DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “16” (page 7, line 2).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the printed circuit board (claim 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 5, line 12, it appears that “adaptor (2)” should be “adaptor (3)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chin-Huan (9,022,614).
Chin-Huan discloses an ornamental assembly comprising; a display (3, Fig. 1); an inflation assembly (33, Fig. 1) secured with an inflation aperture on said display; a housing (60, Fig. 1) securing a plurality of light emitting diodes (610, Fig. 3) responsive to a controller (62, Fig. 3, column 3, lines 9-12); and wherein the housing is secured adjacent to the surface of said display by the inflation assembly such that light from the LEDs is projected into the internal compartment of the display.
Regarding claim 2, the balloon disclosed by Chin-Huan is filled with air. See claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, it is not known whether the balloon is formed by rotational molding or injection molding, but because the balloon disclosed by Chin-Huan is structurally the same as a rotationally molded or injection molded balloon, the structure implied by the recitation that it is rotationally molded or injection molded extruded is anticipated by Chin-Huan.
Regarding claim 7, Chin-Huan discloses a power source (63, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, the power source disclosed by Chin-Huan is batteries. See column 3, lines 9-12.
Regarding claim 10, Chin-Huan discloses an integral inflation port (33, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin-Huan (9,022,614) in view of Xia (11,466,822).
Chin-Huan discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above. However, Chin-Huan does not disclose a modular power cord. Xia teaches providing a modular power cord in order to string together multiple displays. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the display disclosed by Chin-Huan with a modular power cord, as taught by Xia, in order to string together multiple displays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Chin-Huan does not disclose an insert having a hollow aperture secured within the inflation aperture of the display, a plug, and a collar securable to the insert. Moore teaches providing a plug (201, Fig. 2) and a collar (300, Fig. 3). However, Moore does not disclose an insert having a hollow aperture secured within the inflation aperture.
Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable based on their dependencies, respectively.
Claims 12-14 are allowed based on their dependencies, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The relevance of each reference is explained below, unless the relevance is deemed to be readily apparent.
/GARY C HOGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631