Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-10,12-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwarz et al (20220171469) hereinafter, Schwarz in view of Sun (2023/0195236) hereinafter, Sun further in view of Kim (2014/0055343) hereinafter, Kim.
In regards to claim 1, Schwarz teaches a method comprising (abstract):
obtaining hand tracking data for a plurality of camera frames;(fig. 3 (305))[0020-0022]
detecting a touch of a contact event between a first finger and a second finger based on the hand tracking data for a first camera frame of the plurality of camera frames, [0073-0076] (fig. 8a and 8b 830 and 812)); (fig. 8a (812, 814, and 816)) (fig. 330)[0085-0087, 101](fig. 8a and 8b thumb tip)
[0081] FIG. 10 illustrates example controls conducted through single-handed microgesture input. FIG. 10 shows a user 1000 wearing head-mounted display device 1005 and standing in the real-world physical environment of room 1010. Room 1010 includes physical objects, such as bookcase 1015 and door 1020. Head-mounted display device 1005 is shown displaying virtual content to user 1000, including holographic cube 1032. Head-mounted display device 1005 has a display field-of-view 1050, indicated by dashed lines, and an imaging field-of-view 1060, indicated by dotted lines. Hand tracking data may be assigned for a second hand of a user. A second set of microgesture targets may be assigned to a plurality of positions along a length of a first finger of the second hand of the user. Based on output of the gesture recognition machine, a location of a thumbtip of the second hand of the user may be determined relative to the plurality of positions along the length of the first finger of the second hand of the user. Responsive to detecting a confirmation action, an action may be performed as assigned to the corresponding microgesture target on the second hand.
)); and
in response to a determination that a contact location on the finger is within the first gesture zone enabling a gesture-based input event corresponding to the first gesture (fig. 3 (325-350) (fig. 8a-8b (812-816)).
Schwarz fails to teach detecting a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger from the first gesture zone based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and triggering an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch from the first gesture zones.
However, Sun teaches detecting a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger from a first gesture zone based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames (fig. 2 S210-S220 pinch) ([0027] images captures are the frames); and
triggering an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch first gesture zones.(fig. 9b pinch and release to trigger option 915)
[0097] In one embodiment, in response to determining that the indicator R1 indicates the content area 914 in a case of the pinch gesture is determined to be the pinch-and-release gesture, the processor 104 may trigger the content area 914. For example, if the processor 104 determines that the pinch-and-release gesture is detected while the indicator R1 indicating (e.g., pointing to) an option 915 in the content area 914, the processor 104 may accordingly trigger the option 915 and perform the operations corresponding to the triggered option 915, but the disclosure is not limited thereto.
[0098] In one embodiment, in response to determining that the indicator R1 indicates the content area 914 in a case of the pinch gesture is determined to be the pinch-and-hold gesture, the processor 104 may scroll the content area 914 according to a movement of the hand gesture during the hand gesture maintaining the pinch-and-hold gesture. For example, if the processor 104 determines that the pinch-and-hold gesture is detected while the indicator R1 indicating (e.g., pointing to) the content area 914, the processor 104 may accordingly scroll the content area 914 upward/downward when the user's hand moves upward/downward while maintaining the pinch gesture, but the disclosure is not limited thereto.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz to further include detecting a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and triggering an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch as taught by Sun in order to provide to be beneficial for the developer to design various mechanisms for the user to interact with the VR world with various hand gestures.[0003].
Schwarz and Sun fail to expressly teach detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture.
However, Kim teaches detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture (figs 5-6 fingers and inputs) and fig. 9 contact [0011,0079-0082]). Examiner notes Kim appears to map the location to the region.
[0079] Referring to FIG. 9, the control unit 110 activates the camera 140 during the character input mode to take the image of the user's hand and controls the display unit 130 to display the image of the hand in the form of the preview screen as denoted by reference number 910. In this state, the control unit 110 is capable of tracking any change in the image, especially, around the finger tip of the thumb. If the user manipulates the thumb to press a specific position as shown in the screen image 920, the control unit 110 detects the changes of image (e.g. shade and color) around the corresponding position and processes the detected changed location as the input of the key (or character) mapped to the corresponding position. In order to accomplish this, the control unit 110 extracts the sample frame from the preview screen periodically and analyzes and compares the extracted sample frames.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz and Sun detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture as taught by Kim in order to provide simple substation of one means of inputting information for another and the results are predictable. Examiner notes [0080] also includes another means of input to the position.
In regards to claim 8, Schwarz teaches non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable code executable by one or more processors to: obtain hand tracking;(fig. 3 (305))[0020-0022] data for a plurality of camera frames; [0073-0076] (fig. 8a and 8b 830 and 812)); detect a touch of a contact event between a first finger and a second finger based on the hand tracking data for a first camera frame of the plurality of camera frames, (fig. 8a (812, 814, and 816));; (fig. 330)[0085-0087, 101](fig. 8a and 8b thumb tip)); and in response to a determination that contact location on the first finger is within the a first gesture, enable a gesture-based input event corresponding to the first gesture. (fig. 3 (325-350) (fig. 8a-8b (812-816)).
Schwarz fails to teach detect a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger from the first gesture zone based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and trigger an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch first gesture zones..
However, Sun teaches detect a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and trigger an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch.(fig. 2 S210-S220 pinch) ([0027] images captures are the frames); and fig. 9b pinch and release to trigger option 915)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz to further include detecting a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and triggering an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch as taught by Sun in order to provide to be beneficial for the developer to design various mechanisms for the user to interact with the VR world with various hand gestures.[0003]
Schwarz and Sun fail to expressly teach detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture.
However, Kim teaches detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture (figs 5-6 fingers and inputs) and fig. 9 contact [0011,0079-0082]). Examiner notes Kim appears to map the location to the region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz and Sun detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture as taught by Kim in order to provide simple substation of one means of inputting information for another and the results are predictable. Examiner notes [0080] also includes another means of input to the position.
In regards to claim 15, Schwarz teaches system comprising: one or more processors; and one or more computer readable media comprising computer readable code executable by the one or more processors to: ;(fig. 3 (305))[0020-0022] obtain hand tracking data for a plurality of camera frames [0073-0076] (fig. 8a and 8b 830 and 812));; detect a touch of a contact event between a first finger and a second finger based on the hand tracking data for a first camera frame of the plurality of camera frames, (fig. 8a (812, 814, and 816)); (fig. 330)[0085-0087, 101](fig. 8a and 8b thumb tip));; and
in response to a determination that the a contact location on the first finger is within the a first gesture, enable a gesture-based input event corresponding to the first gesture. (fig. 3 (325-350) (fig. 8a-8b (812-816)).
Schwarz fails to teach detect a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger from the first gesture zone based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and trigger an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch first gesture zones..
However, Sun teaches detect a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger from a first gesture zone based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and trigger an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch.(fig. 2 S210-S220 pinch) ([0027] images captures are the frames); and fig. 9b pinch and release to trigger option 915) first gesture zones.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz to further include detecting a release of the touch of the contact event between the first finger and the second finger based on hand tracking data for a second camera frame of the plurality of camera frames; and triggering an input action corresponding to the first gesture in response to detecting the release of the touch as taught by Sun in order to provide to be beneficial for the developer to design various mechanisms for the user to interact with the VR world with various hand gestures.[0003]
Schwarz and Sun fail to expressly teach detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture.
However, Kim teaches detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture (figs 5-6 fingers and inputs) and fig. 9 contact [0011,0079-0082]). Examiner notes Kim appears to map the location to the region.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz and Sun detecting a contact location on the first finger corresponding to the contact event; determining that the contact location is within a first gesture zone on the first finger indicating a first gesture as taught by Kim in order to provide simple substation of one means of inputting information for another and the results are predictable. Examiner notes [0080] also includes another means of input to the position.
In regards to claim 2, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches method of claim 1, wherein a contact event comprises a touch and a release of the touch, wherein the touch corresponds to the first finger making contact with the second finger, and wherein the gesture-based input event comprises a visual feedback (fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067] (fig. 10 1075/1085))). Schwarz (fig. 3a/b and fig. 9b initiation of the release) Sun
In regards to claim 3, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches method of claim 2, wherein the gesture-based input event comprises the visual indication of the gesture-based input event. (fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067] (fig. 10 1075/1085) and fig. 9a moving from 812 to 814 and fig. 10 1082 for example [0083-0085]) Schwarz (fig. 3a/b and fig. 9b initiation of the release) Sun
In regards to claim 5, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches method of claim 1, wherein a determination is made as to whether a contact event is detected in each of the one or more camera frames [0072]. Schwarz [0027] Sun
In regards to claim 6, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches method of claim 1, wherein detecting the contact event comprises: obtaining relational features from the hand tracking data; obtaining features related to action recognition [0029, 0048-0053]. Schwarz [0091-0098] Sun
In regards to claim 7, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches method of claim 1, wherein the first gesture comprises a pinch (fig. 9b pinch and release Sun)
In regards to claim 9, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein a contact event comprises a touch and a release (fig. 9b release Sun) of the touch [0070], wherein the touch corresponds to the first finger making contact with the second finger, and wherein the gesture-based input event comprises a visual feedback fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067, 0070] (fig. 10 1075/1085))) Schwarz. (fig. 3a/b and fig. 9b initiation of the release) Sun
In regards to claim 10, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the gesture-based input event comprises the visual indication of the gesture-based input event. (fig. 9b executing 915) Sun and (fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067, 0070] (fig. 10 1075/1085))) Schwarz.
In regards to claim 12, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein a determination is made as to whether a contact event is detected in each of the one or more camera frames. [0072]. Schwarz [0027] Sun
In regards to claim 13, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the computer readable code to detect the contact event comprises computer readable code to: obtain relational features from the hand tracking data; obtain features related to action recognition[0029, 0048-0053]. Schwarz [0046-0056] Sun
In regards to claim 14, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 8, wherein the first gesture comprises a pinch. (fig. 9b pinch and release Sun)
In regards to claim 16, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches system of claim 15, wherein a contact event comprises a touch and a release of the touch, wherein the touch corresponds to the first finger making contact with the second finger, and wherein the gesture-based input event comprises a visual feedback. (fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067, 0070] (fig. 10 1075/1085))) Schwarz. (fig. 3a/b and fig. 9b initiation of the release) Sun
In regards to claim 17, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches system of claim 16, wherein the gesture-based event comprises visual indication of the gesture-based input event(fig. 3 (325-350)[0065-0067, 0070] (fig. 10 1075/1085))) Schwarz. (fig. 9b executing 915) Sun
In regards to claim 19, Schwarz in view of Sun and Kim teaches system of claim 15, wherein a determination is made as to whether a contact event is detected in each of the one or more camera frames. [0072]. Schwarz and [0027] Sun
In regards to claim 20, Schwarz in view Sun and Kim teaches system of claim 15, wherein the first gesture comprises a pinch. (fig. 9b pinch gesture Sun)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-10,12-17, and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record, for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner notes Schwarz appears to be silent how an interaction between the two fingers is carried out.
Schwarz does state:
[0081] FIG. 10 illustrates example controls conducted through single-handed microgesture input. FIG. 10 shows a user 1000 wearing head-mounted display device 1005 and standing in the real-world physical environment of room 1010. Room 1010 includes physical objects, such as bookcase 1015 and door 1020. Head-mounted display device 1005 is shown displaying virtual content to user 1000, including holographic cube 1032. Head-mounted display device 1005 has a display field-of-view 1050, indicated by dashed lines, and an imaging field-of-view 1060, indicated by dotted lines. Hand tracking data may be assigned for a second hand of a user. A second set of microgesture targets may be assigned to a plurality of positions along a length of a first finger of the second hand of the user. Based on output of the gesture recognition machine, a location of a thumbtip of the second hand of the user may be determined relative to the plurality of positions along the length of the first finger of the second hand of the user. Responsive to detecting a confirmation action, an action may be performed as assigned to the corresponding microgesture target on the second hand.
However, Kim expressly teaches multiple tracking changes in an image related to the interaction of two fingers [0079-0081] (fig. 9-10). Examiner believes it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Schwarz and Sun to include these features for determining this interaction and the result would have been predictable at determining a location.
ConclusionAny inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GRANT SITTA whose telephone number is (571)270-1542. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4:00.
/GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622