DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/22/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 01/14/2025. These drawings are considered by examiner.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10, line 5, the phrase “…transmit he short range only when….” is miss spelling.
Appropriate correction is required.
Terminal Disclaimer
5. Examiner suggests the Assignee must submit the Terminal Disclaimer accordingly, in order to process of the application promptly.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,231,985 as further detailed in the table below:
Instant Application
United States Patent No. 12,231,985
Claim 1. A system, comprising:
a personal communication device comprising a first non-transitory memory for storing first processor-executable instructions wherein the first processor-executable instructions, when executed by the personal communication device, cause the personal communication device to determine a present location of the personal communication device, determine that the personal communication device has crossed a predetermined geographic boundary based on the present location of the personal communication device and a location of the predetermined geographic boundary, and
respond to determining that the personal communication device has crossed the predetermined geographic boundary by
transmitting via a short range communication interface a short range message; and
a point-to-point transceiver comprising a second non-transitory memory for storing second processor-executable instructions wherein the second processor-executable instructions, when executed by the point-to-point transceiver, cause the point-to-point transceiver respond to a receipt of the short range message by transmitting a wireless signal directly to a controller for causing one or more predetermined,
automatic actions to occur at a home or a business at which the point-to-point transceiver is located.
Claim 1. A personal communication device for automatically performing one or more home or business-based actions, comprising: a non-transitory memory for storing processor-executable instructions and a predefined geographic boundary; means for determining a location of the personal communication device; a short range communication interface for transmitting short range messages to a point-two-point transceiver in proximity to the personal communication device; and a processor, coupled to the memory, the means for determining a location of the personal communication device and the short range communication interface, for executing the processor-executable instructions that causes the personal communication device to: determine, by the processor via the means for determining a location of the personal communication device, a present location of the personal communication device; determine, by the processor, that the personal communication device has crossed a predetermined geographic boundary based on the present location of the personal communication device and the predetermined geographic boundary; and in response to determining that the personal communication device has crossed the predetermined geographic boundary,
transmit, by the processor via the short range communication interface,
a short range message to the point-to-point transceiver in proximity to the personal communication device,
the short range message causing the point-to-point transceiver to transmit a wireless signal directly to a controller located at the home or a business, for causing the one or more predetermined, automatic actions to occur at the home or business when the controller receives the point-to-point signal.
Claim 2
Claim 2
Claim 3
Claim 3
Claim 4
Claim 4
Claim 5
Claim 5
Claim 6
Claim 6
Claim 7
Claim 7
Claim 8
Claim 8
Claim 9
Claim 9
Claim 10
Claim 10
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al (US 2021/0065486), hereinafter “Johnson“, in view of Sathya et al (US 2019/0215753), hereinafter “Sathya“.
Regarding claim 1, Johnson teaches a system (fig. 1 a system), comprising:
a personal communication device (fig. 1 teaches a personal communication device 160) comprising a first non-transitory memory for storing first processor-executable instructions wherein the first processor-executable instructions, when executed by the personal communication device (par [0084]), cause the personal communication device to determine a present location of the personal communication device (par [0014]), determine that the personal communication device has crossed a predetermined geographic boundary based on the present location of the personal communication device and a location of the predetermined geographic boundary (pars [0014] [0074]), and respond to determining that the personal communication device has crossed the predetermined geographic boundary by transmitting via a short range communication interface a short range message (pars [0021] [0034-0035]); and
a point-to-point transceiver (fig. 1 teaches a control unit in the home, pars [0021-0022]) comprising a second non-transitory memory for storing second processor-executable instructions wherein the second processor-executable instructions (fig. 1 teaches the second processor), when executed by the point-to-point transceiver (fig. 1 teaches a control unit in the home, pars [0021-0022]), cause the point-to-point transceiver respond to a receipt of the short range message by transmitting a wireless signal directly to a controller for causing one or more predetermined (pars [0041] [0081-0083]), automatic actions to occur at a home or a business at which the point-to-point transceiver is located (pars [0041] [0081-0083]).
Johnson does not explicitly teach transmitting via a short range communication interface a short range message.
Sathya, in the same field of endeavor, teaches transmitting via a short range communication interface a short range message (par [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Johnson to Sathya, in order to provide short-range communication interface in an efficient way such as BLUETOOTH communication, near-field communication (NFC), or infrared (IR) communication or communication with a wireless local area networks (WLANs) (as suggested by Sathya in paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Johnson and Sathya teach the system of claim 1, Johnson further teaches wherein a first action of the one or more predetermined, automatic actions comprises opening a garage door (pars [0021] [0035]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Johnson and Sathya teach the system of claim 1, Johnson further teaches wherein a first action of the one or more predetermined, automatic actions comprises illuminating at least one light (pars [0016] [0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the personal communication device further comprises a wide-area communication interface and wherein the first processor- executable instructions cause the personal communication device to receive from the wide-area communication interface a location of a vehicle and transmit via the short range communication interface the short range message only when the personal communication device has crossed the predefined geographic boundary and the location of the personal communication device and the location of the vehicle are within a predetermined distance from each other as specified in the claim.
As to claim 6, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions that causes the personal communication device to determine from the short range communication interface that the personal communication device is inside the vehicle and transmit via the short range communication interface the short range message only when the personal communication device has crossed the predefined geographic boundary and the personal communication device is inside the vehicle.
As to claim 8, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions that causes the personal communication device to determine a speed of a personal communication device, determine a location of the personal communication device, and transmit the short range message only when the personal communication device has crossed the predefined geographic boundary and the speed of the vehicle is within a predetermined range.
As to claim 10, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the first processor-executable instructions comprise further instructions that cause the personal communication device to, prior to transmitting the short range message, display via a user interface of the personal communication device, a query asking a user to confirm that the user wishes the one or more predetermined, automatic actions to occur and transmit the short range only when a response to the query indicates that the user desires the one or more predetermined, automatic actions to occur.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641