DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed 01/14/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haga (US 10,601,308).
Re claim 1, Haga teaches a power converter [Fig 12] for converting multi-phase AC grid input power with a grid frequency and at least two phases from a grid to DC output power of the power converter, wherein the power converter comprises at least one phase block, wherein each of the phase blocks comprises at least two separate converter single-phase string arrangements, wherein each converter single-phase string arrangement comprises, respectively: an individual active rectifier portion [5] for rectifying single-phase AC input power [at 1] to intermediate DC power [at 51], the active rectifier portion including a H-bridge with semiconductor switches [11, 12, 31, 32], and an individual DC/DC converter [6] for converting the intermediate DC power to output DC power of the converter single-phase string arrangement, wherein the DC/DC converter includes - an inverter portion [33-36] for inverting the intermediate DC power to first intermediate AC power with an elevated frequency, wherein the inverter portion includes a H-bridge with semiconductor switches [Col 9, ln 44-46],- a transformer [61] for transforming the first intermediate AC power to second intermediate AC power, and- a passive diode rectifier [13-16] for rectifying the second intermediate AC power to the output DC power of the converter single- phase string arrangement, wherein the passive diode rectifier includes a diode bridge [Col 9, ln 48-51].
Re claim 6, Haga teaches wherein, in each converter single-phase string arrangement, the transformer provides galvanic isolation between the active rectifier portion and the passive diode rectifier [Col 9, ln 57-64], and/or the transformer is configured to transform the intermediate AC power to the second intermediate AC power such that a voltage of the second voltage intermediate AC power is less than one third of a voltage of the first intermediate AC power.
Re claim 9, Haga teaches wherein DC output terminals of the converter single-phase string arrangements are electrically connected in parallel [as shown in Fig 12].
Re claim 10, Haga teaches wherein the DC/DC converters are independent from each other [as shown in Fig 12].
Re claim 13, Haga teaches wherein, for a respective one of the converter single-phase string arrangements, an output DC current of the output DC power is, for any output DC voltage level of the output DC power between zero and a maximum value, adjustable [Col 9, ln 60-64, the implied current is higher than zero].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga.
Re claim 2, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not explicitly teach wherein the semiconductor switches of the active rectifier portions are insulated-gate bipolar transistors and/or wherein the semiconductor switches of the inverter portions are insulated-gate bipolar transistors.
However Col 11, ln 56-60 teaches the use of IGBTs as the semiconductor switches. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fig 12 of Haga to include the features as described in Col 11, ln 56-60 because it is used as an obvious design choice, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 3-5, 7, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga in view of Awal et al. (“Awal”, US 2022/0416684).
Re claim 3, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein each active rectifier portion has a phase leg topology with at least three levels and/or wherein each inverter portion has a phase leg topology with at least three levels.
Awal teaches a device [Fig 2] wherein each active rectifier portion [as shown in Fig 1A] has a phase leg topology with at least three levels [phase a,b,c] and/or wherein each inverter portion has a phase leg topology with at least three levels [Fig 2]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used to provide a desired form of power control in order to reduce output ripple while improving transient response, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 4, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein each active rectifier portion is of neutral-point- clamped topology and/or wherein each inverter portion is of neutral-point-clamped topology.
Awal teaches a device [Fig 3A] wherein each active rectifier portion is of neutral-point- clamped topology [NPC Full Bridge] and/or wherein each inverter portion is of neutral-point-clamped topology [paragraph 44]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used as a simple, yet effective means to reduce voltage stress, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 5, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein, in each converter single-phase string arrangement, both the active rectifier portion and the inverter portion are of neutral-point-clamped topology and share a corresponding neutral point.
Awal teaches wherein, in each converter single-phase string arrangement, both the active rectifier portion and the inverter portion are of neutral-point-clamped topology and share a corresponding neutral point [paragraph 44]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used as a simple, yet effective means to reduce voltage stress, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 7, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the power converter comprises at least two phase blocks.
Awal teaches wherein the power converter comprises at least two phase blocks [Fig 4, Level 1, Level 2]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used as a simple, yet effective means to reduce voltage stress, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 8, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the active rectifier portions of the converter single-phase string arrangements of the at least two phase blocks together form, respectively for each phase, a cascaded H-bridge.
Awal teaches wherein the active rectifier portions of the converter single-phase string arrangements of the at least two phase blocks together form, respectively for each phase, a cascaded H-bridge [paragraph 28]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used to produce a desired larger AC voltage, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Re claim 11, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the power converter includes an LCL filter between a power input for the multi-phase AC grid input power and the converter single-phase string arrangements, which are most directly connected to the power input.
Awal teaches wherein the power converter includes an LCL filter [Filter, Fig 4] between a power input [MVAC/HVAC] for the multi-phase AC grid input power and the converter single-phase string arrangements [Single-Phase Module], which are most directly connected to the power input [paragraph 52]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Awal because it is used to achieve better performance while reducing physical size and weight, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga in view of Koponen et al. (“Koponen”, US 2023/0040184).
Re claim 15, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach a hydrogen production facility comprising - an electrolyzer stack for producing hydrogen and the power converter, according to claim 1, for supplying the electrolyzer stack with the DC output power.
Koponen teaches a device [Fig 1a] having an electrolyzer stack [103] for producing hydrogen and a power converter [104], for supplying the electrolyzer stack with the DC output power [output of 104]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Koponen because it is used to provide a desired output power while having a compact size and reduced temperatures, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Claim 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga in view of Chen et al. (“Chen”, US 2012/0025720).
Re claim 14, Haga teaches the limitations as applied to the claim above but does not teach wherein the transformer comprises at least two individual output winding units, wherein the individual output winding units are connected to the passive diode rectifier in parallel or in series.
Chen teaches a device [Fig 3] having a transformer [T1] comprising at least two individual output winding units, wherein the individual output winding units are connected to the passive diode rectifier [320] in parallel or in series [paragraph 33]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Haga to include the features of Chen because it is used to produce a desired output voltage while using a minimum number of components, thus improving the utility of the device, which increases efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or disclose the input power analyzer is connected to the control system, wherein the control system is configured to control the semiconductor switches of the inverter portions of the converter single-phase string arrangements such that the first intermediate AC powers have the same elevated frequency corresponding to an integer multiple of the grid frequency, wherein said integral multiple is at least 10.
Conclusion
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/LaKaisha Jackson/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838