DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 1/14/25.
Inventorship
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s): Regarding Claims 1, 2, 7, 11 and 18 “a capacitor of the…switch”; Regarding Claim 1 “turning on the second switch when the voltage difference of the two terminals of the second switch has the zero voltage level”; regarding claim 3: “each of a voltage difference of two terminals of the third switch and a voltage difference of two terminals of the fourth switch has the zero voltage level”; regarding claim 4: “reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and a voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil to the zero voltage level”, Regarding claim 6: “each of the voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and the voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil has the zero voltage level, turning off the fourth switch”, Regarding claim 9: “turning on the first switch when a voltage difference of two terminals of the first switch has the zero voltage level”, Regarding claim 10: “when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, each of a voltage difference of two terminals of the first switch and a voltage difference of two terminals of the second switch is reduced to a zero voltage level”, regarding claim 11: “when the third switch is turned off, discharging the primary coil by a capacitor of the second switch, and a voltage difference of the second switch is reduced to the zero voltage level”, regarding claim 12: “when a voltage difference of the second switch is reduced to the zero voltage level, turning on the second switch”, regarding claim 13: “the second switch is turned on, each of a voltage of the primary coil and a voltage of the secondary coil is reduced to the zero voltage level”, regarding claim 16: “when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, each of a voltage difference of two terminals of the third switch and a voltage difference of two terminals of the fourth switch has the zero voltage level”, regarding claim 17: “when each of the voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and the voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil has the zero voltage level, turning off the fourth switch”, regarding claim 20: “turning on the first switch when a voltage difference of two terminals of the first switch has the zero voltage level” . No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mino (US20110188275) in view of Fornage et al. (US20120170324, hereinafter Fornage).
Regarding Claim 1, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) a method of controlling a converting device, the method comprising: turning on a first switch (1) coupled to a primary coil (primary of 9) and a second switch (3) coupled to the primary coil to generate a primary current flowing through the primary coil (¶7,8); generating a secondary current flowing through a secondary coil according to the primary current, and supplying power to a load by the secondary current (¶7,8); when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off (1 and 3 off), turning on a third switch (2) coupled to the primary coil and a fourth switch coupled to the primary coil (4); when the third switch is turned off (2 off), discharging a capacitor of the second switch to the primary coil (¶20), and and turning on the second switch when the voltage difference of the two terminals of the second switch has the zero voltage level (3 on, capacitor 14 would have created zero voltage).
Mino does not explicitly disclose reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the second switch to a zero voltage level.
Fornage discloses reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the second switch to a zero voltage level (¶6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include zero voltage switching as disclosed in Fornage to reduce switching losses and allow efficient operation.
Regarding claim 2, Mino discloses (fig. 10) when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, discharging the primary coil by each of a capacitor of the third switch and a capacitor of the fourth switch (14 and 16).
Regarding claim 3, Mino discloses (fig. 10) when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, each of a voltage difference of two terminals of the third switch and a voltage difference of two terminals of the fourth switch has the zero voltage level (1 and 3 are off, 2 and 4 are on thus zero voltage across).
Regarding claim 4, Mino discloses when the second switch is turned on, reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and a voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil to the zero voltage level (fig. 9, 10).
Regarding claim 6, Mino discloses when each of the voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and the voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil has the zero voltage level, turning off the fourth switch (fig. 9, 10).
Regarding claim 7, Mino discloses when the fourth switch is turned off, discharging the primary coil by a capacitor of the first switch. (fig. 9, 10).
Regarding claim 9, Mino discloses (fig. 10) turning on the first switch (1).
` Mino does not explicitly disclose turning on the first switch when a voltage difference of two terminals of the first switch has the zero voltage level.
Fornage discloses reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of a first switch to a zero voltage level (¶6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include zero voltage switching as disclosed in Fornage to reduce switching losses and allow efficient operation.
Regarding claim 10, Mino discloses A converting device (fig. 9, 10) , comprising: a first switch (1) coupled to a primary coil (primary of 9); a second switch (3) coupled to the primary coil; and an input power source (11) configured to generate a primary current flowing from the first switch through the primary coil to the second switch, wherein the primary current is configured to generate a secondary current flowing through a secondary coil (¶7,8), and the secondary current is configured to supply power to a load (¶7,8), when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off (fig. 10), turning on a third switch (2) coupled to the primary coil and a fourth switch (4) coupled to the primary coil, and when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off (1 and 3 off).
Mino does not explicitly disclose reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the second switch to a zero voltage level.
Fornage discloses reducing a voltage difference of two terminals of the second switch to a zero voltage level (¶6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include zero voltage switching as disclosed in Fornage to reduce switching losses and allow efficient operation.
Regarding claim 11, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when the third switch is turned off (2 off), discharging the primary coil by a capacitor (15) of the second switch (3), and a voltage difference of the second switch is reduced to the zero voltage level (via 15).
Regarding claim 12, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) when a voltage difference of the second switch is reduced to the zero voltage level, turning on the second switch (when switch is off, capacitor will reduce voltage to zero prior to it being turned on).
Regarding claim 13, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when the second switch is turned on, each of a voltage of the primary coil and a voltage of the secondary coil is reduced to the zero voltage level (fig. 9, 10).
Regarding claim 15, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, each of a capacitor (14) of the third switch (2) and a capacitor (16) of the fourth switch (4) is configured to discharge the primary coil.
Regarding claim 16, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when each of the first switch and the second switch is turned off, each of a voltage difference of two terminals of the third switch and a voltage difference of two terminals of the fourth switch has the zero voltage level (fig. 10, prior to 2 and 4 being turned on their voltage diff would be zero via capacitors).
Regarding claim 17, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when each of the voltage difference of two terminals of the primary coil and the voltage difference of two terminals of the secondary coil has the zero voltage level, turning off the fourth switch (fig. 9, 10).
Regarding claim 18, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein when the fourth switch is turned off, discharging the primary coil by a capacitor (13) of the first switch (1).
Regarding claim 20, Mino discloses (fig. 9, 10) wherein turning on the first switch (1) when a voltage difference of two terminals of the first switch has the zero voltage level (via 13 when off).
Claims 5, 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Mino (US20110188275) in view of Fornage further in view of Jitaru (US20190267907).
Regarding claim 5, Mino discloses (fig. 10) when the second switch is turned on, secondary current flows to supply power to the load.
Mino does not disclose turning on a fifth switch coupled to the secondary coil.
Jitaru discloses turning on a fifth switch (118) coupled to the secondary coil.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include a switch in lieu of a diode as disclosed in Jitaru to reduce losses thus improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Mino does not disclose when each of the third switch and the fourth switch is turned off, turning off a sixth switch coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through a fifth switch to supply power to the load.
Jitaru discloses (fig. 1) when each of the third switch (112) and the fourth switch (116) is turned off (switches would cycle off), turning off a sixth switch (124) coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through a fifth switch (122) to supply power to the load.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include a switch in lieu of a diode as disclosed in Jitaru to reduce losses thus improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Mino does not disclose wherein when the second switch is turned on, turning on a fifth switch coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through the fifth switch to supply power to the load.
Jitaru discloses (fig. 1) when the second switch (114) is turned on, turning on a fifth switch (122) coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through the fifth switch to supply power to the load.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include a switch in lieu of a diode as disclosed in Jitaru to reduce losses thus improving efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Mino does not disclose wherein when each of the third switch and the fourth switch is turned off, turning off a sixth switch coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through a fifth switch to supply power to the load.
Jitaru discloses (fig. 1) when each of the third switch (112) and the fourth switch (116) is turned off, turning off a sixth switch (124) coupled to the secondary coil, so that the secondary current flows through a fifth switch (122) to supply power to the load.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mino to include switches in lieu of diodes as disclosed in Jitaru to reduce losses thus improving efficiency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20060077695, Garcea; Giovanni et al. discloses a method for controlling a full bridge converter with a current-doubler.
US 20070242487, Orr; Raymond K. discloses DC converters.
US 20130033904, Ye; Zhong discloses a phase-shifted full bridge converter with reduced circulating current.
US 20150055374, Yamashita; Shigeharu et al. discloses a switching power supply apparatus corresponding to zero voltage switching system.
US 20220140741, Lin; Jing-Yuan et al. discloses an LLC resonant converter.
US 5418703, Hitchcock; Leonard J. et al. discloses a DC-DC converter with reset control for enhanced zero-volt switching.
/KYLE J MOODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838