DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unglert et al. (2007/0176410) in view of Maszkiewicz et al. (5,135,510) and Bauss et al. (2015/0090625).
Unglert discloses a system, comprising a multi-part syringe (100, 102, Fig. 1) having a syringe body (100, Fig. 1) and a closure (102, Fig. 1) which is coupled to the syringe body (100, Fig. 1), and an adhesive label (1, 2, 3, Fig. 2a) applied to the syringe such that a first label portion (2, Fig. 2a) of the adhesive label is attached to the closure (102, Fig. 2a) and a second label portion (1, Fig. 2a) of the adhesive label is attached to the syringe body (100, Fig. 2a), so that the adhesive label couples the closure (102, Fig. 2a) to the syringe body (100, Fig. 2a) and counteracts a movement of the closure (102, Fig. 2a) relative to the syringe body (100, Fig. 2a).
However, Unglert does not disclose a threaded element. Maszkiewicz teaches providing a threaded element as part of a syringe closure (38, Fig. 1), wherein the threaded element, being part of the closure, is a separate component from the syringe body (10, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a threaded element on the syringe closure disclosed by Unglert, as taught by Maszkiewicz, in order to secure the closure to the syringe body.
Further, the syringe body and the closure are not circumferentially identical. The syringe body is wider than the closure. Bauss teaches making both the syringe body and the closure circumferentially identical. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the syringe body and closure disclosed by Unglert circumferentially identical, as taught by Bauss, as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Unglert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Unglert does not disclose an opening detection element. Bauss teaches providing an opening detection element in the form of a tear strip (20, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the syringe label disclosed by Unglert with an opening detection element, as taught by Bauss, in order to indicate a removal of the closure form the syringe body.
Regarding claim 4, all manufactured items are formed in a predetermined manner.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, all labels intended to be attached to a specific item are formed in coordination with that item and have a predetermined length.
Regarding claim 8, see paragraph 0014 of Unglert.
Regarding claim 9, see paragraph 0041 of Unglert.
Regarding claim 10, it is inherent that the adhesive would be chosen with regard to the material of the syringe body and the closure in order to ensure that the adhesive would adhere to those parts.
Regarding claim 12, the tear strip (20, Fig. 2) disclosed by Bauss constitutes a severing element.
Regarding claims 18-20, the closure disclosed by Unglert will be formed from a predetermined material, which will inherently have a predetermined surface energy, and a smoothness or roughness. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an appropriate adhesive that provides a desired adhesion between the label and the syringe, as a matter of design choice.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unglert et al. (2007/0176410) in view of Maszkiewicz et al. (5,135,510) and Bauss et al. (2015/0090625), as applied to claim 6, above, and further in view of Kessler (7,141,286).
Unglert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Unglert does not disclose a punch-out in the first label portion. Kessler teaches providing punch-outs (27, Fig. 8) to facilitate separating the closure from the syringe body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the first label portion disclosed by Unglert, as taught by Kessler, in order to facilitate separating the closure from the syringe body.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unglert et al. (2007/0176410) in view of Maszkiewicz et al. (5,135,510) and Bauss et al. (2015/0090625), as applied to claim 9, above, and further in view of Mahler et al. (2013/0277824).
Unglert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, it is not known whether the adhesive disclosed by Unglert has a high flowability. Mahler teaches that a high flowability adhesive lessens the requirement on the coverage during deposition. See paragraph 0040. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a high flowability adhesive on the label disclosed by Unglert, as taught by Mahler, in order to lessen the requirement on the coverage during deposition.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unglert et al. (2007/0176410) in view of Maszkiewicz et al. (5,135,510) and Bauss et al. (2015/0090625), as applied to claim 12, above, and further in view of Laurash et al. (6,276,725).
Unglert discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, it is not known whether there is an adhesive-free surface in a region of the severing element. Laurash teaches providing an adhesive-free surface in a region of a severing element. See column 6, lines 12-15. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the label disclosed by Unglert with an adhesive-free surface in the region of the severing element, as taught by Laurash, in order to make it easier to sever the label.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The only amendment made in the papers filed July 10, 2026 incorporated the limitations of rejected claim 16 into claim 1 and cancelled claim 16. Applicant did not specifically address the rejection of claim 16 (now claim 1) set forth in the previous Office action.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631