DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office action is based on the communications filed January 14, 2025. Claims 1 – 10 are currently pending and considered below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 14, 2025 and the IDS submitted on September 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s)1 – 4, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stead et al. (US 2002/0170773 A1), hereinafter Stead.
Claim 1: Stead discloses an electroacoustic transducer comprising: a diaphragm that has a main dome disposed on a central part (see at least, “Traditional speakers convert the electric energy to sound with one or more drivers that produce sound waves by rapidly vibrating a flexible cone or diaphragm. A diaphragm is usually circular with a central cone-shaped and/or domeshaped portion that is coupled to a cylindrical former having a coil wire wrapped around the cylinder,” Stead [0006], “a diaphragm 24,” Stead [0035]), and a sub dome that annularly surrounds the main dome (see at least, “The exterior edge of the diaphragm is attached to the frame of the speaker via a surround,” Stead [0006], “a surround 32,” Stead [0035]), with inner and outer circumferences each forming a circle of a predetermined radius (see at least, “Generally, suspension designs are concerned with minimizing the radial stress of the surround caused by the movement of the voice coil and diaphragm. The surround generally has a uniform half-circular cross-sectional shape that extends the entire perimeter or circumference of the surround, when the surround is generally circular. Thus, the radius of the half-circular cross-section of the surround remains constant along the perimeter of the surround, creating an arched or dome shaped rim about the speaker,” Stead [0008]); a support part that fixedly supports an outer peripheral edge of the sub dome (see at least, “The exterior edge of the diaphragm is attached to the frame of the speaker via a surround,” Stead [0006], “a frame 22,” Stead [0035]); and a voice coil that is provided on a back side of the diaphragm and vibrates the diaphragm (see at least, “Generally, the coil or wire is wrapped around the exterior side of the cylindrical former. The combination former and coil shall be referred to as the "voice coil.",” Stead [0006], “The surround and the spider act to form the suspension system that positions the voice coil and allows the voice coil to move relative to a transducer magnet(s) when electrical current is directed to the voice coil. The suspension allows the voice coil to rapidly move up and down along the longitudinal axis and vibrate the diaphragm. The suspension needs to flexible enough to allow the for the movement of the voice coil and diaphragm while at the same time keep the diaphragm from wobbling or becoming "decentered.",” Stead [0007], “a voice coil 26,” Stead [0035], “The voice coil 26 is attached to the underside of the diaphragm 24,” Stead [0036]), wherein the sub dome has a plurality of first vertices and a plurality of second vertices, which differ in at least one of (i) a distance from the outer peripheral edge in a radial direction and (ii) a position in a height direction, and are located at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction, and the plurality of first vertices and the plurality of second vertices are located on an annular curved surface that is continuous in the circumferential direction (see at least, “Any geometric design that increases the suspension
element's ability to stretch without altering the length of its perimeter or without changing its circumference may be utilized. For example, peaks may be incorporated into the suspension element at various points along the suspension element. At the points where the peaks are not incorporated,
the suspension element could maintain its generally halfcircular or uniformly corrugated cross-sectional shape, as the case may be. Alternatively, on certain areas of the surround, the design of the could be modified to create more of a parabolic cross-section, rather than a half-circular cross-section. The parabolic cross-section may also vary in shape along the surround. By varying the slope of the
parabolic cross-section or shifting the parabolic shape from side to side, the surround, when viewed from the top, may have an appearance of sinusoidal wave face, among other things. Similarly, the ridges and grooves of the spider could take on a parabolic shape, or other varying shape along portions of the spider,” Stead [0012], “The surround shown in FIGS. 2-5 is one example of a geometric design that may be employed in either suspension element 30 or 32 to minimize the stress on the suspension element 30 and 32. As can be seen in FIG. 2, the surround 32 is designed to include peaks 42, or raised areas,
about the perimeter of the surround 32. Although FIG. 2 shows a plurality of peaks 42 placed at predetermined distances about the surround, any number of peaks 42 may be utilized. Those areas that do not include peaks 42 may follow the traditional design of a half-circle cross-section having a uniform radius 44, which is illustrated by FIG. 3. FIG. 3 is a cross-section taken along the portion of the surround 32 absent any peaks 42,” Stead [0039], “FIG. 4 is a cross-sectional view of the surround 32 taken along a peak 42. This cross-section illustrates that in the areas of the surround 32 that include the peaks 42, the
surround 32 extends higher than the traditional design of a half-circle cross-section 44, which is illustrated by FIG. 3 and represented in FIG. 4 by dashed lines. Thus, the radius of the cross-section along a peak 42 is not uniform. In fact, the radius increases toward the center of the cross-section, between the inner and outer edges 36 and 34. This creates a peak 42, which gives that portion of the surround 32 a higher amplitude if the cross-sections were viewed as waves. Rather than taking the form of a half-circle, the cross-section of the peaks 42 may be generally formed as a parabola, having slopes on each side of the parabola that generally mirror one another. Other shapes that may also be employed
in a suspension element 30 or 32 include, among other things, ellipses, other polynomials, a combination of straight lines and any polynomial shape, shapes with opposing varying slopes, i.e. unsymmetrical shapes, and shapes having cross-section such that the sides of the rim between the,” Stead [0040], “Another implementation of a geographic design that could be used in a suspension element 30 or 32 of a speaker 20 is illustrated in FIG. 6 in connection with a surround 32. In this implementation, the height of the surround 32 does not vary, although it could be designed to
do so. Rather, the highest point 46 of each cross-section is varied from center, moving toward the inner edge 36, crossing center, and then back toward the outer edge 34, creating a wave effect about the center circumference of the surround. When viewed from the top, as illustrated by FIG. 7, this movement of the highest point along the surround appears as a sinusoidal wave face 48, relative to the center circumference of the surround 32,” Stead [0042], Stead FIGS. 2 – 6).
Claim 2: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, wherein a distance from the outer peripheral edge to the first vertex is different from a distance from the outer peripheral edge to the second vertex, and a position of the first vertex in the height direction is different from a position of the second vertex in the height direction (see at least, “Another implementation of a geographic design that could be used in a suspension element 30 or 32 of a speaker 20 is illustrated in FIG. 6 in connection with a surround 32. In this implementation, the height of the surround 32 does not vary, although it could be designed to do so. Rather, the highest point 46 of each cross-section is varied from center, moving toward the inner edge 36, crossing center, and then back toward the outer edge 34, creating a wave effect about the center circumference of the surround. When viewed from the top, as illustrated by FIG. 7, this movement of the highest point along the surround appears as a sinusoidal wave face 48, relative to the center circumference of the surround 32,” Stead [0042], Stead FIG. 6).
Claim 3: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 2, wherein the distance from the outer peripheral edge to the first vertex is less than the distance from the outer peripheral edge to the second vertex, and the position of the first vertex in the height direction is higher than the position of the second vertex in the height direction (see at least, “Another implementation of a geographic design that could be used in a suspension element 30 or 32 of a speaker 20 is illustrated in FIG. 6 in connection with a surround 32. In this implementation, the height of the surround 32 does not vary, although it could be designed to do so. Rather, the highest point 46 of each cross-section is varied from center, moving toward the inner edge 36, crossing center, and then back toward the outer edge 34, creating a wave effect about the center circumference of the surround. When viewed from the top, as illustrated by FIG. 7, this movement of the highest point along the surround appears as a sinusoidal wave face 48, relative to the center circumference of the surround 32,” Stead [0042], “FIG. 8 is a perspective cross-sectional view of the surround, which is taken when the highest point 46 of the dome, or parabola 50, is closer to the outer edge 34, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is greater than the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the inner edge 36. On the other hand, the highest point 46 of the dome 50 in FIG. 9 is closer to the inner edge 36, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is less than the slope of the dome on the side of the inner edge 36. FIG. 10 shows the highest point 46 of the dome 50 as it crosses center, creating the traditional half-circular shaped cross-section 44,” Stead [0043], Stead FIGS. 6 – 11).
Claim 4: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, wherein a first curved contour of a first cross section, which includes the first vertex and is obtained by cutting the sub dome along a first plane that is parallel to the radial direction and the height direction (see at least, “FIG. 3 is a cross-sectional view of the surround in FIG. 2 taken along the line A-A',” Stead [0017], Stead FIG. 3), is connected by the curved surface to (see at least, “FIG. 5 is a cross-sectional view of the surround in FIG. 2 taken along the line C-C',” Stead [0019], Stead FIG. 5) a second curved contour of a second cross section, which includes the second vertex and is obtained by cutting the sub dome along a second plane that is parallel to the radial direction and the height direction (see at least, “FIG. 4 is a cross-sectional view of the surround in FIG. 2 taken along the line B-B',” Stead [0018], Stead FIG. 4).
Claim 8: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, wherein the first vertex is a vertex located at the shortest first distance from the outer peripheral edge, the second vertex is a vertex located at the longest second distance from the outer peripheral edge, and a plurality of vertices between the first vertex and the second vertex in the circumferential direction have distances greater than the first distance and less than the second distance, and are located so that distances from the outer peripheral edge continuously change along the circumferential direction (see at least, “Another implementation of a geographic design that could be used in a suspension element 30 or 32 of a speaker 20 is illustrated in FIG. 6 in connection with a surround 32. In this implementation, the height of the surround 32 does not vary, although it could be designed to do so. Rather, the highest point 46 of each cross-section is varied from center, moving toward the inner edge 36, crossing center, and then back toward the outer edge 34, creating a wave effect about the center circumference of the surround. When viewed from the top, as illustrated by FIG. 7, this movement of the highest point along the surround appears as a sinusoidal wave face 48, relative to the center circumference of the surround 32,” Stead [0042], “FIG. 8 is a perspective cross-sectional view of the surround, which is taken when the highest point 46 of the dome, or parabola 50, is closer to the outer edge 34, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is greater than the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the inner edge 36. On the other hand, the highest point 46 of the dome 50 in FIG. 9 is closer to the inner edge 36, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is less than the slope of the dome on the side of the inner edge 36. FIG. 10 shows the highest point 46 of the dome 50 as it crosses center, creating the traditional half-circular shaped cross-section 44,” Stead [0043], Stead FIGS. 6 – 11).
Claim 9: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, wherein the first vertex is a vertex located at the highest first height in the height direction, the second vertex is a vertex located at the lowest second height in the height direction, and a plurality of vertices between the first vertex and the second vertex in the circumferential direction have heights higher than the second height and lower than the first height, and are located so that heights continuously change along the circumferential direction (see at least, “Another implementation of a geographic design that could be used in a suspension element 30 or 32 of a speaker 20 is illustrated in FIG. 6 in connection with a surround 32. In this implementation, the height of the surround 32 does not vary, although it could be designed to do so. Rather, the highest point 46 of each cross-section is varied from center, moving toward the inner edge 36, crossing center, and then back toward the outer edge 34, creating a wave effect about the center circumference of the surround. When viewed from the top, as illustrated by FIG. 7, this movement of the highest point along the surround appears as a sinusoidal wave face 48, relative to the center circumference of the surround 32,” Stead [0042], “FIG. 8 is a perspective cross-sectional view of the surround, which is taken when the highest point 46 of the dome, or parabola 50, is closer to the outer edge 34, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is greater than the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the inner edge 36. On the other hand, the highest point 46 of the dome 50 in FIG. 9 is closer to the inner edge 36, such that the slope of the dome 50 on the side of the outer edge 34 is less than the slope of the dome on the side of the inner edge 36. FIG. 10 shows the highest point 46 of the dome 50 as it crosses center, creating the traditional half-circular shaped cross-section 44,” Stead [0043], Stead FIGS. 6 – 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stead in view of Yamagishi (JPH03213100A) , hereinafter Yamagishi, cited on IDS filed January 14, 2025.
Claim 5: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the number of first vertices and the number of second vertices are each greater than two and odd. Stead does teach “Although FIG. 2 shows a plurality of peaks 42 placed at predetermined distances about the surround, any number of peaks 42 may be utilized. Those areas that do not include peaks 42 may follow the traditional design of a half-circle cross-section having a uniform radius 44, which is illustrated by FIG. 3. FIG. 3 is a cross-section taken along the portion of the surround 32 absent any peaks 42,” Stead [0039]. Yamagishi discloses a similar invention pertaining to a dome speaker where, “The dome diaphragm constituting the dome speaker includes a hemispherical vibrating portion and an edge, and a typical edge is a roll edge. FIGS. 6a and 6b show the configuration of such a conventional speaker,” Yamagishi [0001] and further teaches wherein the number of first vertices and the number of second vertices are each greater than two and odd (see at least, “In this embodiment, the outer periphery of the roll edge 6b is a polygon with a comer R instead of an ellipse, and the speaker shown in FIG. 2 is constituted by a triangular roll edge 6b. Accordingly, the inner periphery of the edge fixing link 7b also has a triangular shape with a comer R. As shown in this figure, by making the inner periphery of the roll edge 6b a circle and the outer periphery into a polygonal shape with a comer R, in addition to the effect of the first embodiment, the stability at the time of shaking wealth is good, It has the feature of being strong. Incidentally, in the case of the second embodiment, it is preferable to form the polygon with odd-numbered angles for edge resonance dispersion,” Yamagishi [0001], FIG. 2(a), first vertices illustrated on left side and second vertices illustrated on right side of FIG. 2(b) in regards to roll edge 6b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the aforementioned features of Yamagishi in the invention of Stead thereby allowing for the “advantage of the roll edge such that a sufficient amplitude can be obtained and the minimum resonance frequency fo is easily lowered,” Yamagishi [0001].
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stead in view of Yamagishi (JPH03213100A) , hereinafter Yamagishi, and in further view of Inoue (US 2020/0077196 A1), hereinafter Inoue.
Claim 6: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 4, but does not disclose wherein each of the first vertices is located on the first curved contour of the first cross section at intervals of 120 degrees in the circumferential direction, and each of the second vertices is located on the second curved contour of the second cross section at intervals of 120 degrees in the circumferential direction. Stead does teach “Although FIG. 2 shows a plurality of peaks 42 placed at predetermined distances about the surround, any number of peaks 42 may be utilized. Those areas that do not include peaks 42 may follow the traditional design of a half-circle cross-section having a uniform radius 44, which is illustrated by FIG. 3. FIG. 3 is a cross-section taken along the portion of the surround 32 absent any peaks 42,” Stead [0039]. Yamagishi discloses a similar invention pertaining to a dome speaker where, “The dome diaphragm constituting the dome speaker includes a hemispherical vibrating portion and an edge, and a typical edge is a roll edge. FIGS. 6a and 6b show the configuration of such a conventional speaker,” Yamagishi [0001] and further teaches wherein each of the first vertices is located on the first curved contour of the first cross section at intervals in the circumferential direction, and each of the second vertices is located on the second curved contour of the second cross section at intervals in the circumferential direction (see at least, “In this embodiment, the outer periphery of the roll edge 6b is a polygon with a comer R instead of an ellipse, and the speaker shown in FIG. 2 is constituted by a triangular roll edge 6b. Accordingly, the inner periphery of the edge fixing link 7b also has a triangular shape with a comer R. As shown in this figure, by making the inner periphery of the roll edge 6b a circle and the outer periphery into a polygonal shape with a comer R, in addition to the effect of the first embodiment, the stability at the time of shaking wealth is good, It has the feature of being strong. Incidentally, in the case of the second embodiment, it is preferable to form the polygon with odd-numbered angles for edge resonance dispersion,” Yamagishi [0001], FIG. 2(a), first vertices illustrated on left side and second vertices illustrated on right side of FIG. 2(b) in regards to roll edge 6b). Stead and Yamagishi do not explicitly disclose intervals of 120 degrees. However, Inoue disclose a similar invention where the triangles are regular triangles and therefore intervals of 120 degrees (see at least, “Preferably, in the diaphragm or the dust cap of the present invention, each regular polygon is preferably a regular triangle, a square, a regular pentagon, a regular hexagon, a regular heptagon, or a regular octagon,” Inoue [0012]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the aforementioned features of Yamagishi and Inoue in the invention of Stead thereby allowing for the “advantage of the roll edge such that a sufficient amplitude can be obtained and the minimum resonance frequency fo is easily lowered,” Yamagishi [0001] since “The shapes of the diaphragm and the dust cap influence quality and sound pressure frequency characteristics of audio reproduced by the electrodynamic speaker unit,” Inoue [0004].
Claim 7: Stead discloses the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the first vertices and the second vertices are alternately located at equal angular intervals in the circumferential direction. Stead does teach “Although FIG. 2 shows a plurality of peaks 42 placed at predetermined distances about the surround, any number of peaks 42 may be utilized. Those areas that do not include peaks 42 may follow the traditional design of a half-circle cross-section having a uniform radius 44, which is illustrated by FIG. 3. FIG. 3 is a cross-section taken along the portion of the surround 32 absent any peaks 42,” Stead [0039]. Yamagishi discloses a similar invention pertaining to a dome speaker where, “The dome diaphragm constituting the dome speaker includes a hemispherical vibrating portion and an edge, and a typical edge is a roll edge. FIGS. 6a and 6b show the configuration of such a conventional speaker,” Yamagishi [0001] and further teaches wherein the first vertices and the second vertices are alternately located at angular intervals in the circumferential direction (see at least, “In this embodiment, the outer periphery of the roll edge 6b is a polygon with a comer R instead of an ellipse, and the speaker shown in FIG. 2 is constituted by a triangular roll edge 6b. Accordingly, the inner periphery of the edge fixing link 7b also has a triangular shape with a comer R. As shown in this figure, by making the inner periphery of the roll edge 6b a circle and the outer periphery into a polygonal shape with a comer R, in addition to the effect of the first embodiment, the stability at the time of shaking wealth is good, It has the feature of being strong. Incidentally, in the case of the second embodiment, it is preferable to form the polygon with odd-numbered angles for edge resonance dispersion,” Yamagishi [0001], FIG. 2(a), first vertices illustrated on left side and second vertices illustrated on right side of FIG. 2(b) in regards to roll edge 6b). Stead and Yamagishi do not explicitly disclose intervals are regular. However, Inoue disclose a similar invention where the triangles are regular triangles and therefore intervals of 120 degrees (see at least, “Preferably, in the diaphragm or the dust cap of the present invention, each regular polygon is preferably a regular triangle, a square, a regular pentagon, a regular hexagon, a regular heptagon, or a regular octagon,” Inoue [0012]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the aforementioned features of Yamagishi and Inoue in the invention of Stead thereby allowing for the “advantage of the roll edge such that a sufficient amplitude can be obtained and the minimum resonance frequency fo is easily lowered,” Yamagishi [0001] since “The shapes of the diaphragm and the dust cap influence quality and sound pressure frequency characteristics of audio reproduced by the electrodynamic speaker unit,” Inoue [0004].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stead in view of Kikuchi et al. (US 11,128,956 B2), hereinafter Kikuchi.
Claim 10: Stead discloses not disclose a headphone comprising the electroacoustic transducer according to claim 1 but does disclose “The extent to which the suspension elements limit the amount of excursion of the diaphragm and the movement of the voice coil is dependent upon the size of the suspension
elements. The bigger the suspension elements, the more the suspension elements can stretch and allow the diaphragm and voice coil to move more freely. Employing bigger suspension elements, is not, however, a viable solution in a smaller speaker design since the size of the diaphragm must be significantly reduced to accommodate a larger suspension. When a small surround is utilized the excursion of the diaphragm is reduced, limiting the performance of the speakers. Thus, a trade off is made between performance and size when utilizing small speakers, such as those speakers found in laptop computers or small electronic devices. A need therefore exists to design suspension elements that increase the excursion of the diaphragm and the allow more movement of the voice coil by reducing the radial and tangential stress placed on the suspension elements. While addressing this need would help to increase the performance of small speakers, any size speaker could experience
increased performance capabilities from such a design,” Stead [0010]. Kikuchi discloses a similar invention where improvements to the edge of a speaker diaphragm are realized and further discloses “The present technology can also be applied to an edge of a headphone unit,” Kikuchi Column 7 Lines 7 – 8. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the aforementioned improvements of the invention of Stead in a headphone as disclosed by Kikuchi thereby allowing the advantages of Stead to be realized in other “small electronic devices,” Stead [0010], as suggested by Stead and taught by Kikuchi.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH SAUNDERS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692