DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Examiner’s Comments
This office action is in response to the application filed on 1/14/2025.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/14/2025 and
5/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification needs to be updated to include US12,246,418
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims (1, 7 and 14) in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
7. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as
being anticipated by Junkers et al. (US 9308632) hereinafter (Junker).
With regard to claim 1, Junker discloses a torque wrench (100) operable to exert a torque on a workpiece, the torque wrench comprising: a housing (101); a drive element (110, 111) for engaging the workpiece; a drive actuator (107, 106) for transmitting a torque to the drive element (110, 111); and a gauge (col.13, line 59) configured to detect a bending strain (The twisting and fastener-bending forces are limited and least destructive when turning force 191, the reaction force, is transferred perpendicular to turning force axis B.sub.1 in plane 140. Col.6, lines 34-39) indicative of a torque exerted by the drive element (110, 111) to the workpiece.
With regard to claim 2, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), further comprising a control system (737) configured to calculate (with torque regulation system 759 col.13, lines 3-4) the torque based on the bending strain.
With regard to claim 3, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), wherein the drive actuator (107, 106) includes a lever arm for rotating the drive element (110, 111), and wherein the bending strain is a bending strain of the lever arm (108).
With regard to claim 6, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), further comprising a sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) configured to detect and communicate rotation of the drive element (110, 111) and to a control system (737).
With regard to claim 7, Junker discloses a torque wrench (100) operable to exert a torque on a workpiece (131), the torque wrench comprising: a housing (101); a drive element (110, 111) for engaging the workpiece (131); a drive actuator (107, 106) for transmitting a torque to the drive element (110, 111); and a gauge (col.13, line 59) configured to detect a reaction force exerted on a reaction member of the housing (101) indicative of a torque exerted by the drive element (110, 111) to the workpiece (131).
With regard to claim 8, Junker discloses a torque wrench (100), wherein the gauge includes a strain gauge (col.13, line 59).
With regard to claim 11, Junker discloses a torque wrench (100), further comprising a control system (737) configured to calculate (with torque regulation system 759 col.13, lines 3-4) the torque based on the reaction force.
With regard to claim 12, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), further comprising a sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) configured to detect rotation of the drive element (110,111).
With regard to claim 13, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), further comprising a sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) configured to detect and communicate rotation of the drive element (110,111) and to a control system (737).
With regard to claim 14, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), operable to exert a torque on a workpiece (131), the torque wrench comprising: a housing (101); a drive element (110, 111) for engaging the workpiece (131); a drive actuator (107, 106) for transmitting a torque to the drive element (110, 111); a gauge (strain gauge col.13, line 59) coupled (“coupled” has been interpreted as not direct) to at least one of the housing and the drive actuator, the gauge (strain gauge col.13, line 59) being configured to detect a characteristic indicative of a torque exerted by the drive element (110, 111) to the workpiece (131); and a sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) supported by the housing and configured to detect rotation of the drive element (110, 111).
With regard to claim 15, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), wherein the sensor (144, 744 are ferromagnets) is configured to detect a position of a magnet driven to rotate due to rotation of the drive element (110, 111).
With regard to claim 16, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), further comprising a rotating member (110) driven to rotate by rotation of the drive element (111), the sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) being configured to detect rotation of the rotating member (110) to thereby detect rotation of the drive element (111).
With regard to claim 18, Junker discloses the torque wrench (100), wherein the sensor (144, 744 measuring torque and capable of sensing rotation) is configured to communicate the rotation of the drive element (110,111) to a control system (737).
Double Patenting
doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on nonstatutory double patenting provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with the examined application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. See MPEP § 717.02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP § 2146 et seq. for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b).
10. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,246,418. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claims of the instant application to have been obvious variations of the claims of the patent. The claims of the patent and the claims of the present application are both directed to a torque wrench including a housing, a drive element, a drive actuator and gauge configured to detect a bending strain.
While the claims of the present application and the claims of the patent may have variations and differences in their scope and terminology, the variations and differences would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Patented claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9 disclose all of the structure defined in application claims 1-3, 5-7, 10 and 14. Therefore, patented claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9 are in essence a “species” of the generic invention of application claims 1-3, 5-7, 10 and 14. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claims 1-3, 5-7, 10 and 14 are anticipated by patented claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9, application claims 1-3, 5-7, 10 and 14 are not patentably distinct from patented claims 1-2, 4-6 and 9.
The application claims and patented claims match-up as follows:
Application Claims Patent Claims US 12,246,418
1, 3, 7, 14 1, 5, 6
2 2
5 4
6 9
10 6
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 4, 9 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected
base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 4, Junker discloses the torque wrench, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the gauge includes a first gauge coupled to the lever arm and further comprising a second gauge coupled to the lever arm and configured to detect the bending strain.
With regard to claim 9, Junker discloses the torque wrench, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the gauge includes a first gauge, and further comprising a second gauge configured to detect the reaction force exerted on a reaction member of the housing.
With regard to claim 17, Junker discloses the torque wrench, but fails to disclose or teach in combination, wherein the drive element includes a sprocket having sprocket teeth, and wherein the rotating member includes a gear having gear teeth engaging the sprocket teeth.
Conclusion
12. Refer to attachment for notice of references cited and recommended for
consideration based on their disclosure of limitations of the claimed invention.
/NATHANIEL C CHUKWURAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731
11/14/2025