DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908).
Regarding claim 1, Etchison teaches an information processing method, comprising: displaying a nurse call object on a first display unit of a smart phone of each patient, and displaying, when a manipulation of the nurse call object is received (see fig. 12-22, ¶ 0115-0127, 0151. The device screen of a patient presents the ability to make a request which is sent to a care team. Thus, a patient is able to manipulate a display device for a request.).
Etchison discloses the alert (aka patient request) is transmitted to nurse call equipment and mobile care devices in and around a nursing unit as a means to advertise a patient's need. Once satisfied, the alert is cancelled (¶ 0151). Etchison is vague on an alert notification including identification information for identifying a patient who has performed the manipulation on a second display unit of a smart phone of a nurse.
Faulks an alert notification including identification information for identifying a patient who has performed the manipulation on a second display unit of a smart phone of a nurse (see fig. 2, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number.).
The combination of Faulks to Etchison provides the nurse having a device that displays the reason for the alert, name of the patient and room number upon the patient making a request for service.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
Regarding claim 16, Etchison teaches an information processing system, comprising: smart phones of a plurality of patients, including a first display unit and a first control unit; and an information processing device including a third control unit, wherein the first control unit of the smart phone of each patient displays a nurse call object on the first display unit, and transmits, when a manipulation of the nurse call object is received, identification information for identifying a patient who has performed the manipulation to the information processing device (see fig. 1, 12-22, ¶ 0104-0106, 0115-0127, 0151. The device screen of a patient presents the ability to make a request which is sent to a care team. Thus, a patient is able to manipulate a display device for a request. The devices being mobile device and the system that the patients and caregivers operate on have control units or processors that allow a device to function and process the request. The third control unit being a server within the nurse call system is able to provide identification of the patient of the request.).
Etchison discloses the alert (aka patient request) is transmitted to nurse call equipment and mobile care devices in and around a nursing unit as a means to advertise a patient's need. Once satisfied, the alert is cancelled (¶ 0151). Etchison is vague on a smart phone of a nurse, including a second display unit and a second control unit; the third control unit receives the identification information transmitted by the first control unit, and transmits an alert notification including the received identification information to the smart phone of the nurse, and the second control unit receives the alert notification transmitted by the third control unit, and displays the received alert notification on the second display unit.
Faulks an a smart phone of a nurse, including a second display unit and a second control unit; the third control unit receives the identification information transmitted by the first control unit, and transmits an alert notification including the received identification information to the smart phone of the nurse, and the second control unit receives the alert notification transmitted by the third control unit, and displays the received alert notification on the second display unit (see fig. 2, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The devices being mobile device and the system that the patients and caregivers operate on have control units or processors that allow a device to function and process the request. The third control unit being a server within the nurse call system is able to provide identification of the patient of the request.).
The combination of Faulks to Etchison provides the nurse having a device that displays the reason for the alert, name of the patient and room number upon the patient making a request for service.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
4. Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908).
Regarding claim 2, Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of alert notifications of patients with different identification information are displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse.
Faulks teaches wherein a plurality of alert notifications of patients with different identification information are displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse (see fig. 2, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
Regarding claim 3, Etchison discloses a patient makes a request an alert or request is transmitted to a caregiver devices. When a request is taken care of, the accepted task is shown on the display of the patient who has accepted the task. It would be known, if a task is accepted by a staff member, then the system would update with who is working on that request at the time (see fig. 20-21, ¶ 0125).
However, Etchison does not disclose teaches the information processing method according to claim 2, wherein in the plurality of alert notifications displayed on the second display unit, a display mode of an alert notification during response by a second nurse different from the nurse is different from a display mode of the alert notification.
Faulk teaches wherein in the plurality of alert notifications displayed on the second display unit, a display mode of an alert notification during response by a second nurse different from the nurse is different from a display mode of the alert notification (see fig. 2, 18, ¶ 0136. Caregiver can see statues on who is taking care of a patient. An alternate caregiver is displayed on the device on who is taking care of the patient instead of the first caregiver.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse device displaying a different handler of the patient to take care of the request. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested, is handled by a different nurse other than the one receiving the alert.
Regarding claim 4, Etchison discloses a patient makes a request an alert or request is transmitted to a caregiver devices. When a request is taken care of, the accepted task is shown on the display of the patient who has accepted the task. It would be known, if a task is accepted by a staff member, then the system would update with who is working on that request at the time (see fig. 20-21, ¶ 0125).
However, Etchison does not disclose teaches the information processing method according to claim 3, wherein when a manipulation of the alert notification during response is received, information relevant to the second nurse responding to the alert notification during response is displayed.
Faulk teaches wherein when a manipulation of the alert notification during response is received, information relevant to the second nurse responding to the alert notification during response is displayed (see fig. 2, 18, ¶ 0136. Caregiver can see statues on who is taking care of a patient. An alternate caregiver is displayed on the device on who is taking care of the patient instead of the first caregiver.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse device displaying a different handler of the patient to take care of the request. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested, is handled by a different nurse other than the one receiving the alert.
Regarding claim 5, Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein when a selection of the alert notification and a manipulation of a video call object are received, a video call between a patient corresponding to the alert notification and the nurse is established.
Faulks teaches wherein when a selection of the alert notification and a manipulation of a video call object are received, a video call between a patient corresponding to the alert notification and the nurse is established (see fig. 2, 12-14, 17 19, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109, 0127. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents. The nurse can select the alert which provides the patient information and the nurse can call the patient which can include a video call.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
Regarding claim 12, Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a report document obtained by providing a response result with respect to the alert notification, and a conversation content in a video call between the patient and the nurse to a language model is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse.
Faulks teaches wherein a report document obtained by providing a response result with respect to the alert notification, and a conversation content in a video call between the patient and the nurse to a language model is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse (see ¶ 0161. A report shows patient details and message button will start a new conversation or look up an existing conversation between you and the selected caregiver with this patient as the subject; (2) Patient Notes—Shows the recorded notes for this patient; and (3) Nurse Call History—Shows a log of recent nurse calls, including the current state, the priority, how long ago it transpired, and who handled it.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate records of nurse and patient interaction and handling of patient and alerts. The modification provides for a patient record including nurse interaction with the patient.
5. Claim(s) 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908) in further view of Kiani et al. (US 2021/0118581) in further view of Goehler (US2006/0286960).
Regarding claim 7, Etchison and Faulks do not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein when a switching manipulation between a nurse call mode according to a place including a hospital room or a toilet and an emergency mode is received, the nurse call mode and the emergency mode are switched and displayed on the first display unit of the smart phone of the patient, in the nurse call mode, the nurse call object is displayed on the first display unit, and in the emergency mode, an emergency call object is displayed on the first display unit.
Kiani teaches wherein when a switching manipulation between a nurse call mode according to a place including a hospital room or a toilet and an emergency mode is received, the nurse call mode and the emergency mode are switched and displayed on the first display unit of the smart phone of the patient, in the nurse call mode, the nurse call object is displayed on the first display unit, and in the emergency mode, an emergency call object is displayed on the first display unit (see fig. 6, ¶ 0027. The display shows (fig. 6) different selection as to select and nurse, attendant and other options. A patient can make the selection and request a service.)
Goehler discloses wireless staff call signal is any signal that is encoded and arranged to signal to medical staff a particular condition, such as an emergency or request for care or attention. These signals are similar to those used in nurse call systems and can vary according to a pre-determined meaning. The patient can select a particular type of wireless staff call signal by pressing a particular key or button on the patient pendant 12. A wireless patient voice signal is any signal that carries the voice of a patient, as such voice is spoken by the patient into a microphone on the patient pendant 12. This signal can serve as a means of communications between the patient and the hospital staff. (see fig. 1, ¶ 0023).
The combination of Goehler and Kiani would provide the display with the selection wherein the emergency request or nurse call can be selected.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison and Faulks to incorporate patient device that includes an emergency or nurse call selection on the device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested, and the selection can be emergency or nurse call.
Regarding claim 8, Etchison, Goehler and Kiani do not teach the information processing method according to claim 7, wherein when a manipulation of the nurse call object or the emergency call object is received, a second object indicating a state in which the manipulation is received is displayed in association with the nurse call object or the emergency call object.
Faulks teaches wherein when a manipulation of the nurse call object or the emergency call object is received, a second object indicating a state in which the manipulation is received is displayed in association with the nurse call object or the emergency call object (see fig. 2, 19, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison, Goehler and Kiani to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
6. Claim(s) 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908) in further view of Kiani et al. (US 2021/0118581).
Regarding claim 9, Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of shortcut objects according to a request from the patient are displayed on the first display unit, together with the nurse call object, and when a selection of the shortcut object is received, an alert notification including the identification information according to the received shortcut object is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse.
Kiani teaches wherein a plurality of shortcut objects according to a request from the patient are displayed on the first display unit, together with the nurse call object, and when a selection of the shortcut object is received (see fig. 6-7c, ¶ 0027-0028. The display shows where a patient can select to call a nurse and select different based on the selection ex. Pain button can be pressed and this will alert the nurse.).
Faulks teaches an alert notification including the identification information according to the received shortcut object displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse (see fig. 2, 19, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
Regarding claim 13, Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein when a nurse call button or an emergency nurse call button provided in a place including a hospital room or a toilet is manipulated, an alert notification including a type of button and the identification information is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse.
Kiani teaches wherein when a nurse call button or an emergency nurse call button provided in a place including a hospital room or a toilet is manipulated (see fig. 6-7c, ¶ 0027-0028. The display shows where a patient can select to call a nurse and select different based on the selection ex. Pain button can be pressed and this will alert the nurse.).
Faulks teaches an alert notification including a type of button and the identification information is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse (see fig. 2, 19, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate a nurse having a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device. The modification provides for a patient to provide a requested service and a nurse or caregiver receiving the request (alert) for said service being displayed on the nurses device.
7. Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908) in further view of Ekker (US 2021/0265048).
Regarding 10, Etchison and Faulks do not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein an unresponded alert is periodically notified to the smart phone of the nurse.
Ekker teaches wherein an unresponded alert is periodically notified to the smart phone of the nurse (see ¶ 0159. The device outputs an audible alert in combination with the displayed alert. The device outputs the displayed alert or the audible alert continuously or periodically until receiving a user input associated with an unread alert (e.g., a user input selecting the unread alert). The device outputs the displayed alert or the audible alert every 5 minutes until receiving a user input associated with the unread alert.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison and Faulks to incorporate periodically provide an alert to an unread message. The modification provides for the device to continuously alert the user until the unread message is responded to.
8. Claim(s) 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908) in further view of Brill et al. (US 2017/0308650).
Regarding claim 11, Etchison and Faulks do not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the number of responses by each nurse with respect to an alert notification is stored in a storage unit, and an evaluation of each nurse according to the number of responses is output.
Brill teaches wherein the number of responses by each nurse with respect to an alert notification is stored in a storage unit, and an evaluation of each nurse according to the number of responses is output (see ¶ 0014, 0034-0036. Machine intelligence to collect, aggregate, evaluate, process, and model data to enable the intelligent presentation and acknowledgement of alarms, events, alerts, and messages between various combinations of caregivers, instrumentation, and information systems. The machine intelligence can extend to modeling, predicting, and optimizing behaviors of users as individuals or according to various roles and/or assignments. Application of this technology can reduce alarm fatigue while improving the delivery and routing of notifications associated with alarms. Acknowledgment or response to these notifications may also be improved. Thus this monitors the caregivers attentiveness to the alerts and how they are treated.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison and Faulks to incorporate evaluating the notification response from a caregiver. The modification provides for evaluating the notification response from a caregiver.
Regarding claim 14, Etchison teaches the sound received after a manipulation of the sound notification object is output through a speaker of the smart phone of each patient (see fig. 20-21, ¶ 0126-0128. When a task has been accepted or completed it will show on the display. However Etchison is vague on sound when a nurse provides the acceptance of the request. Devices are audio devices which permit audio calling and video calling. This is just an audible selection where a sound can be presented when a nurse accepts the task. This would be well known with mobile devices being able to turn on and off audible sounds. This would be presented to patients that have requested help.).
Etchison does not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a sound notification object for simultaneously notifying a sound to a plurality of patients is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse.
Faulk teaches wherein a sound notification object for simultaneously notifying a sound to a plurality of patients is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse (see fig. 2, 19, ¶ 0091-0092, 0105-0109. A nurse or caregiver has a device that receives a patient request, an alert is presented on the nurse or caregivers device, and the request (alert) is displayed with the reason for the alert and patient name and room number. The alerts received are from different patents. Faulk does not mention simultaneous notification however, in light of an emergency two or more patients having code occurring at the same time, alerts will be presented simultaneously at the same time during those codes.).
Faulk is vague on sound alerts or audio alerts. Brill discloses wherein an alarms, alerts or notifications to the mobile device is presented (see ¶ 0035). The combination of Brill to Faulk will provide sound to the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison to incorporate providing alerts to a nurse and presenting an alarm for the received alerts. The modification provides for providing an alarm for received alerts.
9. Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Etchison et al. (US 2023/0062727) in view of Faulks et al. (US 2019/0108908) in further view of Zhang et al. (US 9,674,132).
Regarding claim 15, Etchison and Faulks do not teach the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a text notification object for simultaneously notifying a text to a plurality of patients is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse, and the text received after a manipulation of the text notification object is displayed on the first display unit of the smart phone of each patient.
Zhang teaches wherein a text notification object for simultaneously notifying a text to a plurality of patients is displayed on the second display unit of the smart phone of the nurse, and the text received after a manipulation of the text notification object is displayed on the first display unit of the smart phone of each patient (see fig. 4, col. 2, lines 45-47, col. 6, lines 35-45. The person replying to a received message can reply all to all users in a group and the user can select to reply all on the screen. This is obvious when a person receives a message, and a user can also reply to a group if need. This is a well known concept.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Etchison and Faulk to incorporate replying to all patients in a group text. The modification provides for a user to select reply all in order to send a message to a group.
Conclusion
/ASSAD MOHAMMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691