DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are pending on the application, of which claims 1-2, 4, & 15 are amended.
The previous art rejection is withdrawn in favor of the new ground of rejection presented below.
The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in light of the amendments, but for that to claim 7. The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) are withdrawn in light of the amendments
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 & 15 have been considered but are moot because in light of the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 is further indefinite because it is not clear how the controller, which is disclosed by the specification as comprising a processor and a memory, can control the mop to touch the floor or to prevent touching. Specifically, this claim is considered indefinite while similar limitations are not (e.g., controller configured to move the robot cleaner in claim 8) because the functional limitations to other limitations are understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as pertaining to general well-known features and constructions commonly associated with robot cleaners. However, the prevention of a mop from touching of a floor is not well-known or commonly associated with structures so that one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably apprised as to the scope of the claims. Thus, claim 7 is considered indefinite as it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claims are.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dry mopping" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Similar issue is taken with claim 15.
The remaining claims are rejected for their dependence on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-12, & 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20220047141A1) in view of Maeda (US20260069102A1), Cabrera (US20190216283A1), and Kim (KR20200001925U).
As to claims 1 & 15, Xu discloses a robot cleaner comprising a main body (ref 100); a mop configured to be coupleable to decoupleable from a lower portion of the main body [0102, 0112, & 0129]; sensor(s) configured to obtain a view and detect information about an area including dirt/stain type [0143, 0149, & 0154-0155]; a humidity sensor configured to detect a humidity of the mop [0062-0063 & 0140-0142]; and a controller (ref 60) configured to determine whether dry or wet cleaning is required based on the sensor information obtained [0143]; the controller utilizes humidity information in order to adjust fluid supplied to the mop to perform wet mopping and dry mopping [0140-145 & 0151-0154]. Although Xu does disclose dry mopping is performed after wet mopping (see claim 19, [0106, 0118-0120]), Xu does not disclose a drying operation being performed on the mop. Xu also does not disclose front and rear sensors which obtain a front and rear field of view and making a determination for cleaning based on the sensor data as claimed. However, utilizing front and rear sensors to check an area after cleaning is a well-known concept in the art, as seen by Maeda and Cabrera. Further, the drying of a mop when humidity is above a certain value is also known in the art, as seen by Kim.
Kim discloses an art related mop sweeping device (abstract), wherein it is known that when a humidity is above a value drying is needed, and when below drying is not required [0057]. Kim also performs said drying when the humidity is above a predetermined threshold [0057].
Maeda discloses an art related cleaning system (abstract), wherein it is known to utilize multiple images to compare if cleaning has been satisfactorily performed or if further cleaning is required (see [0050, 0061] & Figs.4-7).
Cabrera discloses an art related floor cleaner (abstract), wherein a rear camera detects presence of water on floor [0009] and compares front and rear camera images ([0036] claim 12) for the purposes of determining whether a water removing element is not operating as desired [0005-0006 & 0031-0032].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xu to provide front and rear sensors and comparing the images from said sensors for a cleaning area in order to determining if adequate cleaning has been achieved or recleaning is required (Maera [0060 & 0061]). A skilled artisan would also find it obvious to utilize such image data to determine if a dry mop is experiencing issues with water pickup (Cabrera [0009 & 0036]). As one of ordinary skill in the art understands that a dry mop has difficulty up further water after it has absorbed a certain amount, it would be obvious to utilize the humidity sensor to determine if the dry mop requires removal of water (i.e., drying) prior to attempting a further dry operation on the same area, and also perform said drying (Kim [0057]).
As to claim 2, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 1 wherein if the humidity is below a certain value the mop does not require drying (Kim [0057]). Thus, a skilled artisan would allow for the mop to perform the drying operation without performing a drying operation.
As to claim 3, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 2, wherein a skilled artisan would find the reversing of the robot cleaner to be an obvious implementation for drying as it would provide the shortest path and time to reach the area requiring the drying.
As to claims 4-5, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 1 wherein the drying device is located on the base station (see Kim) and the robot returns to such a base station when mopping members need attention (Xu [0098]). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to move the cleaner to the base station and transmit a drying request from the cleaner to the base station to perform the drying based on the sensed humidity of the mop. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would also find it obvious to allow the cleaner to move the cleaner to the area requiring drying once a signal has been obtained that sufficient drying of the mop has been achieved in order to dry the desired area.
As to claims 9-11, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the sensors determine whether dry or wet mobbing is required for an area based on the type of contaminant (Xu [0106, 0116-0018, 0143, 0149, & 0154-0155]). Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to perform the type of cleaning based on the contaminant detected and perform the recleaning based on the determination of the contaminant requiring the specific type of cleaning still being present.
As to claim 12, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 10, further comprising a water tank (Xu refs 511-514) configured to store water supplied to the mop; and humidity of the wet mop is adjusted such that it is maintained at a desired level by supplying fluid to the wet mopping element when the humidity is below a certain level (Xu [0139-0142 & 0144-0145]). The sensors are utilized to determine whether cleaning should be performed again (Maeda [0050 & 0061]), and the type of cleaning is also determined by sensors (Xu [0106, 0116-0018, 0143, 0149, & 0154-0155]). Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to perform wet cleaning again when it is determined to be required, and also ensure the humidity of the wet mop is at the desired levels by performing a water supplying operation.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20220047141A1) in view of Maeda (US20260069102A1), Cabrera (US20190216283A1), and Kim (KR20200001925U) as applied to claim 10 above and further in view of Afrouzi (US20240310851A1), Schahpar (US20260256333A1), and Afrouzi (US20200409376A1, hereafter A1).
As to claim 13, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 10, wherein humidity of the wet mop is adjusted such that it is maintained at a desired level by supplying fluid to the wet mopping element when the humidity is below a certain level (Xu [0139-0142 & 0144-0145]). The sensors are utilized to determine whether cleaning should be performed again (Maeda [0050 & 0061]), and the type of cleaning is also determined by sensors (Xu [0106, 0116-0018, 0143, 0149, & 0154-0155]). Thus, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to perform wet cleaning again when it is determined to be required, and also ensure the humidity of the wet mop is at the desired levels by performing a water supplying operation. Xu does disclose the returning of the cleaner to a base station when the need arises [0098], such as for maintenance reasons. Modified Xu does not teach traveling back to a docking station when a washing request or filling signal is provided. However, it is known in the art to allow the docking station to refill a reservoir within the robot cleaner, as seen by any of Afrouzi, Schahpar, A1
Afrouzi discloses an art related cleaning robot (abstract), wherein it is known to fill a reservoir at a docking station [0793, 01427].
Schahpar discloses an art related cleaning robot (abstract), wherein it is known to fill a reservoir at a docking station [0051, 0054, 0207].
A1 discloses an art related cleaning robot (abstract), wherein it is known to navigate a robot to a docking station in order to refill a reservoir (see claim 39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xu to enable the robot cleaner to travel to the docking station, and transmit a signal to the station, for refilling of the tank when the humidity is less than desired and the internal robot cleaner tank is empty.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US20220047141A1) in view of Maeda (US20260069102A1), Cabrera (US20190216283A1), and Kim (KR20200001925U) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xu (CN113576342A, hereafter X1).
As to claim 14, Modified Xu teaches the cleaner of claim 1, wherein Xu indicates that a user can decide whether an increased amount of liquid should be supplied (see [0144], indicating a user can set a humidity). Modified Xu does not disclose the reference humidity being set by a user. However, such a feature would be obvious in view of X1.
X1 discloses an art related mopping robot (abstract), wherein it is known to allow a user to set a reference humidity for a map in order to control the mop wetting based on the users need and ground conditions (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Xu to allow a user to set the humidity based on the user needs and/or ground conditions (X1 abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 indicates that the robot cleaner has the intake motor and outlet and performs the drying of the mop. Applicant’s remarks also indicate that the docking station is not considered part of the invention (see remarks 08/14/2026). Kim requires the drying elements provided on the docking station and thus does not meet the claim. A search for such limitations and review of the prior art made of record, within the time allotted by the office, does not teach or suggest such limitations. The indication of allowable subject matter is based solely on the fact that no reference was found within the reduced allotted examination time provided by the office which teaches or suggests the limitation and nothing more.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711