DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mito et al. (JP 2007-009810).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito et al. (Mito) discloses:
A desulfurization method comprising:
operating an engine (E) to warm up an NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22) provided in an exhaust passage (3) coupled to the engine (E) (See Mito, Paragraphs [0036]-[0038] & [0053]);
controlling the engine (E) so that an excess air ratio of the engine (E) becomes a target value that is lower than 1 when a temperature of the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22) reaches a temperature at which the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22) is capable of reducing sulfur components stored in the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22) (See Mito, Paragraphs [0055]-[0057]);
stopping the engine (E); and
closing the exhaust passage (3) at a downstream side of the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22). (See Mito, Paragraphs [0053] & [0057]).
The Examiner notes that the steps are not required to be performed in a specified order. Accordingly, it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that “stopping the engine” is at least performed during refueling, servicing, end of desired use, etc.
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the target value of the excess air ratio is determined based on an amount of sulfur components stored in the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22). (See Mito, Paragraph [0049]).
The Examiner notes that the target value is changed from its current value in accordance with exceeding an estimated amount of sulfur components based on travel distance or fuel consumption.
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the target value of the excess air ratio is determined based on, in addition to the amount of sulfur components stored in the NOx storage-reduction catalyst, an amount of nitrogen oxides stored in the NOx storage-reduction catalyst. (See Mito, Paragraphs [0046]-[0049]).
The Examiner notes that the target value is changed from its current value in accordance with a simultaneous NOx and SOx purge control and both exceeding an estimated amount of sulfur components and NOx components based on travel distance, fuel consumption, and NOx concentration.
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the engine (E) is provided in a vehicle, and the desulfurization method is performed while the vehicle is stopped. (See Mito, Paragraph [0051]).
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the engine (E) is provided in a vehicle, and the desulfurization method is performed while the vehicle is stopped. (See Mito, Paragraph [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mito et al. (JP 2007-009810) in view of Surnilla et al. (US 2005/0119822).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the warming up the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22). (See Mito, Paragraph [0053]).
Mito discloses the claimed invention except:
warming up the NOx storage-reduction catalyst in a state in which the engine is controlled so that the excess air ratio of the engine becomes 1.
Surnilla et al. (Surnilla) discloses a desulfurization process of a catalyst. (See Surnilla, Paragraph [0126]). Surnilla discloses a warmup process to reach a desulfurization temperature utilizing an air-fuel oscillation that becomes 1. (See Surnilla, Figure 16, Paragraph [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the temperature increasing strategy of Surnilla to heat the catalyst of Mito to desulfurization temperature, as both references are directed towards desulfurization of a catalyst. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heating strategy of Surnilla would have allowed for improved desulfsation performance and protected the catalyst from thermal damage. (See Surnilla, Paragraphs [0122] & [0127]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Mito, Figures 1-2)
Mito discloses:
wherein the warming up the NOx storage-reduction catalyst (22). (See Mito, Paragraph [0053]).
Mito discloses the claimed invention except:
warming up the NOx storage-reduction catalyst in a state in which the engine is controlled so that the excess air ratio of the engine becomes 1.
Surnilla et al. (Surnilla) discloses a desulfurization process of a catalyst. (See Surnilla, Paragraph [0126]). Surnilla discloses a warmup process to reach a desulfurization temperature utilizing an air-fuel oscillation that becomes 1. (See Surnilla, Figure 16, Paragraph [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the temperature increasing strategy of Surnilla to heat the catalyst of Mito to desulfurization temperature, as both references are directed towards desulfurization of a catalyst. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the heating strategy of Surnilla would have allowed for improved desulfsation performance and protected the catalyst from thermal damage. (See Surnilla, Paragraphs [0122] & [0127]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nagaoka, Sato, Suzuki, Kasaya, Wakamoto, and Oda show sulfur regeneration devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746