DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11, 13-15, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR100887355B1 hereafter referred to as Namgoong.
In regards to claim 1, Namgoong discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (C – fig. 1; [0005]) including an element body and an external electrode on an end surface of the element body ([0002]);
a lead-out terminal (C-1 – fig. 1; [0005]) electrically connected to the external electrode;
an outer case (10 – fig. 1; [0005]) housing the capacitor element inside so that the lead-out terminal projects outward, the outer case having (fig. 4):
a bottomed tubular shape with an opening part at a first end thereof (fig. 1; [0005]),
a bottom wall sealing a second end while facing the opening part (fig. 1; [0005]),
a side wall projecting toward the opening part from the bottom wall (fig. 1; [0005]),
a guide groove (15 – fig. 1-2; [0004]) constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall (fig. 1-2), wherein
a height of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is lower than a height of the side wall proximal to the opening part of the outer case (fig. 2); and
a filling resin (20 – fig. 4; [0005]) filling a space between the capacitor element and the outer case.
In regards to claim 2, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein a corner of an edge of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is chamfered (seen in fig. 1-2).
In regards to claim 3, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein a stepped surface is defined between the side wall and the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case (seen in fig. 1-3).
In regards to claim 4, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein a planar inclined surface is defined between the side wall and the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case (fig. 2-3).
In regards to claim 8, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a rectangular U-shaped planar shape (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 11, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the outer case is a resin case ([0005]).
In regards to claim 13, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 1, wherein the element body is a laminate of a metallized film including a metal layer on at least one main surface of a dielectric film, and the external electrode is connected to the metal layer ([0002] & [0005]).
In regards to claim 14, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 13, wherein the laminate is a wound body ([0002]).
In regards to claim 15, Namgoong discloses
A capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (C – fig. 1; [0005]) including an element body and an external electrode on an end surface of the element body ([0002]);
a lead-out terminal (C-1 – fig. 1; [0005]) electrically connected to the external electrode;
an outer case (10 – fig. 1; [0005]) housing the capacitor element inside so that the lead-out terminal projects outward (fig. 4), the outer case having:
a bottomed tubular shape with an opening part at a first end thereof (fig. 1; [0005]),
a bottom wall sealing a second end while facing the opening part (fig. 1; [0005]),
a side wall projecting toward the opening part from the bottom wall (fig. 1; [0005]),
a guide groove (15 – fig. 1-2; [0004]) constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall, and a corner of an edge of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is chamfered (fig. 1-2); and
a filling resin (20 – fig. 4; [0005]) filling a space between the capacitor element and the outer case.
In regards to claim 18, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 15, wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a rectangular U-shaped planar shape (fig. 3).
In regards to claim 19, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 15, wherein the element body is a laminate of a metallized film including a metal layer on at least one main surface of a dielectric film, and the external electrode is connected to the metal layer ([0002]).
In regards to claim 20, Namgoong discloses
The capacitor according to claim 19, wherein the laminate is a wound body ([0002] & [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Namgoong in view of Brown et al. (US 3,838,316).
In regards to claim 6 & 16,
Namgoong fails to disclose wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a V-shaped planar shape.
Brown ‘316 discloses wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a V-shaped planar shape (fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the guide groove of Namgoong to have a V-shape as taught by Brown ‘316 to provide more leeway in the initial lead insertion during positioning while also allowing for various lead diameters. Furthermore, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-15, 17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majima et al. (US 2020/0294718) in view of Fanning (US 3,806,766).
In regards to claim 1,
Majima ‘718 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (10 – fig. 1; [0032]) including an element body (40 – fig. 3; [0034]) and an external electrode (41 & 42 – fig. 3; [0034]) on an end surface of the element body;
a lead-out terminal (51 & 52 – fig. 3; [0034]) electrically connected to the external electrode;
an outer case (20 – fig. 1; [0032]) housing the capacitor element inside so that the lead-out terminal projects outward (fig. 1), the outer case having:
a bottomed tubular shape with an opening part at a first end thereof (fig. 1-2),
a bottom wall sealing a second end while facing the opening part (fig. 1-2),
a side wall projecting toward the opening part from the bottom wall (fig. 1-2),
a filling resin (30 – fig. 1; [0033]) filling a space between the capacitor element and the outer case. Majima ‘718 fails to disclose a guide groove constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall, wherein a height of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is lower than a height of the side wall proximal to the opening part of the outer case.
Fanning ‘766 discloses a guide groove (12f – fig. 3-4; C4:L37-55) constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal (13b – fig. 3-4; C4:L37-55) on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall (fig. 1 & 3), wherein
a height of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is lower than a height of the side wall proximal to the opening part of the outer case (fig. 1 & 4 – wherein 12a is higher than 12f).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a guide groove as taught by Fanning ‘766 on the side wall of Majima ‘718 to allow for improved positioning of the capacitor element.
In regards to claim 2,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein a corner of an edge of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is chamfered (fig. 3, 7-8, & 10 of Fanning ‘766).
In regards to claim 3,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein a stepped surface is defined between the side wall and the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case (fig. 3, 7-8, & 10 of Fanning ‘766).
In regards to claim 5,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein a curved inclined surface is defined between the side wall and the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case (fig. 3, 7-8, & 10 of Fanning ‘766).
In regards to claim 7,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a semicircular arc- shaped or semioval arc-shaped planar shape (fig. 3 of Fanning ‘766).
In regards to claim 11,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the outer case is a resin case ([0046] of Majima ‘718).
In regards to claim 12,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the resin case contains a liquid crystal polymer ([0046] of Majima ‘718 of Majima ‘718).
In regards to claim 13,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the element body is a laminate of a metallized film including a metal layer (15 and 16 – fig. 3; [0085]) on at least one main surface of a dielectric film (13 and 14 – fig. 3; [0085] of Majima ‘718), and the external electrode is connected to the metal layer (fig. 3 of Majima ‘718). .
In regards to claim 14,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the laminate is a wound body (fig. 3; [0085] of Majima ‘718). .
In regards to claim 15,
Majima ‘718 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a capacitor element (10 – fig. 1; [0032]) including an element body (40 – fig. 3; [0034]) and an external electrode (41 & 42 – fig. 3; [0034]) on an end surface of the element body;
a lead-out terminal (51 & 52 – fig. 3; [0034]) electrically connected to the external electrode;
an outer case (20 – fig. 1; [0032]) housing the capacitor element inside so that the lead-out terminal projects outward (fig. 1), the outer case having:
a bottomed tubular shape with an opening part at a first end thereof (fig. 1-2),
a bottom wall sealing a second end while facing the opening part (fig. 1-2),
a side wall projecting toward the opening part from the bottom wall (fig. 1-2),
a filling resin (30 – fig. 1; [0033]) filling a space between the capacitor element and the outer case. Majima ‘718 fails to disclose a guide groove constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall, and a corner of an edge of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is chamfered
Fanning ‘766 discloses a guide groove (12f – fig. 3-4; C4:L37-55) constructed to regulate a position of the lead-out terminal on an inner surface of the outer case, the guide groove protruding from the side wall and extending between the opening part and the bottom wall (fig. 1 & 3), and a corner of an edge of the guide groove proximal to the opening part of the outer case is chamfered (fig. 3, 7-8, & 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form a guide groove as taught by Fanning ‘766 on the side wall of Majima ‘718 to allow for improved positioning of the capacitor element.
In regards to claim 17,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein when the guide groove is viewed from the opening part of the outer case, an edge of the guide groove has a semicircular arc- shaped or semioval arc-shaped planar shape (fig. 3 of Fanning ‘766).
In regards to claim 19,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the element body is a laminate of a metallized film including a metal layer (15 and 16 – fig. 3; [0085]) on at least one main surface of a dielectric film (13 and 14 – fig. 3; [0085] of Majima ‘718), and the external electrode is connected to the metal layer (fig. 3 of Majima ‘718). .
In regards to claim 20,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 further discloses wherein the laminate is a wound body (fig. 3; [0085] of Majima ‘718). .
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sano (US 2018/0330883).
In regards to claim 9,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 fails to disclose wherein the lead- out terminal is a lead wire having a plated layer on a surface thereof.
Sano ‘883 discloses wherein the lead- out terminal is a lead wire having a plated layer on a surface thereof ([0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to plated the lead-out terminals of Majima ‘718 as modified by Sano ‘883 to obtain lad-out terminals with improved solderability.
In regards to claim 10,
Majima ‘718 as modified by Fanning ‘766 and Sano ‘883 further discloses wherein the lead wire has an outer diameter of 1 mm or more ([0149] of Majima ‘718).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP2008205074A – fig. 1-3 KR101230693B1 – fig. 4-6
JP02136318U – fig. 2-4 WO2019141388A1 – fig. 11
JP03167813A – fig. 2 JP2020113663A – fig. 1 & 3
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847