DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 12-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. US 2022/0189422 hereinafter referred to as Wang.
In regards to claim 1, Wang teaches:
“A luminance inspection system comprising: a camera configured to capture an image displayed on a display panel to generate a captured image”
Wang teaches in paragraph [0042] and Figure 2 a panel image of the display panel captured by an image capturing device (e.g., a camera) is acquired.
“and an image processor configured to obtain location information of pixels in the captured image”
Wang paragraph [0024] teaches there is provided a computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer program instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method described above. Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. In the present application, “panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions” refers to that a projection of the panel image partition on the display panel coincides with the display partition. Then, for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing a luminance of each display partition of the display panel shown in FIG. 1, and as shown in FIG. 3A, α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2. The Examiner interprets that associating a group of pixels with a row and column of a partition is equivalent to location information of pixels.
“divide the captured image into a plurality of pixel regions according to a preset pixel map”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. The Examiner interprets that the partitions define a pixel map. Wang paragraph [0042] teaches α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2. The Examiner interprets this as a preset pixel map because the partitions are preset to the backlight partitions and the pixels can be mapped based on row and column numbers. The Examiner interprets the system of mapping pixel regions to rows and columns within the display panel a map.
“and calculate luminance data according to a kernel size set for each pixel region to generate a luminance image of the display panel”
Wang Figure 2 and paragraph [0042] teaches for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. The Examiner interprets that the number of pixels in each partition is equivalent to a kernel size.
In regards to claim 2, Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the preset pixel map includes location information of the plurality of pixel regions divided according to characteristics of a plurality of pixels included in the display panel”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. Wang paragraph [0046] teaches As shown in FIG. 6, the decoupled luminance of a portion of the display partitions of the display panel is assigned to a specific value. Group A may comprise 8 display partitions adjacent to each other, and the decoupled luminance thereof is within the first predetermined range from 1000 nit to 990 nit; group B may comprise 16 display partitions adjacent to each other, and the decoupled luminance thereof is within the third predetermined range from 979 nit to 970 nit; and the decoupled luminance of a portion of the display partitions outside of group A and group B is within the second predetermined range from 989 nit to 980 nit.
In regards to claim 3, Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein characteristics of pixels included the plurality of pixel regions are classified based on at least one of luminance, resolution, or Pixels Per Inch (PPI)”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. Wang paragraph [0046] teaches As shown in FIG. 6, the decoupled luminance of a portion of the display partitions of the display panel is assigned to a specific value. Group A may comprise 8 display partitions adjacent to each other, and the decoupled luminance thereof is within the first predetermined range from 1000 nit to 990 nit; group B may comprise 16 display partitions adjacent to each other, and the decoupled luminance thereof is within the third predetermined range from 979 nit to 970 nit; and the decoupled luminance of a portion of the display partitions outside of group A and group B is within the second predetermined range from 989 nit to 980 nit. The Examiner interprets nits as a measure of luminance.
In regards to claim 8, Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the image processor obtains the location information of the pixels in the captured image and a pre-stored panel shape image”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. In the present application, “panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions” refers to that a projection of the panel image partition on the display panel coincides with the display partition. Then, for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing a luminance of each display partition of the display panel shown in FIG. 1, and as shown in FIG. 3A, α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2.
In regards to claim 9, Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“further comprising: a memory configured to store a shape image of the display panel for obtaining location information of the pixels in the captured image, a pixel map including location information of the plurality of pixel regions divided according to characteristics of pixels included in the display panel, and kernel sizes set for the pixel regions”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. In the present application, “panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions” refers to that a projection of the panel image partition on the display panel coincides with the display partition. Then, for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing a luminance of each display partition of the display panel shown in FIG. 1, and as shown in FIG. 3A, α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2. Wang paragraph [0051] teaches the steps described in the blocks 202 to 206 may be completed in the manufacturing stage of the display panel, or at any suitable time according to the needs of users. Furthermore, the compensation coefficient determined by the step 206 may be stored in a memory, e.g. in the display panel, for use in subsequent steps. The Examiner interprets that the shape is stored because the compensation for each partitions is denoted by row and column and the total knowledge of the rows and columns is the shape of the panel. Furthermore, since the pixels of each partition is equivalent to a kernel the pixel map includes the locations according to characteristics (luminance) and kernel size (partition).
In regards to claim 10, Wang teaches:
“A method of inspecting luminance, comprising: receiving a captured image obtained by capturing an image displayed on a display panel including a plurality of pixels”
Wang teaches in paragraph [0042] and Figure 2 a panel image of the display panel captured by an image capturing device (e.g., a camera) is acquired.
“obtaining location information of pixels in the captured image”
Wang paragraph [0024] teaches there is provided a computer readable storage medium having stored thereon computer program instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method described above. Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. In the present application, “panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions” refers to that a projection of the panel image partition on the display panel coincides with the display partition. Then, for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing a luminance of each display partition of the display panel shown in FIG. 1, and as shown in FIG. 3A, α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2. The Examiner interprets that associating a group of pixels with a row and column of a partition is equivalent to location information of pixels.
“dividing the captured image into a plurality of pixel regions according to a preset pixel map”
Wang paragraph [0042] teaches the panel image may be divided into a plurality of panel image partitions in one-to-one correspondence with the display partitions. The Examiner interprets that the partitions define a pixel map. Wang paragraph [0042] teaches α.sub.ij represents a luminance of a display partition in a ith row and jth column, where 1≤i≤M, and 1≤j≤N, and N are positive integers greater than 2. The Examiner interprets this as a preset pixel map because the partitions are preset to the backlight partitions and the pixels can be mapped based on row and column numbers. The Examiner interprets the system of mapping pixel regions to rows and columns within the display panel a map.
“setting kernel sizes according to the plurality of pixel regions; calculating luminance data of the captured image included in each set kernel”
Wang Figure 2 and paragraph [0042] teaches for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. The Examiner interprets that the number of pixels in each partition is equivalent to a kernel size.
“and generating luminance image data having a size matching an actual number of pixels of the display panel based on the luminance data”
Wang Figure 2 and paragraph [0042] teaches for each panel image partition, an average of gray values of all pixels therein may be calculated. Finally, the average is taken as the luminance of the display partition corresponding to the panel image partition. Wang Figure 6, inter alia, teaches the lum9iance data is for the whole panel which would include all the pixels. The Examiner interprets this as a size matching an actual number of pixels.
In regards to claim 14, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and claim 14 contains limitations similar to those of claim 9. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for reasons similar to that of claim 9.
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Bae et al. US 2021/0049945 hereinafter referred to as Bae.
In regards to claim 4, Wang teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the plurality of pixel regions include a normal area having a pixel array arranged, and an optical area having a transmission part for an optical device”
Bae teaches in paragraph [0044] and Figures 2-3 In the display area DA, a plurality of pixels is disposed to display an image. As shown in FIG. 2, the display area DA includes a first display area DA1 and a second display area DA2. Bae in paragraph [0045] The first display area DA1 is an area that does not overlap an area CA, in which the optical module 120 is disposed, and displays an image irrespective of operation of the optical module 120. The Examiner interprets area Da1 as a normal area because it does not include the optical device. Bae paragraph [0049] teaches A plurality of second pixels P2, each of which includes at least two second subpixels SP2, may be provided in the second display area DA2. In the second display area DA2, the plurality of second pixels P2 may include light-emitting pixels and non-light-emitting pixels, unlike the first display area DA1. Each of the light-emitting pixels may be an area including a light-emitting device to emit light, and each of the non-light-emitting pixels may be an area including no light-emitting device and transmitting external light. That is, areas including no light-emitting devices and transmitting external light may be provided in the second display area DA2, unlike the first display area DA1. It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Wang in view of Bae to have included the features of “wherein the plurality of pixel regions include a normal area having a pixel array arranged, and an optical area having a transmission part for an optical device” to provide a controller capable of performing control such that an image is displayed even in an area disposed so as to overlap a camera and a display device including the same Bae paragraph [0008]).
In regards to claim 11, Wang teaches all the limitations of claim 10 and claim 11 contains limitations similar to those of claim 4. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for reasons similar to that of claim 4.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422