DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park 9,557,771.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an electronic device (Title) comprising a first main body (411, Fig 9), a second main body (412, Fig 9), and a rotating shaft mechanism (430, Fig 9), wherein the rotating shaft mechanism comprises a rotating shaft base (440, Fig 9), a first rotating member (450 and/or including 460
on one side, Fig 9), a second rotating member (450 and/or including 460 on
other side, Fig 9), and a linkage assembly (451, Fig 9), and the first rotating member is connected with the first main body (once assembled as in Fig 8) and the second rotating member is connected with the second main body (once assembled as in Fig 8); the linkage assembly comprises a first linkage member (420 on one side Fig 9) and a second linkage member (420 on other side, Fig 9), the first linkage member and the second linkage member are each rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base (see Fig 8), the first linkage member has a first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second linkage member has a second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11), the first rotating member has a first sliding portion (472, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second rotating member has a second sliding portion (472 on other side, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11); wherein the first rotating member further has a first main body portion (411b, Fig 9) fixedly connected with the first sliding portion (Fig 8), the first sliding portion is disposed at one side of the first main body portion (Fig 10), a first sliding groove (418 on one side, Fig 11) is defined between the first sliding portion and the first main body portion (Fig 10), and the first sliding block is in sliding fit and rotating fit with the first sliding groove (Figs 11-12); wherein a direction in which the second sliding block is opposite to the first sliding block is parallel (note, direction of first sliding block 470 along horizontal arrow on one side considered parallel to opposing second sliding block on other side, Figs 10, 11) to a plane defined by a rotation axis-line of the first rotating member (rotation axis line along 453 on one side, Fig 11) and a rotation axis-line of the second rotating member (rotation axis line along 453 on other side, Fig 10)(plane defined above two axis lines in parallel, similar to plane formed by 490 in lower Fig of Fig 10, for example); and wherein a sliding direction of the first sliding block relative to the first rotating member is perpendicular to a direction of the rotation axis-line of the first rotating member (note, sliding direction of first sliding block goes downward, perpendicular to axis line of first rotating member 453 that runs same direction axially/lengthwise between 420s, for example, see Figs 9-11).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first rotating member has a first rotating portion (450 on one side, Figs 9, 10) fixedly connected with the first main body portion (once fully assembled as in Fig 9).
Regarding claim 18, Park discloses a foldable assembly comprising a first housing (411, Fig 9), a second housing (412, Fig 9), and a rotating shaft mechanism (430, Fig 9); wherein the rotating shaft mechanism comprises a rotating shaft base (440, Fig 9), a first rotating member (450 and/or including 460
on one side, Fig 9), a second rotating member (450 and/or including 460 on
other side, Fig 9), and a linkage assembly (451, Fig 9), and the first rotating member is connected with the first housing (once assembled as in Fig 8) and the second rotating member is connected with the second housing (once assembled as in Fig 8); and the linkage assembly comprises a first linkage member (420 on one side Fig 9) and a second linkage member (420 on other side, Fig 9), the first linkage member and the second linkage member are each rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base (Fig 8), the first linkage member has a first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second linkage member has a second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11), the first rotating member has a first sliding portion (472, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second rotating member has a second sliding portion (472 on other side, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11); the first rotating member further has a first main body portion (411b, Fig 9) connected with the first sliding portion (Fig 8), the first sliding portion is disposed at one side of the first main body portion (Fig 10), and the first sliding portion is rotatably and slidingly connected with the first sliding block (Figs 10-12); the first rotating member further has a first rotating portion (450 on one side, Fig 9), the first main body portion and the first sliding portion constitutes a first baffle plate (460 on one side constitutes first baffle plate, Figs 9, 10), and the first baffle plate is fixedly connected with the first rotating portion (Figs 9, 10); and the first baffle plate defines a first sliding groove (along 418 and/or 453, 473 on one side, Fig 10), the first baffle plate is in rotating fit and sliding fit with the first sliding block through the first sliding groove (see Fig 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first linkage member has a first rotating shaft and a first push rod fixedly connected with the first rotating shaft, the first rotating shaft is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, a rotation axis-line of the first rotating shaft is parallel to a rotation axis-line of the first rotating member, and the first sliding block is disposed at an end of the first push rod away from the first rotating shaft; and wherein the second linkage member has a second rotating shaft and a second push rod fixedly connected with the second rotating shaft, the second rotating shaft is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, a rotation axis-line of the second rotating shaft is parallel to a rotation axis-line of the second rotating member, the second rotating shaft and the first rotating shaft are linked with each other, and the second sliding block is disposed at an end of the second push rod away from the second rotating shaft.
*Reason - Dependent claim 2, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which it directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record. For example, the manner in which the first sliding block is disposed at an end of the first push rod away from the first rotating shaft. Note, claims 3-5 depend either indirectly or directly from claim 2 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 7. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first main body portion has a first rotating end and a first connecting end opposite to the first rotating end, the first rotating portion is disposed at the first rotating end, and in a direction perpendicular to the sliding direction of the first sliding block relative to the first rotating member, the size of the first sliding groove close to the first rotating end is greater than that of the first sliding groove close to the first connecting end.
*Reason - Dependent claim 7, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which it directly/indirectly depends, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record. For example, the manner in which the size of the first sliding groove close to the first rotating end is greater than that of the first sliding groove close to the first connecting end.
Claim 8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first rotating member has a first rotating portion, the first rotating portion is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, the first rotating portion and the first sliding portion are arranged side by side in a direction of a rotation axis-line of the first linkage member, an orthographic projection of the first linkage member on a plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion, and an orthographic projection of the first sliding portion on the plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion.
*Reason - Dependent claim 8, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which it directly/indirectly depends, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record. For example, the manner in which an orthographic projection of the first linkage member on a plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion. Note, claims 9-11 depend either indirectly or directly from claim 2 and are therefore allowable for at least the same reason.
Claim 19. The foldable assembly of claim 18, wherein the first rotating member has a first rotating portion, the first rotating portion is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, the first rotating portion and the first sliding portion are arranged side by side in a direction of a rotation axis-line of the first linkage member, and an orthographic projection of the first linkage member on a plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion, and an orthographic projection of the first sliding portion on the plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion; and the second rotating member has a second rotating portion, the second rotating portion is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, the second rotating portion and the second sliding portion are arranged side by side in a direction of a rotation axis-line of the second linkage member, and an
orthographic projection of the second linkage member on a plane where the second rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the second rotating portion, and an orthographic projection of the second sliding portion on the plane where the second rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the second rotating portion.
*Reason - Dependent claim 19, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which it directly/indirectly depends, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record. For example, the manner in which an orthographic projection of the first linkage member on a plane where the first rotating portion is located at least partially falls into the first rotating portion.
Claim 20. The foldable assembly of claim 18, wherein the first main body portion has a first rotating end and a first connecting end opposite to the first rotating end, the first rotating end is close to the rotating shaft base relative to the first connecting end, and in a direction perpendicular to a plane defined by a rotation axis-line of the first rotating member and a rotation axis-line of the second rotating member, an opening size of the first sliding groove close to the first rotating end is greater than that of the first sliding groove close to the first connecting end.
*Reason - Dependent claim 20, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which it directly/indirectly depends, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record. For example, the manner in which an opening size of the first sliding groove close to the first rotating end is greater than that of the first sliding groove close to the first connecting end.
Claims 12-17 are allowed.
Closest Art Found—Regarding claim 12, Park (9,557,771) discloses an electronic device (Title) comprising a first housing (411, Fig 9), a second housing (412, Fig 9), a rotating shaft mechanism (430, Fig 9), and a flexible display screen (490, Fig 9); wherein the rotating shaft mechanism comprises a rotating shaft base (440, Fig 9), a first rotating member (450 and/or including 460 on one side, Fig 9), a second rotating member (450 and/or including 460 on other side, Fig 9), and a linkage assembly (451, Fig 9), and the first rotating member is connected with the first housing (once assembled as in Fig 8) and the second rotating member is connected with the second housing (once assembled as in Fig 8); the linkage assembly comprises a first linkage member (420 on one side Fig 9) and a second linkage member (420 on other side, Fig 9), the first linkage member and the second linkage member are each rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base (Fig 8), the first linkage member has a first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second linkage member has a second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11), the first rotating member has a first sliding portion (472, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the first sliding block (470 on one side, Fig 11), the second rotating member has a second sliding portion (472 on other side, Fig 11) in sliding fit with the second sliding block (470 on other side, Fig 11); the first rotating member further has a first main body portion (411b, Fig 9) connected with the first sliding portion (Fig 8), the first sliding portion is disposed at one side of the first main body portion (Fig 10), and the first sliding portion (418 on one side, Fig 11) is rotatably and slidingly connected with the first sliding block (Fig 10); and the flexible display screen has a first display portion (portion of 490 disposed on one side of device, Fig 9), a second display portion (portion of 490 on other side of device, Fig 9) arranged opposite to the first display portion (see Fig 9), and a bendable display portion (middle portion of 490, Fig 10) fixedly connected with the first display portion and the second display portion (Fig 10), the first display portion is fixed to the first housing (Figs 9, 10), the second display portion is fixed to the second housing (Figs 9, 10), and the first housing is configured to rotate relative to the second housing through the rotating shaft mechanism to drive the bendable display portion to bend (see Fig 10).
However, Park fails to teach: wherein the first linkage member has a first rotating shaft and a first push rod fixedly connected with the first rotating shaft, the first rotating shaft is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, a rotation axis-line of the first rotating shaft is parallel to a rotation axis-line of the first rotating member, and the first sliding block is disposed at an end of the first push rod away from the first rotating shaft; wherein the second linkage member has a second rotating shaft and a second push rod fixedly connected with the second rotating shaft, the second rotating shaft is rotatably connected with the rotating shaft base, a rotation axis-line of the second rotating shaft is parallel to a rotation axis-line of the second rotating member, the second rotating shaft and the first rotating shaft are linked with each other, and the second sliding block is disposed at an end of the second push rod away from the second rotating shaft. *Note, claims 13-17 depend either indirectly or directly from claim 12 and are therefore allowed for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li – 20220174830, Fig 4. Teaches similar foldable device and structure.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841