Double Patenting
Claim 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 9, 13 and 15-20 of copending Application No. 19/019,320 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims define inventions that are so similar in their scope and function that they essentially cover the same practical invention, despite minor wording differences.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application US19/020,272
Application US 19/019,320
1. An energy storage system, configured to provide power regulation for a power grid with a maximum value of the power regulation being a contracted capacity,
1. An energy storage system, configured to provide power regulation for a power grid with a maximum value of the power regulation being a contracted capacity,
wherein when an operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a first frequency and less than or equal to a second frequency, a regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a first input boundary value and less than or equal to a first output boundary value;
wherein when an operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a first frequency and less than or equal to a second frequency, a regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a first input boundary value and less than or equal to a first output boundary value;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a third frequency and less than or equal to the first frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to the first input boundary value and less than or equal to a second output boundary value; when the operating frequency decreases from the first frequency to the third frequency, a plurality of first upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first output boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of first lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first input boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a third frequency and less than or equal to the first frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to the first input boundary value and less than or equal to a second output boundary value; when the operating frequency decreases from the first frequency to the third frequency, a plurality of first upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first output boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of first lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first input boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to the second frequency and less than or equal to a fourth frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a second input boundary value and less than or equal to the first output boundary value; when the operating frequency increases from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, a plurality of second upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first output boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of second lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first input boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to the second frequency and less than or equal to a fourth frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a second input boundary value and less than or equal to the first output boundary value; when the operating frequency increases from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, a plurality of second upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first output boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of second lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first input boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly;
wherein the energy storage system comprises:
wherein the energy storage system comprises:
an energy storage unit, configured to store and provide power;
an energy storage unit, configured to store and provide power;
a measurement unit, configured to measure the operating frequency of the power grid; and
a measurement unit, configured to measure the operating frequency of the power grid; and
a control unit, coupled to the measurement unit and the energy storage unit, and configured to receive the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit;
a control unit, coupled to the measurement unit and the energy storage unit, and configured to receive the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit;
wherein when a state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a normal charge state;
wherein when a state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a normal charge state;
when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is less than the first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a low charge state;
when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is less than the first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a low charge state;
when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be greater than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to supply the power to the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be greater than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to supply the power to the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be less than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to be charged by the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be less than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to be charged by the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a first frequency boundary value and less than or equal to a second frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be a first operating ratio, and the first operating ratio is less than or equal to 0 and greater than or equal to the first input boundary value; and
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a first frequency boundary value and less than or equal to a second frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be a first operating ratio, and the first operating ratio is less than or equal to 0 and greater than or equal to the first input boundary value;
the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and/or the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and/or the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency;
2. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
15. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
3. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency.
16. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency.
4. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state; and when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state, the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
17. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state, and the second charge level is greater than the first charge level; wherein when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state, the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
5. The energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising an auxiliary power supply device, wherein the control unit configures the first operating ratio to be less than 0, and an input power received by the energy storage system from the power grid is greater than or equal to an auxiliary power provided by the auxiliary power supply device.
18. The energy storage system according to claim 1, further comprising an auxiliary power supply device, wherein the control unit configures the first operating ratio to be less than 0, and an input power received by the energy storage system from the power grid is greater than or equal to an auxiliary power provided by the auxiliary power supply device.
6. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio;
(from claim 1) when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio;
the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value;
the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value;
the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by a first efficiency threshold.
7. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state; when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio;
13. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state, and the second charge level is greater than the first charge level; wherein when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the first frequency and less than or equal to the third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to substantially equal to the first output boundary value; wherein the third frequency boundary value is greater than the first frequency and less than the second frequency.
the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value, and the first frequency boundary value is less than or equal a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid; the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
(from claim 1) the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value;the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by a first efficiency threshold.
8. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value;
19. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fourth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a third operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value;
the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
the fourth frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
the third operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a third efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the third operating ratio is greater than a fourth efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by a second efficiency threshold.
9. The energy storage system according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value; the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than or equal to a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid; the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
9. The energy storage system according to claim 8, wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fifth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the first lower limit corresponding to the operating frequency at the fifth frequency boundary value and greater than or equal to the first lower limit corresponding to the operating frequency at the fourth frequency boundary value, and the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to increase as the operating frequency decreases; wherein the fifth frequency boundary value is greater than the third frequency.
10. An operating method of an energy storage system, wherein the energy storage system is configured to provide power regulation for a power grid with a maximum value of the power regulation being a contracted capacity,
20. An operating method of an energy storage system, wherein the energy storage system is configured to provide power regulation for a power grid with a maximum value of the power regulation being a contracted capacity,
when an operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a first frequency and less than or equal to a second frequency, a regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a first input boundary value and less than or equal to a first output boundary value;
when an operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a first frequency and less than or equal to a second frequency, a regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a first input boundary value and less than or equal to a first output boundary value;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a third frequency and less than or equal to the first frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to the first input boundary value and less than or equal to a second output boundary value; when the operating frequency decreases from the first frequency to the third frequency, a plurality of first upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first output boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of first lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first input boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a third frequency and less than or equal to the first frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to the first input boundary value and less than or equal to a second output boundary value; when the operating frequency decreases from the first frequency to the third frequency, a plurality of first upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first output boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of first lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first input boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to the second frequency and less than or equal to a fourth frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a second input boundary value and less than or equal to the first output boundary value; when the operating frequency increases from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, a plurality of second upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first output boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of second lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first input boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly;
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to the second frequency and less than or equal to a fourth frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a second input boundary value and less than or equal to the first output boundary value; when the operating frequency increases from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, a plurality of second upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first output boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of second lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first input boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly;
wherein the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit, a measurement unit and a control unit, the energy storage unit is configured to store and provide power, the measurement unit is configured to measure the operating frequency of the power grid, and the control unit is coupled to the measurement unit and the energy storage unit and is configured to receive the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit; when a state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a normal charge state; when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is less than the first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a low charge state; when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be greater than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to supply the power to the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity; when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be less than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to be charged by the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
wherein the energy storage system comprises an energy storage unit, a measurement unit and a control unit, the energy storage unit is configured to store and provide power, the measurement unit is configured to measure the operating frequency of the power grid, and the control unit is coupled to the measurement unit and the energy storage unit and is configured to receive the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit; when a state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a normal charge state; when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is less than the first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a low charge state; when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be greater than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to supply the power to the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity; when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be less than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to be charged by the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity;
wherein the operating method comprises:
wherein the operating method comprises:
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a first frequency boundary value and less than or equal to a second frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be a first operating ratio, wherein the first operating ratio is less than or equal to 0 and greater than or equal to the first input boundary value; wherein the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and/or the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a first frequency boundary value and less than or equal to a second frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be a first operating ratio, wherein the first operating ratio is less than or equal to 0 and greater than or equal to the first input boundary value; wherein the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and/or the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency; and
11. The operating method according to claim 10, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
34. The operating method according to claim 20, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
12. The operating method according to claim 10, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency.
35. The operating method according to claim 20, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency.
13. The operating method according to claim 10, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state; and when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state, the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency.
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio, wherein the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value, the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by a first efficiency threshold.
14. The operating method according to claim 10, wherein the energy storage system further comprises an auxiliary power supply device, and the operating method further comprises:
37. The operating method according to claim 20, wherein the energy storage system further comprises an auxiliary power supply device, and the operating method further comprises:
configuring the control unit to configure the first operating ratio to be less than 0, wherein an input power received by the energy storage system from the power grid is greater than or equal to an auxiliary power provided by the auxiliary power supply device.
configuring the control unit to configure the first operating ratio to be less than 0, wherein an input power received by the energy storage system from the power grid is greater than or equal to an auxiliary power provided by the auxiliary power supply device.
15. The operating method according to claim 10, further comprising: when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio,
(from 20) when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio,
wherein the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value;
wherein the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value,
the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by a first efficiency threshold.
16. The operating method according to claim 10, wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state, and the operating method further comprises:
21. The operating method according to claim 20, further comprising:
when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio,
when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fourth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the third frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be substantially equal to the first upper limit corresponding to the operating frequency, wherein the fourth frequency boundary value is greater than the third frequency.
wherein the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value, and the first frequency boundary value is less than or equal a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid;
22. The operating method according to claim 21, further comprising: when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fifth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the first upper limit corresponding to the operating frequency at the fifth frequency boundary value and greater than or equal to the first upper limit corresponding to the operating frequency at the fourth frequency boundary value, and configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to increase or remain constant as the operating frequency decreases, wherein the fifth frequency boundary value is greater than the third frequency.
the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
23. The operating method according to claim 22, further comprising: when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to the fifth frequency boundary value, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to increase as the operating frequency decreases.
17. The operating method according to claim 10, further comprising:
38. The operating method according to claim 20, further comprising:
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value,
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fourth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a third operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value,
wherein the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
wherein the fourth frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
the third operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a third efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the third operating ratio is greater than a fourth efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by a second efficiency threshold.
18. The operating method according to claim 10, further comprising:
38. The operating method according to claim 20, further comprising:
when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value,
when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a fourth frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, configuring the control unit to configure the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a third operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value,
wherein the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than or equal to a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid;
wherein the fourth frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold.
the third operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a third efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the third operating ratio is greater than a fourth efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by a second efficiency threshold.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akpinar (Optimum Battery State of Charge Control for Frequency Response Service).
.
Regarding claims 1 and 10
Akpinar teaches an energy storage system, configured to provide power regulation for a power grid with a maximum value of the power regulation being a contracted capacity, (see abstract) wherein when an operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a first frequency and less than or equal to a second frequency, a regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a first input boundary value and less than or equal to a first output boundary value; (see abstract An algorithm has been developed that primarily provides frequency response service and at the same time optimizes the battery state of charge…apart from the maximum and minimum points of the state of charge level, it has also the optimum highest and optimum lowest state of charge points)
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to a third frequency and less than or equal to the first frequency, the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to the first input boundary value and less than or equal to a second output boundary value; when the operating frequency decreases from the first frequency to the third frequency, a plurality of first upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first output boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of first lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of first operating frequencies decreasing from the first frequency to the third frequency, increase from the first input boundary value to the second output boundary value correspondingly; (see between 49.8 and 49.99, and e between 10 % and 100% of upper blue lines, Fig. 2 and 7)
when the operating frequency of the power grid is greater than or equal to the second frequency (see 50.01, Fig. 2 and 7) and less than or equal to a fourth frequency (see 50.01 and 50.02 junction of lower blue lines, Fig. 2 and 7), the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system is greater than or equal to a second input boundary value (see between -10 % and -100% of lower blue lines, Fig. 2 and 7) and less than or equal to the first output boundary value (see first boundary level 10 %,
Fig. 2 and 7); when the operating frequency increases from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, a plurality of second upper limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to a plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first output boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly, and a plurality of second lower limits of the regulation ratio, which correspond to the plurality of second operating frequencies increasing from the second frequency to the fourth frequency, decrease from the first input boundary value to the second input boundary value correspondingly; (see junction above, Fig. 2 and 7) wherein the energy storage system comprises: an energy storage unit, configured to store and provide power; (see BESS and second paragraph under section II FREQUENCY RESPONSE SERVICES) a measurement unit, configured to measure the operating frequency of the power grid; and (see Measure Grid Frequency; Fig. 9) a control unit, coupled to the measurement unit and the energy storage unit, and configured to receive the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit; (see Fig. 8 and 9) wherein when a state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a normal charge state; (see Fig. 6) when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is less than the first charge level, the energy storage unit is in a low charge state; (see Fig. 6) when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be greater than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to supply the power to the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity; (see last paragraph of page 256 and first of page 257, Fig. 2 and 7) when the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation of the energy storage system to be less than 0, the control unit configures the energy storage unit to be charged by the power grid with the regulation ratio of the contracted capacity; (see last
paragraph of page 256 and first of page 257, Fig. 2 and 7) when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a first frequency boundary value and less than or equal to a second frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be a first operating ratio, and the first operating ratio is less than or equal to 0 and greater than or equal to the first input boundary value; and (see last paragraph of page 256 and first of page 257, Fig. 2 and 7) the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and/or the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency (see last paragraph of page 256 and first of page 257, Fig. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 2 and 11, Akpinar teaches wherein when the energy storage unit is in the normal charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency. (see area A and B; Fig. 7)
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Akpinar teaches wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state, the first frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency (see table II).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Akpinar teaches wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state; and when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state, the second frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency. (see table II)
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Akpinar teaches further comprising an auxiliary power supply device, wherein the control unit configures the first operating ratio to be less than 0, and an input power received by the energy storage system from the power grid is greater than or equal to an auxiliary power provided by the auxiliary power supply device. (see Fig. 7)
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Akpinar teaches wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio; (see Fig. 7) the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value; (see Fig. 7) the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold. (see Fig. 7)
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Akpinar teaches wherein when the state of charge of the energy storage unit is greater than a second charge level, the energy storage unit is in a high charge state; when the energy storage unit is in the high charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to the third frequency and less than or equal to a third frequency boundary value, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to the second output boundary value and greater than or equal to a second operating ratio; (see Fig. 7) the third frequency boundary value is less than the first frequency boundary value, and the first frequency boundary value is less than or equal a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid; (see Fig. 7) the second operating ratio is greater than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of the energy storage system supplying power to the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of the energy storage system supplying the power to the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Akpinar teaches wherein when the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value; the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value;
the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Akpinar teaches wherein when the energy storage unit is in the low charge state and the operating frequency of the power grid measured by the measurement unit is greater than or equal to a third frequency boundary value and less than or equal to the fourth frequency, the control unit configures the regulation ratio of the power regulation to be less than or equal to a second operating ratio and greater than or equal to the second input boundary value; the third frequency boundary value is greater than the second frequency boundary value, and the second frequency boundary value is greater than or equal to a predetermined supply frequency of the power grid; the second operating ratio is less than the first operating ratio, and a second efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the second operating ratio is greater than a first efficiency of charging the energy storage unit by the power grid at the first operating ratio by an efficiency threshold (see Fig. 7).
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836