DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on January 14, 2025.
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 14, 2025, was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 6-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5-6 (as illustrated in detail with respective order in the table provided below) of copending Application No. 19/022,080. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is substantially identical as in the co-pending application 19/022,080 with certain obvious differences, and the scopes of the claims 19/022,080 of the co-pending application also read on the scopes of the claims 1 and 6-7 of instant application, whereas some dependent claims in both the instant application and the co-pending application are identical and/or with obvious variations (illustration over prior arts are also available upon request). A detailed comparison of the claim’s languages presented in instant application and the co-pending application is illustrated as following.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 6-7 (Appl. #: 19/019,997)(in instant examined application)
Claims 1 and 5-6(Appl #19/022,080)(in co-pending application w. common assignee and/or inventive entity)
1. A print speed setting system, comprised:
an information processing system; and
an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, wherein
the information processing system includes
a generation processing portion which generates key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus, and
an output processing portion which outputs the key data generated by the generation processing portion, and
The image forming apparatus includes an acquisition processing portion which acquires the key data input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus,
a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus, and
a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion.
A print speed setting system, comprised:
an information processing system; and
an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, wherein
the information processing system includes
a generation processing portion which generates key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus, and
an output processing portion which outputs the key data generated by the generation processing portion to a mobile terminal capable of wirelessly communicating with the image forming apparatus without passing through other communication devices, and
The image forming apparatus includes an acquisition processing portion which acquires the key data from the mobile terminal,
a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus, and
a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion.
6. An image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, comprising: an acquisition processing portion which acquires key data that is based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus, the key data being input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus, a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus, and a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion.
5. An image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, comprising: an acquisition processing portion which acquires key data generated based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus from a mobile terminal capable of wirelessly communicating with the image forming apparatus without passing through other communication devices; a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus, and a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion.
7. A print speed setting method executed in a print speed setting system including an information processing system and an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, the print speed setting method comprising: in the information processing system, a generation step of generating key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus; and an output step of outputting the key data generated in the generation step, and in the image forming apparatus, an acquisition step of acquiring the key data input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus; a specification step of specifying the designated print speed based on the key data acquired in the acquisition step and the unique information of the image forming apparatus; and a setting step of setting a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified in the specification step.
6. A print speed setting method executed in a print speed setting system including an information processing system and an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed, the print speed setting method comprising: in the information processing system, a generation step of generating key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus; and an output step of outputting the key data generated in the generation step to a mobile terminal capable of wirelessly communicating with the image forming apparatus without passing through other communication devices, and in the image forming apparatus, an acquisition step of acquiring the key data from the mobile terminal; a specification step of specifying the designated print speed based on the key data acquired in the acquisition step and the unique information of the image forming apparatus; and a setting step of setting a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified in the specification step.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non- structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
the term “means”, or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for’) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that’; and
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a generation processing portion”, “an output processing portion”, “an acquisition processing portion”, “a specification processing portion”, “a setting processing portion” of claims 1; “acquisition processing portion” of claim 2; “a first connection portion”, “output processing portion”, “a second connection portion” of claim 3; “specification processing portion”, “a shut-off processing portion” of claim 4; “setting processing portion” of claim 5; and “acquisition processing portion”, “specification processing portion”, “setting processing portion” of claim 6; and steps of “generation”, “outputting”, “acquisition”, “specifying” and “setting” of claim 7.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. These limitations of “a generation processing portion”, “an output processing portion”, “an acquisition processing portion”, “a specification processing portion”, “a setting processing portion” of claims 1; “acquisition processing portion” of claim 2; “a first connection portion”, “output processing portion”, “a second connection portion” of claim 3; “specification processing portion”, “a shut-off processing portion” of claim 4; “setting processing portion” of claim 5; and “acquisition processing portion”, “specification processing portion”, “setting processing portion” of claim 6; and steps of “generation”, “outputting”, “acquisition”, “specifying” and “setting” of claim 7) are covered by the structure(s) from the original disclosure as following:
“a generation processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., generation processing portion 72), “an output processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., output processing portion 73A), “an acquisition processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., first acquisition processing portion 71A), “a specification processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., specification processing portion 82), “a setting processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., setting processing portion 83A) of claims 1.
“acquisition processing portion” of claim 2 (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., first acquisition processing portion 71A);
“a first connection portion” (see fig. 9, para. 120 and etc., first connection portion 35), “output processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., output processing portion 73A), “a second connection portion” of claim 3 (see fig. 10, para. 117 and etc., second connection portion 58);
“specification processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., specification processing portion 82), “a shut-off processing portion” of claim 4 (see fig. 10, para. 121 and etc., shut-off processing portion 84);
“setting processing portion” of claim 5 (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., setting processing portion 83A); and
“acquisition processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 56 and etc., first acquisition processing portion 71A), “specification processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., specification processing portion 82), “setting processing portion” (see fig. 2, para. 57 and etc., setting processing portion 83A) of claim 6; and
corresponding steps of “generation”, “outputting”, “acquisition”, “specifying” and “setting” of claim 7 (see discussion of “a” for claim 1 above);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirota (JP2011-193138, a copy of English translation has been attached herein, hereinafter as “Hirota”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a print speed setting system (see Hirota, i.e. in abstract, fig. 1 and etc., disclose the image processing system), comprising:
an information processing system (see Hirota, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the one or more of the computer apparatuses 3, which further have means to generate license key data and/or product key data and issue upon request the said generated license key data and/or product key data and issue upon request the said generated license key data and /or product data to at least one or more image processing apparatus 1 of figs. 1-14, see pg. 4-5 and etc.); and
an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed (see Hirota, i.e. in fig. 1 and etc., disclose the image processing apparatus 1), wherein the information processing system includes
a generation processing portion which generates key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. abstract, fig. 1, 9, 11 and etc., disclose the computer devices 3 include a generation means which generate product key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus; also see pg. 6 and etc., disclose that “The image formation control unit 23 causes the image forming unit 24 to form an image on the sheet based on the instruction received from the MPU 20 (step S33). The speed for forming an image is the speed set in step S4 or step S5 in FIG. Note that the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image is controlled by adjusting the speed of the motor of the image forming unit 24.
The image formation control unit 23 determines whether or not the image formation instruction received from the MPU 20 remains (step S34). If no image formation instruction remains (step S34: NO), the image formation control unit 23 ends the control. When the image formation instruction remains (step S34: YES), the image formation control unit 23 returns to step S32 and accepts the instruction from the MPU 20 via the internal bus 10. Usually, the case where the image formation control unit 23 determines NO in step S34 is a case where images of all pages are formed. Further, when the image formation control unit 23 determines YES in step S34, there is a next page on which an image is to be formed…”), and
an output processing portion which outputs the key data generated by the generation processing portion (see Hirota, i.e. abstract, pg. 2, 8 and etc., disclose the computer devices 3 further comprising at least one external communication line 30, that “The product key may be a preset password. When the computer devices 3, 3..., 3 connected to the image processing apparatus 1 via the network use the image processing apparatus 1, even if the product key is identification information such as an IP (Internet Protocol) address. good. In this case, the speed at which the image reading unit 26 reads an image is set for each of the computer devices 3, 3,. The identification information is transmitted to the network interface 11 from the computer devices 3, 3...”), and
the image forming apparatus includes
an acquisition processing portion which acquires the key data input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. pg. 1, fig. 1, disclose the apparatus 1, comprises an acquisition processing portion which acquires the key data from any of the user device 3),
a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises as implied a means to decode from the received product key data specified designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus), and
a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion (see Hirota, the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises the MPU 20 as the implied setting means to set based specified print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed acquired from the product key and/or specified by the specification processing portion).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the print speed setting system according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition processing portion acquires the key data input by the user operation performed in an input screen used for inputting the key data (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 2 and etc., disclose that “… the image processing apparatus includes basic functions and other functions in advance. The user can use other functions by inputting the product key into the image processing apparatus. As a result, the user can expand the function at low cost after renting the image processing apparatus. The product key is issued when a user makes a usage contract with a manufacturer or a sales company or pays a usage fee to the manufacturer or the sales company…”).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the print speed setting system according to claim 1, wherein the information processing system includes a first connection portion to which a storage device is connected, the output processing portion stores the key data in the storage device connected to the first connection portion, the image forming apparatus includes a second connection portion to which the storage device is connected, and the acquisition processing portion acquires the key data from the storage device connected to the second connection portion (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 11-12 and etc., disclose that “ If the received product key matches any of the predetermined product keys (step S23: YES), the MPU 20 uses the number of MPUs 50, the number of memories 51, and the number of ASICs 52 for image processing as product keys. A corresponding number is set (step S24). The set MPU 50, memory 51, and image processing ASIC 52 start control, storage, and image processing, respectively. When the billing amount is large, the number of MPUs 50 related to the processing, the number of memories 51, and the number of image processing ASICs 52 are increased, and a product key that speeds up image processing is given to the user. When the received product key does not match any of the predetermined product keys (step S23: NO), the MPU 20 does not involve the MPU 50, the memory 51, and the image processing ASIC 52 in the processing. When the product key is not input, the MPU 20 does not involve the MPU 50, the memory 51, and the image processing ASIC 52 in the processing…”).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the print speed setting system according to claim 3, wherein the specification processing portion executes specification processing for specifying the designated print speed for each piece of the key data acquired from the storage device connected to the second connection portion, and the image forming apparatus includes a shut-off processing portion which shuts off a power supply of the image forming apparatus when a number of failed times of the specification processing reaches a predetermined upper limit number of times (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 6 and etc., disclose that “The image formation control unit 23 causes the image forming unit 24 to form an image on the sheet based on the instruction received from the MPU 20 (step S33). The speed for forming an image is the speed set in step S4 or step S5 in FIG. Note that the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image is controlled by adjusting the speed of the motor of the image forming unit 24. The image formation control unit 23 determines whether or not the image formation instruction received from the MPU 20 remains (step S34). If no image formation instruction remains (step S34: NO), the image formation control unit 23 ends the control. When the image formation instruction remains (step S34: YES), the image formation control unit 23 returns to step S32 and accepts the instruction from the MPU 20 via the internal bus 10. Usually, the case where the image formation control unit 23 determines NO in step S34 is a case where images of all pages are formed. Further, when the image formation control unit 23 determines YES in step S34, there is a next page on which an image is to be formed. Note that the adjustment of the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image is not limited to the method of adjusting the speed of the motor. FIG. 4 is a flowchart showing a modification of the flow of processing executed by the image formation control unit 23 according to the first embodiment. The description from step S30 to step S34 is the same as the description in FIG. When the image formation instruction remains (step S34: YES), the image formation control unit 23 waits for a predetermined time (step S35). After waiting for a predetermined time, the image formation control unit 23 returns to step S <b> 32 and receives an instruction to form a further image from the MPU 20. As described above, the image forming control unit 23 waits for a predetermined time, so that the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image can be adjusted. Next, the relationship between the charge amount and the speed executed by the execution unit 2 will be described. Here, as an example, the relationship between the charge amount and the printing speed at which the image forming unit 24 prints an image on a sheet will be described…”; further on pg. 12, disclose that “ The MPU 20 or the MPUs 20, 50, 50,..., 50 determines whether or not image processing such as OCR processing, translation, image compression / decompression, and thumbnail image generation remains (step S26). As a determination method, for example, there is a method of causing the user to determine whether or not to continue processing an image on the display unit 14. If no image processing remains (step S26: NO), the MPU 20 or MPU 20, 50, 50,..., 50 ends the image processing. At this time, the main board 400 is turned off. When the image processing apparatus 4 is activated and the power source of the main board 400 is activated, the MPU 20 starts processing again from step S21. When the image processing remains (step S26: YES), the MPU 20 or MPU 20, 50, 50,..., 50 returns to step S25 and executes the image processing…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the print speed setting system according to claim 1, wherein the setting processing portion irrevocably sets the print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 6 and etc., discloses that “ The image formation control unit 23 causes the image forming unit 24 to form an image on the sheet based on the instruction received from the MPU 20 (step S33). The speed for forming an image is the speed set in step S4 or step S5 in FIG. Note that the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image is controlled by adjusting the speed of the motor of the image forming unit 24…”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to an image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. in abstract, fig. 1 and etc., disclose the image processing apparatus 1, capable of changing the speed of processing) capable of varying a print speed, comprising:
an acquisition processing portion which acquires key data that is based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus, the key data being input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 2 and etc., disclose that “… the image processing apparatus includes basic functions and other functions in advance. The user can use other functions by inputting the product key into the image processing apparatus. As a result, the user can expand the function at low cost after renting the image processing apparatus. The product key is issued when a user makes a usage contract with a manufacturer or a sales company or pays a usage fee to the manufacturer or the sales company…”),
a specification processing portion which specifies the designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises as implied a means to decode from the received product key data specified designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus), and
a setting processing portion which sets a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified by the specification processing portion (see Hirota, the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises the MPU 20 as the implied setting means to set based specified print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed acquired from the product key and/or specified by the specification processing portion).
With regard to claim 7, the claim is drawn to a print speed setting method executed in a print speed setting system including an information processing system and an image forming apparatus capable of varying a print speed (see Hirota, i.e. abstract, pg. 6, fig. 2-8, 10, 12-13, 15 and etc.), the print speed setting method comprising:
in the information processing system (see Hirota, i.e. in fig. 1, the computer devices 3),
a generation step of generating key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. abstract, fig. 1, 9, 11 and etc., disclose the computer devices 3 include a generation means which generate product key data based on unique information unique to the image forming apparatus and a designated print speed of the image forming apparatus; also see pg. 6 and etc., disclose that “The image formation control unit 23 causes the image forming unit 24 to form an image on the sheet based on the instruction received from the MPU 20 (step S33). The speed for forming an image is the speed set in step S4 or step S5 in FIG. Note that the speed at which the image forming unit 24 forms an image is controlled by adjusting the speed of the motor of the image forming unit 24. The image formation control unit 23 determines whether or not the image formation instruction received from the MPU 20 remains (step S34). If no image formation instruction remains (step S34: NO), the image formation control unit 23 ends the control. When the image formation instruction remains (step S34: YES), the image formation control unit 23 returns to step S32 and accepts the instruction from the MPU 20 via the internal bus 10. Usually, the case where the image formation control unit 23 determines NO in step S34 is a case where images of all pages are formed. Further, when the image formation control unit 23 determines YES in step S34, there is a next page on which an image is to be formed…”); and
an output step of outputting the key data generated in the generation step, and in the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. abstract, pg. 2, 8 and etc., disclose the computer devices 3 further comprising at least one external communication line 30, that “The product key may be a preset password. When the computer devices 3, 3..., 3 connected to the image processing apparatus 1 via the network use the image processing apparatus 1, even if the product key is identification information such as an IP (Internet Protocol) address. good. In this case, the speed at which the image reading unit 26 reads an image is set for each of the computer devices 3, 3,. The identification information is transmitted to the network interface 11 from the computer devices 3, 3...”),
an acquisition step of acquiring the key data input by a user operation to the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. on pg. 2 and etc., disclose that “… the image processing apparatus includes basic functions and other functions in advance. The user can use other functions by inputting the product key into the image processing apparatus. As a result, the user can expand the function at low cost after renting the image processing apparatus. The product key is issued when a user makes a usage contract with a manufacturer or a sales company or pays a usage fee to the manufacturer or the sales company…”),
a specification step of specifying the designated print speed based on the key data acquired in the acquisition step and the unique information of the image forming apparatus (see Hirota, i.e. the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises as implied a means to decode from the received product key data specified designated print speed based on the key data acquired by the acquisition processing portion and the unique information of the image forming apparatus); and
a setting step of setting a print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed specified in the specification step (see Hirota, the apparatus 1 of at least Fig. 1 and the Abstract further comprises the MPU 20 as the implied setting means to set based specified print speed of the image forming apparatus to the designated print speed acquired from the product key and/or specified by the specification processing portion).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yabe (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2014/0211219 A1) disclose an invention relates to a license management server for managing license, its control method, and its program.
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681