Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 2019/0061568 A1), hereinafter Hirata.
Regarding claim 1, Hirata discloses a vehicle seat to be mounted in a vehicle, the vehicle seat comprising:
a seat cushion (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below); and
a seatback (seat back 18, fig. 1),
the seat cushion including, in an order from a rear side thereof along a front- rear direction of the vehicle:
a buttocks-support seat surface (hip support portion 14a, as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) configured to support from below buttocks of an occupant sitting on the vehicle seat (Para. [0044], “[a]t a seat face of the seat cushion 14 are provided a hip support portion 14a which supports the buttocks of the occupant 100”; as shown in fig. 1); and
a thigh-support seat surface (thigh support portion 14b, as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) configured to support from below thighs of the occupant (Para. [0044], “thigh support portion 14b which supports the femurs of the occupant 100 at a position located in front of the hip support portion 14a”; as shown in fig. 1),
the seatback including, in an order from a lower side thereof along an up- down direction of the vehicle:
a lumbar-region support surface (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) configured to support a lumbar region of the occupant (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below, the lumber-region is configured to support a lumbar region of the occupant 100); and
a thoracic-region support surface (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below) configured to support a thoracic region of the occupant (as shown in annotated fig. 1 below, the thoracic-region is configured to support a thoracic region of the occupant 100),
the seat cushion and the seatback being arranged such that a hip angle formed by the buttocks-support seat surface and the lumbar-region support surface is 93° to 101° (Para. [0080], “[t]he appropriate range of the hip's angle C is generally within a range from 90 degrees to 110 degrees, for example”. Examiner notes, 93° to 101° is in the disclosed range).
Hirata is silent to the seatback being formed such that a neck angle formed by the lumbar-region
support surface and the thoracic-region support surface is 17.4° to 24.2°.
Examiner notes, it reasonably could be construed that Hirata explicitly discloses a neck angle that is between the range of 17.4° to 24.2° from annotated figure 1 below. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of
ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). Furthermore, MPEP 2125 states, “Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hirata such that the neck angle was in the range of 17.4° to 24.2° as suggested by Annotated fig. 1 of Hirata, since comfort is subjective and one skilled in the art would recognize this and modify Hirata to find the optimal angle for the vast majority of users. Furthermore, it has been held that where routine testing and general experimental conditions are present, discovering the optimum or workable ranges until the desired effect is achieved involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Since finding the optimal range would directly affect a user’s comfort, and safety.
Annotated fig. 1: annotated image of Hirata’s fig. 1
Regarding claim 2, Hirata discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the
hip’s angle is generally within a range from 90 degrees to 110 degrees, but does not appear to specifically disclose that the hip angle is 97°, and the neck angle is 20.8°.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hip’s angle such that it is 97° and the modify the neck angle such that it is 20.8°, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Finding the optimal range would directly affect a user’s comfort, and safety. Furthermore, comfort is subjective, and one skilled in the art would recognize this and modify the seat of Hirata to find the optimal angle for the vast majority of users.
Conclusion
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642