Claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoo et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0074035, Applicants’ submitted art).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo et al. teach a method defined as a shock process, in which a precursor material composed of at least three component elements are uniformly deposited on a substrate, and the precursor-loaded substrate is heated to a temperature ranging from 500 K to 3000 K for a time duration ranging from 1 millisecond to one minute, followed by quenching/cooling. See paragraph [0013], and [0020] of Yoo et al., as well as Figure 13A and paragraph [0169], which depicts an embodiment of the shock process that applies multiple shocks.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Yoo et al. teach the feasibility in heating the precursor-loaded substrate by subjecting said substrate to Joule heating by applying a current, or by conductive heating, microwave heating, laser heating, radiative heating, or plasma heating. See paragraphs [0156]-[0162] of Yoo et al.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo et al. teach conductive cooling, convection cooling, and spraying with or immersion in cryogenic temperature fluids as exemplary cooling methods. See paragraphs [0167]-[0168] of Yoo et al.
Regarding claim 5, Yoo et al. teach that the substrate may be a carbon-based material; see paragraph [0154] of Yoo et al.
In view of these teachings, Yoo et al. anticipate claims 1-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 108298518).
Regarding claims 17-19, Zhang et al. teach a single-atom dispersed carbon material, wherein examples of the single atom include Co and Pt, and the carbon material may be carbon nanotubes or carbon fiber (“carbon-based substrate”; “substrate comprises carbon fibers”). See paragraphs [0013] and [0016] of Zhang et al., as well as Example 10, which depicts the formation of a single-atom Pt dispersed carbon material derived from a Pt-coordinated O-porphyrin organic framework, and Example 12, which depicts the formation of a single-atom Co and Ni dispersed carbon material from a Co, Ni dual-coordinated N-porphyrin organic framework and carbon nanotube hybrid.
Further regarding claim 17, Zhang et al. teach that the single-atom dispersed carbon material is formed from a hybrid formed by a porphyrin organic framework with a transition metal coordinated in the porphyrin ring and carbon materials, wherein the transition metal single atoms in the single-atom dispersed carbon material are the same as the coordinated transition metal atoms in the porphyrin organic framework. See paragraph [0017] of Zhang et al. From this teaching, the skilled artisan would reasonably expect the single atoms to be covalently bonded to the carbon atoms of the substrate, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 20, Zhang et al. teach that the single-atom dispersed carbon material “effectively constructs a single-atom site structure, so that the derived single-atom carbon material has a high single-atom site density and stability”, and “exhibits single transition metals dispersed in a carbon framework”. See paragraph [0020] of Zhang et al. From this teaching, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to reasonably expect the single-atom dispersed carbon material disclosed in Zhang et al. to exhibit uniform distribution of the single atoms, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach or suggest that the single-atom dispersed carbon material comprises “a plurality of defects”, as recited in Applicants’ claim 17. However, in the aforementioned Examples 10 and 12 of Zhang et al., reference is made to forming calcined products from the organic frameworks and carbon materials, and then treating the respectively obtained calcined products with acid. As a result of said treatment with acid, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants’ invention to reasonably expect the resultant single-atom dispersed carbon materials disclosed in Zhang et al. to exhibit a plurality of defects, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0142149).
Regarding claims 17-19, Ma et al. teach supported catalysts comprising a metal loaded carbon nanotube structure (“structure comprising a carbon-based substrate”; “substrate comprises carbon nanofibers”), wherein examples of the metal catalyst include platinum and ruthenium. Ma et al. further teach the feasibility in functionalizing the carbon nanotubes prior to loading the metal catalysts, “which consequently results in better attachment of the metal catalyst to the carbon nanotube surface (whether by adsorption, hydrogen bond, adhesion, electrostatic attraction covalent bond absorption, van der Waals force, or any other mechanism which may occur to secure, support, hold or otherwise keep the metal catalyst onto the carbon nanotube surface).” See paragraphs [0063]-[0064], [0068], [0074], and [0075] of Ma et al. From these teachings, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to reasonably expect the supported catalysts disclosed in Ma et al. to (a) comprise carbon nanotubes exhibiting a plurality of defects and (b) comprise metal catalysts that are covalently bonded to the carbon nanotubes.
Further regarding claim 17, and also regarding claim 20, Ma et al. teach that the aforementioned supported catalysts exhibit a high level of metal catalyst dispersion, if in extrudate form, compared to the form of metal loaded carbon nanotubes prior to extrusion. See paragraphs [0085] and [0090] of Ma et al.
Ma et al. do not explicitly teach or suggest the limitations of Applicants’ claims regarding the catalyst being a single-atom dispersion of individual single atoms, as recited in Applicants’ claim 17. However, because Ma et al. teach a structure structurally reading upon that instantly claimed, the skilled artisan would have been motivated to reasonably expect the structure here in Ma et al. to comprise catalyst metals in the form of a single-atom dispersion, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitations of Applicants’ claims 6-16, regarding, for example, the formation of individual single first atoms, said single first atoms being separately dispersed on and bonded to the substrate, regarding the loading amount of the precursors (claim 15), or regarding the duration of the first cooling period in each first heating cycle being at least 10 times the first duration (claim 16).
Yoo et al. teach the formation of multielement nanoparticles having a size or average diameter ranging from a few atoms to at least 1 micrometer (paragraph [0012] therein), as opposed to the formation of single atoms separately dispersed on an bonded to the substrate, as recited in Applicants’ claim 6.
Because claims 7-14 depend directly or indirectly from claim 6, the limitations of these claims are also not taught or suggested by Yoo et al.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Hailey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 June 22, 2026