DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 1/14/2025, and 6/23/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant wrote in line one that claim 4 depends from claim 2, however, upon review this would create 112(b) antecedent issues with dependent claims 5-9, it would appear as though Applicant may have meant to write that claim 4 depends from claim –3--. (Examiner will be interpreting claim 4 as depending from claim 3 for examination on the merits as discussed in our Interview of record 12/22/2025).
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant wrote in line one that claim 18 depends from claim 16, however, upon review this would create 112(b) antecedent issues, it would appear as though Applicant may have meant to write that claim 18 depends from claim –17--. (Examiner will be interpreting claim 18 as depending from claim 17 for examination on the merits). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593).
In regard to claim 1:
Choi discloses a battery system (Fig. 2 Item 200), comprising: a first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) comprising a first battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 221); a second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230) comprising a second battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 231); a charger (Fig. 2 Item 210); and at least one processor (Fig. 2 Item 240) configured to: control the charger (Fig. 2 Item 210) to sequentially perform constant current (CC) charging on the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) and the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) based on input power being identified (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] and [0101] i.e. in order); and control the charger to sequentially perform constant voltage (CV) charging on the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) and the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220 & 226 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) based on the CC charging of the second battery pack and the first battery pack being completed (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] i.e. fig. 3).
However, Choi is vague in its disclosure of sequential charging as well as wherein a discharging performance of the first battery pack is greater than a discharging performance of the second battery pack, and wherein a charging performance of the second battery pack is greater than a charging performance of the first battery pack.
Kawasumi teaches a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries in a sequential matter (claim 1) where the batteries (Fig. 1 Item 1A and 1B) may be a combination of lithium ion, nickel hydrogen or nickel cadmium (Pars. [0029-0031]) each battery type has the ability to either be better at charging or discharging then the other.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known teaching of a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries as taught by Kawasami with the known method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by Choi as doing so would have yielded an electronic device capable of efficiently supplying power.
Further Applicant has disclosed in Paragraphs [0042] – [0045] that batteries with good charging performance as well as batteries with good discharging performance are known in the art, and capable of being selected to either accomplish powering motors or electronics, based on the design choice needs of the one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593) and further in view of Akuzawa (2020/0070753).
In regard to claim 2:
Modified Choi further discloses the battery system of claim 1 (Fig. 2 Item 200), including the first (Fig. 2 Item 220) and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 230), a first and second load (Fig. 1 Item 101 i.e. electronic device components), and at least one processor (Fig. 2 Item 240), to sequentially discharge the first and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 220, and 230) based on the input power being not identified (Par. [0003] i.e. when separated from an external power source battery may be discharged).
However, Modified choi does not explicitly disclose a first DC/DC converter, for a first load, connected to the first battery pack; and a second DC/DC converter, for a second load, connected to the second battery pack, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter and turn on the second DC/DC converter.
Akuzawa teaches a first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 21 & Par. [0012]), for a first load (Fig. 1 Item 41 & Par. [0012]), connected to a first battery (Fig. 1 Item 31 & Par. [0012]); and a second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 22 & Par. [0012]), for a second load (Fig. 1 Item 42 & Par. [0012]), connected to a second battery (Fig. 1 Item 32 & Par. [0012]), wherein an ECU control Unit (Fig. 1 Item 70 & Par. [0014]) is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 21 & Par. [0014]) and turn on the second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 22 & Par. [0014]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known divided electrical system of Akuzawa with the known modified method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by modified Choi as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of supplying different powers to different loads (Akuzawa: Par. [0011]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593) and further in view of Ha et al. (2020/0266627).
In regard to claim 10:
Modified Choi further discloses the battery system of claim 1, including the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) and the first battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 221), as well as the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230) and the second battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 231), and wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 2 Item 240) is further configured to: monitor battery status information (Fig. 2 Item 220 & 226 & Par. [0068]); and control the CC charging and the CV charging of the first battery pack and the second battery pack based on the monitoring result (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] i.e. fig. 3).
However, Modified choi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first battery pack comprises a first battery management device configured to obtain status information of the first battery cell, wherein the second battery pack comprises a second battery management device configured to obtain status information of the second battery cell.
Ha teaches a battery with a protection circuit module which may include or operate as a battery management system (BMS) configured to obtain status information and send that information to the processor (Figs. 1-3 & Par. [0051]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known battery management system (BMS) of Ha with the known modified method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by modified Choi as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of increased battery protection from performance deterioration (Ha: Par. [0051]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593).
In regard to claim 11:
Choi discloses a controlling method of a battery system (Fig. 2 Item 200) comprising a first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) that comprises a first battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 221) and a second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230) that comprises a second battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 231), the controlling method comprising: sequentially performing constant current (CC) charging on the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) and the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) based on input power being identified (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] and [0101] i.e. in order); and sequentially performing constant voltage (CV) charging on the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) and the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220 & 226 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) based on the CC charging of the second battery pack and the first battery pack being completed (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] i.e. fig. 3).
However, Choi is vague in its disclosure of sequential charging as well as wherein a discharging performance of the first battery pack is greater than a discharging performance of the second battery pack, and wherein a charging performance of the second battery pack is greater than a charging performance of the first battery pack.
Kawasumi teaches a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries in a sequential matter (claim 1) where the batteries (Fig. 1 Item 1A and 1B) may be a combination of lithium ion, nickel hydrogen or nickel cadmium (Pars. [0029-0031]) each battery type has the ability to either be better at charging or discharging then the other.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known teaching of a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries as taught by Kawasami with the known method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by Choi as doing so would have yielded an electronic device capable of efficiently supplying power.
Further Applicant has disclosed in Paragraphs [0042] – [0045] that batteries with good charging performance as well as batteries with good discharging performance are known in the art, and capable of being selected to either accomplish powering motors or electronics, based on the design choice needs of the one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593) and further in view of Akuzawa (2020/0070753).
In regard to claim 12:
Modified Choi further discloses the controlling method of claim 11 (Figs. 2 & 3 Item 200), including the first (Fig. 2 Item 220) and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 230), a first and second load (Fig. 1 Item 101 i.e. electronic device components), and at least one processor (Fig. 2 Item 240), to sequentially discharge the first and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 220, and 230) based on the input power being not identified (Par. [0003] i.e. when separated from an external power source battery may be discharged).
However, Modified choi does not explicitly disclose a first DC/DC converter, for a first load, connected to the first battery pack; and a second DC/DC converter, for a second load, connected to the second battery pack, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter and turn on the second DC/DC converter.
Akuzawa teaches a first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 21 & Par. [0012]), for a first load (Fig. 1 Item 41 & Par. [0012]), connected to a first battery (Fig. 1 Item 31 & Par. [0012]); and a second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 22 & Par. [0012]), for a second load (Fig. 1 Item 42 & Par. [0012]), connected to a second battery (Fig. 1 Item 32 & Par. [0012]), wherein an ECU control Unit (Fig. 1 Item 70 & Par. [0014]) is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 21 & Par. [0014]) and turn on the second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 22 & Par. [0014]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known divided electrical system of Akuzawa with the known modified method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by modified Choi as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of supplying different powers to different loads (Akuzawa: Par. [0011]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593).
In regard to claim 15:
Choi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer instructions that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 2 Item 240) of a battery system (Fig. 2 Item 200) comprising a first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) that comprises a first battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 221) and a second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230) that comprises a second battery cell (Fig. 2 Item 231), causes the battery system to operate, wherein the operation comprises: sequentially performing constant current (CC) charging on the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) and the first battery pack (Fig. 2 Item 220) based on input power being identified (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] and [0101] i.e. in order); and sequentially performing constant voltage (CV) charging on the first battery pack and the second battery pack (Fig. 2 Items 220, 230 & 236 & Par. [0068] and [0101] i.e. in order) based on the CC charging of the second battery pack and the first battery pack being completed (Figs. 2 & 3 Items 210, 240, 220, 224, 225, 226, 230 & Pars. [0068-0069] i.e. fig. 3).
However, Choi is vague in its disclosure of sequential charging as well as wherein a discharging performance of the first battery pack is greater than a discharging performance of the second battery pack, and wherein a charging performance of the second battery pack is greater than a charging performance of the first battery pack.
Kawasumi teaches a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries in a sequential matter (claim 1) where the batteries (Fig. 1 Item 1A and 1B) may be a combination of lithium ion, nickel hydrogen or nickel cadmium (Pars. [0029-0031]) each battery type has the ability to either be better at charging or discharging then the other.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known teaching of a method of charging and discharging a plurality of batteries as taught by Kawasami with the known method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by Choi as doing so would have yielded an electronic device capable of efficiently supplying power.
Further Applicant has disclosed in Paragraphs [0042] – [0045] that batteries with good charging performance as well as batteries with good discharging performance are known in the art, and capable of being selected to either accomplish powering motors or electronics, based on the design choice needs of the one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2022/0181889) in view of Kawasumi et al. (US 2005/0001593) and further in view of Akuzawa (2020/0070753).
In regard to claim 16:
Modified Choi further discloses the operation of claim 15, (Fig. 2 Item 200), including the first (Fig. 2 Item 220) and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 230), a first and second load (Fig. 1 Item 101 i.e. electronic device components), and at least one processor (Fig. 2 Item 240), to sequentially discharge the first and second battery packs (Fig. 2 Item 220, and 230) based on the input power being not identified (Par. [0003] i.e. when separated from an external power source battery may be discharged).
However, Modified choi does not explicitly disclose a first DC/DC converter, for a first load, connected to the first battery pack; and a second DC/DC converter, for a second load, connected to the second battery pack, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter and turn on the second DC/DC converter.
Akuzawa teaches a first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 21 & Par. [0012]), for a first load (Fig. 1 Item 41 & Par. [0012]), connected to a first battery (Fig. 1 Item 31 & Par. [0012]); and a second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Item 22 & Par. [0012]), for a second load (Fig. 1 Item 42 & Par. [0012]), connected to a second battery (Fig. 1 Item 32 & Par. [0012]), wherein an ECU control Unit (Fig. 1 Item 70 & Par. [0014]) is further configured to turn on the first DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 21 & Par. [0014]) and turn on the second DC/DC converter (Fig. 1 Items 70, 22 & Par. [0014]).
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the known divided electrical system of Akuzawa with the known modified method of charging a plurality of batteries and electronic device as disclosed by modified Choi as doing so would have yielded the predictable result of supplying different powers to different loads (Akuzawa: Par. [0011]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 13-14, and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, as well as correcting the dependency of claim 4 to depend off of claim 3 and claim 18 to depend off of claim 17.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please See attached form PTO-892.
MW
12/22/2025
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836