CTNF 19/020,062 CTNF 84194 DETAILED ACTION Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticiapted by Furuhashi et al (US Pat No 10,899,573) . Regarding claim 1, Furuhashi discloses a medium processing apparatus comprising: a first conveyor (10 or 11), in a conveyance path, to convey a medium or multiple media including the medium in a conveyance direction; and a second conveyor (16 or 17) disposed in a circulation path that is branched from the conveyance path at a branching point and is merged at a merging point upstream from the branching point in the circulation path in the conveyance direction to circulate the medium, wherein the second conveyor includes a correction roller pair to correct a displacement of the multiple media that are overlaid on each other and circulate together in the circulation path. Note: functional language recitations in apparatus claims are not required to be taught by the prior art but merely be capable of being performed, as long as the claimed structure is taught (MPEP 2114). Regarding claim 2, Furuhashi discloses the first conveyor includes multiple conveyance roller pairs (10 and 11) including a leading-end alignment roller pair to: overlay another medium conveyed to the conveyance path from an apparatus upstream from the medium processing apparatus in the conveyance direction, on the medium to form the multiple media; and align a leading end of the medium and a leading end of said another medium. Regarding claim 3, Furuhashi discloses the leading-end alignment roller pair (11) is downstream from the merging point in the conveyance path, to which the circulation path merges, in the conveyance direction. Regarding claim 4, Furuhashi discloses the correction roller pair (17) is upstream from the merging point in the conveyance path, to which the circulation path merges, in the conveyance direction. Regarding claim 5, Furuhashi discloses the first conveyor includes multiple first conveyance roller pairs, the second conveyor includes multiple second conveyance roller pairs (16 and 17), and the multiple first conveyance roller pairs of the first conveyor and the multiple second conveyance roller pairs of the second conveyor: overlay the medium and another medium to form the multiple media; and perform a given sheet folding operation on the multiple media including the medium and said another medium overlaid with each other. Regarding claim 6, Furuhashi discloses an image forming device (3) to form an image on a medium. Regarding claim 7, Furuhashi discloses the medium processing apparatus is detachably attachable to the image forming apparatus (shown in either figure 1 or 2) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features of the applicant’s claimed invention . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Patrick Cicchino whose telephone number is (571)270-1954. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 8:30AM to 5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anita Coupe can be reached at (571)270-3614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 Application/Control Number: 19/020,062 Page 2 Art Unit: 3619 Application/Control Number: 19/020,062 Page 3 Art Unit: 3619 Application/Control Number: 19/020,062 Page 4 Art Unit: 3619 Application/Control Number: 19/020,062 Page 5 Art Unit: 3619