DETAILED ACTION
Amendment received 12 June 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goldman-Shenhar (US Pub. No. 2022/0250506).
As per Claim 1, Goldman-Shenhar discloses a battery temperature adjustment system (20) configured to adjust a temperature of an electricity storage device (62) mounted on a vehicle (12) (Fig. 1; ¶27), the battery temperature adjustment system (20) comprising:
a heat exchanger (66) configured to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) (Fig. 1; ¶27, 30, 51-52); and
a processor (24, 36, 64) configured to control the heat exchanger (66) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 32, 35, 39, 51-53), wherein:
a setting mode (as per 211, 213) of the heat exchanger (66) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55) includes
a first mode (as per 213) that is a setting in which, triggered (as per “automated invocation of battery pack preconditioning” in ¶55) by including a facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) where the electricity storage device (62) is chargeable in a traveling route (as per “route information” in ¶55) of the vehicle (12), the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) is adjusted to be in a first temperature range adequate for charging (as per “preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature” in ¶30) the electricity storage device (62) when the vehicle (12) arrives at the facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55), and
a second mode (as per 211) that is a setting in which the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) is adjusted to be in a second temperature range (as per “the predetermined temperature range” directed to discharge in ¶50, 51) when a predetermined operation (as per “a user may manual request, at a manual settings module, battery thermal preconditioning” in ¶56) of a user of the vehicle (12) is received to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) to be in the second temperature range (TMS 66 regulates battery temperature within “the predetermined temperature range” when the battery discharges as per ¶50-51 in accordance with discharge events as per the thermal preconditioning schedule as per the manual setting module 211) adequate for {charging} or traveling (as per “discharge” in ¶50-51) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55); and
the processor (24, 36, 62) is configured to:
control the heat exchanger (66) to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) in accordance with the setting mode (as per 211, 213) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55), and
prioritize (as per “other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211” in ¶58) the first mode (as per 213) when the setting mode (as per 211, 213) is the second mode (as per 211) and the traveling route (as per “route information” in ¶55) includes the facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55, 58).
As per Claim 2, Goldman-Shenhar further discloses wherein the processor (24, 36, 64) is configured to prioritize (as per “Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 … in favor of the manual setting module 211” in ¶58) the second mode (as per 211) in a case where the predetermined operation (as per “a user may manual request, at a manual settings module, battery thermal preconditioning” in ¶56) is received when the setting mode (as per 211, 213) is the first mode (as per 213) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55, 58).
As per Claim 3, Goldman-Shenhar further discloses wherein the processor (24, 36, 64) is configured to reject (as per “other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211” in ¶58) the predetermined operation (as per “a user may manual request, at a manual settings module, battery thermal preconditioning” in ¶56) and maintain the first mode (as per 213) when the predetermined operation (as per “a user may manual request, at a manual settings module, battery thermal preconditioning” in ¶56) is received in a case where the setting mode (as per 211, 213) is the first mode (as per 213) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55, 58).
As per Claim 5, Goldman-Shenhar disclose a battery temperature adjustment method (200) for a battery temperature adjustment system (20) that is configured to adjust a temperature of an electricity storage device (62) mounted on a vehicle (12), the battery temperature adjustment system (20) including a heat exchanger (66) and a processor (24, 36, 64) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 32, 35, 39, 51-53), the battery temperature adjustment method (200) comprising:
controlling, by the processor (24, 36, 64), the heat exchanger (66) to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) according to a setting mode (as per 211, 213) of the heat exchanger (66) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55); and
prioritizing (as per “other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211” in ¶58), by the processor (24, 36, 64), a first mode (as per 213) in a case where a traveling route (as per “route information” in ¶55) includes a facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) when the setting mode (as per 211, 213) is a second mode (as per 211) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55, 58), wherein:
the heat exchanger (66) is configured to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) (Fig. 1; ¶27, 30, 51-52);
the processor (24, 36, 64) is configured to control the heat exchanger (66) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 32, 35, 39, 51-53);
the setting mode (as per 211, 213) includes the first mode (as per 213) and the second mode (as per 211) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55);
the first mode (as per 213) is a mode that is a setting in which, triggered (as per “automated invocation of battery pack preconditioning” in ¶55) by including the facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) where the electricity storage device (62) is chargeable in the traveling route (as per “route information” in ¶55) of the vehicle (12), a temperature of the electricity storage device (62) is adjusted to be in a first temperature range adequate for charging (as per “preconditioned to a predetermined target temperature” in ¶30) the electricity storage device (62) when the vehicle (12) arrives at the facility (as per “charging station” in ¶55) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55); and
the second mode (as per 211) is a mode that is a setting in which the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) is adjusted to be in a second temperature range (as per “the predetermined temperature range” directed to discharge in ¶50, 51) when a predetermined operation (as per “a user may manual request, at a manual settings module, battery thermal preconditioning” in ¶56) of a user of the vehicle (12) is received to adjust the temperature of the electricity storage device (62) to be in the second temperature range (TMS 66 regulates battery temperature within “the predetermined temperature range” when the battery discharges as per ¶50-51 in accordance with discharge events as per the thermal preconditioning schedule as per the manual setting module 211) adequate for {charging} or traveling (as per “discharge” in ¶50-51) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldman-Shenhar (US Pub. No. 2022/0250506) in view of Ochocinski (US Pub. No. 2017/0320373).
As per Claim 4, Goldman-Shenhar discloses all limitations of Claim 1. Goldman-Shenhar further discloses a display (50) configured to display the setting mode (as per “user settings may be provided via … visual display 50” in ¶54, 55; as per “Such information may be provided, for example, via … visual display 50” in ¶60) of the heat exchanger (66) (Figs. 1-2; ¶27, 30, 51-55, 60).
Goldman-Shenhar does not expressly disclose wherein the display is configured to
include a common element in a display in the first mode and the second mode, and
add a specific element to the common element being one of the first mode and the second mode; and the processor is configured to
control the display to display the common element when the setting mode is the first mode and the second mode, and
control the display to display the specific element when the setting mode is the one of the first mode and the second mode.
Ochocinski discloses vehicle having an HVAC system (5) configured to perform preconditioning of a vehicle battery to a preset temperature and under the control of a computing system (100) (Figs. 1-2; ¶11, 16, 25). The computing system (100) includes a user interface (105) that includes a display in the form of a preconditioning interface (300) (Figs. 2-3; ¶16-18, 21). The preconditioning interface (300) includes: an ON/OFF icon (302) that enables or disables the preconditioning system; and scheduling segments (308) for scheduling specified operations of the preconditioning system (Fig. 3; ¶21, 23). When the user presses the ON portion of the ON/OFF icon (302), the computing system (100) brightens graphics representing the scheduling segments (308) and controls the vehicle according to the brightened graphics (¶41). When the user presses the OFF portion of the ON/OFF icon (302), the computing system grays-out graphics representing the scheduling segments (308) and ignores the grayed-out graphics (¶41). The graphics representing the ON/OFF icon (302) is not affected by the position of the ON/OFF icon (302) and remains bright (¶42). As such, Ochocinski discloses a display device (105, 300) is configured to
include a common element (302) in a display (300) in the first mode (as per ON portion of icon 302 pressed) and the second mode (as per OFF portion of icon 302 pressed), and
add a specific element (as per brightening of 308 when ON portion of icon 302 is pressed) to the common element (302) being one of the first mode (as per ON portion of icon 302 pressed) and {the second mode}; and
the processor (100) is configured to
control the display (105, 300) to display the common element (302) when the setting mode (as per 302) is the first mode (as per ON portion of icon 302 pressed) and the second mode (as per OFF portion of icon 302 pressed), and
control the display (105, 300) to display the specific element (as per brightening of 308 when ON portion of icon 302 is pressed) when the setting mode (as per 302) is the one of the first mode (as per ON portion of icon 302 pressed) and {the second mode}.
In this way, a user interacts with the preconditioning system using suitable graphics (¶39). Like Goldman-Shenhar, Ochocinski is concerned with vehicle control systems.
Therefore, from these teachings of Goldman-Shenhar and Ochocinski, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would have found it obvious to apply the teachings of Ochocinski to the system of Goldman-Shenhar since doing so would enhance the system by adapting the system for interaction with suitable graphics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 June 2026 have been fully considered as follows.
Applicant argues that claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) should not be maintained in view of the amendments (page 5 of Amendment). This argument is persuasive. Therefore, claim interpretation under 35 USC 112(f) is not maintained.
Applicant argues that double patenting rejections should not be maintained in view of the Terminal Disclaimer (page 5 of Amendment). This argument is persuasive in view of the 25 June 2026 approval of the Terminal Disclaimer. Therefore, the double patenting rejections are not maintained.
Applicant argues that rejections under 35 USC 102 should not be maintained because “Goldman-Shenhar does not disclose the prioritization of the event-based module 213 over the inputted and already evaluated manual settings module 211” and “Therefore, Goldman-Shenhar fails to disclose the prioritization of the event-based module 213 … for the setting mode when the setting mode is in the manual setting … and the ‘traveling route includes the facility’ as recited in the independent claims” (page 6-7 of Amendment).
Comparing the teachings of Goldman-Shenhar to claim language at issue, Goldman-Shenhar discloses wherein the processor is configured to “prioritize the first mode when the setting mode is the second mode and the traveling route includes the facility” in that Goldman-Shenhar recites:
¶55: an automated invocation of battery pack preconditioning may rely upon an event based module 213 of the decision input block 201 … event based module 213 may include a data collection module 215 to log vehicle usage information regarding, for example, charge site visitations, battery pack range, route information such as vehicle origin and destination, and temporal information such as time of day and day of week. In accordance with an embodiment, event based module 213 may further include a learning module 217 which may include a machine learning model for use in scheduling charging events given current vehicle location and temporal conditions (e.g., date and time). In one embodiment, the machine learning model of the learning module 217 may include a probabilistic model providing a probability of a charging event (charge event probability (PrC)) at a known charging station based on current vehicle location and temporal conditions (e.g., date and time).
¶58: Certain users may prefer manual control and thus may choose to disable or bypass the predictive intelligence features of the event based module 213 and the schedule based module 221 in favor of the manual setting module 211. Similarly, other users may prefer some level of predictive intelligence in battery pack thermal preconditioning yet lack a regular schedule of vehicle usage. Thus, such a user may enable the event based module 213 and bypass the manual settings module 211 and the schedule based module 221.
Accordingly, a user of the system of Goldman-Shenhar may choose between the manual setting module (211) and the event based module (213) by: disabling or bypassing the event based module (213) in favor of the manual setting module (211); and enabling the event based module (213) by bypassing the manual setting module (211). In this way, when the system is operating in accordance with the manual setting module (211), the user may configure the system to “prioritize the first mode when the setting mode is the second mode and the traveling route includes the facility” by bypassing the manual setting module (211) and enabling the event based module (213) which operates to automatically precondition the battery pack in view of data including route information and charging station information.
As such, Goldman-Shenhar discloses all limitations in the claim language at issue. In this way, Applicant’s argument involves an improper interpretation of the claim language and/or an improper interpretation of the cited reference. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Applicant further argues regarding rejections under 35 USC 102 (page 7 of Amendment):
The claimed subject matter is characterized by the assumption of conflicts between a plurality of independent control modes and the feature of resolving such conflicts by prioritizing the execution of one mode over the others (or, at least, a configuration that may involve interrupting or switching the currently executed control based on such prioritization). In contrast, Goldman merely provides a framework for determining temperature control through a single control routine that integrates a plurality of inputs, and fails to disclose the claimed technical concept of resolving such conflicts (i.e., priority selection).
However, no claim recites “the assumption of conflicts”, “a plurality of independent control modes”, or “resolving such conflicts”. In this way, Applicant’s argument concerns unclaimed embodiments. As such, Applicant’s argument is not relevant to the rejection of any claim. Therefore, Applicant’s argument does not identify a proper basis for finding that any rejection is improper.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iida (US Pub. No. 2010/0324765) discloses a vehicle equipped with power storage device and temperature control method of power storage device. Twarog (US Pub. No. 2015/0066837) discloses a method for predicting charging process duration. Jackson (US Pub. No. 2016/0129797) discloses a method and system for pre-cooling traction battery in anticipation of recharging at charging station.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656