement portions integrally provided with the front reinforcement portion and the rear reinforcement portion and connecting the front reinforcement portion and the rear reinforcement portion, the outer reinforcement portions being disposed spaced apart from each other in the vehicle width direction.
Willi et al. (US 3188132 A), Kubogami (JP 07025360 A), Shimmell et al. (US 5411311 A), Aonuma et al. (JP 2007230490 A), Miyata et al. (US 7404596 B2), Sakai et al. (JP 2014019165 A), Hara (JP 2014031106 A), Cho et al. (US 9126633 B2), Briceno et al. (US 9260138 B1), Cho et al. (US 9290207 B2), Briceno et al. (US 9381949 B2), Nakauchi et al. (US 9446797 B2), Ciccone et al. (US 10144456 B1), Kamei et al. (US 10464608 B2), Nakauchi et al. (US 10486751 B2), Matsuoka et al. (US 10981603 B2), Kuroda et al. (US 11535302 B2), and Nishida et al. (US 11858555 B2) disclose a vehicle body reinforcement portion that connects upper portions of respective suspension tower portions to each other and is connected to a cowl portion.
Tamagawa et al. (JP 2010105585 A), Kong (US 11001303 B2), and Mitsuo et al. (US 11104387 B2) disclose steering support members.
Asai (US 7850228 B2) discloses a vehicle body reinforcement portion that connects upper portions of respective suspension tower portions to each other and supports a cooling module.
Taniguchi (JP 2018114839 A) discloses a support member of a steering device is connected to a connection portion with a cowl portion in a cross member reinforcement portion;
Ayukawa (US 10668951 B2) discloses suspension tower portions coupled to a radiator support.
/LAURA FREEDMAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3614