DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, as filed on 01/14/2025, are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Objections
Claims listed below are objected to because of the following informalities (appropriate correction is required):
Claims 2-18, lines 1 amend: “A support assembly” to ---The support assembly---.
Claim 20, 4 amend: “the third” to ---a third---.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-5, 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220249905 A1 (Bass et al; henceforth Bass).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Bass discloses a support platform assembly for a bicycle trainer system (Figure 25), the support platform assembly including:
a first platform zone (rear section 274), which is configured to support a stationary trainer device (Trainer T), wherein the stationary trainer device is configured to couple with a rear section of a bicycle (see Figure 25 wherein the trainer T is attached to a rear axle of bicycle B);
a second platform zone (front section 272), which is configured to directly or indirectly support a front section of the bicycle (directly supports a front wheel of bike B); and
a third platform zone (connector member 276), which is located intermediate the first platform zone and the second platform zone (located therebetween, see Figure 25);
wherein the first and second platform zones are configured to enable movement of the supported bicycle within predefined limits (front and rear sections allow for relative tilt motion of the rear and front sections of the bike via rollers); and
wherein the third platform zone is decoupled from the movement of the first and second platform zones (connector member 276 is configured to stay stationary while portions of the front and rear sections 272, 274 perform the tilt motion).
Regarding Claim 2, Bass further discloses the support platform assembly according to claim 1, wherein the third platform zone is configured to provide a stable stepping platform to assist a user when mounting/dismounting the supported bicycle (connector member 276 is configured to be placed against the floor providing a stationary stable platform capable for a user to step on when mounting/dismounting a seat on the bike B).
Regarding Claim 3, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first platform zone includes a first zone base member, which is configured to stably rest on a surface (sidewalls 292-298; configured to form a rectangular box that is stationary against a floor surface), coupled to a first zone top member (mounting plate 318), which is configured to providing a mounting arrangement for the stationary trainer device (trainer T is mounted directly to an upper surface of the mounting plate 318), wherein the first zone base member is coupled to the first zone top member via a first zone motion facilitation arrangement (cushions 312, 314; rollers 304 with slots 300).
Regarding Claim 4, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 3, wherein the first zone motion facilitation arrangement includes an axial slider assembly (rollers 304 with slots 300 which allow for rollers to slide along the slots 300).
Regarding Claim 5, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 4, wherein the first zone motion facilitation arrangement includes one or more tilt resistance members (cushions 314; cushions 314 are configured to allow mounting plate 318 to tilt).
Regarding Claim 8, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second platform zone includes a second zone base member (walls 282, 284, 278, 280), which is configured to stably rest on a surface (on the ground), coupled to a second zone top member (front wheel support 306), which is configured to providing a mounting arrangement for the stationary trainer device (wheel engagement trough 308), wherein the second zone base member is coupled to the second zone top member via a second zone motion facilitation arrangement (front rollers 290, 304).
Regarding Claim 9, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 8, wherein the second zone motion facilitation arrangement includes an axial slider assembly (rollers 290, 304 which allow for sliding within channels 286).
Regarding Claim 10, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 9, wherein the axial slider assembly includes at least two parallel slider axis (see Figure 25 for rollers 290, 304 being in parallel).
Regarding Claim 11, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first platform zone and second zone include first and second base members (walls 292, 294, 296, 298 and walls 282, 284, 286, 288 respectfully), respectively, which are configured to stably rest on a surface (ground surface), wherein the third platform zone is coupled to the first and second base members (see Figure 25 wherein the connection member 276 is connected to both sets of walls).
Regarding Claim 12, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the movement of the supported bicycle within predefined limits includes limited fore/aft sliding movement along a central axis and side/side tilting movement relative to that central axis (rollers 302, 304, 290 allow for fore/aft sliding movement; cushions members 312, 314 allow for tilting side to side of bike B).
Regarding Claim 13, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 12, wherein the limited fore/aft sliding movement is facilitated by a sliding member (rollers 302, 304, 290), which is configured to slide axially along a guide rail (rails 300, 286) and rotate about the axis of the guide rail (rollers 302, 304, 290 rotates about themselves through an axis of the guiderails) .
Regarding Claim 14, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the first and second platform zones are coupled thereby to restrict relative movement along a central axis (the first and second platforms are coupled together by connector member 276 preventing relative motion to each other).
Regarding Claim 15, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 14, wherein the first, second, and third platform zones are coupled to restrict relative movement relative to a surface on which the support assembly stably rests (see Figure 25 wherein the platforms are coupled together and resting upon a floor surface).
Regarding Claim 16, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the stationary trainer device is a device that couples to the bicycle in place of a rear wheel (trainer T is coupled to bike B in place of a rear wheel).
Regarding Claim 17, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the second platform zone includes a rotating wheel block (trough 308), which is configured to enable indirect mounting of a front wheel of the bicycle to the second platform zone in a manner that facilitates restricted rotation of the front wheel (trough 308 is coupled to the front wheel of bike B such that the wheel is incapable of rotation and is coupled to the second platform via the trough 308).
Regarding Claim 18, Bass further discloses the support assembly according to claim 1, wherein the movement of the supported bicycle within predefined limits is biased into a central position (“In this manner, trainer T and bicycle B are biased toward an upright, vertical position” Paragraph 144)
Regarding Independent Claim 19, Bass discloses a rocker plate for a bicycle trainer device, the rocker plate having a segmented upper surface (mounting plat 318) such that at least one segment is configured to enable movement of a supported bicycle within predefined limits relative to a support surface (ground; said mounting plate 318 is configured to move relative to the ground via tilting and sliding), and at least one segment (wall 298) remains substantially fixed in place relative to the support surface (wall 298 does not move when placed on the ground).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220249905 A1 (Bass et al; henceforth Bass).
Regarding Claim 6, Bass discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Bass further discloses wherein the one or more tilt resistance members are resilient cylinders, which are sandwiched between the first zone top member and the first zone base member (see Figures 25-27 wherein the cushions 314 are squished between plates). Bass does not disclose the shape of the cushions as balls; however, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the cushions of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47. In the instant case, the device of Bass would not operate differently with the spherical cushion shape. Further, applicant places no criticality on the shape claimed. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the shape of the cushions to be spheres in order to distribute forces evenly across the cushion.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220249905 A1 (Bass et al; henceforth Bass) in view of US 5042795 A (Bursik).
Regarding Independent Claim 20, Bass discloses a rocker plate for a bicycle trainer device (bike B; Figure 25), the rocker plate being formed from three segments (front section 272, rear section 274, and connection member 276) that are coupled together (see Figure 25), wherein two of the segments directly or indirectly couple with a bicycle in a manner that facilitates movement of the bicycle within predefined limits relative to a support surface (connecting member indirectly connects to the rear of bike B, front section directly connected to the front of bike B), and wherein the third of the segments has an upper platform (steps 316), which remains stable relative to the support surface (steps 316 do not move relative to a ground surface). Bass discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above. Bass does not disclose the three segments as releasably coupled together.
Bursik teaches an analogous exercise device in the same field of endeavor comprising:three sections (assembly 29, extender 34, and support structure 24) that are removably coupled together (“in FIG. 6, in which the front tire 12 remains in place on the bicycle, the extender 34 and member 29 are removed from the tubular bar 22” Col. 4, lines 16-18; bolts 35 allow for removable connection of extender 34). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the three sections attachment together to include bolts for removably coupling the sections together, as taught by Bursik, in order to allow disassembly of the device for storage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record US 20220249905 A1 (Bass et al; henceforth Bass) fails to teach or render obvious the device in combination with all of the elements and structural and functional relationships as claimed and further including:
wherein the axial slider assembly includes a single slider axis that is substantially central relative to at least two of the tilt resistance members.
The prior art of record teaches dual axial sliders offset from the center to allow for attachment of the tilt mechanism centrally located to the two axial sliders, which are not considered equivalent to applicant’s invention. It would not have been obvious for one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the axial sliders to be centrally located without improper hindsight and without causing increased instability of the device.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3784