DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims are not rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 10838168, 11921352, 12228794. The claims therein are not patentably distinct from each other because the combination of conditions of f1/f3 and BFL/EFL are non-obvious modifications of the prior inventions.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 9952404. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Pat. 404 claims the limitations therein (Claims 6-9 and 13) and only remove limitations on the TL/(ImgH*2) condition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2014163983 to Hashimoto (hereinafter Hashimoto).
Regarding claim 1, Hashimoto discloses an optical system (EX2 of Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]) comprising: a first lens having negative refractive power (EX2 of L2, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]); a second lens having positive refractive power (EX2 of L3, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]); a third lens having refractive power (EX2 of L4, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]); a fourth lens having negative refractive power (EX2 of L5, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]); a fifth lens having positive refractive power (EX2 of L6, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]); and a sixth lens having refractive power (EX2 of L7, Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]), wherein the first to sixth lenses are sequentially disposed from an object side of the optical system, wherein the optical system has a total of six lenses, wherein 2.3 < f1/f3 < 2.6 is satisfied (f1 = -44.371mm, f3 = -19.34; f1/f3 = 2.3; Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]), where f1 is a focal length of the first lens, and f3 is a focal length of the third lens, and wherein BFL/EFL < 0.31 is satisfied (BFL = 19.5584mm, EFL = 69.213mm; BFL/EFL = 0.28; Fig. 3; [0075],[0084]), where BFL is a distance from an image-side surface of the sixth lens to an image plane of an image sensor, and EFL is an entire focal length of the optical system.
Regarding claim 8, Hashimoto discloses the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L2 of Fig. 3; [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Hashimoto discloses the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L3 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Hashimoto discloses the second lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L3 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Hashimoto discloses the fourth lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L5 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Hashimoto discloses the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (L6 of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Hashimoto discloses the fifth lens has a convex image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (S12 of L6 of Fig. 3; [0084]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 12-13, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination with other references, neither teaches nor suggests:
wherein TTL/(ImgH*2) s 0.75 is satisfied, where TTL is a distance from an object-side surface of the first lens to the image plane, and ImgH is half of a diagonal length of the image plane. (Claim 2)
wherein TTL/(ImgH*2) s 0.68 is satisfied. (Claim 3)
wherein -5 < f1/EFL < -4.6 is satisfied. (Claim 4)
wherein 0.95 < ER1/ER6 < 1.05 is satisfied, where ER1 is an effective radius of an object-side surface of the first lens, and ER6 is an effective radius of an image-side surface of the third lens. (Claim 5)
wherein 79 degrees < FOV < 83 degrees is satisfied, where FOV is a field of view of the optical system. (Claim 6)
wherein |r4/r3| > 20 is satisfied, where r3 is a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens, and r4 is a radius of curvature of an image- side surface of the second lens. (Claim 7)
wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. (Claim 9)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. (Claim 12)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. (Caim 13)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. (Claim 17)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein the sixth lens comprises at least one inflection point on at least one of an object-side surface or an image-side surface thereof. (Claim 18)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein a gap between the first and second lenses and a gap between the second and third lenses in a paraxial region are each narrower than all gaps between lenses, among the third to sixth lenses, in the paraxial region. (Claim 19)
The optical system of claim 1, wherein a sum of a gap between the first and second lenses in a paraxial region and a gap between the second and third lenses in the paraxial region is less than a gap between lenses, among the third to sixth lenses, in the paraxial region. (Claim 20)
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER STANFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872