DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ response filed 10/23/2025 amended claim 1, cancelled claim 2, and added new claims 11-12. Applicants’ amendments overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections from the office action mailed 7/23/2025; therefore, these rejections are withdrawn. Applicants’ amendments in light of their arguments are persuasive in overcoming the 35 USC 102 rejection over Bryer from the office action mailed 7/23/2025; therefore, this rejection is withdrawn. Neither applicants’ amendments nor arguments addressed below overcome the 35 USC 102/103 rejection over Kaneko from the office action mailed 7/23/2025; therefore, these rejections are maintained below. Also, applicants have not addressed the double patenting rejection from the office action mailed 7/23/2025; therefore, this rejection is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kaneko, International Publication No. WO/2018/097173 (hereinafter referred to as Kaneko – for citation purposes USPG-PUB No. 2019/0241827 is being used).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5-6, 8 and 10, Kaneko discloses lubricating compositions for refrigeration machine oils having a compressor, a condenser, an expansion mechanism, and an evaporator (as recited in claim 1) (see Title and Para. [0120]) comprising mineral oil (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claim 2) and 2 wt% of a polymer, such as, a polymethacrylate (PMA) having a Mw of 26,000 and a Mn of 17,000 (as recited in claim 1 and reads on claims 5-6 and 8) (Para. [0141] and see Table 1/Example 1), and a refrigerant (as recited in claim 10) (Para. [0106]).
Kaneko discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the polymer additive having a carbon residue of 0.2% by mass or more, and the refrigerating machine oil has a carbon residue of 10% residual oil of 0.05 to 0.6 % by mass as recited in claim 1.
It is the position of the examiner that as Kaneko discloses a refrigerating machine oil composition that is very similar to that recited in the instant claims and defined in the instant specification that the composition of Kaneko would encompass or at least overlap the carbon residue ranges for the polymer additive compound and the refrigerating machine oil composition as a whole as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claims 3-4, 7, 9 and 11-12, the same analysis as discussed above applies.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,712. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The '712 patent discloses the same limitations as does the instant claims and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. These are the same reaction components recited in the instant claims. In re Vogel, 422 F. 2d 438, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicants’ arguments filed 10/23/2025 regarding claims 1 and 3-12 have been fully considered and are not persuasive in regards to the Kaneko reference.
Applicants argue that Kaneko does not disclose reducing a friction coefficient in a mixed lubrication region or a boundary lubrication region as recited in instant claim 11. This argument is not persuasive as Kaneko discloses all the limitations of instant claim 11 and would therefore inherently function to reduce a friction coefficient in a mixed lubrication region or a boundary lubrication region.
Applicants also argue that Kaneko does not disclose the refrigerating machine oil having a KV40 ranging from 1 to 4 mm2/s, nor the Va/Vb ranging from 1.01 to 1.2 as recited in the instant claim 1. This argument is also not persuasive. Throughout Kaneko a low viscosity is mentioned. Specifically, Table 2 includes Examples 10-11 wherein the KV40 is above 1 and less than 4 mm2 for the refrigerating machine oil composition. These examples also can use Polymer 1 (see Table 1) which would to a Va/Vb encompassing or at least overlapping the range recited in the instant claims.
Conclusion
10. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771