DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 15 and 25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,612,305. U.S. Patent No. 10,612,305 discloses all of the limitations of the claimed invention with the exception of the rungs recited which are inherent in any ladder.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the indentations disclosed in claims 15 and 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 is recited as depending from claim 1, which has been cancelled. For the purpose of this Office Action the examiner will assume the applicant meant for claim 16 to depend from claim 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 25 each recite “the first notch having a first indentation in the first surface and a second indentation in the second surface;
a second notch in the V-shaped gap, the second notch having a third indentation in the first surface and a fourth indentation in the second surface, wherein a first distance between the first indentation and the second indentation is smaller than a second distance between the third indentation and the fourth indentation” which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to the examiner how a notch can have an indentation as a notch is already in and of itself an indentation. This is further unclear because the drawings fail to point out the indentations recited in the claims. For the purpose of this Office Action the examiner will assume the notch and the indentation are one in the same.
Claims 16-24 and 26-34 are rejected due to their dependency from claims 15 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 21, 23-27, 31 and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes (2017/0130529) in view of VanLaningham (2012/0024630) and further in view of Bull (GB 2297350).
Reyes discloses:
Claim 15 as best understood by the examiner: A ladder comprising:
a first rail (Fig. 1; 14 facing);
a second rail (Fig. 1; 14 opposite the facing rail, Para. [0058]);
a plurality of rungs (Fig. 1; 16) connecting the first rail and the second rail; and
a ladder top (Fig. 1; 26) directly attached to the first rail and second rail with fasteners (Fig. 1; 26 depicted as attached with some type of fastener, Para. [0060]), the ladder top having a first side (Fig. 8; see detail), a second side (Fig. 8; see detail), the first side including a V-shaped gap (Fig. 8; 100) with a first surface (Fig. 8; see detail) and an opposing second surface (Fig. 8; see detail), wherein the ladder top further includes:
Reyes fails to disclose a first notch in the V-shaped gap, the first notch having a first indentation in the first surface and a second indentation in the second surface;
a second notch in the V-shaped gap, the second notch having a third indentation in the first surface and a fourth indentation in the second surface, wherein a first distance between the first indentation and the second indentation is smaller than a second distance between the third indentation and the fourth indentation; and
However, VanLaningham discloses a first notch and a second notch wherein the distance between the first notch is smaller than the distance between the second notch (Fig. 3; see detail).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gap of Reyes to include the notches, as taught by VanLaningham, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for securely leaning the ladder against varying sizes of structures.
Reyes also fails to disclose a first cushion and a second cushion discrete from the first cushion, where the first cushion is disposed on the first surface between the first indentation and the third indentation and the second cushion is disposed on the second surface between the second indentation and the fourth indentation;
wherein the first and second cushions are attached to the ladder top by bonding and without a mechanical fastener and are made of a rubber material.
However, Bull discloses a plurality of discrete cushions (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right), attached by bonding (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 are not depicted with any mechanical fasteners) and are made of a rubber material (Pg. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the plurality of discrete cushions, as taught by Bull, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for individual replacement of damaged cushions.
Claim 16: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 1, wherein:
the top has a third side (Fig. 8; see detail) and a fourth side (Fig. 8; see detail) connecting the first side and the second side (Fig. 8; see detail), and the first rail is permanently attached with a first fastener to the third side and the second rail is permanently attached to the second rail with a second fastener (Fig. 1; 26 depicted as attached with some type of fastener, Para. [0060]).
Claim 17: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 16, wherein:
the top has a middle portion (Fig. 8; 102/104/106) disposed between a perimeter of the top defined by the first, second, third and fourth sides, and
the middle portion has an indentation configured to hold a paint can (Fig. 8; section 104 is capable of holding a paint can) and a tool hole configured to hold a tool (Fig. 8; section 108 includes a hole to hold a tool).
Claim 21: Bull discloses the ladder of claim 15, wherein each of the first and second cushions is attached to the first side by:
bonding and without a mechanical fastener or both bonding and a mechanical fastener (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 are not depicted with any mechanical fasteners).
Claim 23: Reyes, VanLaningham and Bull disclose the ladder of claim 15, wherein:
the first surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) and the second surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) intersect to form a bottom of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100), and each of the first surface and the second surface includes a cushion (Bull - Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right) extending from the first notch to the bottom of the V-shaped gap (VanLaningham – Fig. 3; see detail).
Claim 24: Reyes and Bull disclose the ladder of claim 15, wherein each of the first surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) and the second surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) includes a cushion (Bull - Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right) extending from the second notch to a top of the V-shaped gap (VanLaningham – Fig. 3; see detail).
Claim 25 as best understood by the examiner: A ladder top comprising:
a first side (Fig. 8; see detail), and
a second side (Fig. 8; see detail),
the first side including a V-shaped gap (Fig. 8; 100) with a first surface (Fig. 8; see detail) and a second surface (Fig. 8; see detail) opposing the first surface, wherein the V-shaped gap includes:
Reyes fails to disclose a first notch in the V-shaped gap, the first notch having a first indentation in the first surface and a second indentation in the second surface, where the first indentation and the second indentation are aligned with one another,
a second notch in the V-shaped gap, the second notch having a third indentation in the first surface and a fourth indentation in the second surface, where the third indentation and the fourth indentation are aligned with one another,
wherein a first distance between the first indentation and the second indentation is smaller than a second distance between the third indentation and the four indentation, and
However, VanLaningham discloses a first notch and a second notch wherein either side of the first and second notches are aligned with each other and the distance between the first notch is smaller than the distance between the second notch (Fig. 3; see detail).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gap of Reyes to include the notches, as taught by VanLaningham, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for securely leaning the ladder against varying sizes of structures.
Reyes also fails to disclose a first cushion and a second cushion discrete from the first cushion, where the first cushion is disposed on the first surface between the first indentation and the third indentation and the second cushion is disposed on the second surface between the second indentation and the fourth indentation,
wherein the first cushion and the second cushion are attached by bonding and without a mechanical fastener and are formed of a rubber material.
However, Bull discloses a plurality of discrete cushions (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right), attached by bonding (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 are not depicted with any mechanical fasteners) and are made of a rubber material (Pg. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the plurality of discrete cushions, as taught by Bull, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for individual replacement of damaged cushions.
Claim 26: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 25, wherein:
the top has a third side (Fig. 8; see detail) and a fourth side (Fig. 8; see detail) connecting the first side and the second side (Fig. 8; see detail), and the first rail is permanently attached with a first fastener to the third side and the second rail is permanently attached to the second rail with a second fastener (Fig. 1; 26 depicted as attached with some type of fastener, Para. [0060]).
Claim 27: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 26, wherein:
the top has a middle portion (Fig. 8; 102/104/106) disposed between a perimeter of the top defined by the first, second, third and fourth sides, and
the middle portion has an indentation configured to hold a paint can (Fig. 8; section 104 is capable of holding a paint can) and a tool hole configured to hold a tool (Fig. 8; section 108 includes a hole to hold a tool).
Claim 31: Bull discloses the ladder of claim 25, wherein each of the first and second cushions is attached to the first side by bonding and without a mechanical fastener, or by both bonding and a mechanical fastener (Fig. 2; 6 and 9 are not depicted with any mechanical fasteners).
Claim 33: Reyes, VanLaningham and Bull disclose the ladder of claim 25, wherein:
the first surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) and the second surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) intersect to form a bottom of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100), and each of the first surface and the second surface includes a cushion (Bull - Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right) extending from the first notch (VanLaningham – Fig. 3; see detail) to the bottom of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100).
Claim 34: Reyes, VanLaningham and Bull disclose the ladder of claim 25, wherein each of the first surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) and the second surface (Reyes - Fig. 8; see detail) includes a cushion (Bull - Fig. 2; 6 and 9 on the left and the right) extending from the second notch (VanLaningham – Fig. 3; see detail) to a top of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100).
Claims 18-20 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes (2017/0130529) in view of VanLaningham (2012/0024630) and further in view of Bull (GB 2297350) and still further in view of LaBelle (5,460,241).
Claim 18: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 17, but fails to disclose wherein the first side includes:
a first straight segment that directly connects with the third side at an angle between 20° and 70°; and
a second straight segment that directly connects with the fourth side at an angle between 20° and 70°;
wherein the first and second straight segments define first and second angled corners of the top.
However, LaBelle discloses the first side of the top including angled corners with angles between 20° and 70°, (Fig. 6; 90, 92).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the angled corners, as taught by LaBelle, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the ladder top to accommodate an inside wall corner and help to secure the ladder when leaned against an inside wall corner and prevent marring of the underlying surface (Col. 3, Lines 29-43).
Claim 19: Reyes and LaBelle disclose the ladder of claim 18, wherein each of the first and second angled corners of the top includes a cushion attached thereto (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37).
Claim 20: Reyes and LaBelle disclose the ladder of claim 18, wherein the first side includes a first cushion extending from the first angled corner (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37) to a top of the first surface of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100) and a second cushion extending from the second angled corner (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37) to a top of the second surface of the V- shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100).
Claim 28: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 27, but fails to disclose wherein the first side includes:
a first straight segment that directly connects with the third side at an angle between 20° and 70°; and
a second straight segment that directly connects with the fourth side at an angle between 20° and 70°;
wherein the first and second straight segments define first and second angled corners of the top.
However, LaBelle discloses the first side of the top including angled corners with angles between 20° and 70°, (Fig. 6; 90, 92).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the angled corners, as taught by LaBelle, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the ladder top to accommodate an inside wall corner and help to secure the ladder when leaned against an inside wall corner and prevent marring of the underlying surface (Col. 3, Lines 29-43).
Claim 29: Reyes and LaBelle disclose the ladder of claim 28, wherein each of the first and second angled corners of the top includes a cushion attached thereto (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37).
Claim 30: Reyes and LaBelle disclose the ladder of claim 28, wherein the first side includes a first cushion extending from the first angled corner (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37) to a top of the first surface of the V-shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100) and a second cushion extending from the second angled corner (LaBelle – Fig. 6; 94, Col. 3, Lines 35-37) to a top of the second surface of the V- shaped gap (Reyes - Fig. 8; 100).
Claims 22 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reyes (2017/0130529) in view of VanLaningham (2012/0024630) and further in view of Bull (GB 2297350) and still further in view of Gibson et al. (2009/0283361) hereinafter Gibson.
Claim 22: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 15, but fails to disclose including a magnet encapsulated in the top.
However, Gibson discloses a magnet in the top surface of the ladder top (Fig. 1; 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the magnet, as taught by Gibson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a user to quickly secure metal items on the ladder top and prevent them from falling off.
Claim 32: Reyes discloses the ladder of claim 25, but fails to disclose including a magnet encapsulated in the top.
However, Gibson discloses a magnet in the top surface of the ladder top (Fig. 1; 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ladder top of Reyes to include the magnet, as taught by Gibson, with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow a user to quickly secure metal items on the ladder top and prevent them from falling off.
Conclusion
/Kathleen M. McFarland/Examiner, Art Unit 3635
Kathleen M. McFarland
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635