Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) identifying a first phase noise minimum frequency based on the first phase noise measurements; determining a path length difference based at least in part on the first phase noise minimum frequency; and providing the path length difference which are a series of steps representing mathematical calculations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the step of receiving first phase noise measurements is just an insignificant extra-solution activity for providing data for the calculation to be performed upon. Further, this limitation does not serve to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because receiving first phase noise measurements from data storage is well understood and routine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, & 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Layton (US PAT 4,753,529) (Layton).
Regarding Claim 1, Layton discloses a method comprising:
receiving first phase noise measurements (Fig. 13, Column 11, lines 47-52),
wherein the first phase noise measurements are respective measurements of phase noise between a first arm and a second arm of an interferometer (Fig. 17, 22 is a Mach-Zehnder interfometer) for a plurality of signal frequencies (from 24, Column 4, lines 57-58) when an additional length of signal guide is operationally coupled to the first arm (Column 15, lines 60-65);
identifying a first phase noise minimum frequency based on the first phase noise measurements (Figs. 13, & 15, Column 13 lines 11-45);
determining a path length difference based at least in part on the first phase noise minimum frequency (Fig. 16, Column 15, Lines 52-59); and
providing the path length difference (Fig. 16, Columns 15 & 16, lines 52-68 & 1-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Layton discloses the aforementioned. Further, Layton discloses wherein the additional length of signal guide has a length such that a time required for light to propagate along the length of the additional length of signal guide is more than a reciprocal of a bandwidth of the phase noise analyzer (Columns 12 & 13, lines 66-68 & 1-3).
Regarding Claim 8, Layton discloses the aforementioned. Further, Layton discloses wherein the additional length of signal guide is one of an optical fiber, coaxial cable, or microwave waveguide Columns 12 & 13, lines 66-68 & 1-3).
Regarding Claim 9, Layton discloses the aforementioned. Further, Layton discloses wherein the path length difference is determined based on both the first phase noise minimum frequency and a known optical length of the additional length of signal guide (Column 15, lines 60-65). To know how much of the signal guide to remove one would need to know the length of the additional length of the signal guide.
Regarding Claim 10, Layton discloses the aforementioned. Further, Layton discloses wherein providing the path length difference comprises indicating a balancing length of signal guide and to which of the first arm or the second arm the balancing length of signal guide should be added to balance respective arm lengths of the first arm and the second arm (Columns 15 & 16, lines 52-68 & 1-5).
Regarding Claim 11, Layton discloses the aforementioned. Further, Layton discloses wherein the interferometer is configured to modulate an optical signal (Columns 4 & 5, lines 59-68 & 1-2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12-23 are allowed.
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claim 2 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious receiving second phase noise measurements, wherein the second phase noise measurements are respective measurements of phase noise between the first arm and the second arm of an interferometer for the plurality of signal frequencies when the additional length of signal guide is operationally coupled to the second arm; and identifying a second phase noise minimum frequency based on the second phase noise measurements, wherein the path length difference is determined based at least in part on the first phase noise minimum frequency and the second phase noise minimum frequency, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claim 3-6 are allowable based upon their dependency.
As to Claim 12 the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious removing the length of signal guide from the first arm of the interferometer and adjusting a length of the first arm or adjusting a length of the second arm based at least in part on the path length difference, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
Claims 13-23 are allowable based upon their dependency.
In claim 2, the art does not show a second phase noise measurement with an additional length of signal guide coupled to the second arm. Nor would it be obvious based upon the art to do so.
In claim 12, it is the combination of removing the additional length with also adjusting the length of the first or second arms based upon the path length difference that is allowable. Layton does teach removing an additional length but that is by way of adjusting the length of the arms and not separate from it.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 October 16, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877