DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-10, 13-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 10,497,594 B2).
Consider claim 1. Suzuki teaches a container handling vehicle (8), comprising: a lower part (lower portion of 24, see fig. 5) comprising: a width and a length that form a vehicle footprint of the container handling vehicle (define by region between travel units 35, see fig. 6); a storage space (proximate 50 in fig. 5) configured to accommodate a storage container (50); a first set of wheels (32a) oriented in a first direction and a second set of wheels (32b) oriented in a second direction; and an upper part (26 and upper portion of 24, see fig. 5), disposed vertically above the lower part, comprising a protruding section (26), wherein the protruding section is configured to extend beyond the lower part, and wherein the protruding section comprises at least one of: a battery, a battery slot configured to house a battery, or a sensor (47, 48) configured to determine a position of the container handling vehicle (relative to an object; see column 10, lines 9-11).
Consider claim 7. Suzuki teaches that the protruding section extends beyond the lower part in a length direction or a width direction (see fig. 5).
Consider claim 8. Suzuki teaches that the first set of wheels are disposed in a first horizontal plane; the second set of wheels are disposed in a second horizontal plane, and the first horizontal plane is separated from the second horizontal plane in a vertical direction (via 30; see column 9, lines 24-34).
Consider claim 9. Suzuki teaches that the upper part comprises a recessed section (space proximate reference characters 42-46 in fig. 5), wherein the recessed section is configured to receive a protruding section of another container handling vehicle.
Consider claim 10. Suzuki teaches that the recessed section extends across a whole width or length of the container handling vehicle (see figs. 5 and 6).
Consider claim 13. Suzuki teaches that the upper part comprises a lifting device (45) that is configured to raise the storage container from beneath the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels into the container handling vehicle (see fig. 10).
Consider claim 14. Suzuki teaches that the lifting device comprises: a gripping device (46A) configured to lift and lower the storage container, and a lifting motor (drive for belt/rope/wire; see column 10, lines 4-6) configured to raise and lower the gripping device.
Consider claim 15. Suzuki teaches that the lifting motor is disposed in the upper part of the container handling vehicle (at 45).
Consider claim 16. Suzuki teaches that the storage space is disposed in the lower part of the container handling vehicle (proximate 50).
Consider claim 17. Suzuki teaches that the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels are arranged around a periphery of the storage space that accommodates the storage container (32a at bottom of fig. 6 and 32b at left of fig. 6).
Consider claim 20. Suzuki teaches an automated storage and retrieval system (see fig. 2) comprising the container handling vehicle of claim 1 (8, see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 10,497,594 B2) in view of Pastoor et al. (US 2014/0217977 A1), hereafter referred to as Pastoor.
Consider claim 11. Suzuki does not explicitly teach that the protruding section is configured to engage with a charging station as specifically claimed. Pastoor teaches a protruding section (5) configured to engage with a charging station (30) to charge a main battery of a container handling vehicle (2, see paragraph [0048]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Suzuki’s vehicle to engage with a charging station as taught by Pastoor in order to automatically recharge power to the vehicle.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,227,356. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent claim language, the instant claims encompass the patented claims, and elements of the instant claims may be found in multiple lines of dependency in the patented claims.
Claims 1, 2, and 9-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-14, 16, and 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,912,501. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent claim language, the instant claims encompass the patented claims, and elements of the instant claims may be found in multiple lines of dependency in the patented claims.
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,597,597. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims use equivalent claim language, the instant claims encompass the patented claims, and elements of the instant claims may be found in multiple lines of dependency in the patented claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 12, 18, and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and proper Terminal Disclaimers are filed (see Double Patenting rejections above).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652