DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 4 is cancelled, claims 7-8 are newly added, and claims 1, 5, and 6 are amended. Claims 1-3 and 5-8 filed July 29, 2026 are pending and are hereby examined.
Claim Interpretation
9. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “acquisition unit”, “display control unit”, “correction acceptance unit”, “first settlement unit”, “opening and closing unit”, and “second settlement unit” in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
13. Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
14. Step 1 Statutory Category: Claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 8 are directed to a system, and claim 6 is directed to non-statutory subject matter (see above), however claims 1-3 and 5-8 are statutory classes of invention.
15. Step 2A – Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited: Nevertheless, independent claims 1 and 6 recite an abstract idea of settling transactions while correcting.
The independent claims 1 and 6 recite the following limitations which fall under commercial or legal interactions:
… configured to acquire, from an external system, information of a commodity obtained by a settler in a commodity sales area of a store, the store including the commodity sales area and a settlement area that are separated with a partition and provided with an entrance for access from the commodity sales area to the settlement area, the entrance including a… that enables the access in an open state and disables the access in a closed state;
… configured to display the information of the commodity acquired by the…;
… configured to accept a correction instruction relating to the information of the commodity;
… configured to perform settlement, based on the information of the commodity acquired by… in a case where the correction instruction is not accepted; and
… configured to discard the information of the commodity acquired by the… and to perform the settlement, based on information of the commodity acquired via… in a case where the correction instruction is accepted; and
… configured to output a first signal for closing the… in a case where the settler enters the settlement area from the commodity sales area via the entrance, and to output a second signal for opening the… in response to an end of the settlement by…
16. According to the MPEP, "Commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. Clearly, settling transactions while correcting falls under sales activities, therefore commercial or legal interactions. If the claim limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations as a commercial or legal interaction, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
17. Step 2A – Prong 2: Practical Application: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole merely recites settling transactions with correcting with generally recited computer elements such as an acquisition unit, display control unit, display device, correction acceptance unit, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, opening and closing unit, gate, and input device, which in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, and are merely invoked as tools for settling transactions while correcting. Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computing environment is not a practical application of the abstract idea, and does not take the claim out of the Commercial or Legal Interactions subgrouping of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping. The claims are directed to an abstract idea.
18. Step 2B – Inventive Concept: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered individually and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of an acquisition unit, gate, opening and closing unit, display control unit, display device, correction acceptance unit, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, and input device, perform these steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered individually and as an ordered combination as there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. The claims are not patent eligible.
19. Regarding dependent claim 2, although this claim recites a generally recited notification unit, acquisition unit, first settlement unit, and second settlement unit, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of transaction settlement while correcting, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
20. Regarding dependent claim 3, although this claim recites a generally recited calling unit and acquisition unit, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of transaction settlement while correcting, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
21. Regarding dependent claim 5, although this claim recites a generally recited cancellation acceptance unit, second notification unit, acquisition unit, and opening and closing unit, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of transaction settlement while correcting, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
22. Regarding dependent claim 7, although this claim recites a generally recited gate system, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, and commodity identification system, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of transaction settlement while correcting, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
23. Regarding dependent claim 8, although this claim recites a generally recited action detection system, this claim merely narrows the abstract idea of transaction settlement while correcting, and this claim neither integrates into a practical application nor contains additional elements which amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
24. Therefore, the limitations of the claims, when viewed individually and in ordered combination, are directed to ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
28. Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Sasaki et al (US 2021/0192902) in view of Miura et al (US 2022/0050979).
29. Re Claims 1, 6: Sasaki discloses comprising:
an acquisition unit configured to acquire, from an external system, information of a commodity obtained by a settler in a commodity sales area (see [0097] customer can register product by smartphone, [0122] identifies shopping of member to POS terminal, [0167] shopping file is file that stores registration information registered by mobile terminal);
a display control unit configured to cause a display device to display the information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit (see Fig. 19, [0244] registration confirmation screen displays list of registered product information);
a correction acceptance unit configured to accept a correction instruction relating to the information of the commodity (see [0256] POS terminal 70 that prohibited execution of settlement process executes correction process, Fig. 19 button to call over employee, [0284] editing means correcting the deferred-product information);
a first settlement unit configured to perform settlement, based on the information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit, in a case where the correction instruction is not accepted (see [0243] if determined that shopping information received from host device includes neither deferred-product information nor canceled product information, POS terminal transitions to settlement process; [0246] Then by member operating “accounting key displayed on registration confirmation screen, POS terminal executes the settlement process according to the registration information displayed on registration confirmation screen, then transaction is completed); and
a second settlement unit configured to discard the information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit and to perform the settlement, based on information of the commodity acquired via an input device, in a case where the correction instruction is accepted (see [0256] POS terminal that prohibited execution of settlement process executes correction process of deferred-product information according to correction operation of employee, [0258] scan button is disposed in predetermined position in editing screen. By employee operating scan button, POS terminal displays image data from when code information of product was read. It is sufficient to perform editing on editing screen, [0262] Then, by employee editing and updating deferred-product information to addable registered product information in editing screen, as illustrated in Fig. 22, POS terminal corrects and displays deferred-product information on registration confirmation screen, [0267] execute settlement process);
an opening and closing unit configured to close an entrance from the commodity sales area to a settlement area in a case where the settler enters the settlement area in which the settlement apparatus is provided, and to open the entrance in response to an end of the settlement by the first settlement unit or the second settlement unit (see [0114] store entrance).
However, Sasaki fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Miura teaches:
the store including the commodity sales area and a settlement area that are separated with a partition and provided with an entrance for access from the commodity sales area to the settlement area, the entrance including a gate that enables the access in an open state and disables the access in a closed state (see [0058] allows passage when processing successful).
From the teaching of Miura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sasaki’s mobile terminal with Miura’s teaching of open/closed state in order “… for assisting with accounting processing at a store (see Miura [0001]).”
30. Re Claim 2: Sasaki discloses further comprising:
a first notification unit configured to notify the external system of deletion of the
information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit in response to an end of the settlement by the first settlement unit or the second settlement unit (see [0246] disclose end of a settlement).
31. Re Claim 3: Sasaki discloses further comprising:
a calling unit configured to output a signal for calling a store clerk in a case where the acquisition unit fails to acquire the information of the commodity (see [0168, 0194, 0239, 0240] calling unit).
32. Re Claim 5: Sasaki discloses further comprising:
a cancellation acceptance unit configured to accept a cancellation instruction of the settlement based on the information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit;
and a second notification unit configured to notify the external system of deletion of the information of the commodity acquired by the acquisition unit, if the cancellation instruction is accepted, wherein the opening and closing unit opens the entrance on condition that a response indicating that the deletion of the information of the commodity is permitted
is received from the external system (see [0077-0079] registration cancellation).
33. Re Claim 7: However, Sasaki fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Miura teaches further wherein the gate system opens the gate based on the second signal output in response to the end of the settlement by the first settlement unit or the second settlement unit (see [0058] allows passage when processing successful). From the teaching of Miura, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Sasaki’s mobile terminal with Miura’s teaching of open/closed state in order “… for assisting with accounting processing at a store (see Miura [0001]).”
34. Re Claim 8: Sasaki discloses further comprises an action detection system, wherein the action detection system detects an action of settler, and the commodity identification system specifies the commodity from a detection result of the action (see [0192] detecting input of mobile terminal).
Examiner Notes
35. The Examiner suggests incorporating dependent claims 8 (dependent on 7), 5, 3, and 2 together into the independent claims. The Examiner suggests clarifying what each of the units are (what kind of hardware). Finally, the Examiner suggests incorporating more hardware from the Specification and any unique arrangements of hardware, unique hardware, or unique ways the hardware is communicating. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, is suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Response to Arguments
36. Applicant's arguments filed 7/29/26 have been fully considered and are not found to be convincing, therefore the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is hereby maintained. With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, the applicant made significant claim amendments to claim 1, therefore the arguments in moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
a) Argument #1: b) Argument #2: Applicant argues that the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong 2 (particular machine)
37. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding particularity or generality of the elements of machine or apparatus, according to MPEP 2106.05(b) again: “It is important to note that a general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception, such as an abstract idea, by use of conventional computer functions does not qualify as a particular machine. Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755-56 (Fed. Cir. 2014). See also TLI Communications LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of concrete or tangible components is not an inventive concept); Eon Corp. IP Holdings LLC v. AT&T Mobility LLC, 785 F.3d 616, 623, 114 USPQ2d 1711, 1715 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (noting that Alappat’s rationale that an otherwise ineligible algorithm or software could be made patent-eligible by merely adding a generic computer to the claim was superseded by the Supreme Court’s Bilski and Alice Corp. decisions). Merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions does not automatically overcome an eligibility rejection. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 223-24, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014). See In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 1545, 31 USPQ2d 1545, 1558 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 88 USPQ2d 1385 (Fed. Cir. 2008).” In this particular case, the acquisition unit, display control unit, display device, correction acceptance unit, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, opening and closing unit, gate, and input device, in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component, and are merely invoked as tools for check verification.
38. Regarding whether the machine or apparatus implements the steps of the method, again in MPEP 2106.05(b) it states that: “Integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not integrate the exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) ("We are not persuaded by the appellant's argument that the claimed method is tied to a particular machine because it ‘would not be necessary or possible without the Internet.’ . . . Regardless of whether "the Internet" can be viewed as a machine, it is clear that the Internet cannot perform the fraud detection steps of the claimed method").” In this particular case, the acquisition unit, display control unit, display device, correction acceptance unit, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, opening and closing unit, gate, and input device are merely the objects on which the method operates.
39. Regarding whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, again MPEP 2106.05(b) states: “Whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, i.e., the extent to which (or how) the machine or apparatus imposes meaningful limits on the claim. Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more. See Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610, 95 USPQ2d at 1009 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978)), and CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011).” In this particular case, the acquisition unit, display control unit, display device, correction acceptance unit, first settlement unit, second settlement unit, opening and closing unit, gate, and input device are merely data gathering, therefore is insignificant extra-solution activity.
40. Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. The dependent claims do not resolve the deficiency of the independent claims and accordingly stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
41. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Milkie (Checkout: A Changing Technology, NPL) is found to be the most pertinent NPL prior art.
42. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627