Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei, US PGPUB 20020174181, in view of Hwang et al., US PGPUB 20130278484 hereinafter referenced as Hwang and Chang et al., US PGPUB 20220365740, hereinafter referenced as Chang.
As to claim 1, Wei discloses a content sharing control method, performed by a share-initiating terminal, comprising: displaying a multitask management page on the share-initiating terminal, wherein the multitask management page comprises at least one application window corresponding to at least one application (e.g. application windows of fig. 3A);
when a selection operation is performed on a first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application, obtaining a first display content of a first application corresponding to the selected first application window ([0049] After a data conference has started, the presenter selects one or more applications to share with a viewer);
sharing, by the share-initiating terminal, only the first display content to a share- receiving terminal, wherein information that is displayed on the share-initiating terminal at a location out of the first application window, is not shared to the share-receiving terminal ([0048] Presenter's computer screen 300 includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, non-shared application windows 308, 310, and 312, and overlapping region 314. FIG. 3B shows a viewer's computer screen 300'. Viewer's computer screen 300' includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, and overlapping region 314).
Wei does not specifically disclose a share-initiating terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Hwang discloses a share-initiating terminal ([0161] As broadly described and embodied herein, a method of controlling a mobile terminal may include moving the first application window for the first application displayed on the first region to a second region of the external display; executing a second application in the mobile terminal; transmitting information associated with the second application to the external display; and displaying a second application window for the second application in the first region of the external display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei to further include Hwang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
The combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang does not specifically disclose after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Chang discloses after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal ([0726] In FIG. 14O, shared-content window 14170 displays representation 14086′ of browser window 14086. Jane selects shared-content window 14170 via input 14172 (e.g., a click input) to bring shared-content window 14170 to the foreground, as shown in FIG. 14P).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei and Huang to further include Chang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
As to claim 10, Wei discloses a storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when being loaded by a processor of an electronic device ([0097] Software embodying the present invention may comprise computer instructions in any form (e.g., source code, object code, interpreted code, etc.) stored in any computer-readable medium (e.g., ROM, RAM, magnetic media, compact disc (CD) in any form, DVD, etc.)), is configured to perform:
displaying a multitask management page on the electronic device, which is a share- initiating terminal, wherein the multitask management page comprises at least one application window corresponding to at least one application (e.g. application windows of fig. 3A);
when a selection operation is performed on a first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application, obtaining a first display content of a first application corresponding to the selected first application window ([0049] After a data conference has started, the presenter selects one or more applications to share with a viewer);
sharing, by the share-initiating terminal, only the first display content to a share- receiving terminal, wherein information that is displayed on the share-initiating terminal at a location out of the first application window, is not shared to the share-receiving terminal ([0048] Presenter's computer screen 300 includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, non-shared application windows 308, 310, and 312, and overlapping region 314. FIG. 3B shows a viewer's computer screen 300'. Viewer's computer screen 300' includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, and overlapping region 314).
Wei does not specifically disclose a share-initiating terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Hwang discloses a share-initiating terminal ([0161] As broadly described and embodied herein, a method of controlling a mobile terminal may include moving the first application window for the first application displayed on the first region to a second region of the external display; executing a second application in the mobile terminal; transmitting information associated with the second application to the external display; and displaying a second application window for the second application in the first region of the external display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei to further include Hwang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
The combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang does not specifically disclose after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Chang discloses after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal ([0726] In FIG. 14O, shared-content window 14170 displays representation 14086′ of browser window 14086. Jane selects shared-content window 14170 via input 14172 (e.g., a click input) to bring shared-content window 14170 to the foreground, as shown in FIG. 14P).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei and Huang to further include Chang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
As to claim 12, Wei discloses a terminal, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a computer program, the processor ([0097] Software embodying the present invention may comprise computer instructions in any form (e.g., source code, object code, interpreted code, etc.) stored in any computer-readable medium (e.g., ROM, RAM, magnetic media, compact disc (CD) in any form, DVD, etc.)) is configured to load the computer program to perform:
displaying a multitask management page on the terminal, which is a share-initiating terminal, wherein the multitask management page comprises at least one application window corresponding to at least one application (e.g. application windows of fig. 3A);
when a selection operation is performed on a first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application, obtaining a first display content of a first application corresponding to the selected first application window ([0049] After a data conference has started, the presenter selects one or more applications to share with a viewer);
sharing, by the share-initiating terminal, only the first display content to a share- receiving terminal, wherein information that is displayed on the share-initiating terminal at a location out of the first application window, is not shared to the share-receiving terminal ([0048] Presenter's computer screen 300 includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, non-shared application windows 308, 310, and 312, and overlapping region 314. FIG. 3B shows a viewer's computer screen 300'. Viewer's computer screen 300' includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, and overlapping region 314).
Wei does not specifically disclose a share-initiating terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Hwang discloses a share-initiating terminal ([0161] As broadly described and embodied herein, a method of controlling a mobile terminal may include moving the first application window for the first application displayed on the first region to a second region of the external display; executing a second application in the mobile terminal; transmitting information associated with the second application to the external display; and displaying a second application window for the second application in the first region of the external display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei to further include Hwang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
The combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang does not specifically disclose after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal.
However, in the same endeavor, Chang discloses after the selected first application window is switched to running at a background, the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window is still shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal ([0726] In FIG. 14O, shared-content window 14170 displays representation 14086′ of browser window 14086. Jane selects shared-content window 14170 via input 14172 (e.g., a click input) to bring shared-content window 14170 to the foreground, as shown in FIG. 14P).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Wei and Huang to further include Chang’s application sharing method, in order to improve users’ communications.
As to claim 2, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 1. The combination further disclose, when the selection operation is performed on the first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application, the obtaining a first display content of a first application corresponding to the selected first application window, comprises: displaying a content sharing control widget on the multitask management page; when a drag selection operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to the first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application is performed, determining the first application corresponding to the selected first application window; and obtaining the first display content of the first application (Wei, [0048] Presenter's computer screen 300 includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, non-shared application windows 308, 310, and 312, and overlapping region 314. FIG. 3B shows a viewer's computer screen 300'. Viewer's computer screen 300' includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, and overlapping region 314).
As to claim 3, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 2. The combination further disclose, when a drag selection operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to the first application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application is performed, the determining the first application corresponding to the selected first application window, comprises: when a press operation on the content sharing control widget is detected, triggering obtaining a drag track of the content sharing control widget; when the press operation on the content sharing widget is detected as being released, determining a track end position of the drag track; and
when the track end point is located in the first application window, determining an
application of the at least one application corresponding to the first application window as the first application (Hwang, [0052] The touch sensor can be configured to convert a pressure applied to a specific portion of the display 151 or a variation of a capacitance generated from a specific portion of the display 151 to an electric input signal).
As to claim 4, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 3. The combination further disclose, displaying the content sharing control widget comprising a first control icon at an initial position of the content sharing control widget, wherein the first control icon is generated according to an application icon of the first application (Wei, [0049] shared application window monitor 116 monitors appropriate function calls that define the positions and sizes of shared application windows 304 and 306).
As to claim 5, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 4. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the first display content to a share-receiving terminal, the method further comprises: when another drag operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to the first application window again is performed, obtaining a second display content displayed on a display interface of the share-initiating terminal; and sharing the second display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0150] In accordance with a user's touch & drag input, a position of the diagram 1120' representing the overlay window may be changed within the diagram 1110 that represents the full screen).
As to claim 6, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 5. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the second display content to the share-receiving terminal, the method further comprises: switching the control icon of the content sharing control widget from the first control icon to a second control icon, wherein the second control icon is an initial control icon of the content sharing control widget (Wei, [0049] Presenter application sharing software 115 can determine this by comparing the position and size of shared application window 304 with the position and size of non-shared application window 310. Note that the portion of shared application window 306 that overlaps non-shared application window 312 is not an overlapping region since non-shared application window 312 does not overlap shared application window 306).
As to claim 7, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 2. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the first display content to a share-receiving terminal, the method further comprises: when a drag operation of dragging the content sharing control widget into a second application window, determining a second application corresponding to the second application window; obtaining a third display content of the second application; and sharing the third display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0150] In accordance with a user's touch & drag input, a position of the diagram 1120' representing the overlay window may be changed within the diagram 1110 that represents the full screen).
As to claim 8, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 2. The combination further disclose, when a touch operation on the content sharing control widget is performed, displaying a plurality of control widgets, where the plurality of control widgets comprise, a sharing ending widget; when the touch operation on the sharing ending widget is performed, stopping sending the first display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0081] Content inputted by the first or second manipulating unit 131 or 132 can be diversely set. For instance, such a command as start, end, scroll or the like is inputted to the first manipulating unit 131).
As to claim 9, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 1. The combination further disclose, the sharing the first display content to a share-receiving terminal comprises: displaying an account input interface of a content sharing object; when account information is received at the account input interface, determining the share-receiving terminal corresponding to the account information; sending a content sharing request to the share-receiving terminal; when an instruction of agreeing with content sharing returned from the share-receiving terminal is received, sending the first display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0056] In the following description, for clarity, an action that a pointer approaches without contacting with the touchscreen to be recognized as located on the touchscreen is referred to as `proximity touch` while an action that a pointer actually touches the touchscreen may be referred to as a `contact touch.`).
11. (Canceled)
As to claim 13, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the terminal according to claim 12. The combination further disclose, when the selection operation is performed on any one application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application, obtaining the first display content of the first application corresponding to the selected first application window, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: displaying a content sharing control widget on the multitask management page; when a drag selection operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to any one application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application is performed, determining the first application corresponding to the selected first application window; and obtaining the first display content of the first application (Wei, [0048] Presenter's computer screen 300 includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, non-shared application windows 308, 310, and 312, and overlapping region 314. FIG. 3B shows a viewer's computer screen 300'. Viewer's computer screen 300' includes background region 302, shared application windows 304 and 306, and overlapping region 314).
As to claim 14, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 13. The combination further disclose, when a drag selection operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to any one application window of the at least one application window corresponding to the at least one application is performed, determining the first application corresponding to the selected first application window, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: when a press operation on the content sharing control widget is detected, triggering obtaining a drag track of the content sharing control widget; when the press operation on the content sharing widget is detected as being released, determining a track end position of the drag track; and when the track end point is located in the first application window, determining an application of the at least one application corresponding to the first application window as the first application (Hwang, [0052] The touch sensor can be configured to convert a pressure applied to a specific portion of the display 151 or a variation of a capacitance generated from a specific portion of the display 151 to an electric input signal).
As to claim 15, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 14. The combination further disclose, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: displaying the content sharing control widget comprising a first control icon at an initial position of the content sharing control widget, wherein the first control icon is generated according to an application icon of the first application (Wei, [0049] shared application window monitor 116 monitors appropriate function calls that define the positions and sizes of shared application windows 304 and 306).
As to claim 16, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 15. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the first display content to a share-receiving terminal, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: when another drag operation of dragging the content sharing control widget to the first application window again is performed, obtaining a second display content displayed on a display interface of a share-initiating terminal; and sharing the second display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0150] In accordance with a user's touch & drag input, a position of the diagram 1120' representing the overlay window may be changed within the diagram 1110 that represents the full screen).
As to claim 17, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 16. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the second display content to the share-receiving terminal, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: switching the control icon of the content sharing control widget from the first control icon to a second control icon, wherein the second control icon is an initial control icon of the content sharing control widget (Wei, [0049] Presenter application sharing software 115 can determine this by comparing the position and size of shared application window 304 with the position and size of non-shared application window 310. Note that the portion of shared application window 306 that overlaps non-shared application window 312 is not an overlapping region since non-shared application window 312 does not overlap shared application window 306).
As to claim 18, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 13. The combination further disclose, after the sharing the first display content to a share-receiving terminal, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: when a drag operation of dragging the content sharing control widget into a second application window, determining a second application corresponding to the second application window; obtaining a third display content of the second application; and sharing the third display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0150] In accordance with a user's touch & drag input, a position of the diagram 1120' representing the overlay window may be changed within the diagram 1110 that represents the full screen).
As to claim 19, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 13. The combination further disclose, the processor is configured to load the computer program to perform: when a touch operation on the content sharing control widget is performed, displaying a plurality of control widgets, where the plurality of control widgets comprise a sharing ending widget; when the touch operation on the sharing ending widget is performed, stopping sending the first display content to the share-receiving terminal (Hwang, [0081] Content inputted by the first or second manipulating unit 131 or 132 can be diversely set. For instance, such a command as start, end, scroll or the like is inputted to the first manipulating unit 131).
20. (Canceled)
As to claim 21, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 1. The combination further disclose when the first application is a video playing application, after the first application is switched to running at the background, the first display content shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal is a static image at a time point at which video playing is paused; and when the first application is a live broadcast application, after the first application is switched to running at the background, the first display content shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal is a dynamic video content of live broadcast (Hwang, [0067] Examples of such data include program instructions for applications operating on the mobile terminal 100, contact data, phonebook data, messages, audio, still pictures, moving pictures, etc.).
As to claim 22, the combination of Wei, Hwang and Chang discloses the content sharing control method according to claim 12. The combination further disclose, when the first application is a video playing application, after the first application is switched to running at the background, the first display content shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal is a static image at a time point at which video playing is paused; and when the first application is a live broadcast application, after the first application is switched to running at the background, the first display content shared to and displayed on the share-receiving terminal is a dynamic video content of live broadcast (Hwang, [0067] Examples of such data include program instructions for applications operating on the mobile terminal 100, contact data, phonebook data, messages, audio, still pictures, moving pictures, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yanez et al., US PGPUB 20230051262 discloses Systems and methods are provided that may be implemented to manage screen sharing of local system windows from a local information handling system to other remote information handling systems by a screen sharing application. In one example, the disclosed systems and methods may be implemented to allow selected local system window/s to continue to remain visible to a local user on the local display screen of a local information handling system that is executing a screen sharing application, while at the same time blocking or otherwise preventing the selected local system window/s from being shared by the screen sharing application across a network with other remote information handling systems, e.g., that are participating with the local information handling system in a common web conference session.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 8/7/2026